🧭 Counselor licensure

Counselor Licensure in Indiana: LPC Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Indiana licenses mental health counselors on a two-rung ladder: the Mental Health Counselor Associate (LMHCA), the licence you hold while accruing hours, and the Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC), the independent licence.

The experience requirement is at least 3,000 post-graduate clinical hours with 100 hours of supervision, over a period the rule defines as 21 to 48 months.

Exams come in a pair β€” NCE for the associate licence, NCMHCE for the LMHC.

Since 2024, up to 100 percent of supervision may be virtual.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Indiana, that is the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board.

At a glance

Independent license

Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) under IC 25-23.6-8.5-1 β€” the independent licence and, per the Counseling Compact commission's fees table, Indiana's privilege-eligible home licence.

Pre-licensure title

Mental Health Counselor Associate (LMHCA) β€” a licence, not a registration (IC 25-23.6-8.5-1.5).

Below it, an associate temporary permit that expires after one (1) year and may not be renewed.

Degree

A master's of at least 48 semester hours (72 quarter) with at least 60 semester hours (90 quarter) of graduate credit in mental health counseling or a related field documented, plus a 700-clock-hour clinical sequence (100-hour practicum, 600-hour internship) with at least 66 hours of face-to-face supervision.

CACREP is not required.

Supervised experience

At least 3,000 hours of post-graduate clinical experience over a two-year period defined as no less than 21 and no more than 48 months, including 100 hours of supervision.

A direct-client-contact minimum is not stated in the sources read.

Exams

The NCE for the associate licence and the NCMHCE for the LMHC β€” the board states the NCE is not acceptable for mental health counselor licensure.

No jurisprudence exam for Compact privileges (commission table: None); applicants by endorsement take Indiana's laws-and-rules exam under IC 25-23.6-8.5-12(4).

Supervisor requirement

No separate supervisor credential: a licensed mental health counselor or an equivalent supervisor β€” five licensed professions qualify (clinical social worker, marriage and family therapist, physician with psychiatric training, psychologist, or clinical nurse specialist in psychiatric/mental-health nursing), or a mental health professional of equivalent status if the supervision was provided in a state with no regulation (839 IAC 1-5-1.5(b)).

Counseling Compact

Live as of September 2026: the commission lists Indiana among the nine states issuing and accepting privileges, and its fees table names the LMHC as the privilege-eligible home licence ($50 state fee + $30 administration).

Enacted as IC 25-42.5 (enactment year not stated in the sources read).

Renewal & CE

Licenses expire April 1 of even years on a two-year cycle; renewal requires at least 20 hours of continuing education per licensure year (IC 25-23.6-8.5-8(b)(2)).

Subject-specific CE minimums are not stated in the sources read.

The Indiana credential ladder

  1. Associate temporary permitPre-licensure

    A permit, not a licence: under IC 25-23.6-8.5-1.5(b) the board issues it to an applicant who has met the education requirement, is still pursuing the required clinical supervisory hours and has not yet passed the exam, and it expires one (1) year after issuance and may not be renewed.

  2. Mental Health Counselor Associate(LMHCA)Pre-licensure

    A licence, and the one the statute requires before post-graduate hours accrue in Indiana (IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(c)); the board says an associate may practise only under supervision, and the licence may be renewed only two times (IC 25-23.6-8.5-8.5(b)).

  3. Licensed Mental Health Counselor(LMHC)Independent

    The independent licence under IC 25-23.6-8.5-1, and per the Counseling Compact commission's fees table, Indiana's privilege-eligible home licence.

Two licences, and the associate licence is where the hours happen

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-8.5-1, -1.5, -1.7 and -4(c); IC 25-23.6-8.5-8.5; Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board licensing-information page

Indiana's independent licence is the Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC), created by IC 25-23.6-8.5-1.

Below it sits the Mental Health Counselor Associate (LMHCA) under section 1.5 β€” a licence, not a registration, and not an optional one: the board says applicants who graduated after July 1, 2014 must hold the associate licence before post-graduate hours start counting, and IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(c) requires it of anyone obtaining the experience in Indiana (master's-holders enrolled in a doctoral program are the exception, section 1.7).

