🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Iowa: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Iowa licenses social workers at three levels: the licensed bachelor social worker (LBSW), the licensed master social worker (LMSW) and the licensed independent social worker (LISW).

The LISW is the independent tier — private practice is conducted only by an independent social worker — and Iowa issues no LCSW.

The LISW requires a master's or doctoral social work degree, an exam, and supervised experience the statute sets at two years full-time or 4,000 hours and the rule sets at 3,000 practice hours with 1,500 direct client hours and 110 supervision hours.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Iowa, that is the Iowa Board of Behavioral Health Professionals.

At a glance

Clinical license

The licensed independent social worker (LISW) — Iowa issues no LCSW.

Independent social workers are qualified to perform the practice of master social workers as a private practice (Iowa Code 154C.1(3)(c)).

Other license levels

Licensed bachelor social worker (LBSW) and licensed master social worker (LMSW).

Master social workers provide psychosocial assessment, diagnosis, and treatment; persons trained or employed as bachelor social workers are not required to be licensed (154C.1(3)(b); 154C.2(2)).

Degree

A bachelor's in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education at graduation for the LBSW; a CSWE-accredited master's or a board-approved doctoral degree in social work for the LMSW and LISW (IAC 645—280.5).

Supervised experience

The statute: at least two years as a full-time employee or 4,000 hours under supervision (154C.3(1)(c)(4)).

The rule: at least 3,000 hours of practice with 1,500 direct client hours and 110 supervision hours (645—280.6).

The statute controls where they conflict.

ASWB exam

The rule assigns the ASWB examination by tier under the older category names — basic, intermediate, clinical — and accepts California equivalent-level exams in lieu of its own requirement (645—280.4).

Supervisor requirement

An Iowa LISW, mental health counselor or marital and family therapist licensee with at least three years of independent practice and a six-hour supervision course (645—280.6(2)); there is no separate supervisor license.

Social Work Compact

Enacted — HF 2512, recorded by the commission's news as enacted 2024-05-03; the Iowa Code section is not located; no multistate licenses are issued anywhere as of September 2026.

Renewal & CE

Biennial renewal, January 1 of odd-numbered years through December 31 of even-numbered years, with a minimum of 27 hours of board-approved continuing education (154C.3(3); 645—280.7; 281.2).

The Iowa credential ladder

  1. Licensed Bachelor Social Worker(LBSW)Other

    A standalone bachelor-level license: bachelor social workers provide psychosocial assessment and intervention through direct contact with clients or referral (154C.1(3)(a)) — but persons trained or employed as bachelor social workers are not required to be licensed at all (154C.2(2)).

  2. Licensed Master Social Worker(LMSW)Pre-licensure

    A full master-level license whose holders are qualified to perform the practice of bachelor social workers and provide psychosocial assessment, diagnosis, and treatment (154C.1(3)(b)) — and the point at which LISW supervised experience may start, since it cannot begin until after licensure as a master level social worker (645—280.6(1)).

  3. Licensed Independent Social Worker(LISW)Independent

    Iowa's independent tier — there is no LCSW in this chapter.

    Independent social workers are qualified to perform the practice of master social workers as a private practice, and private practice is conducted only by an independent social worker (154C.1(3)(c), (4)).

Three licenses: LBSW, LMSW, LISW — and no LCSW

📜 Iowa Code 154C.1(3), (4); 154C.2(2)

Iowa's ladder has three rungs and the independent one is the LISW, not an LCSW.

The practice definitions carry the differences: a bachelor social worker provides psychosocial assessment and intervention; a master social worker adds diagnosis and treatment; an independent social worker performs the master's practice as a private practice (154C.1(3)).

The chapter also carries a real exemption: a person trained or employed as a bachelor social worker is not required to be licensed, and an unlicensed person may not use the licensed titles (154C.2) — so the LBSW is the credential that carries the title for bachelor-level practitioners who choose to hold it.

For the LISW path the rule starts the clock only at master-level licensure: supervised clinical experience cannot begin until after licensure as a master level social worker (645—280.6(1)).

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

“Notwithstanding subsection 1, persons trained as bachelor social workers, or employed as bachelor social workers, are not required to be licensed.”

Degrees: CSWE accreditation at graduation, or a board-approved doctorate

📜 IAC 645—280.5; Iowa Code 154C.3(1)

The rule ties each tier to a degree held at graduation.

The LBSW requires a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education at the time of graduation; the LMSW and LISW require a CSWE-accredited master's degree in social work or a doctoral degree in social work from a program approved by the board (645—280.5).

Foreign-trained applicants provide an equivalency evaluation of their credentials from IERF or a certificate of equivalency from CSWE, and bear the expense of the evaluation themselves.

The statute lines up underneath: master's and doctoral degrees come from an accredited college or university approved by the board (154C.3(1)).

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

The LISW hours: the statute and the rule state different figures

📜 Iowa Code 154C.3(1)(c)(4); IAC 645—280.6(1), (6)

The statute requires practice under supervision for at least two years as a full-time employee or for 4,000 hours before the board's exam (154C.3(1)(c)(4)).

