Hawaii licenses social workers at three levels: LBSW, LSW and LCSW.
The clinical license is the LCSW — the LSW's CSWE master's (or regionally accredited doctorate), the ASWB Clinical exam, and at least 3,000 hours of post-master's clinical experience earned in no fewer than two and no more than five years, with at least 100 supervision hours from an LCSW with 4,500 hours of their own.
Video supervision is allowed by statute, renewal is triennial with 45 CE hours, and Hawaii has not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), the state's clinical tier.
It takes the LSW's degree rule, the ASWB Clinical exam, and 3,000 supervised post-master's hours (HRS §467E-7(3)).
Licensed Bachelor Social Worker (LBSW) and Licensed Social Worker (LSW).
The sources read name no intern or associate license; the 2026 intern-reimbursement law refers to supervised social work interns without naming a license they must hold.
LBSW: a bachelor's in social work from a CSWE-accredited program or one deemed equivalent.
LSW and LCSW: a master's in social work from a CSWE-accredited program (or one deemed equivalent), or a social work doctorate accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or a comparable regional accreditation body.
At least 3,000 hours of post-master's clinical social work experience under supervision, completed within no fewer than two years but no more than five, including at least 2,000 hours of assessment, clinical diagnosis, and psychotherapy, no more than 900 hours of client-centered advocacy, consultation, and evaluation, and at least 100 hours of supervision.
LBSW: the statute's basic level national examination — ASWB's Bachelors exam under current names.
LSW: the intermediate or higher level — Masters or above.
LCSW: the clinical level.
The statute still uses ASWB's pre-2018 exam names.
An LCSW with at least 4,500 hours of post-master's clinical social work experience; supervision must have included review of assessment, clinical diagnosis, and psychotherapy.
A deemed-supervisor list for other professions applied only for the first five years after July 1, 2004.
Not enacted.
As of September 2026 Hawaii is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, and the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.
Triennially on or before June 30, with a minimum of 45 credit hours of continuing education in the three-year period preceding renewal, including at least three credit hours in ethic courses.
First-time licensees are exempt at the first renewal.
The baccalaureate license, granted on a CSWE-accredited (or deemed-equivalent) bachelor's in social work and the exam the statute calls the basic level national examination — ASWB's Bachelors exam under its current names.
A full license in its own right at the master's level, on the same degree rule the LCSW builds on; in Hawaii the letters LSW do not denote an intern or associate credential.
The clinical license: the LSW's degree rule, the ASWB Clinical exam, and at least 3,000 hours of supervised post-master's clinical experience with at least 100 supervision hours, under a supervisor who is an LCSW with at least 4,500 hours of their own.
Hawaii licenses social workers at three levels: the licensed bachelor social worker (LBSW), the licensed social worker (LSW) and the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW).
Every applicant submits evidence satisfactory to the director, and chapter 467E sits with the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs' Professional and Vocational Licensing division; the sources read name no separate social work board.
The LCSW is the clinical tier, and the only rung whose requirements include supervised clinical experience and a clinical-level exam.
No intern or associate license appears in the sources read; a 2026 law refers to supervised social work interns earning post-master's hours without naming any license they must hold.
The letters do not travel: Hawaii's LSW is a full master's-level license, not a supervised-associate credential.
For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.
The LBSW requires a bachelor's degree from a social work program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, or a program deemed equivalent to an accredited one.
The LSW and the LCSW share the master's rule: a master's degree from a CSWE-accredited (or deemed-equivalent) social work program, or a doctoral degree from a social work doctoral program accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or a comparable regional accreditation body.
The LCSW adds no coursework — it requires that the applicant has met the educational requirements in paragraph (2), the LSW's rule.
For a master's graduate, what separates the LSW from the LCSW is the Clinical exam and the supervised hours, not more school.
Because every level carries deemed-equivalent language, graduates of nonstandard programs should confirm equivalence with the director before counting on it.
For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.
The LCSW requires at least 3,000 hours of post-master's clinical social work experience under supervision, completed within no fewer than two years but within no more than five.
The experience must include a minimum of 2,000 hours of assessment, clinical diagnosis, and psychotherapy and no more than a maximum of 900 hours of client-centered advocacy, consultation, and evaluation; because 2,000 plus 900 falls short of 3,000, hours may also sit outside both named categories.