The associate licence itself may be renewed only two times, though the board may grant additional periods (IC 25-23.6-8.5-8.5).

One rung lower sits the associate temporary permit of section 1.5(b): it expires one (1) year after issuance and may not be renewed.

The practical reading: get the associate licence early, because your 3,000-hour clock needs it.

Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters β€” see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.

β€œApplicants that graduated after July 1, 2014 are required to obtain a mental health counselor associate license prior to accruing postgraduate clinical experience hours to count towards future mental health counselor licensure.”

A 48-hour master's degree inside 60 documented graduate hours

πŸ“œ 839 IAC 1-5-1(a) and (d); IC 25-23.6-8.5-3(1) and (2)

The rule sets two layers.

The master's degree itself must carry a minimum of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours of graduate study (839 IAC 1-5-1(d)) β€” but the applicant must also document at least 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate credit in mental health counseling or a related field, so a 48-hour degree alone is not enough.

The degree may come from any of seven qualifying program types listed in 839 IAC 1-5-1(a) β€” counseling, clinical social work, psychology, human services, human development, family relations, or a CACREP- or CORE-accredited program β€” which is why CACREP accreditation is not required in Indiana.

Coursework must cover the twelve content areas of IC 25-23.6-8.5-3(1), and the clinical requirement is a minimum of 700 clock hours: one practicum of 100 hours and one internship of 600 hours with at least 66 hours of face-to-face supervision (section 3(2)).

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

β€œFurther, the applicant for licensure shall document a minimum of sixty (60) semester hours or ninety (90) quarter hours of graduate credit in mental health counseling or a related field.”

3,000 hours with 100 supervision hours, over 21 to 48 months

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(b), (f) and (h); 839 IAC 1-5-1.5(a)

IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(b) requires at least three thousand (3,000) hours of post-graduate clinical experience over a two (2) year period, including one hundred (100) hours of supervision by a licensed mental health counselor or an equivalent supervisor.

839 IAC 1-5-1.5(a) defines that two-year window as no less than twenty-one (21) months and no more than forty-eight (48) months, counted from the date the degree-granting institution certifies the master's was completed β€” so the fastest compliant path takes 21 months, and hours stretched past 48 months stop fitting the definition.

Neither the statute nor the rule read sets a minimum of direct client-contact hours within the 3,000; that is not stated in the sources read.

Two structural points matter for anyone planning: hours accrued after associate licensure do not expire (section 4(h)), and work away from the supervisor's premises cannot be independent private practice without supervision (section 4(f)).

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

Two exams: the NCE gets you the associate licence, the NCMHCE the LMHC

πŸ“œ Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board licensing-information page; IC 25-23.6-8.5-5(c) and -12(4); Counseling Compact commission fees table

The board has adopted the NBCC examinations and splits them across the ladder: the National Counselor Examination (NCE) is accepted for the mental health counselor associate licence, and the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE) is required for the LMHC.

The board states flatly that the NCE is not an acceptable examination for mental health counselor licensure, so the first exam does not carry you to the independent licence.

For Counseling Compact privileges, the commission's fees table for Indiana reads β€œNone” under jurisprudence exam.

That silence does not extend to licensure itself: the board examines every reciprocity applicant on Indiana's statutes and rules β€” a 30 question true-false and multiple-choice examination, passing criteria 75% β€” and IC 25-23.6-8.5-12(4) likewise conditions an exam waiver on an Indiana laws-and-rules examination.

Final-semester students can apply to test early under IC 25-23.6-8.5-5(c) β€” the board's process is to submit the licence application with a letter of good standing, and approval buys a one-year window to test, without a temporary permit.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œThe Board will accept the National Counselor Examination (NCE) to obtain the mental health associate counselor license and the National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE) to obtain a mental health counselor license.”

Choosing a supervisor: an LMHC or one of five equivalent licensed professions

πŸ“œ 839 IAC 1-5-1.5(b); IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(a); Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board licensing-information page FAQ

Indiana names no separate supervisor credential.