The rule, adopted effective July 17, 2024, breaks the requirement into parts: a minimum of two years, at least 3,000 hours of practice, at least 1,500 hours of direct client contact, and at least 110 hours of direct supervision equitably distributed throughout the experience, including at least 24 hours of live or recorded direct observation, with no more than 50 hours through group supervision (645—280.6(1)).

The rule's own grandfather clause limits that breakdown: any new or additional requirements imposed by the rule do not apply to supervision that started prior to July 20, 2022 (645—280.6(6)).

Both texts cannot be read as one number: the statute controls where they conflict, and which figure the board applies in practice is not stated in the sources read.

Either way, the experience counts only after LMSW licensure, and its content is fixed by rule: psychosocial assessments, diagnostic practice using the DSM-5-TR, and treatment.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“Has engaged in the practice of social work, under supervision, for at least two years as a full-time employee or for four thousand hours prior to taking the examination given by the board.”

Exams: ASWB by tier — under the rule's older category names

📜 IAC 645—280.4

The statute requires an examination given by the board (154C.3(1)); the rule fills in ASWB.

It assigns the basic level examination to the bachelor tier, the intermediate level examination to the master tier and the clinical level examination to the independent tier — ASWB's former category names, which the rule has not updated (280.4(1)).

Only official results sent directly from the ASWB examination service count, the ASWB passing score is used as the Iowa passing score, and a student in the last semester of an approved master of social work program may sit for the exam on a school letter in lieu of a transcript (280.4(2)–(4)).

California's equivalent-level licensing examination is accepted in lieu of the rule's own exam requirement (280.4(6)).

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

“In lieu of the requirements in subrule 280.4(1), the board will accept verification of passing the state of California equivalent level licensing examination.”

Who can supervise: criteria, not a supervisor license

📜 IAC 645—280.6(2); Iowa Code 154C.3(1)(c)(4)

Iowa has no supervisor rung on its ladder; the rule defines who qualifies.

A supervisor must hold an active Iowa license as an independent level social worker, mental health counselor, or marital and family therapist, have a minimum of three years of independent practice, and have completed at least a six-hour continuing education course in supervision or one graduate-level course — anyone who misses those requirements needs board approval before supervision begins (645—280.6(2)).

The statute states the manners in parallel: supervision by a social worker licensed at least at the supervisee's level who is qualified to practice without supervision, by an independent LMFT or LMHC, or by another qualified professional the board allows (154C.3(1)(c)(4)).

A supervisee may use up to four supervisors at once and must file the board's supervision plan form before starting and again with each new supervisor (280.6(1), (3)).

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

“Hold an active license as an independent level social worker, mental health counselor, or marital and family therapist in Iowa.”

What each tier may do — and where an Iowa licensee may sit

📜 Iowa Code 154C.1(3), (4), (5); IAC 645—280.2

The definitions section draws the scope lines.

Bachelor social workers provide psychosocial assessment and intervention; master social workers are qualified to perform the practice of bachelor social workers and provide psychosocial assessment, diagnosis, and treatment; independent social workers perform the master's practice as a private practice, and private practice is conducted only by an independent social worker (154C.1(3), (4)).

Supervision itself is defined in the statute as direction of social work practice in face-to-face sessions (154C.1(5)) — the same chapter now bars the board from requiring that supervision happen in person (154C.3(4)).

Iowa also claims the telehealth seat: social work services provided to an individual in Iowa through telephonic, electronic or other means constitute the practice of social work regardless of the social worker's location (645—280.2).

“"Private practice" means social work practice conducted only by an independent social worker who is either self-employed or a member of a partnership or of a group practice providing diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders or conditions.”

Moving to Iowa: the reciprocal license

📜 Iowa Code 154C.3(2); IAC 645—280.3, 280.6(5)

Iowa's route in is the reciprocal license: the board issues an appropriate license to an applicant licensed in another state whose requirements are similar or equal to Iowa's (154C.3(2)).

The rule's application mechanics do the comparing — the applicant provides verification of license from the jurisdiction of most recent licensure, sent directly from that jurisdiction, and may substitute ASWB Social Work Registry verification of transcripts and licensure for those items (645—280.3(3), (7)).

For supervised clinical experience completed in another state without licensure there, the rule directs the applicant to contact the board to determine whether the experience can count toward Iowa's requirement (280.6(5)).

What the board accepts as similar or equal in practice is not stated in the sources read.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

“The board shall issue an appropriate license to an applicant licensed to practice social work in another state which imposes licensure requirements similar or equal to those imposed under subsection 1.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted in 2024, no multistate licenses yet

📜 HF 2512 (2024); swcompact.org commission news and jurisdiction list

The commission's news records Iowa enacting the Social Work Licensure Compact as HF 2512 on 2024-05-03; the corresponding Iowa Code section is not located in the sources read, so this page cites the enactment rather than a codified article.

