Maine licenses psychologists through the Board of Examiners of Psychologists in the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation.
The licence takes a doctorate reflecting comprehensive training in psychology, at least 2 years of experience in psychology the board considers qualifying, the EPPP at 70% and the Maine Jurisprudence Exam.
The statute sets no hour counts and does not say whether any of those years must be postdoctoral; the board's rules carry that detail.
Maine also licenses master's-level psychological examiners, and PSYPACT has been in effect since October 18, 2021.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Psychologist and psychological examiner (32 M.R.S. Β§3831(1)-(2)), plus one-year conditional and temporary licences issued under supervision.
A doctorate degree reflecting comprehensive training in psychology from an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory standards, at the time the degree was granted (Β§3831(2)).
Not stated in the sources read.
The internship rules would live in board rules (02-340 CMR) that were not retrieved.
Not stated in the sources read.
The statute requires at least 2 years of qualifying experience in psychology without saying whether any of it must come after the doctorate.
The EPPP, passing score 70% on the board's page, plus the Maine Jurisprudence Exam; the statute lets the board examine written or oral, or both (Β§3832).
No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found.
Yes: the psychological examiner β a master's licence for testing and assessment, with intervention under a licensed psychologist's supervision and no psychotherapy under any circumstances.
Member, in effect: ME HB 631, enacted June 22, 2021, effective October 18, 2021, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026; codified at 32 M.R.S. Β§3841 et seq.
None.
The sources read record no prescriptive authority for Maine psychologists.
Board page: renews annually on April 30th, $125 renewal fee.
Statute: licences "expire biennially or as established by the Commissioner" (Β§3835).
One-time 3 contact hours on family or intimate partner violence; the CE hour total: Not stated in the sources read.
A board-page licence that runs one year from issue and cannot be renewed; applicants sign a letter of agreement with a licensed Maine psychologist who will supervise their work.
A one-year licence the board may grant without examination to a licensee of an equivalent out-of-state board, or to an applicant for a permanent licence; it allows practice only under supervision (32 M.R.S. Β§3836).
The master's-level licence: testing and assessment practice, intervention under a licensed psychologist's supervision or as law or rules otherwise provide, and no psychotherapy under any circumstances (32 M.R.S. Β§3831(1); board page).
The doctoral licence to practise psychology β diagnosis, assessment, psychotherapy and consultation within the board's scope description (32 M.R.S. Β§3831(2); board page).
Maine's chapter licenses two practising credentials: the psychologist and the psychological examiner (32 M.R.S. Β§3831(1)-(2)).
Neither track has a named pre-licensure associate tier; instead the board issues conditional and temporary licences, each running one year and conditioned on supervision.
A conditional licence may go to an applicant for a permanent licence or, without examination, to a licensee of an equivalent out-of-state board (Β§3836).
The temporary licence follows the same shape on the board's page: one year from date of issue, non-renewable, and a letter of agreement signed by the applicant and a licensed Maine psychologist who will supervise the work.
The chapter covers holding yourself out as a psychologist as well as practising, so the job title on a business card falls inside the licensing rule (board page).
For how masterβs-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the masterβs-level psychology practitioner.
βThe conditional license is effective for one year and requires that the licensee practice only under supervision.β
The degree rule is Β§3831(2)'s phrase: a doctorate reflecting comprehensive training in psychology from an accredited institution the board recognizes as maintaining satisfactory standards, at the time the degree was granted.
The statute then does something distinctive: it accepts degrees granted by administrative units other than a department of psychology, so long as the comprehensive training was received in or accepted by a single program β naming programs approved by the National Association of School Psychologists or the American Psychological Association designation program or their successors or other organizations approved by the board β and it directs the board to adopt a list of these programs.
Degrees from programs not on that list are evaluated case by case, which makes the program list worth checking before applying.
Since January 1, 2020, initial applicants must also complete a minimum of 3 hours of course work in family or intimate partner violence screening and referral and intervention strategies; it can be course work inside the degree, and an applicant who cannot show it at application may demonstrate it at the first renewal.