Your 100 supervision hours must be under a licensed mental health counselor or an equivalent supervisor, and 839 IAC 1-5-1.5(b) defines an equivalent supervisor as someone supervising within their scope of experience and training who is any of five licensed professions β€” a clinical social worker, a marriage and family therapist, a physician with psychiatric training, a psychologist, or a clinical nurse specialist in psychiatric or mental health nursing β€” plus item (6), a mental health professional of equivalent status where the supervision was provided in a state with no regulation.

A qualifying supervisor need not be a counselor.

The statute's virtual-supervision definition also shapes the choice: it must be synchronous visual and audio interaction in real time on a HIPAA-compliant platform, and telephone calls, electronic mail and text messages do not qualify (IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(a)).

The board's FAQ draws the practice line for associates sharply: an LMHCA may practise only under supervision, and private practice away from the supervisor's premises is off the table while you hold only the associate licence.

For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?

β€œIf you are working in Indiana and only hold an Active Mental Health Counseling Associate license you may only practice under supervision. Your supervision may not occur away from the premises of your supervising mental health counselor.”

Diagnosis: the board's FAQ allows it for LMHCs, within limits it names

πŸ“œ Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board FAQ, citing IC 25-23.6-11-4

The board's licensing-information FAQ is the operative statement here: those licensed as a Mental Health Counselor may diagnose provided they meet the educational training, experience, and requirements, and diagnosis does not include physical diagnosis.

Read that narrowly β€” the FAQ cites IC 25-23.6-11-4, which was not among the sources read, so the statutory detail behind β€œthe requirements” is not established on this page.

What is established: the FAQ frames diagnosis as an LMHC matter, while the associate licence confines you to supervised practice, and the boundary the board names is around physical diagnosis.

Confirm scope questions directly with the board before you practise.

β€œThose licensed as a Mental Health Counselor may diagnosis provided they meet the educational training, experience, and requirements. Diagnosis does not include physical diagnosis.”

Moving to Indiana: no blanket reciprocity, and the NCE alone will not carry over

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-8.5-12; 839 IAC 1-5-4(a); board licensing-information page FAQ

Indiana can waive its exam for an endorsement applicant, but only condition by condition: IC 25-23.6-8.5-12 asks for licensure or certification as a mental health counselor in another state or practice in not less than three (3) of the previous five (5) years, a substantially equivalent licensing examination, and an examination on Indiana's mental health counseling laws and rules β€” in practice, the board's 30 question statutes-and-rules exam for reciprocity applicants.

The rule forecloses shortcuts β€” the board will not grant blanket reciprocity, and 839 IAC 1-5-4(a) has the board compare the other state's standards individually.

The two-exam ladder is the trap for movers: because Indiana's independent licence requires the NCMHCE, an applicant who only ever took the NCE must take it even when already licensed elsewhere.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œIf you hold an equivalent Mental Health Counseling license in another State and have only taken the NCE, you will not qualify for reciprocity. You must apply to take the NCMHCE exam.”

Counseling Compact: live in Indiana, and the LMHC is the privilege licence

πŸ“œ IC 25-42.5; Counseling Compact Commission home page and fees table (retrieved 2026-09-24)

Indiana enacted the Professional Counselors Licensure Compact as IC 25-42.5; the enactment year and bill number are not stated in the sources read.

What the commission's own site establishes is current status: as of September 2026 the Compact is live for Indiana licensees, one of nine states issuing and accepting privileges, and its fees table names the LMHC β€” not the associate licence β€” as Indiana's privilege-eligible home licence, with a $50 state fee plus a $30 administration fee ($80 total).

The compact's own text explains why this matters for telework: the practice of professional counseling occurs in the state where the client is located, so seeing clients in another member state takes that state's authority, and a Compact privilege is the alternative route Indiana LMHCs already have.

For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.

β€œThe practice of professional counseling occurs in the state where the client is located at the time of the counseling services.”

Renewal lands April 1 of even years; 20 CE hours per licensure year

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-8.5-8(b)(2); Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board licensing-information page

The board renews on a fixed calendar: every Behavioral Health and Human Services licence expires April 1 of even years, and a renewed licence runs two years.

