🧭 Psychologist licensure

Psychologist Licensure in Massachusetts: Degree, Supervised Hours and the EPPP

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Massachusetts licenses psychologists through the Board of Registration of Psychologists.

The licence takes a doctoral degree in psychology, supervised experience of not less than 3,200 clock hours within 60 consecutive calendar months — at least one year of it before the doctoral degree — plus a board-determined national examination and the Massachusetts Jurisprudence examination.

There is no master's-level psychology licence; the add-on credential is the Health Service Provider certification.

Massachusetts is not a PSYPACT state, and Massachusetts psychologists have no prescriptive authority.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Massachusetts, that is the Board of Registration of Psychologists.

At a glance

Licence titles

Psychologist (M.G.L. c.112 §119), plus a Health Service Provider (HSP) certification on top (M.G.L. c.112 §120; 251 CMR 3.06).

Supervised experience must be completed in positions designated "psychologist in training" (251 CMR 3.04(6)).

Degree

A doctoral degree in psychology from a recognized educational institution (M.G.L. c.112 §119(b)); 251 CMR 3.03 counts programs designated by ASPPB or the National Register, or accredited by APA's Commission on Accreditation, at degree grant or within three years after.

Internship

An internship of one year full time fulfills one year of supervised experience if it is at least 1,600 clock hours completed in not less than ten calendar months, and only after two full-time post-bachelor's academic years, at least one in the degree-granting doctoral program (251 CMR 3.04(8)(a)).

Postdoctoral year

Not stated in the sources read.

The statute requires at least one year of supervised experience before the doctoral degree (M.G.L. c.112 §119(c)); no text read either requires a postdoctoral year or says all 3,200 clock hours may be earned before the degree.

Exams

A national examination in psychology whose form and content the Board determines (scaled score of 500 or higher from April 2001, unless the Board determines otherwise) plus the Massachusetts Jurisprudence examination (251 CMR 3.08).

No EPPP Part 2 requirement was found.

Master's-level licence

None found.

251 CMR 3.00 covers doctoral licensure and HSP certification only; the "psychologist in training" designation is a supervised trainee position, not a master's licence.

PSYPACT

No. Per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026, Massachusetts has not enacted PSYPACT; bills introduced in 2025 (H.

2528, S.

1487) were not enacted.

Prescriptive authority

None.

Massachusetts psychologists do not prescribe.

Renewal & CE

Every two years (251 CMR 3.10(1)), with continuing education set by 251 CMR 4.00, which was not read; the texts read give 20 hours per renewal period only as the basis for make-up CE on a lapsed-licence renewal.

Domestic and sexual violence training is a renewal condition (M.G.L. c.112 §264).

The Massachusetts credential ladder

  1. Psychologist in trainingPre-licensure

    Not a licence: 251 CMR 3.04(6) requires supervised clinical experience to be completed in positions designated as "psychologist in training" (e.g., intern, resident, fellow, psychology trainee).

    The sources read show no pre-licensure psychology licence or registration that the board issues.

  2. PsychologistIndependent

    The licence, issued on the section 119 requirements: a doctoral degree in psychology, the equivalent of at least two years of supervised experience, the national examination, the jurisprudence exam, endorsements and good moral character.

    251 CMR 3.00 governs it alongside the HSP certification.

  3. Health Service Provider (HSP) certification(HSP)Other

    A certification, not a licence: added on top of the psychologist licence under M.G.L. c.112 §120 and 251 CMR 3.06, on not less than 3,200 clock hours within 60 consecutive months, 800 of them providing health services directly to clients.

One licence, one certification, and a trainee designation that is not a licence

📜 M.G.L. c.112 §119; M.G.L. c.112 §120; 251 CMR 3.06

Massachusetts issues one psychology licence, psychologist (M.G.L. c.112 §119), and one add-on credential: the Health Service Provider certification under M.G.L. c.112 §120 and 251 CMR 3.06.

There is no master's-level licence in the sources read — 251 CMR 3.00 covers doctoral licensure and HSP certification only — so a master's-trained practitioner has no psychology-board rung to hold.

Applicants must show good moral character and conduct their professional activities in accordance with accepted standards such as APA's Ethical Standards of Psychologists (§119(a), (d)).

