Nevada licenses psychologists through the Nevada State Board of Psychological Examiners.
The licence takes a doctorate in psychology, two years of supervised experience of which the second must be postdoctoral — at least 1,750 hours, served on a provisional licence as a psychological assistant — plus the EPPP and a Board state examination.
Nevada issues no master's-level psychology licence; its 2025 bachelor's-level wellness practitioner credential is a separate track.
Nevada has been a PSYPACT member since July 1, 2020.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Psychologist; provisional licences as a psychological assistant and a psychological intern; a registration as a psychological trainee; and the 2025 bachelor's-level behavioral health and wellness practitioner licence.
No master's-level psychology licence was found.
A doctorate in psychology from an accredited educational institution approved by the Board, or other doctorate-level training the Board deems equivalent in both subject matter and extent of training (NRS 641.170(1)(c)).
The first required year: an APA-accredited doctoral internship, or an equivalent internship requiring a minimum of 2,000 hours of training, completed in not less than 12 months full-time or not less than 24 months part-time (NAC 641.080(4)).
Required.
The second year must be postdoctoral, not less than 1,750 hours, and NRS 641.226(1) requires it to be served on a provisional licence as a psychological assistant.
The rule as read offers no route for counting internship or practicum hours toward it.
The EPPP — Nevada's defined 'national examination' (NRS 641.0243); the passing score was not stated in the rule read.
Plus a Board state examination on law, ethics and professional conduct (NAC 641.112).
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found.
None found.
The nearest credential under the same Board is the bachelor's-level behavioral health and wellness practitioner, whose scope excludes the practice of psychology or medicine (NRS 641.0207).
Member, in effect: NV AB 429, enacted May 26, 2017, effective July 1, 2020, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.
None.
Nevada psychologists do not prescribe.
Renew on or before January 1 of each odd-numbered year (NRS 641.220(1)).
30 hours of Board-approved CE per 2 years (NAC 641.136): at least 6 in ethics; at least 2 in evidence-based suicide prevention, statutorily due within 2 years of initial licensure and at least every 4 years after (NRS 641.220(4)(a)); cultural competency — statute: at least 6 hours biennially (NRS 641.220(4)(b)), rule: at least 2, last amended 2022; confirm with the Board.
Not more than 15 home study.
A Board registration, not a licence, for a person in a doctoral training program in psychology who wishes to perform professional activities or services under a psychologist's supervision; it expires after 2 years and may not be renewed past 5 registered years unless the Board approves (NRS 641.226(3), (7)(c)).
A provisional licence for a doctoral student who has completed the courses the training program requires and wants to engage in the predoctoral internship that program asks of them; it expires 2 years after issuance (NRS 641.226(2), (7)(b)).
The licence Nevada requires for the postdoctoral year: anyone who wishes to obtain the postdoctoral supervised experience must apply for it; it expires after 1 year, and renewals may not take the holder past 3 provisionally licensed years unless the Board approves (NRS 641.226(1), (7)(a)).
A separate 2025 bachelor's-level licence to practice behavioral health promotion and prevention under supervision — not a step toward the psychologist licence; its scope excludes the practice of psychology or medicine (NRS 641.0207, 641.2254, 641.2257).
The full licence: a Board-approved doctorate in psychology or deemed-equivalent training, 2 years of supervised experience with the second postdoctoral, the EPPP and the Board's state examination (NRS 641.170, 641.180).
Nevada's psychology chapter issues one full licence: psychologist.
Everything below it is provisional or registered — a psychological intern licence for the doctoral internship, a psychological assistant licence for the postdoctoral year, and a psychological trainee registration for supervised work during doctoral training — each with its own expiry and renewal cap in NRS 641.226(7).
The definitions make the sequencing explicit: an assistant is a person holding the provisional licence, and a trainee is a person registered with the Board.
The chapter's only other licence, added in 2025, is the bachelor's-level behavioral health and wellness practitioner, which is not a psychology licence.
For how master’s-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the master’s-level psychology practitioner.
“A person who wishes to obtain any postdoctoral supervised experience that is required for licensure as a psychologist pursuant to paragraph (d) of subsection 1 of NRS 641.170 must submit an application to the Board for a provisional license as a psychological assistant.”
The degree rule has two routes.
The first is a doctorate in psychology from an accredited educational institution the Board has approved.
The second covers applicants whose doctorate sits outside psychology: other doctorate-level training from an accredited institution can qualify, but only where the Board deems it equivalent in both subject matter and extent of training.
The statute also obliges the Board to issue a written statement of its determination within 120 days, with a detailed explanation where it finds doctorate-level training not equivalent — a reason to ask the Board early if your degree took an unusual route.
For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
“Has earned a doctorate in psychology from an accredited educational institution approved by the Board, or has other doctorate-level training from an accredited educational institution deemed equivalent by the Board in both subject matter and extent of training.”
The statute requires at least 2 years of experience satisfactory to the Board, 1 postdoctoral.