The CE floor is in the statute β€” at least twenty (20) hours of continuing education per licensure year under IC 25-23.6-8.5-8(b)(2), which across the two-year cycle means 40 hours.

The sources read state no subject-specific minimums such as ethics hours (the board's CE rule chapter, 839 IAC 1-6, was not among them), so do not assume a breakdown.

And note the associate licence's own clock: it may be renewed only two (2) times under IC 25-23.6-8.5-8.5(b) unless the board grants more, which is why the 3,000 hours should not drift.

β€œAll licenses for the Behavior Health and Human Services Board expires April 1st on even years. The licenses once renewed will remain valid for two years with the last day of the renewal year to be April 1st.”

Virtual supervision went to 100 percent β€” the board's FAQ still says 50

πŸ“œ IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(g); Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board home page; 839 IAC 1-5 readoption (20240724-IR-839230815RFA)

The biggest recent shift is telesupervision: IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(g) now allows up to one hundred percent (100%) of the supervised post-graduate experience to be accounted for through virtual supervision, and a notice on the board's home page tells applicants the same.

Do not rely on the board's own FAQ on this point β€” it still says β€œup to 50%” of post-degree supervision may be virtual, which the statute and the home-page notice supersede; confirm with the board if a supervisor proposes otherwise.

On the rule side, 839 IAC 1-5 was readopted with no substantive change (filed 6/24/2024, document 20240724-IR-839230815RFA).

β€œUp to one hundred percent (100%) of the supervised post-graduate clinical experience hours required under subsection (b) may be accounted for through virtual supervision by a licensed mental health counselor or equivalent supervisor described in subsection (b).”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Indiana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board publishes.

Nor does it cover social work licensure in Indiana, MFT licensure in Indiana, or what therapists earn in Indiana.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Indiana that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I start counting post-degree hours in Indiana before I hold the associate licence?

If you graduated after July 1, 2014, no β€” the board requires a mental health counselor associate licence before postgraduate clinical experience hours count toward counselor licensure, and IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(c) says the same for anyone obtaining the hours in Indiana.

The narrow exception in section 1.7 covers master's-holders enrolled in a doctoral program.

A temporary permit is not a workaround: it expires one (1) year after issuance and may not be renewed.

Confirm your situation with the board before you start counting.

How much of my Indiana supervision can be virtual?

Up to 100 percent.

IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(g) allows the full supervised post-graduate experience to be met through virtual supervision, which the statute defines as synchronous visual and audio interaction in real time on a HIPAA-compliant platform β€” telephone, email and text do not count.

Be careful with older guidance, including the board's own FAQ, that still says 50 percent; the statute supersedes it.

Confirm current board practice before you commit to a fully remote supervision plan.

Does Indiana require direct client-contact hours inside the 3,000?

Not stated in the sources read.

IC 25-23.6-8.5-4(b) requires at least 3,000 hours of post-graduate clinical experience with 100 hours of supervision, and 839 IAC 1-5-1.5(a) defines the 21-to-48-month window β€” but neither document read sets a minimum of face-to-face client work within the 3,000.

Ask the board how it counts direct versus indirect hours before you plan a mostly administrative role.

Does passing the NCE qualify me for the Indiana LMHC?

No. The board accepts the NCE for the mental health counselor associate licence and requires the NCMHCE for the Licensed Mental Health Counselor licence, stating that the NCE is not an acceptable examination for mental health counselor licensure.

This also bites endorsement applicants: an out-of-state counselor who has only taken the NCE must take the NCMHCE to qualify for Indiana licensure.

Can an Indiana LMHC see clients in other states under the Counseling Compact?

As of September 2026, the Counseling Compact is live for Indiana licensees, and the commission's fees table names the LMHC as the privilege-eligible home licence β€” the associate licence is not.

A Compact privilege costs $50 plus the $30 administration fee.

A privilege lets an Indiana LMHC practise in other member states that are issuing and accepting privileges; because the compact's rulemaking is still active, confirm the remote state's status with the commission before you book clients there.

Find Mental Health Counselor Jobs in Indiana
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Indiana & Mental Health Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board.