The supervised-experience rule does require training in positions designated "psychologist in training", which titles the trainee but is not a credential the board issues.

For how master’s-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the master’s-level psychology practitioner.

“Supervised clinical experience must be completed in positions designated as "psychologist in training" ( e.g ., intern, resident, fellow, psychology trainee, etc .)”

A doctoral degree in psychology, with the program's credentials doing the work

📜 M.G.L. c.112 §119(b); 251 CMR 3.01, 3.03

The statute requires a doctoral degree in psychology from a recognized educational institution — recognized meaning regional accreditation, or a Commonwealth charter, in place when the degree was granted or within two years after (251 CMR 3.01).

The program itself must be designated by ASPPB or the National Register, or accredited by APA's Commission on Accreditation, at the time the degree is granted or within three years thereafter; such programs are presumed to meet the rule's criteria.

The criteria include a minimum of three academic years of full-time graduate study with at least one year in residence at the degree-granting program, supervised practica, competence in five substantive content areas — typically shown with a minimum of three graduate semester hours per area — and a dissertation psychological in method and content.

Foreign degrees require a credentials evaluation.

For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

“has received a doctoral degree in psychology from a recognized educational institution”

Two years, 3,200 clock hours, and the question the texts do not answer

📜 M.G.L. c.112 §119(c); 251 CMR 3.04(5), (7), (8)(a)

The statute requires the equivalent of at least two years full time of psychological employment, teaching, research or professional practice supervised by or in collaboration with a licensed psychologist, at least one year before the doctoral degree.

251 CMR 3.04(5) counts that as not less than 3,200 clock hours within 60 consecutive calendar months unless the Board for good cause allows additional completion time.

Hours only count after two full-time academic years of graduate training in psychology or its equivalent; each training experience must run at least four months at 16 hours weekly with at least one individual supervision hour weekly; maximum 16 hours credited per supervision hour.

An internship of at least 1,600 clock hours in not less than ten calendar months fulfills one year only after two full-time post-bachelor's academic years, at least one in the degree-granting doctoral program; advanced practica likewise require two full-time post-bachelor's academic years, at least one in the degree-granting doctoral program.

Nothing read requires a postdoctoral year or states all 3,200 hours may be earned before the degree; confirm with the board.

For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.

“has engaged for the equivalent of at least two years full time, at least one year of which was before his receiving the doctoral degree, in psychological employment, teaching, research or professional practice under the supervision of or in collaboration with a licensed psychologist, or one clearly eligible for licensure in the opinion of the board”

A board-determined national exam, a jurisprudence exam, and no Part 2

📜 251 CMR 3.08(1)–(3)

251 CMR 3.08 requires every applicant to take a national examination in psychology whose form and content the Board determines — with the passing score a scaled 500 or higher commencing April 2001, unless the Board determines otherwise — and to pass the Massachusetts Jurisprudence examination.

A candidate must pass the national exam within three calendar years of the Board's approval for examination or re-apply and meet current requirements; each exam may be taken at most four times per calendar year, with retakes at least three months apart.

The rules read do not name EPPP Part 2, and no Part 2 requirement was found.

That question is time-limited anyway: ASPPB's single integrated EPPP becomes the required version for first-time takers from fall 2027 and the only version from April 1, 2028, so confirm with the board which exam to sit.

“An applicant for licensure shall take a national examination in psychology, the form and content of which is determined by the Board.”

Weekly, face-to-face, on the premises — and who may supervise

📜 251 CMR 3.05

Supervision must be a formal relationship with weekly contact, face to face, individually or in groups of no more than three, and the supervisor must be on the premises while the trainee renders services.

The supervisor must be a licensed psychologist or one clearly eligible for licensure; a psychiatrist certified or eligible for certification by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, or a certified member of another psychological specialty approved by the Board, is presumed clearly eligible.

Supervisors must be staff members of, or consultants to, the training organization, may not be reimbursed by the trainee, and in the private sector the applicant must be employed by the person, group or corporation providing the supervision, which must assume both the legal and professional responsibility for the trainee's services.

Personal psychotherapy or psychoanalysis may not be substituted for supervised experience.