Supervision sits inside the same subparagraph: at least 100 hours, of which at least 60 must be individualized and no more than 40 may be small-group with up to six supervisees.
The statute deems the experience requirement satisfied for a holder of NASW certification as a qualified clinical social worker or diplomate in clinical social work, or American Board of Examiners board certified diplomate status — a deeming that covers this subparagraph, 100 supervision hours included.
Who may supervise sits in a separate subparagraph, (D), which the deeming does not mention; a certified applicant should ask the director how (D) applies to them.
For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.
“Has provided evidence of successful completion of at least three thousand hours of post masters clinical social work experience under supervision completed within no fewer than two years, but within no more than five years. Clinical social work experience shall include a minimum of two thousand hours of assessment, clinical diagnosis, and psychotherapy; no more than a maximum of nine hundred hours of client-centered advocacy, consultation, and evaluation; and at least one hundred hours of supervision as follows: (i) At least sixty of the one hundred hours of direct face-to-face supervision shall have been individualized supervision; and (ii) Not more than forty hours of direct face-to-face supervision may have been under small group (up to six supervisees) supervision.”
Each tier maps to one ASWB exam, and the statute names each by ASWB's older category names.
The LBSW requires the basic level national examination — the Bachelors exam under ASWB's current categories.
The LSW requires the intermediate or higher level national examination, so a Masters exam or any higher category satisfies it.
The LCSW requires the clinical level national examination.
Hawaii's statute still uses ASWB's pre-2018 names (Basic, Intermediate and Advanced were the old names for Bachelors, Masters and Advanced Generalist), so read them as the current exams.
Mechanics live in §467E-8: an eligible applicant applies to the director at least ninety days before the examination date, on the director's form, with a nonrefundable application fee, and a person who fails may apply for reexamination.
The sources read name no additional state-law or jurisprudence exam for this chapter.
For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.
“Has passed the clinical level national examination given by the Association of Social Work Boards”
The supervisor must have been a licensed clinical social worker with at least 4,500 hours of post-master's clinical social work experience, and the supervision must have included review of assessment, clinical diagnosis, and psychotherapy.
A transition provision deemed other professionals qualified supervisors for the first five years after July 1, 2004: master's-level social workers with 4,500 hours of post-master's clinical experience, holders of NASW diplomate or American Board of Examiners certifications, and board certified psychiatrists, psychologists and advanced practice registered nurses with 4,500 hours.
That window has closed, so a current applicant's supervisor is an LCSW.
On format the statute is permissive: in collaboration with the supervisor, an applicant may elect to fulfill some or all of the supervision requirements through face-to-face supervision conducted electronically through a video conference service compliant with federal and state privacy law, including HIPAA.
What such an election may cost you elsewhere is the endorsement section's subject.
Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.
“The supervisor shall have been a licensed clinical social worker with at least four thousand five hundred hours of post masters clinical social work experience”
Hawaii's own endorsement rules are not stated in the sources read: the research notes HAR chapter 16-140 was not retrieved, and the neighboring statute section, §467E-8, is Application for examination.
A clinician licensed elsewhere who wants a Hawaii license should therefore ask DCCA's Professional and Vocational Licensing Division directly how it treats an out-of-state license.
What the statute does address is the outbound risk of a Hawaii-earned record: an applicant who elects electronic supervision is told, before making the election, to review the laws and rules of other jurisdictions to determine the impact on license by endorsement in those jurisdictions.
The practical point for a Hawaii-trained clinician who may leave: supervision done by video, which Hawaii counts in full, may not be counted by a jurisdiction you move to later.
For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.
“Prior to making the election, it is incumbent upon the applicant to review the laws and rules of other jurisdictions to determine the impact, if any, that electronic supervision may have on license by endorsement in other states.”
As of September 2026, Hawaii is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions: it has not enacted the compact.
There is no multistate-license route into or out of Hawaii, so practice in the state takes a Hawaii license issued through DCCA PVL, and no multistate license has been issued anywhere as of the research date.
The compact itself has reached activation status, but the commission says multistate licenses are not yet being issued, and it estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than giving a launch date.
Check the commission's jurisdiction list and DCCA PVL before relying on either status.
For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.
Every license issued under the chapter renews triennially on or before June 30.
Each licensee pays the required fees and completes a minimum of 45 credit hours of continuing education within the three-year period preceding the renewal date, including a minimum of three credit hours in ethic courses; a first-time licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirement at the first renewal.
