🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Maryland: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Maryland licenses social work in four categories: bachelor (LBSW) and master (LMSW) under supervision, the legacy certified social worker (LCSW), and the clinical LCSW-C.

Clinical practice takes the LCSW-C: a CSWE-accredited MSW with 12 academic credits of clinical course work, 2 years as a licensee with at least 3,000 supervised hours — 1,500 face-to-face with clients — and 100 hours of face-to-face supervision, then the Board's prescribed exam.

The quirk: Maryland's plain LCSW is not the clinical license, and none have been issued since December 31, 2023.

The Social Work Licensure Compact is enacted but not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Maryland, that is the State Board of Social Work Examiners (Maryland Department of Health).

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Certified Social Worker–Clinical (LCSW-C).

An individual shall be "Licensed as a certified social worker–clinical before the individual may practice clinical social work in this State" (Health Occ. §19-301(a)(2)).

Maryland's plain LCSW is the certified, non-clinical license, closed to new licensees after December 31, 2023.

Other license levels

LBSW and LMSW, plus the legacy certified social worker (LCSW) issued only on or before December 31, 2023, and a conditional license for exam-unavailability periods.

LBSWs and LMSWs may be Board-approved for independent, non-clinical practice.

Degree

LBSW: a CSWE-accredited (or candidate) BSW.

LMSW: a CSWE-accredited (or candidate) master's.

LCSW-C: a master's in social work plus 12 academic credits of clinical course work, with a minimum of 6 of the 12 earned in the master's program.

Supervised experience

LCSW-C: 2 years as a licensee with supervised experience of at least 3,000 hours, of which 1,500 hours are in face-to-face client contact, after the master's, with a minimum of 100 hours of periodic face-to-face supervision.

For experience obtained in Maryland, the LMSW comes first.

Out-of-state candidates: not less than 2 nor more than 6 consecutive years, for compensation.

ASWB exam

The statute requires "an examination or examinations prescribed by the Board pertinent to the license sought" (§19-302(a)(4)), and the rule lets the Board use a national examination board such as the Association of Social Work Boards as its agent.

The ASWB category for each tier is not stated in the sources read.

Supervisor requirement

An active Maryland LBSW, LCSW, LCSW-C or LMSW, as appropriate, plus supervision education — one CSWE graduate course in supervision, 12 hours of agency-sponsored supervision training, or 12 credit hours of continuing education in social work supervision — and experience such as 18 months after obtaining an LCSW or LCSW-C (COMAR 10.42.08.04).

Social Work Compact

Enacted.

2025 Laws of Maryland ch. 9 (HB 345), approved by the Governor April 8, 2025, took effect October 1, 2025 — but as of September 2026 the commission is not issuing multistate licenses in any state.

Renewal & CE

A 2-year term, November 1 through October 31.

40 continuing education units (30 for LBSWs), of which at least 20 (15 for LBSWs) are Category I, including 3 in ethics, 3 in supervision for Board-approved supervisors, and 3 Category I units of anti-oppressive social work practice content.

No carry-over between periods.

The Maryland credential ladder

  1. Conditional licensePre-licensure

    A license the Board may issue when the prescribed examination is unavailable for at least 15 business days, to an LBSW or LMSW applicant who has met every education and experience requirement except the exam; supervised practice only, valid until 180 days after the examination becomes readily available (Health Occ. §19-309.1).

  2. Licensed Bachelor Social Worker(LBSW)Other

    The baccalaureate license, on a CSWE-accredited (or candidate) BSW; practice is under supervision of a licensed social worker meeting the regulations, and an LBSW may not diagnose, provide psychotherapy, or engage in private practice (§19-302(b); §19-307(c)(1)).

  3. Licensed Master Social Worker(LMSW)Pre-licensure

    A full license in its own right and the license a candidate must hold before beginning the 3,000 hours of supervised experience obtained in Maryland toward the LCSW-C; clinical tasks require LCSW-C supervision and private practice is barred (§19-302(c); §19-307(c)(2); COMAR 10.42.01.05A).

