🧭 Psychologist licensure

Psychologist Licensure in Georgia: Degree, Supervised Hours and the EPPP

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Georgia licenses psychologists through the Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists.

The licence takes an APA- or CPA-accredited doctorate, an APA/CPA/APPIC internship of at least 2,000 hours, a 1,500-hour postdoctoral supervised work experience, and three exams: both parts of the EPPP, the Georgia jurisprudence exam, and an oral exam on a work sample.

A non-renewable provisional licence covers the postdoc year under supervision.

Deemed routes exist for accredited, APPIC or Board-acceptable fellowships and for Senior I/O psychologists.

No master's-level licence or prescriptive authority exists, and Georgia has been a PSYPACT member since July 1, 2020.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Georgia, that is the Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Secretary of State).

At a glance

Licence titles

Psychologist, plus a non-renewable provisional licence for candidates who have passed the written exams and have only the postdoctoral SWE and oral exam left (r.

510-2-.01(4)).

Degree

A doctorate from an APA- or CPA-accredited doctoral program in applied psychology, or from an I/O or international program as the rule defines it (r.

510-2-.01(1)(a)).

Internship

An APA- or CPA-accredited or APPIC-member internship of at least 2,000 hours, or an equivalent meeting the rule's criteria: 2,000 hours in 11 to 24 months (48 for I/O), at least 500 direct client-contact hours (I/O interns exempt), 60 semester hours before inception, and more (r.

510-2-.01(1)(b); r.

510-2-.05(4)).

Postdoctoral year

Required, as written: 1,500 hours of postdoctoral supervised work experience completed after all doctoral requirements, in no less than 11 and no more than 24 months, with at least 500 hours of client/patient involvement.

Deemed to have met it: a formal fellowship that is APA-accredited, an APPIC member or acceptable to the Board (no log), or a Senior I/O Psychologist (r.

510-2-.05(5)(a)7-8).

Exams

Three, in order: the two-part EPPP (both parts required), the Georgia Jurisprudence Examination, and an oral exam before a Board subcommittee based on a work sample (r.

510-2-.01(1)(g)).

Master's-level licence

None found.

Psychological testing requires a psychology licence; supervised students, trainees or assistants who satisfy the statutory and rule requirements may test, and the exemptions in O.C.G.A.

43-39-7 (not read) and rule 510-10-.04 (other professional boards) also sit outside the ban (r.

510-10-.03; r.

510-10-.04).

PSYPACT

Member, in effect: Georgia HB 26, enacted April 23, 2019, effective July 1, 2020, per the PSYPACT Commission map as of September 2026.

Prescriptive authority

None.

Georgia psychologists do not prescribe.

Renewal & CE

Licences expire December 31 of even-numbered years and renew for two years (r.

510-7-.01).

The renewal CE hours: Not stated in the sources read.

The Georgia credential ladder

  1. Non-renewable provisional licencePre-licensure

    For a candidate who has passed the written examinations and met every requirement except the postdoctoral supervised work experience and the oral exam; it carries the privileges of licensure subject to continued supervision and is valid for up to two years (r.

    510-2-.01(4)).

  2. PsychologistIndependent

    The full licence, granted once the candidate passes the subcommittee oral exam and has completed the 1,500-hour SWE; a current Georgia psychology licence is required to practise psychology in Georgia or to use the title psychologist (r.

    510-7-.03(1)).

Two licences: psychologist, and a non-renewable provisional licence

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01(4); r. 510-10-.01(e); r. 510-7-.03(1)

Georgia issues two psychology credentials: the psychologist licence and a non-renewable provisional licence.

The provisional licence is the doctoral candidate's working postdoc stage: the Board may issue it to an applicant who has passed the written examinations and completed every other requirement except the postdoctoral supervised work experience and the oral exam.

It is valid for up to two years from issuance and expires at 24 months unless the Board grants an exception, and it can be revoked if the supervised experience is not being satisfactorily met.

A person must hold a current Georgia psychology licence to practise psychology in Georgia or to use the title psychologist, and an unlicensed person may not use words, letters or figures implying that they are a psychologist (r.

510-10-.01(e)).

For how master’s-level psychology licences work where they exist, see the master’s-level psychology practitioner.

β€œA Provisional license carries all the weight and privileges of licensure except for the requirement of continued supervision for all professional activities throughout the experience (See supervised work experience).”