Nationally, the commission's status line records that the compact has reached activation status while multistate licenses are not yet being issued — as of September 2026 an Iowa license does not authorize practice in any other state.

An Iowa LISW moving away relies on the destination state's endorsement rules, and a social worker moving to Iowa uses the reciprocal license in 154C.3(2).

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Renewal and CE: biennial, 27 hours, 3 in ethics

📜 IAC 645—280.7, 281.2, 281.3; Iowa Code 154C.3(3)

The rule sets the window: the biennial license renewal period begins January 1 of an odd-numbered year and ends December 31 of the next even-numbered year (645—280.7(1)).

Each licensee completes a minimum of 27 hours of board-approved continuing education per biennium (281.2(1)), including a minimum of three hours in social work ethics (281.3(2)); persons serving in a supervisory role for independent-level licensure complete three hours in supervision (281.2(3)).

First-time licensees are exempt from CE for the first renewal (280.7(2)).

The statute sets the frame and one protection: licenses renew biennially and the board shall not limit the number of CE credits obtained online (154C.3(3)).

Mandatory reporter training for child and dependent adult abuse is a separate renewal requirement (280.7(3)).

“Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as a licensee in this state will be required to complete a minimum of 27 hours of continuing education approved by the board”

2024: the statute now forbids what the rule still lists

📜 Iowa Code 154C.3(4) (2024 Acts ch. 1080); Iowa Code 154C.1(1) (2024 Acts ch. 1170, § 504)

Two 2024 laws reshaped this chapter.

Chapter 1080 added 154C.3(4): the board may not require in-person supervision, or live or recorded direct observation of client interaction, as a condition for any license, reciprocal license or renewal.

Yet the supervision rule adopted effective July 17, 2024 still requires at least 24 hours of live or recorded direct observation (645—280.6(1)) — the conflict a 2026 applicant has to navigate, with the statute controlling where they conflict and the board's enforcement practice not stated in the sources read.

Chapter 1170, § 504 amended 154C.1(1), so "board" now means the board of behavioral health professionals established in chapter 147 — the regulator that administers chapter 154C.

“The board shall not, by rule or other means, require that supervision be completed in person or that supervised clinical experience include live or recorded direct observation of client interaction as a condition for an applicant to receive a license, a reciprocal license, or a renewed license under this chapter.”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Iowa statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Iowa Board of Behavioral Health Professionals publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Iowa, MFT licensure in Iowa, or what therapists earn in Iowa.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Iowa Board of Behavioral Health Professionals before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Iowa that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Iowa issue an LCSW?

No. Iowa's three licenses are the LBSW, the LMSW and the LISW, and the LISW is the independent tier: independent social workers are qualified to perform the practice of master social workers as a private practice, and private practice is conducted only by an independent social worker (Iowa Code 154C.1(3)(c), (4)).

An LMSW may provide psychosocial assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, but LISW supervised experience cannot begin until after licensure as a master level social worker (645—280.6(1)).

How many supervised hours does the Iowa LISW require?

Two rules state different figures.

The statute requires practice under supervision for at least two years as a full-time employee or for 4,000 hours before the board's exam (154C.3(1)(c)(4)).

The rule requires a minimum of two years, at least 3,000 hours of practice, at least 1,500 hours of direct client contact, and at least 110 hours of direct supervision including at least 24 hours of live or recorded observation (645—280.6(1)).

The statute controls where they conflict; which figure the board applies in practice is not stated in the sources read.

Who can supervise the Iowa LISW experience?

The rule requires a supervisor who holds an active Iowa license as an independent level social worker, mental health counselor, or marital and family therapist, with a minimum of three years of independent practice and at least a six-hour continuing education course in supervision or one graduate-level course (645—280.6(2)).

The statute adds that a social worker licensed at the supervisee's level or higher who is qualified to practice without supervision, or a professional the board approves, may supervise (154C.3(1)(c)(4)).

Submit the board's supervision plan form before starting.

Is Iowa in the Social Work Licensure Compact?

Iowa enacted the compact — HF 2512, recorded by the commission's news as enacted 2024-05-03 — but the corresponding Iowa Code section is not located in the sources read.

The commission's status line records that the compact has reached activation status while multistate licenses are not yet being issued, so as of September 2026 an Iowa license does not authorize practice in any other state.

An Iowa licensee moving away relies on the destination state's endorsement route; a social worker moving to Iowa uses the reciprocal license in 154C.3(2).

What does Iowa require to renew a social work license?

Licenses renew biennially — the rule runs each period from January 1 of an odd-numbered year to December 31 of the next even-numbered year (645—280.7(1)) — and each licensee completes a minimum of 27 hours of board-approved continuing education per biennium, at least three of them in social work ethics (281.2(1); 281.3(2)).

Supervisors serving independent-level licensure add three hours in supervision.

First-time licensees are exempt from CE for the first renewal, and the statute bars the board from limiting online CE (154C.3(3)).

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Iowa
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Iowa & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Iowa Board of Behavioral Health Professionals.