The rule fills both halves: the first is an APA-accredited doctoral internship, or an equivalent internship requiring at least 2,000 hours of training, completed in not less than 12 months full-time or 24 months part-time.
The second must be postdoctoral, not less than 1,750 hours, met either under ASPPB's guidelines or the rule's own conditions: not less than 10 months and not more than 3 years, 50 percent of weekly hours in clinical services, 15 percent in face-to-face client care, each unless the Board approves otherwise.
NRS 641.226(1) requires that year to be served on a provisional licence as a psychological assistant.
The rule text read contains no provision letting accredited-program graduates count internship or practicum hours toward that half.
Applicants licensed at least 5 years elsewhere with a clean record get a 1,500-hour floor per year, but one year must still be a subsection 4 internship, and the postdoctoral year must satisfy subsection 6, where the ASPPB alternative is unavailable (NAC 641.080(3)).
For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.
“Has at least 2 years of experience satisfactory to the Board, 1 year of which must be postdoctoral experience in accordance with the requirements established by regulations of the Board.”
Each applicant for a psychologist licence must pass the national examination, which Nevada defines as the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology in the form ASPPB administers; the passing score was not stated in the rule read.
The Board also administers a state examination covering the practice of professional psychology, federal and state laws, ethical principles and codes of professional conduct.
Failure carries procedure: three failures bar a retake unless the Board approves a written remediation plan, and a fourth failure deems the application denied, with reapplication possible no earlier than 18 months after notice.
No EPPP Part 2 requirement appears in the sources read.
That question is time-limited anyway: ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027 and is the only version from April 1, 2028, so confirm with the Board which version you will sit.
“The state examination will consist of questions addressing the practice of professional psychology, including, without limitation, federal and state laws, ethical principles and codes of professional conduct relevant to the practice of psychology in this State.”
Whatever a psychological assistant, psychological intern or psychological trainee does must be performed under the supervision of a psychologist, under Board regulation.
For an internship that is not APA-accredited, the plan filed with the Board must show supervision of not less than 4 hours per week, including at least 2 hours per week of face-to-face individual supervision by doctoral-level licensed psychologists who hold primary professional responsibility for the intern's cases.
For a postdoctoral year taken under the rule's own conditions — the subsection 6 alternative to ASPPB's guidelines, and the only route on the reduced-hours path — the setting must offer colleague interaction and a broad client range, at least 40 hours must go to training in cultural, ethnic and group processes, and at least 3 hours of individual face-to-face supervision must focus on that area.
A supervisor who cannot document all of it puts your hours at risk.
“Any activity or service performed by a psychological assistant, psychological intern or psychological trainee must be performed under the supervision of a psychologist in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board.”
No master's-level psychology licence was found in the sources read: Nevada's supervised rungs — psychological intern, psychological assistant and psychological trainee — are statuses for people already inside a doctoral training program, and a trainee registration is not a licence.
The one other licence the Board issues is deliberately narrower: the bachelor's-level behavioral health and wellness practitioner, whose scope definition excludes the practice of psychology or medicine, psychological assessment and testing, and the diagnosis of any physical or mental disorder.
Nevada psychologists have no prescriptive authority.
For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.
Nevada enacted the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact through AB 429 and prints its text at NRS 641.227.
The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Nevada as a member in effect since July 1, 2020.
A Nevada psychologist can use the compact to deliver telepsychology in participating states or to work there in person for up to 30 days a year, through ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization.
The compact covers doctoral-level psychologists only: none of Nevada's provisional licences or registrations can travel on it.
For how PSYPACT’s telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.
“Nevada - NV AB 429 (Enacted on 5/26/2017; Effective 7/1/2020)”
The main mover route is expedited endorsement (NRS 641.196): a holder of a valid, unrestricted psychologist licence in DC or any state or territory, free of home-board discipline, investigation and civil or criminal malpractice liability, files proof, fingerprints, an affidavit and the fee.
Unless it denies the file for good cause, the Board must issue the licence within 45 days of a complete file and may grant a provisional licence pending its decision.
It may license without examination where another state's requirements are at least equivalent, and waive the EPPP for an out-of-state licensee with at least 10 years' experience who is an ABPP diplomate or APA fellow or holds other equivalent status as determined by the Board.
The Board can authorize practice for 1 year or less while the application pends: applied, Nevada's education and experience requirements met, no discipline elsewhere.
Applicants licensed at least 5 years in DC or another state or territory, record clean, count each year at not less than 1,500 hours; one still a subsection 4 internship, the postdoc under subsection 6.
“The Board may issue a license by endorsement as a psychologist to an applicant who meets the requirements set forth in this section. An applicant may submit to the Board an application for such a license if the applicant holds a corresponding valid and unrestricted license as a psychologist in the District of Columbia or any state or territory of the United States.”
Renewal is due on or before the first day of January of each odd-numbered year, with the biennial fee (NRS 641.220(1)).