An accredited applied-psychology doctorate, with a residency rule

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01(1)(a); r. 510-2-.04(1), (4), (5), (6)

The degree rule is accreditation-first: a doctorate from an APA- or CPA-accredited doctoral program in applied psychology, accredited at the time the doctoral requirements were completed, or from an I/O or international program the rule defines.

I/O graduates qualify by listing in ASPPB and the National Register's Designated Doctoral Programs in Psychology, or by documenting 15 of the 25 competencies in the SIOP guidelines.

International degrees are accepted only if the Board, in its sole discretion, finds the university's standards substantially the same as APA or CPA.

Rule 510-2-.04 also fixes the shape of the degree: three full-time academic years of graduate study, two at the degree-granting institution and one in continuous full-time residence, which programs that are substantially or completely online cannot meet; an equivalence path exists on 540 hours of in-person course work with a training-director affidavit.

The practical test for a graduate is the transcript's accreditation status at the time your degree requirements were completed.

For how the PhD and PsyD routes to this degree differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

β€œA doctoral degree from an American Psychological Association (APA) or Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) accredited doctoral program in applied psychology (as defined below under Education) or from an I/O or international program (as defined below under Education).”

A 2,000-hour internship, then 1,500 postdoctoral hours

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01(1)(b), (c); r. 510-2-.05(4), (5)

Two experience blocks are required.

The internship is an APA- or CPA-accredited or APPIC-member internship of at least 2,000 hours.

A non-accredited internship can qualify as an equivalent, but the equivalency criteria include: 2,000 hours in 11 to 24 months (48 for I/O internships), at least 500 hours of direct client contact (I/O interns exempt), 60 graduate semester hours before inception, training in a range of assessment and treatment/intervention activities, the training director's written statement, the specialty areas' site requirements, and no practicum hours awarded course credit (r.

510-2-.05(4)(a)2).

The postdoctoral supervised work experience (SWE) is 1,500 hours and must occur after all requirements for the doctoral degree are completed.

It must finish within 11 to 24 months and include a minimum of 500 hours of client/patient involvement, reaching face-to-face contact, document review, test scoring and note/report writing, logged and co-signed weekly.

A formal postdoctoral fellowship that is APA-accredited, an APPIC member or acceptable to the Board is deemed to meet the SWE with no log, and a Senior Industrial/Organizational Psychologist is deemed to meet it (r.

510-2-.05(5)(a)7-8).

For the whole path from degree to licence, see how to become a clinical psychologist.

β€œIt must occur after all requirements for the doctoral degree are completed.”

Both EPPP parts, a closed-book jurisprudence exam, and an oral

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01(1)(g)1-3

The order is fixed: EPPP Part 1 after all course work, before the internship and SWE; Part 2 only after all doctoral requirements, including the internship, are complete.

Failure carries remediation: after three unsuccessful attempts, 3 semester hours of Board-approved coursework or 15 hours of APA, CPA or GPA continuing education before each retake of attempts four through six, rising to 9 semester hours or 45 hours from the seventh.

The Georgia Jurisprudence Examination, timed and closed book, can be scheduled only after the two-part national exam is passed and while the SWE is under way, with a 30-day retake wait.

Last is the oral before a Board subcommittee, based on a work sample from the candidate's intended area of practice, schedulable after all other examinations are passed and within two months of finishing the SWE.

As amended effective November 6, 2024, the rule still requires both EPPP parts; ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both for first-time takers from fall 2027 and is the only version from April 1, 2028, with no Georgia amendment in the sources read.

β€œEPPP Part 2 is a computer-based examination that assesses the skills needed for entry level licensure. Part 2 may be taken after all requirements for the doctoral degree including the internship have been completed.”

Who may supervise the postdoc year, and how much it takes

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.05(2)(f), (3)(b), (5)(b)

Choose the SWE supervisor before counting a single hour: the rule starts the clock at the contract, and supervision begins on the date the contract is signed by the supervisor and fellow.

A written, signed contract must exist before the SWE starts, specifying its goals, content and quality criteria.

A supervisor must hold a current licence from the Georgia Board or from a jurisdiction whose standards are not lower than Georgia's, and be free of disciplinary orders.

A supervisor may not take primary responsibility for more than three interns or fellows concurrently without Board approval; I/O supervisors are exempt from the cap but owe at least two supervision hours for each 40 the intern or fellow works.

Supervision is individual, at least one hour for each 30 hours of SWE, in person or by real-time face-to-face video, during the week the services were provided or the week after; I/O Fellows are exempt from this requirement.

Unlicensed fellows also work under co-signed reports and insurance claims, and every supervisor attests to the finished SWE on a Form G affidavit.