“Supervision shall be obtained from a licensed psychologist or one clearly eligible for licensure in the opinion of the Board.”

The HSP certification: 3,200 hours with 800 direct, and what does not count

📜 251 CMR 3.06(4), (5), (6); M.G.L. c.112 §120

The Health Service Provider certification is Massachusetts's credential for psychologists who provide health services.

Section 120 asks for at least two years of full-time supervised health service experience, and 251 CMR 3.06(4)(a) counts that as not less than 3,200 clock hours within 60 consecutive calendar months, 800 of them providing health services directly to clients.

In each of the two years, at least half the supervision must come from a licensed psychologist and at least 25% of the hours must be direct client contact; vocational guidance, industrial or organizational consulting, teaching and research do not count.

The qualifying training must sit in a health service setting: an APA-accredited pre- or post-doctoral program, or a program meeting the rule's detailed criteria, which for non-APA programs include at least 400 hours of direct client contact and a minimum 1,600-hour experience completed within 24 months.

HSP is a certification on top of the licence, not a separate licence and not a master's rung.

For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.

“The reference to "at least two years of full time supervised health service experience" in M.G.L. c. 112, § 120 shall mean not less than 3200 clock hours which have been completed within 60 consecutive calendar months, 800 clock hours of which were spent providing health services directly to clients.”

Not a PSYPACT state, and the 2025 bills were not enacted

📜 PSYPACT Commission map (retrieved 2026-09-24); MA H. 2528, S. 1487 (2025, not enacted)

Massachusetts is not a PSYPACT state: the PSYPACT Commission map, as read in September 2026, lists it among the jurisdictions with no enacted PSYPACT legislation, with bills introduced in 2025 — H.

2528 and S.

1487 — not enacted.

A Massachusetts-licensed psychologist therefore has no PSYPACT home state, so the compact's Authority to Practice Interjurisdictional Telepsychology and temporary in-person authorization are unavailable; a psychologist licensed in a PSYPACT state cannot use PSYPACT authorizations to treat clients located in Massachusetts.

PSYPACT is doctoral-only in any case, so no master's-level practitioner could hold its credentials.

Check the commission's map and the legislature for movement before relying on either side of that line.

For how PSYPACT’s telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.

“No — bills introduced 2025 (MA H. 2528, S. 1487), not enacted.”

Moving to Massachusetts: reciprocity with a jurisprudence gate

📜 M.G.L. c.112 §121; 251 CMR 3.09

The board licenses by reciprocity under M.G.L. c.112 §121: it issues a licence to an applicant currently licensed or certified as a psychologist in another jurisdiction whose requirements are substantially equivalent to section 119's.

Applicants who meet the academic requirements of 251 CMR 3.03(1) are recognized as meeting the requirements for reciprocity licensure when they hold an ABPP diplomate, or a current ASPPB Certificate of Professional Qualification together with at least five years of licensure in good standing.

Meeting the same academic requirements plus five years of licensure in good standing with current listing in the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology is recognized for reciprocity licensure together with HSP certification.

Every reciprocity applicant must still pass the Massachusetts psychology jurisprudence exam.

“All applicants for licensure by reciprocity must achieve a passing score on the psychology jurisprudence exam.”

Renew every two years; the CE rule itself was not read

📜 251 CMR 3.10(1)–(2); M.G.L. c.112 §264

A licensee must renew the licence every two years, filing the renewal application and fees before it expires (251 CMR 3.10(1)).

Renewal also requires the continuing education set by 251 CMR 4.00, which was not among the texts read; the only CE figure in the text read is the 20 hours per renewal period used to compute make-up CE on a lapsed-licence renewal, so confirm the current requirement with the board.

Domestic violence and sexual violence training under M.G.L. c.112 §264 is a condition of licensure, renewal, revival and reinstatement, though a previously completed approved course need not be repeated unless the board, in its discretion, requires it.

Letting the licence lapse suspends both practice and the title "psychologist" until it is renewed.

“A licensee must renew his or her license every two years.”