On the CE side the rule asks a psychologist to certify 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education across the 2 years preceding renewal — at least 6 in scientific and professional ethics and common areas of professional misconduct, at least 2 in evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness, and at least 2 in cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion, with not more than 15 hours from home study and no credit for instructing (NAC 641.136(1)).
The statute overlays its own minimums: suicide-prevention hours must be completed within 2 years after initial licensure and at least every 4 years thereafter (NRS 641.220(4)(a)), and it requires at least 6 hours of cultural-competency instruction biennially (NRS 641.220(4)(b)) — while the rule, last amended in 2022, says 2; confirm with the Board which standard applies.
The wellness practitioner licence renews separately every 3 years with 20 hours (NRS 641.2255).
“To renew his or her license, a psychologist must certify to the Board that during the 2 years immediately preceding the date he or she submits an application for renewal, he or she has completed 30 hours of continuing education in courses approved by the Board.”
The 2025 legislative session reshaped this chapter in two directions.
It created the behavioral health and wellness practitioner licence — new definitions, Board rulemaking authority, the licence itself at NRS 641.2254, a 3-year renewal with 20 CE hours, and a supervisor list at NRS 641.2257 — along with a Behavioral Health and Wellness Practitioner Advisory Group effective through December 31, 2028.
The same session amended the definitions of psychological assistant and psychological intern (2025, 1160).
NRS 641.220, the renewal-and-CE statute, was amended in 2023 and again in 2025.
The exam landscape is changing on ASPPB's clock rather than Nevada's: the integrated EPPP becomes the only version on April 1, 2028.
Because this 2025 licence is new and sits under the psychology board, it deserves a plain description.
The Board must issue it to an applicant who is of good moral character, is at least 18, holds a bachelor's degree or higher in psychology, social work, human services or a related field, has completed a Board-approved educational program in behavioral health promotion and prevention, names the provider who will supervise them, and has passed the Board-approved examination or demonstrated competency through the regulation-based alternative.
Supervision may come from a psychiatrist, a psychiatrically trained advanced practice registered nurse, a psychologist, a clinical professional counselor, a marriage and family therapist or a clinical social worker.
The work is prevention and intervention for people at risk of mental or behavioral health issues — the statute then excludes a long list, from psychological assessment and testing to the diagnosis of any disorder, clinical professional counseling and marriage and family therapy.
“Behavioral health promotion and prevention means the supervised clinical use of prevention and intervention strategies to identify persons at risk of mental or behavioral health issues and accomplish individualized goals relating to the mental and behavioral health of the person as part of a therapeutic relationship.”
This page summarizes the Nevada statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Nevada State Board of Psychological Examiners publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
Confirm every requirement with the Nevada State Board of Psychological Examiners before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Nevada that asks for it.
Yes, as the rule is written.
NRS 641.170(1)(d) requires 2 years of experience with 1 year postdoctoral, and NAC 641.080(2)(b) fixes that year at not less than 1,750 postdoctoral hours meeting ASPPB guidelines or the rule's own conditions.
NRS 641.226(1) requires you to hold a provisional licence as a psychological assistant while you earn it.
The rule text read contains no route for accredited-program graduates to substitute internship or practicum hours, so confirm hour counting with the Board before you rely on any arrangement.
No master's-level psychology licence was found in the sources read.
The supervised statuses Nevada issues — psychological intern, psychological assistant and psychological trainee — are for people already in doctoral training, and a trainee registration is not a licence.
The closest credential under the same Board is the bachelor's-level behavioral health and wellness practitioner, whose scope expressly excludes the practice of psychology.
PSYPACT is doctoral-only, and Nevada psychologists have no prescriptive authority.
Two.
The national examination — defined as the EPPP in the form ASPPB administers — is required by NRS 641.180, though the passing score was not stated in the rule read.
NAC 641.112 then adds a Board state examination covering Nevada and federal law, ethical principles and codes of professional conduct; three failures bar a retake without a Board-approved plan, and a fourth deems the application denied.
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found.
ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027, so check which version you will sit.
Yes.
The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Nevada as a member in effect since July 1, 2020, and the compact's text sits at NRS 641.227.
With ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization, a Nevada psychologist can deliver telepsychology in participating states or work there in person for up to 30 days a year.
The compact covers doctoral-level psychologists only, so provisional licensees and registered trainees cannot use it.
Expedited endorsement (NRS 641.196): a valid, unrestricted licence in DC or another state or territory, without discipline, investigation or malpractice liability.
Unless denied for good cause, the licence must issue within 45 days of a complete file and a provisional licence may be granted pending its decision.
It may license without examination where requirements elsewhere are at least equivalent, and waive the EPPP for a 10+-year out-of-state licensee who is an ABPP diplomate or APA fellow or holds other equivalent status as determined by the Board.
5+ licensed years, record clean, each year counts 1,500+ hours, one still a subsection 4 internship, the postdoc under subsection 6 (no ASPPB alternative).
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Nevada State Board of Psychological Examiners.