β€œThe fellow must meet with the supervisor individually to discuss cases and other professional activities at least one hour for each 30 hours of SWE.”

Testing is the practice of psychology, and there is no prescriptive authority

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-10-.01, r. 510-10-.02, r. 510-10-.03, r. 510-10-.04

Chapter 510-10's bans bind only a person with no current Georgia Board licence who is not within one of the O.C.G.A.

Section 43-39-7 exemptions, a statute not read.

That person may not render, or order rendered, psychological services for a fee (the rule names diagnosing and treating mental and nervous disorders, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, and administering and interpreting tests of mental abilities and personality), and may not offer direct psychological services or supervise psychological services, including for training purposes, regardless of fee.

Business entities may not carry words implying the practice of psychology without a licensed employee or officer.

Administration and interpretation of psychological tests is defined as the practice of psychology and requires a Georgia psychology licence; students, trainees or assistants who satisfy the requisite statutory and rule requirements may test under direct supervision, a supervision framework, not a master's-level credential.

Rule 510-10-.04 adds that a person licensed by another professional board may practise what state law authorizes that licence for, and that acts exempted under 43-39-7 are not unlawful practice.

No prescriptive authority appears in the chapters read.

For which states let specially trained psychologists prescribe, and on what terms, see prescriptive authority for psychologists.

β€œThe administration and interpretation of tests for psychological purposes constitutes the practice of psychology, and, accordingly, requires that the individual administering and interpreting such psychological tests be currently licensed by the State of Georgia as a psychologist.”

PSYPACT: a Georgia psychologist's route across state lines

πŸ“œ PSYPACT Commission map, retrieved 2026-09-24; GA HB 26, enacted 2019-04-23, effective 2020-07-01

Georgia is a PSYPACT member in effect, per the PSYPACT Commission map as read in September 2026: HB 26 was enacted April 23, 2019 and took effect July 1, 2020.

A Georgia psychologist uses the compact for telepsychology in participating states through ASPPB's E.Passport plus a PSYPACT APIT authorization, or for temporary in-person practice through the Interjurisdictional Practice Certificate plus a TAP authorization, capped at 30 days per year.

PSYPACT is doctoral-only, because its rule defines a graduate degree as a doctoral degree, so it extends to Georgia's psychologist licence and to nothing below it.

Practice under either authorization follows the scope of the state where the client is physically present.

For how PSYPACT’s telepsychology and temporary-practice authorizations work, see PSYPACT explained.

Moving to Georgia: an application path, and a gap in the sources

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01(1)(f), (5); r. 510-7-.02(2)

Psychologist applications in Georgia, by examination or by endorsement, run through ASPPB's PLUS program once the Board has registered the applicant, under the Board's instruction title General Instructions for Application by Examination or Endorsement.

What an endorsement applicant must actually show is not stated in the sources read: the two rules that once occupied that space (510-2-.02 and 510-2-.03) are repealed, and O.C.G.A.

43-39 was not read.

The one cross-jurisdiction line the rules do spell out is reinstatement, for an applicant holding a current licence in another jurisdiction, of a Georgia licence that has been in lapsed status for one or more years: at the Board's sole discretion, upon completion of the requirements set forth above in r.

510-7-.02(1), plus Verification of Current Licensure and passage of both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations.

If you hold another jurisdiction's psychology licence and are moving, confirm your route with the Board first.

β€œFor applicants holding a current license in another jurisdiction, a Georgia license which has been in lapsed status for one or more years may be reinstated, at the sole discretion of the Board, upon completion of the requirements set forth above, plus submission of Verification of Current Licensure from the licensing jurisdiction, and passage of both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations.”

Renewal every two years, and the CE figure the sources did not give

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-7-.01, r. 510-7-.02(1)

Every psychology licence expires on December 31 of even-numbered years and renews for two years when the renewal requirements, including continuing education, and the fee are satisfied; a licensee may not practise after expiration, and a 31-day late window carries a penalty fee before the licence lapses.

Reinstatement within one year of lapse is at the Board's discretion and takes an application, a penalty fee, and 40 hours of continuing education completed within two years; after twelve months, passage of both the Georgia Jurisprudence and Oral Examinations is added.

The renewal CE hours themselves, how many and on what topics, are not stated in the sources read, so check the Board's continuing education rule well before your first renewal.