For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
βhas received a doctorate degree reflecting comprehensive training in psychology from an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory standards, at the time the degree was grantedβ
The experience rule is one clause: at least 2 years of experience in psychology of a type the board considers qualifying in nature (Β§3831(2)).
No hour totals, no direct-client minimums and no internship or postdoctoral split appear in the statute, the board's licensing page or the exams page.
The board's administrative rules (02-340 CMR) would carry that detail, but they were not among the sources read β the rules PDF linked from the board's site is a 2020 scanned image.
Nor does the statute contain an accredited-program route that converts internship or practicum hours into a post-degree requirement; no such clause appears in the texts read.
The master's tier carries its own line: at least one year of full-time supervised experience in psychology, of the same board-judged qualifying type (Β§3831(1)).
Because the statute hands the board the judgment call on what counts as qualifying, and the application checklist requires documentation of supervised experience, confirm with the board how your internship and any postdoctoral hours will be counted before you build a supervision plan around them.
For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.
βhas had at least 2 years of experience in psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in natureβ
The board's licensing page names both exams: pass the EPPP with a passing score of 70% and pass the Maine Jurisprudence Exam.
The statute lets the board examine applicants by methods it deems practical, written or oral, or both (Β§3832); the texts read show the written EPPP plus the jurisprudence exam, whose suggested reference material spans the board's law and rules chapters, several related statutes, the APA ethical principles and the ASPPB code of conduct (board exams page).
EPPP results must reach the board directly from ASPPB.
Both licences carry one more exam condition: an applicant may not have failed an examination within the preceding 6 months (Β§3831).
No EPPP Part 2 (Skills) requirement appears in the sources read.
That question is time-limited anyway: ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces the two-part exam for first-time takers from fall 2027 and is the only version from April 1, 2028, and nothing in the Maine texts read addresses the switch.
βPass the National Board Exam- Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), passing score 70%, and pass the Maine Jurisprudence Exam.β
The chapter's supervision clause for would-be licensees is Β§3813: students of psychology, psychological interns and other persons preparing for the examiner or psychologist professions may perform the chapter's functions as part of their training, but only under the supervision of a licensed psychologist.
No separate trainee registration appears in the texts read, and none of them says whom the board's one-year temporary licence is for, so an intern's route β the Β§3813 training exemption, a temporary licence, or both β should be confirmed with the board.
Supervision also structures the examiner's intervention work: intervention such as consultation, behavior management or social skills training happens under a licensed psychologist's supervision or as otherwise provided in law or rules, and the board is directed to establish rules for supervision of examiners' intervention services (board page).
βStudents of psychology, psychological interns and other persons preparing for the profession of psychological examiner or psychologist may perform as a part of their training the functions specified in section 3811, but only under the supervision of a licensed psychologist.β
The board's page describes the psychologist's practice broadly: diagnosing, assessing and treating mental, emotional and psychological illness, disorders, problems and concerns, plus evaluation and treatment of vocational, social, educational, behavioral, intellectual and learning and cognitive disorders, through techniques from testing and psychological interviews to psychotherapy, behavior modification and consultation.
The psychological examiner's practice is much narrower: interviewing and administering and interpreting tests of mental abilities, aptitudes, interests and personality characteristics for psychological evaluation or for educational or vocational selection, guidance or placement.
Examiners may apply for Intervention Privileges on the board's form.
Within psychology licensure, the psychotherapy bar on the master's tier is absolute: a graduate who wants to practise psychotherapy as a psychologist needs the doctoral route, not the examiner licence.
For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.
βA psychological examiner may not provide psychotherapy services under any circumstances.β
Maine enacted the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact as subchapter 4 of its psychologists chapter, codified at 32 M.R.S. Β§3841 et seq.
(PL 2021, c.
331).
The PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists Maine as a member in effect: ME HB 631, enacted June 22, 2021, effective October 18, 2021.
PSYPACT is doctoral-only β a compact rule defines a graduate degree as a doctoral degree β so a Maine psychological examiner cannot use it.