  4. Independent practice approval (non-clinical)Independent

    A Board approval on an LBSW or LMSW, not a separate license: at least 3 years as a licensee with 4,500 supervised hours and 150 hours of periodic face-to-face supervision, letting the holder practice bachelor or master social work without supervision by another social worker; it never authorizes clinical social work (§19-302(f); §19-101(d)).

  5. Licensed Certified Social Worker (closed to new licensees)(LCSW)Other

    A closed, non-clinical license: the statute defines it as licensed on or before December 31, 2023, and holders may not treat or diagnose without LCSW-C supervision and may not engage in private practice — Maryland's clinical license is the LCSW-C, not the LCSW (§19-101(g); §19-307(c)(3)).

  6. Licensed Certified Social Worker–Clinical(LCSW-C)Independent

    The clinical license, required before anyone may practice clinical social work in Maryland: a CSWE-accredited MSW with 12 academic credits of clinical course work, 2 years as a licensee with at least 3,000 supervised hours — 1,500 in face-to-face client contact — and 100 hours of periodic face-to-face supervision (§19-301(a)(2); §19-302(e)).

  7. Board-approved supervisorSupervisor

    An approval, not a license: the Board approves a licensee holding an LBSW, LCSW, LCSW-C or LMSW, with supervision education and experience such as 18 months of active social work experience after obtaining an LCSW or LCSW-C, to provide supervision; an approved independent LBSW or LMSW needs 5 years in their category (COMAR 10.42.08.04; §19-302(f)(5)).

Four license categories — and Maryland's LCSW is not the clinical one

📜 Health Occ. §19-101(e), (g), (h); §19-301(a)(2); §19-307(c)

Maryland issues four categories of license — bachelor social work (LBSW), master social work (LMSW), certified social work (LCSW) and certified social work–clinical (LCSW-C) — plus a conditional license for exam-unavailability periods.

The LCSW-C is the only license that authorizes clinical social work.

Maryland's plain LCSW is the certified, non-clinical license: it may not treat or diagnose without LCSW-C supervision and may not engage in private practice, and §19-101(g) defines it as licensed on or before December 31, 2023, so no new LCSW licenses are being issued.

That is the trap a relocating clinician should clear first: the same three letters name different tiers in different states, so check what a Maryland listing actually requires before applying.

LBSWs and LMSWs can add Board approval for independent, non-clinical practice on top of their license.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

“Licensed as a certified social worker–clinical before the individual may practice clinical social work in this State.”

One CSWE master's, plus 12 clinical credits for the LCSW-C

📜 Health Occ. §19-302(b), (c), (e)(2); §19-308(f)

The LBSW requires a baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by, or a candidate for accreditation with, the Council on Social Work Education; the LMSW requires a master's from a program accredited or in candidacy, or an equivalent organization approved by CSWE.

The LCSW-C adds a coursework gate on top of the master's in social work: documentation of 12 academic credits of clinical course work from a CSWE-accredited program, with a minimum of 6 of the 12 earned inside the master's degree program.

That transcript line is where applications stall — clinical concentration credits that sit in a bachelor's degree or outside the MSW do not satisfy the 6-in-the-master's minimum.

Candidate-status programs carry their own risk: the Board may not renew an LBSW or LMSW license for a degree from a candidate program that was denied accreditation (§19-308(f)).

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 hours, half face-to-face, on an LMSW first

📜 Health Occ. §19-302(e)(3); COMAR 10.42.01.05; 10.42.01.11D(4), (8), (10)

The LCSW-C requires 2 years as a licensee with supervised experience of at least 3,000 hours, of which 1,500 hours are in face-to-face client contact, after receiving the master's degree, with a minimum of 100 hours of periodic face-to-face supervision in the assessment, formulation of a diagnostic impression, and treatment of behavioral health disorders and other conditions and the provision of psychotherapy.

For experience obtained in Maryland, the clock starts only once the LMSW is in hand.

Out-of-state candidates get their own shape: the experience must be performed in not less than 2 and not more than 6 consecutive years, and for compensation.

It must be direct service to clients — it may not consist solely of telephonic clinical assessment, triage, continued stay reviews or discharge planning.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“A candidate with experience obtained in Maryland shall have obtained a licensed master social worker license before beginning to obtain the requisite 3,000 hours of supervised social work experience.”

The exam the Board prescribes — and the 180-day stopgap

📜 Health Occ. §19-302(a)(4); §19-309.1; COMAR 10.42.01.08

Every applicant must pass an examination or examinations prescribed by the Board pertinent to the license sought, and the rule adds that the Board may use a national examination board such as the Association of Social Work Boards as its agent in examining applicants.

Which ASWB category attaches to each tier is not stated in the sources read — confirm with the Board before scheduling around a specific exam.

If an exam is unavailable for at least 15 business days, the Board may issue a conditional license to an LBSW or LMSW applicant who has met every requirement except the exam; the holder practices only under a Board-approved supervisor, and the Board reports to the legislature on exam unavailability each year beginning in 2024.

This is an exam-availability stopgap, not an exam alternative.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

“A conditional license is valid until 180 days after the examination becomes readily available to the applicant.”

Choosing a supervisor: the license, the training, the six-person group cap

📜 COMAR 10.42.08.04; 10.42.08.06C, D; 10.42.08.09; 10.42.01.11D(9)

A supervisor must hold an active Maryland license as an LBSW, LCSW, LCSW-C or LMSW, as appropriate to what they supervise, and show supervision education — one CSWE graduate course in supervision, 12 hours of agency-sponsored supervision training, or 12 credit hours of continuing education in social work supervision — plus experience such as 18 months of active social work experience after obtaining an LCSW or LCSW-C.

For LCSW-C candidates the bar rises: the supervisor must hold a license comparable to the LCSW-C and specifically instruct the candidate in billing practices, the treatment of mental disorders and the provision of psychotherapy.

Group supervision is optional, can never be the sole form, is capped at six supervisees, and supplies at most half the required hours.

A relative may not provide supervision.

Whether supervision may be delivered remotely was not stated in the sources read — the teletherapy chapter was not among the documents read; ask the Board.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

“Only half of the required hours of supervision may be obtained from group supervision.”

What each license may do — and the private-practice wall

📜 Health Occ. §19-307(c); §19-101(d), (n)(5), (o)

The statute writes the limits license by license.

An LBSW may not make a clinical diagnosis of a behavioral health or emotional disorder, provide psychotherapy, or engage in private practice, and may not practice independently without Board approval (§19-307(c)(1)).

The legacy LCSW, like the LMSW, may treat, diagnose and provide psychotherapy only under LCSW-C supervision and may not engage in private practice (§19-307(c)(3)).

The LCSW-C's practice includes the evaluation, diagnosis and treatment of biopsychosocial conditions and behavioral health disorders, petitioning for emergency evaluation, and the provision of psychotherapy (§19-101(n)(5)) — and private practice in Maryland means psychotherapy provided by an LCSW-C who assumes responsibility for the services, in exchange for direct payment or third-party reimbursement or on a pro bono basis as determined in regulations (§19-101(o)).

Independent-practice approval for an LBSW or LMSW is non-clinical by definition: it removes the requirement of supervision by another social worker for bachelor or master social work, never the clinical bars.

“A licensed master social worker may not: (i) Engage in independent practice unless the licensed master social worker is approved by the Board to engage in independent practice in accordance with § 19–302(f) of this subtitle; (ii) Treat behavioral health or emotional disorders or provide psychotherapy without the supervision of a licensed certified social worker–clinical; (iii) Diagnose a behavioral health disorder without the supervision of a licensed certified social worker–clinical; or (iv) Engage in private practice.”