The enforcement mechanics reward attention: failure to renew forfeits the license; a forfeited license can be restored within one year of expiration on payment of renewal and penalty fees, and audited licensees must also show documentary proof of continuing education; after one year the license terminates automatically, and relicensure may be subject to the person applying as a new applicant and satisfying all licensing requirements again.
Licensees keep their own continuing education records and certify compliance under oath at renewal, and the director may audit, with 60 days from notice to produce documentation.
“Complete a minimum of forty-five credit hours of continuing education courses within the three-year period preceding the renewal date; provided that a minimum of three credit hours shall be in ethic courses.”
Section 467E-7 appears in the statute in two versions: one effective until June 30, 2026, and one effective July 1, 2026.
The change is a new subsection (b) added by Act 93 of 2024, section 32.
It makes services provided by a supervised social work intern obtaining post-master's clinical social work experience under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker eligible for insurance reimbursement, on two conditions: the supervising LCSW's services must be eligible for reimbursement as a contracted provider, and the billed rate for the intern must be commensurate with the requisite level of training.
For a graduate counting hours, this matters at the job-offer stage: an agency that bills for intern services can fund supervised hours that the prior text did not make reimbursable.
The subsection says nothing about any license the intern must hold, and the sources read name none.
“Services provided by a supervised social work intern obtaining post masters clinical social work experience under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker or individual identified in subsection (a)(3)(D) to qualify for a license as a licensed clinical social worker shall be eligible for insurance reimbursement; provided that the supervising licensed clinical social worker's services are eligible for reimbursement as a contracted provider; provided further that the billed rate for the social work intern is commensurate with the requisite level of training.”
The statute's cross-references point clinical social workers licensed under paragraph (3) to appointment as child custody evaluators, §571-46.4.
That section was not among the sources read, so what appointment requires is not stated here; the pointer is the point — family-court evaluation work is one place a Hawaii LCSW license appears in the statutes.
If that direction interests you, read §571-46.4 and ask DCCA PVL what it requires before counting on it.
This page summarizes the Hawaii statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing (director-licensed; HRS ch. 467E) publishes.
Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Hawaii, MFT licensure in Hawaii, or what therapists earn in Hawaii.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.
Confirm every requirement with the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing (director-licensed; HRS ch. 467E) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Hawaii that asks for it.
The statute gives a window rather than a timeline: at least 3,000 hours of post-master's supervised clinical experience completed within no fewer than two years but no more than five, plus 100 supervision hours and the ASWB Clinical exam.
The sources read do not state that the hours must be earned on a particular Hawaii license, so confirm when your clock can start with DCCA's Professional and Vocational Licensing Division before you accept an offer.
Not for a current applicant.
The supervisor must have been an LCSW with at least 4,500 hours of post-master's clinical social work experience.
The statute's transition list — master's-level social workers, NASW diplomate and American Board of Examiners certificants, psychiatrists, psychologists and APRNs — deemed such professionals qualified supervisors only for the first five years after July 1, 2004, a window that has closed.
Ask DCCA PVL if you believe a legacy arrangement applies to you.
Yes — some or all of it.
In collaboration with the supervisor, an applicant may elect to fulfill the supervision requirements through face-to-face supervision conducted electronically through a HIPAA-compliant video conference service.
The statute attaches a warning: before electing, review other jurisdictions' laws and rules to determine the impact electronic supervision may have on license by endorsement elsewhere — a jurisdiction you move to may refuse hours Hawaii counts in full.
Confirm your supervision plan with DCCA PVL.
No, as of September 2026.
Hawaii is not on the commission's list of member jurisdictions, so there is no multistate-license route into or out of the state, and no multistate license has been issued anywhere yet.
A clinician moving to Hawaii needs a license issued through DCCA's Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, and a Hawaii license carries no compact privileges elsewhere.
Renewals are triennial, due June 30.
Missing the deadline forfeits the license, but a forfeited license can be restored within one year of expiration on payment of renewal and penalty fees — audited licensees must also show documentary proof of continuing education.
After one year the license terminates automatically, and relicensure may be subject to applying as a new applicant and meeting every licensing requirement again.
Keep your own CE records; the director audits and allows 60 days from notice to produce documentation.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing (director-licensed; HRS ch. 467E).