β€œA license which has lapsed for failure to renew may be reinstated within one year, from the date the license lapsed, at the sole discretion of the Board, upon submission of an Application for Reinstatement, documentation of 40 hours of continuing education activities that were completed within two years of the date the application is received by the Board, and payment of a penalty fee as set by the Board (See Fee Schedule).”

Rule 510-2-.01 was amended effective November 6, 2024

πŸ“œ Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. r. 510-2-.01 (history: F. Oct. 17, 2024; eff. Nov. 6, 2024)

Rule 510-2-.01, the application rule, was amended effective November 6, 2024.

The history line records the amendment but not its content, so what changed is not stated in the sources read; the rule as it now stands still requires both EPPP parts, the jurisprudence exam and the oral.

History lines for the chapter's other rules were not in the sources read, so whether they also changed in this window is not stated.

How the rule will be amended for ASPPB's integrated EPPP is likewise not stated in the sources read.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Georgia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state psychologist licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Secretary of State) publishes.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the two doctoral routes differ, see PhD vs. PsyD.

Confirm every requirement with the Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Secretary of State) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the clinical psychologist jobs in Georgia that asks for it.

What Clinical Psychologist Job Listings in Georgia Show Right Now

From the 16 active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
16
clinical psychologist jobs in Georgia
Employers hiring
4
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
0
new listings
Listings stating pay
0%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Benefits and work arrangement

  • 13% hybrid; the rest are on-site
  • Health Insurancenamed in 88%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 88%
  • Continuing Education Budgetnamed in 81%
  • Flexible Schedulenamed in 81%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 75%

Source: active clinical psychologist listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 16 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Georgia require a postdoc year to become a psychologist?

Yes, as the rule is written.

Licensure requires a 1,500-hour postdoctoral supervised work experience that begins only after every doctoral requirement is complete, runs at least 11 months and no more than 24, and includes at least 500 hours of client/patient involvement.

Internship and practicum hours cannot count toward it.

Two routes are deemed to meet it anyway: a formal postdoctoral fellowship that is APA-accredited, an APPIC member or acceptable to the Board (1,500 hours over 11 to 24 months, no weekly log), and Senior Industrial/Organizational Psychologist status.

Confirm how your hours will be counted with the Board before you rely on them.

Does Georgia require EPPP Part 2?

Yes.

Georgia Board Rule 510-2-.01, as amended effective November 6, 2024, requires the two-part national exam: Part 1 after all course work, and Part 2 after all doctoral requirements including the internship.

Date that statement carefully: ASPPB's integrated EPPP replaces both parts for first-time takers from fall 2027 and is the only version from April 1, 2028, and the sources read show no Georgia amendment for the switch yet.

Check the Board's exam page for which version applies when you sit.

Is there a master's-level psychology licence in Georgia?

No master's-level psychology licence was found in chapters 510-2 or 510-10, the chapters read.

Georgia licenses psychologists at the doctoral level.

Supervised students, trainees or assistants who satisfy the requisite statutory and rule requirements may administer and interpret psychological tests under the direct supervision of a licensed psychologist (r.

510-10-.03), but that is a supervision arrangement, not a credential, and it does not create independent practice.

The chapter's bans also do not reach persons within the O.C.G.A.

43-39-7 exemptions (a statute not read) or those authorized by another professional board's licence (r.

510-10-.04).

PSYPACT, likewise, is doctoral-only, so it offers no route for a master's-level practitioner.

Can I practise in Georgia before finishing the postdoc?

Possibly, on the non-renewable provisional licence.

The Board may issue it to an applicant who has passed the written examinations and completed every other requirement except the postdoctoral supervised work experience and the oral exam.

It carries all the weight and privileges of licensure except continued supervision for all professional activities, is valid for up to two years, and expires at 24 months unless the Board grants an exception.

It cannot be renewed, so the SWE and the oral exam must be finished inside that window.

How many exams does Georgia require, and in what order?

Three, in the rule's fixed order.

First the two-part EPPP: Part 1 after all course work, Part 2 after the doctorate and internship are complete.

Second, the Georgia Jurisprudence Examination, a timed, multiple-choice, closed-book exam on current law, rules and regulations, schedulable only after the two-part national exam has been passed and while the supervised experience is under way.

Third, an oral exam before a Board subcommittee, based on a work sample from your intended area of practice, schedulable once all other examinations are passed and you are within two months of completing the SWE.

Failing the subcommittee oral escalates to a Full Board exam.

Find Clinical Psychologist Jobs in Georgia
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Georgia & Clinical Psychologist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Georgia State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (Secretary of State).