Moving to Maryland: the LCSW-C endorsement, with a 5-in-10 practice test

📜 Health Occ. §19-302.1; COMAR 10.42.01.11A, D(1)–(4), (9)

An out-of-state applicant for the LCSW-C must hold a license or registration in another state under a category equivalent to Maryland's certified social worker–clinical license, have passed an examination in that state as a condition of licensure, and show at least 1,000 hours of compensated social work practice per year for 5 of the 10 years before applying.

The rule then splits by career length: more than 5 years of clinical practice takes an active comparable clinical license plus §19-302.1, while less than 5 years takes Maryland's own LCSW-C requirements under §19-302(a) and (e), including the 12 academic credits of clinical course work.

Either way the 3,000 hours must have been performed in not less than 2 and not more than 6 consecutive years, for compensation, under a supervisor comparable to the LCSW-C.

The practice-volume test is the part relocating clinicians most often have to document from old payroll records.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

“Have performed at least 1,000 hours of compensated social work practice per year for 5 years out of the 10 years preceding application to the Board.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted 2025, not yet issuing

📜 2025 Laws of Maryland ch. 9 (HB 345), §19-3A-01; ch. 10 (SB 174); Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

Maryland enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact in 2025 Laws ch. 9 (House Bill 345), with companion ch. 10 (Senate Bill 174), adding Health Occ. §19-3A-01 under a new Interstate Social Work Licensure Compact subtitle.

The Governor approved the Act on April 8, 2025, and it took effect October 1, 2025, once its contingency — six additional states enacting substantially the same compact — was met.

Enacted is not operational: as of September 2026 the commission is not issuing multistate licenses in any state, so practicing in Maryland still takes a Maryland license by the standard route or the endorsement route above.

There is no launch date to plan a job search around; check the commission's jurisdiction list and the Board before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

“THE SOCIAL WORK LICENSURE COMPACT IS ENACTED INTO LAW AND ENTERED INTO WITH ALL OTHER STATES LEGALLY JOINING IN IT IN THE FORM SUBSTANTIALLY AS IT APPEARS IN THIS SECTION AS FOLLOWS:”

Renewal: two-year terms, 40 CEUs, 3 in anti-oppressive practice

📜 Health Occ. §19-308(a); COMAR 10.42.06.03 (amended eff. 2023-12-11)

A license may not be renewed for a term longer than 2 years, and renewed licenses run November 1 through and including October 31.

Renewal takes 40 continuing education units — 30 for Licensed Bachelor Social Workers — with a minimum of 20 (15 for LBSWs) from approved Category I programs.

Inside those totals sit three named slices: 3 units on ethics and professional conduct (Category I or II), 3 on supervision for registered and Board-approved supervisors, and 3 Category I units with anti-oppressive social work practice content focusing on race, culture, or equity, a requirement added by the amendment effective December 11, 2023.

Units earned in one renewal period may not be carried over to the next.

The 3 anti-oppressive units are part of the Category I minimum, so check a course is Category I before counting it toward the total.

“A license may not be renewed for a term longer than 2 years.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

📜 Health Occ. §19-101(g); COMAR 10.42.06.03; 10.42.01.11 (history notes); 2025 Laws of Maryland ch. 9 (HB 345)

Three dated changes shape a Maryland file.

First, the certified social worker license closed: §19-101(g) defines it as licensed on or before December 31, 2023, and the enactment date of that sunset was not located in the sources read — the saved text is the statute only.

Second, the continuing-education rule was amended effective December 11, 2023, which is where the 3 anti-oppressive practice units enter the Category I requirement.

Third, COMAR 10.42.01.11, the endorsement and out-of-state experience rule, shows an amendment effective June 9, 2025; the saved text is the current wording and does not isolate what changed.

The compact itself arrived inside this window, effective October 1, 2025, though none of it has made multistate licenses available.

Filing: the 60-day exam decision and twice-yearly exams

📜 Health Occ. §19-303(b)(3); §19-304(b); COMAR 10.42.01.06

Two procedural rules are worth planning a start date around.

The Board must notify each applicant whether they are approved to take the pertinent licensure examination within 60 days from the date it received a completed application, and it must make a Board-approved examination for each category of license available at least twice a year at the times and places it determines.

A degree still in progress can be handled at application: an applicant expecting the applicable social work degree at the end of the semester may indicate the degree and its expected date on the Board's form (COMAR 10.42.01.06A(3)(b)), while candidates for the certified social worker–clinical and certified social worker exams must document their social work experience and supervision with the application (COMAR 10.42.01.06A(4)).

“The Board shall ensure that a Board–approved examination for each category of license is made available for an applicant to take at least twice a year, at the times and places that the Board determines.”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Maryland statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the State Board of Social Work Examiners (Maryland Department of Health) publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Maryland, MFT licensure in Maryland, or what therapists earn in Maryland.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the State Board of Social Work Examiners (Maryland Department of Health) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Maryland that asks for it.

What Licensed Clinical Social Worker Job Listings in Maryland Show Right Now

From the 24 active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
24
licensed clinical social worker jobs in Maryland
Employers hiring
4
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
2
new listings
Listings stating pay
4%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Pay employers post

  • 4% of licensed clinical social worker listings in Maryland state any pay at all.

Benefits and work arrangement

  • 4% remote or telehealth and 33% hybrid; the rest are on-site
  • Health Insurancenamed in 88%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 88%
  • Flexible Schedulenamed in 67%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 58%
  • PTO / Paid Time Offnamed in 58%

Source: active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 24 jobs →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a Maryland LCSW the same as an LCSW in other states?

No. Maryland's LCSW is the licensed certified social worker — a non-clinical license whose holders may not treat, diagnose, or provide psychotherapy without LCSW-C supervision and may not engage in private practice.

The statute limits it to people licensed on or before December 31, 2023, so no new LCSW licenses are being issued.

Maryland's clinical license is the LCSW-C, the certified social worker–clinical.

Because the same letters name different tiers across state lines, check the Board's verification page for what a specific Maryland licensee actually holds.

Can I start my 3,000 supervised hours before I hold the Maryland LMSW?

Not for experience obtained in Maryland: COMAR 10.42.01.05 requires a candidate with Maryland experience to have obtained a licensed master social worker license before beginning the requisite 3,000 hours.

For experience from another state, the rule asks that you met that jurisdiction's own licensing requirements while acquiring the hours, and that you held the master-level license there first if that jurisdiction required one.

Count backward from your target LCSW-C date, file the LMSW application before your start date, and confirm the sequencing with the Board.

Which ASWB exam do I take for the Maryland LCSW-C?

The sources read do not say.

The statute requires an examination or examinations prescribed by the Board pertinent to the license sought, and the rule allows the Board to use a national examination board such as the Association of Social Work Boards as its agent — but the ASWB category for each tier was not stated in the materials reviewed, and the Board's own site content was not retrievable in the research pass.

Ask the State Board of Social Work Examiners which exam applies to your tier before you register or schedule a test date.

I am an LCSW-C-equivalent clinician in another state. Does Maryland endorse me?

Maryland licenses out-of-state applicants at the same level, but the test is specific: a license in a category equivalent to the certified social worker–clinical license, an examination passed in that state as a condition of licensure, and at least 1,000 hours of compensated social work practice per year for 5 of the 10 years before you apply.

If you have less than 5 years of clinical practice, the rule instead applies Maryland's own LCSW-C requirements, including the 12 academic credits of clinical course work.

Confirm your category maps before relying on it.

Can I use the Social Work Licensure Compact to practice in Maryland yet?

Not yet.

Maryland enacted the compact effective October 1, 2025, but the commission is not issuing multistate licenses in any state as of September 2026.

Until multistate licenses begin, practicing social work in Maryland requires a Maryland license — by the standard application or the endorsement route described above.

Watch the commission's jurisdiction list for operational status and check with the State Board of Social Work Examiners before relying on either status.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Maryland
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Maryland & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the State Board of Social Work Examiners (Maryland Department of Health).