Three file requirements that catch applicants

📜 M.G.L. c.112 §119(e); 251 CMR 3.02, 3.07

Section 119(e) requires every licence applicant to apply to participate in the medical assistance program administered under chapter 118E, for the limited purpose of ordering and referring services covered under the program — but only if regulations governing such limited participation are promulgated under chapter 118E; a psychologist who chooses to participate in a medical assistance program as a provider of services is deemed to have fulfilled the requirement.

The application must also state the area or areas of the applicant's competence, and a licensee who later asserts competence in a new area must be able to furnish the Board with information sufficient to support it (251 CMR 3.02).

File the endorsements too: three from individuals of recognized standing in a psychological field, at least one from a licensed psychologist, and one from a training supervisor or another individual having direct knowledge of the applicant's work, with no more than one from a current board member (251 CMR 3.07).

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Massachusetts statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Registration of Psychologists publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

Confirm every requirement with the Board of Registration of Psychologists before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Massachusetts that asks for it.

What Clinical Psychologist Job Listings in Massachusetts Show Right Now

From the 48 active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
48
clinical psychologist jobs in Massachusetts
Employers hiring
5
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
8
new listings
Listings stating pay
21%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Pay employers post

  • 21% of clinical psychologist listings in Massachusetts state any pay at all.

Benefits and work arrangement

  • 8% remote or telehealth and 58% hybrid; the rest are on-site
  • 401k Matchnamed in 92%
  • Health Insurancenamed in 52%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 52%
  • Flexible Schedulenamed in 48%
  • Malpractice Insurance Coverednamed in 42%

Source: active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 48 jobs →

Frequently Asked Questions

How many supervised hours do you need to become a psychologist in Massachusetts?

The statute asks for the equivalent of at least two years of full-time supervised experience, which 251 CMR 3.04(5) counts as not less than 3,200 clock hours completed within 60 consecutive calendar months.

A full-time internship of at least 1,600 clock hours in not less than ten calendar months fulfills one year of the requirement, but only after two full-time post-bachelor's academic years, at least one of them in the degree-granting doctoral program; advanced practica carry the same two-post-bachelor-years condition.

Every hour also has to sit inside the rule's supervision ratios, so confirm your placements with the board early.

Does Massachusetts require a postdoctoral year?

Not stated in the sources read.

The statute requires at least one year of supervised experience before the doctoral degree, and no text read adds a postdoctoral-year requirement — but none says all 3,200 clock hours may be earned before the degree either.

The research on this state could not settle the question either way, so confirm with the Board of Registration of Psychologists how your hours will be split before you plan around a postdoc.

Is there a master's-level psychology licence in Massachusetts?

No master's-level psychology licence was found in the sources read: 251 CMR 3.00 covers doctoral licensure and the Health Service Provider certification, both built on a doctoral degree.

The "psychologist in training" designation that supervised experience must be completed in is a trainee position, not a licence.

PSYPACT, which Massachusetts has not joined, is doctoral-only in any case, so a master's-level clinician would practise under a different board's licence — a question outside the sources read here.

What exams does Massachusetts require for psychologist licensure?

Two.

251 CMR 3.08 requires a national examination in psychology — the form and content are whatever the Board determines, with a passing scaled score of 500 or higher from April 2001 unless the Board determines otherwise — and the Massachusetts Jurisprudence examination.

You must pass the national exam within three calendar years of the board's approval to sit, each exam can be taken at most four times in a calendar year, and retakes wait at least three months.

No EPPP Part 2 requirement appears in the rules read.

I am licensed as a psychologist elsewhere — how do I get licensed in Massachusetts?

By reciprocity under M.G.L. c.112 §121 and 251 CMR 3.09: the board issues a licence to a psychologist currently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction whose requirements are substantially equivalent to section 119's.

Meeting the academic requirements of 251 CMR 3.03(1) is the baseline for both credential routes: an ABPP diplomate, or a current ASPPB Certificate of Professional Qualification with at least five years of licensure in good standing, meets the reciprocity requirements, and five years of licensure plus current National Register listing extends to HSP certification too.

Every reciprocity applicant must still pass the psychology jurisprudence exam.

Find Clinical Psychologist Jobs in Massachusetts
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Massachusetts & Clinical Psychologist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Registration of Psychologists.