A Maine psychologist uses it to practise telepsychology or work temporarily in person in a participating state through ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization.
For how PSYPACTβs telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.
βThis subchapter may be known and cited as "the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact."β
Β§3836 lets the board grant a conditional licence without examination to someone licensed by a similar board of another state whose standards the board finds equivalent; the licence runs one year, confines the licensee to supervised practice, and the board may require an approved examination during the term.
The board's application list shows the routes in practice: an Endorsement form and a National Register form sit alongside the EPPP forms.
Whoever applies, the documentation bar is high β official licence verifications for every professional licence the applicant holds or has ever held, including expired ones, showing licence number, type, issue and expiry dates and any discipline; copies of licences are not acceptable (board page).
βThe board may, at any time at its discretion, grant a conditional license without examination to any person who at the time of application is licensed by a similar board of another state whose standards, in the opinion of the board, are equivalent to those required by this chapter.β
The statute sets licences to expire biennially or as established by the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation (Β§3835) β biennial is the default, and a different cycle is the Commissioner's to establish.
The board's page publishes an annual renewal on April 30th, with a $125 renewal fee and a $50 late fee after the expiration date.
Confirm your own cycle and due date with the board before your licence comes due.
More than 90 days late, an application is subject to the new-applicant requirements, though the board may waive the examination within two years of expiration.
On continuing education, the texts read give no hour total: the board's pages reference a 2012β2014 continuing-education period, no longer collect CE logs at renewal, and instead certify CE on the renewal form with audits of a randomly selected group of licensees.
One requirement is clear: a one-time minimum of 3 contact hours on family or intimate partner violence screening, referral and intervention strategies, in place since January 1, 2020, which may count toward the licensee's required continuing education (Β§3835).
βLicenses issued under this chapter expire biennially or as established by the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation.β
This page summarizes the Maine statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Maine Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation) publishes.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.
Confirm every requirement with the Maine Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Maine that asks for it.
The statute does not say.
32 M.R.S. Β§3831(2) requires at least 2 years of experience in psychology of a type the board considers qualifying, and no text read splits those years into internship and postdoctoral halves or requires any of them after the degree.
The board's rules, which were not among the sources read, may add the detail.
Ask the board how your internship and any postdoctoral hours will be counted before you commit to a supervision plan.
No hour count appears in the sources read.
The statute states the requirement as 2 years of qualifying experience rather than hours, and the board's licensing page lists documentation of supervised experience among the application materials without figures.
The board's administrative rules (02-340 CMR) were not among the sources read, so any hour totals they set were not verifiable.
The board decides what documentation shows a year is qualifying, so confirm your documentation with it early.
The examiner licence is a master's-level credential for assessment work: interviewing and administering and interpreting tests of mental abilities, aptitudes, interests and personality characteristics.
An examiner may provide intervention such as consultation, behavior management or social skills training under the supervision of a licensed psychologist, or as law or board rules otherwise provide, and may apply for Intervention Privileges.
Psychotherapy is barred outright: no psychotherapy services under any circumstances.
The examiner's EPPP passing score is 65%, per the board's licensing page.
Yes.
The PSYPACT Commission map lists Maine as a member in effect since October 18, 2021 (ME HB 631, enacted June 22, 2021), and the compact is codified at 32 M.R.S. Β§3841 et seq.
PSYPACT covers doctoral-level psychologists only, so a psychological examiner cannot use it.
A Maine psychologist needs ASPPB's E.Passport or Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus the matching PSYPACT authorization before practising telepsychology or working temporarily in person in a participating state.
The statute, 32 M.R.S. Β§3835, has licences expire biennially or as established by the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation β biennial is the default, and the Commissioner may establish a different cycle.
The board's licensing page publishes an annual renewal on April 30th, with a $125 renewal fee and a $50 late fee after the expiration date.
Because the board administers the cycle it publishes, confirm your own renewal date with the board before your licence comes due.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Maine Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation).