🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Indiana: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Indiana licenses social workers at three levels: the bachelor's degree social worker, the licensed social worker (LSW) and the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW).

The LCSW takes a graduate degree emphasizing direct clinical or client health services, at least two years of post-graduate clinical experience under a qualified supervisor, at least four hours of face-to-face supervision a month and the ASWB Clinical exam.

The quirks: hours earned as an LSW never expire, up to 100 percent of supervision may be virtual, and endorsement must be decided within 30 days.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Indiana, that is the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Social Work Section).

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).

In Indiana the clinical experience itself is earned on the LSW: experience obtained in Indiana must be earned while licensed as a social worker (IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(c)).

Other license levels

A bachelor's degree social worker license (IC 25-23.6-5-1.5, whose requirements were not retrievable in the sources read) and the licensed social worker (LSW), plus a temporary permit referenced in the experience rule.

Degree

LCSW: a doctorate in social work, or at least a master's from a CSWE-accredited or candidacy program, from a graduate program that emphasized direct clinical or client health services.

LSW: a master's in social work from a board-approved institution, or the closed pre-July 2019 bachelor's-degree route.

Supervised experience

At least two years of clinical social work experience after the graduate degree.

The rule defines full-time as 1,500 paid hours a year; part-time counts at 4,500 total hours, 3,000 of them post-graduate.

Hours earned on the LSW do not expire.

ASWB exam

LSW: the level the rule calls intermediate, ASWB's former name for the Masters exam.

LCSW: the clinical level.

A final-term student may sit the LSW exam on a letter of good standing.

Supervisor requirement

A qualified supervisor as determined by the board; the qualifications themselves were not stated in the sources read.

The rule sets at least four hours of face-to-face supervision per month, and the statute allows up to 100 percent of supervision to be virtual.

Social Work Compact

Not enacted.

As of September 2026 Indiana is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, and the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Renewal & CE

Renewal takes a fee and not less than 20 hours of continuing education per licensure year (IC 25-23.6-5-9).

The renewal-cycle length was not confirmed in the sources read.

Sponsor approvals expire April 1 of every even-numbered year.

The Indiana credential ladder

  1. Temporary permitPre-licensure

    A permit under IC 25-23.6-5-11.5 that the experience rule references: hours accumulated under the chapter before it expires count toward the LCSW experience requirement for up to four years, and beyond that only with board approval; the permit's own requirements were not stated in the sources read.

  2. Bachelor's degree social worker(LBSW)Other

    The baccalaureate-level license created by IC 25-23.6-5-1.5, which the endorsement rule names; its requirements could not be retrieved in the sources read and are not stated here.

  3. Licensed Social Worker(LSW)Pre-licensure

    A full license in its own right and the license Indiana clinical hours must be earned under; it requires a master's in social work, or the closed pre-July 2019 bachelor's-degree route, plus the exam the rule calls the intermediate ASWB level.

  4. Licensed Clinical Social Worker(LCSW)Independent

    The clinical license: a graduate degree emphasizing direct clinical or client health services, at least two years of post-graduate clinical experience under a qualified supervisor, and the ASWB exam at the clinical level.

Three licenses, and Indiana clinical hours are earned on the LSW

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-1; IC 25-23.6-5-1.5; IC 25-23.6-5-2; IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(c)

Indiana issues three social work licenses by degree level: the bachelor's degree social worker, the licensed social worker (LSW) and the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW).

The statute section for the bachelor's license, IC 25-23.6-5-1.5, could not be retrieved in the sources read, so its requirements are not stated here.

The LSW is a full license in its own right and, for hours earned in Indiana, the required vehicle: the experience rule says an individual obtaining the clinical social work experience in Indiana must be licensed as a social worker.

A temporary permit under section 11.5 also appears in the experience rule, and hours accumulated under it count for up to four years.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

β€œIf an individual is obtaining the clinical social work experience described in subsection (b) in Indiana, the individual must be licensed as a social worker under section 1 of this chapter.”

Degree routes: the LSW's master's rule and the LCSW's clinical program

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-1; IC 25-23.6-5-2; IC 25-23.6-5-3.1; 839 IAC 1-3-1

The LSW requires a master's degree in social work from an institution approved by the board, which the rule defines as CSWE-accredited or approved for candidacy at the time the degree was granted.

The statute keeps one older route: a bachelor's degree in social work earned before July 1, 2019, plus two years of practice under the supervision of an LSW, an LCSW or an equivalent supervisor.

The LCSW takes a doctoral degree in social work from an institution accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, or at least a master's accredited or approved for candidacy by CSWE, with Canadian and foreign-equivalent programs named in the statute.

Either way, the graduate program must have emphasized direct clinical or client health services: required clinical coursework and a supervised field placement in the applicant's direct-practice concentration providing clinical services to clients.

A graduate whose program did not emphasize those services may return to a qualifying graduate program to complete them.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

Two years, 1,500 hours a year, and hours that never expire

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(b), (g), (h); 839 IAC 1-3-2(b)

The statute requires at least two years of clinical social work experience after a graduate degree in social work, under a qualified supervisor as determined by the board; it states no hour total.

The rule supplies the hours: full-time paid experience of at least 1,500 hours per year, and part-time experience counts if the applicant verifies 4,500 total hours, 3,000 of them after the graduate degree.

Experience earned in Indiana must begin on the LSW license, and hours accumulated after that license do not expire, so a career pause does not erase the clock.

Under subsection (h), up to 100 percent of the supervised hours may be accounted for through virtual supervision, defined as synchronous audio and visual interaction in real time on a HIPAA-compliant platform; the rule's older face-to-face wording should be read beside the newer statute, so confirm the board's current position.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œ"experience" means full-time paid experience of at least one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours per year. Part-time experience will be considered if the applicant can verify a total of four thousand five hundred (4,500) hours, three thousand (3,000) hours of which must take place after receiving the graduate degree.”

The ASWB exam: the rule still says intermediate and clinical

πŸ“œ 839 IAC 1-2-1(b), (c); IC 25-23.6-5-4; 839 IAC 1-3-5

The rule requires LSW applicants to pass the intermediate level of the national examination provided by the Association of Social Work Boards, and LCSW applicants the clinical level.

Intermediate is ASWB's former name for the Masters exam, so a candidate registering with ASWB today is approved for the Masters exam.

A student in the final term of the final year of a qualifying program may sit the LSW exam with a letter of good standing from the director of the social work department or the director's designee.

Two process rules worth planning around: an applicant approved by the board must sit within one year of that approval or file a new application, and an applicant who fails the exam three times may be required to appear before the board before retaking.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œApplicants for licensure as a clinical social worker shall be required to pass the clinical level of the national examination as provided by the Association of Social Work Boards.”

Choosing a supervisor: qualified, four hours a month, mostly anywhere

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(b), (f), (h); 839 IAC 1-3-2(c), (d)

The statute requires supervision by a qualified supervisor as determined by the board; the sources read do not state what qualifications the board looks for, so ask the board before signing a supervision plan.

The rule sets the cadence: face-to-face contact of at least four hours per month, for the purpose of assisting the supervisee in learning the skills of practice.

The rule also confines qualifying experience to employment in listed settings, from social service agencies, hospitals and mental health centers to schools, private practice and correctional institutions.

One placement limit: independent private practice of clinical social work may not be performed away from the qualified supervisor's premises unless a qualified supervisor is available where the work is done, but the limit yields to virtual supervision under subsection (h); confirm the board's position on virtual supervision in private practice before you count those hours.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œsupervision must be face-to-face contact between the supervisor and supervisee for the purpose of assisting the supervisee in the process of learning the skills of social work or clinical social work practice for a minimum of four (4) hours per month.”

The diagnosis duty: a physical-exam referral rule every licensee should know

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-17

Indiana spells out one duty that reaches any licensee who performs an evaluation to determine a mental health diagnosis, added by P.L.138-2021.

If the patient has not seen a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse or a physician assistant within the previous twelve months, or may have a physical condition requiring medical attention, the licensee must advise the patient to schedule a physical examination and offer to help with the scheduling, give the patient a list of practitioners with names, addresses and telephone numbers, coordinate care with the provider giving medical care unless the patient declines, and document all of it in the medical record.

It applies to any license the chapter issues, so it binds an LSW who is evaluating patients, not only the LCSW.

Moving to Indiana: a 30-day endorsement rule with four conditions

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-10.5; IC 25-23.6-5-14

Indiana's endorsement rule is concrete: the board shall issue a license as a bachelor's degree social worker, social worker or clinical social worker not more than 30 days after the application is filed and completed, if the applicant holds a valid license from another state, passed an examination substantially equivalent to the level requested, has no pending disciplinary proceeding in another state and pays the fee.

There is also an exam-exemption route under IC 25-23.6-5-14 for a licensee who is licensed in another state, has engaged in the practice of social work or clinical social work for not less than three of the previous five years, has passed a substantially equivalent licensing exam, passes an Indiana laws-and-rules exam and meets the section's other conditions.

If you are relocating, ask the board which of the two routes fits your record before you apply.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œThe board shall issue a license to an individual to be a bachelor's degree social worker, social worker, or clinical social worker, not more than thirty (30) days after the application is filed and completed, if the individual: (1) has a valid license or certificate to practice from another state or jurisdiction; (2) has passed an examination substantially equivalent to the level for which licensure is being requested; (3) does not have a pending disciplinary proceeding in another state; and (4) pays a fee.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: not enacted in Indiana

πŸ“œ Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

As of September 2026, Indiana is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions: it has not enacted the compact.

There is no multistate-license route into or out of Indiana, and no multistate license has been issued anywhere as of the research date, so practicing in Indiana takes an Indiana license by the standard route or the endorsement routes above.

The compact itself has reached activation status nationally, and the commission estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than giving a launch date.

Check the commission's jurisdiction list and the board before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Renewal: 20 continuing education hours every licensure year

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-9; 839 IAC 1-6-2

A license is valid for the remainder of the renewal period in effect on the date it was issued, and renewal takes a fee paid on or before the expiration date plus at least 20 hours of continuing education per licensure year.

The sources read do not confirm how long the renewal period itself runs, so confirm your cycle with the board rather than assuming a length.

Continuing education sponsors need board approval, and an approval expires on April 1 of every even-numbered year; programs sponsored, accredited or approved by listed organizations, including the National Association of Social Workers, ASWB and accredited universities, are deemed approved without a separate application.

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-3.5 (am. P.L.83-2024); IC 25-23.6-5-4 (am. P.L.11-2023; P.L.83-2024; P.L.130-2025); IC 25-23.6-5-14 (am. P.L.11-2023); 839 IAC 1-3-2 (readopted 2024-06-24)

Three acts amended the chapter inside the window, as each section's amendment history records: the examination section's history lists P.L.11-2023, P.L.83-2024 and P.L.130-2025, the experience section's history lists P.L.83-2024, and the exam-exemption section's history lists P.L.11-2023.

The saved histories do not say which act added which subsection, so this page describes the sections as their current text reads rather than attributing specific changes.

The current text allows up to 100 percent of supervised hours through virtual supervision, and it lets a final-term student sit the LSW exam on a letter of good standing.

The rule chapter that carries the hour and supervision definitions, 839 IAC 1-3, was readopted on June 24, 2024, and the saved text is the current wording.

The compact status did not change: Indiana had not enacted it as of September 2026.

The temporary permit, and how its hours are counted

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(d), (i); temporary permit under section 11.5

The experience rule references a temporary permit under section 11.5: hours accumulated under the chapter after obtaining one, and before it expires, may count toward the LCSW experience requirement for up to four years, and beyond that only with board approval.

The permit's own requirements were not among the sections retrieved, so its eligibility terms are not stated here; ask the board before planning a job start around one.

The same rule also allows a doctoral internship to be applied toward the supervised clinical social work experience, which matters for doctoral applicants structuring where their supervised hours come from.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Indiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Social Work Section) publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Indiana, MFT licensure in Indiana, or what therapists earn in Indiana.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Social Work Section) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Indiana that asks for it.

What Licensed Clinical Social Worker Job Listings in Indiana Show Right Now

From the 11 active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
11
licensed clinical social worker jobs in Indiana
Employers hiring
3
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
0
new listings
Listings stating pay
9%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Pay employers post

  • 9% of licensed clinical social worker listings in Indiana state any pay at all.

Benefits and work arrangement

  • Health Insurancenamed in 55%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 55%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 55%
  • PTO / Paid Time Offnamed in 55%
  • Continuing Education Budgetnamed in 55%

Source: active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 11 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

Do hours I earned as an LSW in Indiana expire before I apply for the LCSW?

No. Under IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(g), any supervised clinical social work experience hours an applicant accumulates after being licensed as a social worker do not expire and may be used to satisfy the experience requirement.

If you earn the experience in Indiana, it must be earned while licensed as a social worker, so get the LSW before you start counting.

Confirm your hour log and supervision records with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board before you apply.

Can all of my LCSW supervision in Indiana be done by video?

Yes, up to 100 percent.

IC 25-23.6-5-3.5(h) allows all of the supervised clinical social work experience hours to be accounted for through virtual supervision.

The statute defines that as an electronic platform with synchronous visual and audio interaction in real time that is HIPAA-compliant; telephone calls, electronic mail and text messages do not qualify.

The administrative rule's face-to-face wording is older than the statute, so confirm the board's current paperwork for virtual supervision plans before your hours start.

How many hours is the Indiana LCSW experience requirement?

The statute states the requirement as at least two years of clinical social work experience after a graduate degree; it does not give an hour total.

The hour figures come from the rule, 839 IAC 1-3-2: full-time paid experience of at least 1,500 hours per year, or part-time experience verified at 4,500 total hours, 3,000 of them after the graduate degree.

Because the statute and rule measure differently, ask the board how it counts a part-time or mixed schedule before you rely on one route.

I am an LCSW in another state. What does Indiana endorsement require?

IC 25-23.6-5-10.5 directs the board to issue a license within 30 days of a completed application if you hold a valid license from another state, passed an examination substantially equivalent to the level requested, have no pending disciplinary proceeding in another state and pay the fee.

A separate exam-exemption route, IC 25-23.6-5-14, fits licensees who practiced in at least three of the previous five years and can pass an Indiana laws-and-rules exam, among other conditions.

Indiana has not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact, so endorsement is the route.

Confirm details with the board.

Which ASWB exam does each Indiana social work license require?

The rule, 839 IAC 1-2-1, requires LSW applicants to pass the intermediate level of the ASWB national examination and LCSW applicants the clinical level.

Intermediate is ASWB's pre-2018 name for the Masters exam, so register for the Masters exam when you apply for the LSW.

A final-term student may sit the LSW exam early with a letter of good standing from the social work department's director or designee.

Ask the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board which exam approval you need before registering.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Indiana
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Indiana & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Social Work Section).