🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Washington, DC: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

The District of Columbia licenses social workers at four levels: the LSWA (associate), LGSW (graduate), LISW (independent, non-clinical) and LICSW (independent clinical).

The clinical license is the LICSW: a CSWE-accredited master's or doctorate, at least 3,000 hours of post-master's diagnosis-and-treatment experience under LICSW supervision over not less than 2 or more than 4 years, and the independent clinical examination.

The quirks: the LGSW exam was removed at entry in 2025, and the LISW is independent without being clinical.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Washington, DC, that is the DC Board of Social Work (DC Health).

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), authorized to perform any function described as the practice of social work in an autonomous, self-regulated fashion, in an agency setting or independently (D.C. Code 3-1208.04(b)).

Other license levels

Licensed Social Work Associate (LSWA, baccalaureate), Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW, master's or doctorate), and Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) β€” independent but excluding the diagnosis or treatment (including psychotherapy) of psychosocial problems.

Degree

LSWA: a baccalaureate degree (B.S.W.) from a CSWE-accredited social work program.

LGSW, LISW and LICSW: a master's degree or a doctorate from a CSWE-accredited social work program (3-1208.01(a); 3-1208.02(a); 3-1208.03(a); 3-1208.04(a)).

Supervised experience

LICSW: at least 3,000 hours of post-master's or postdoctoral experience participating in the diagnosis and treatment of individuals, families, and groups with psychosocial problems, under LICSW supervision, over not less than 2 years or more than 4 years; Board-approved psychiatrist or psychologist supervision may substitute for up to 1,500 hours.

LISW: at least 3,000 hours under an LISW over not less than 2 or more than 4 years.

A supervision-hour count is not stated in the sources read.

ASWB exam

The statute names examination levels, not a vendor: the associate level (LSWA), the independent level (LISW) and the independent clinical level (LICSW).

The LGSW is issued without the examination requirement since D.C. Law 26-7 (effective 2025-06-10); before a first renewal its holder must pass a national examination or complete 1,500 supervised hours (3-1208.02).

Supervisor requirement

LICSW hours run under a licensed independent clinical social worker; under special circumstances approved by the Board, supervision by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist may be substituted for up to 1,500 hours (3-1208.04(a)).

An LGSW may perform psychotherapy only under LICSW supervision (3-1208.02(b)).

The supervision-hour count is not in the statute; the DC regulations were not among the sources read.

Social Work Compact

Not enacted.

As of September 2026 the District of Columbia is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, and the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses.

Renewal & CE

A license term shall not exceed 2 years, though the Mayor may by rule provide for a period of not more than 3 years (3-1205.10(a)).

The statute directs the Mayor to require that any CE for a health occupation licensed under the chapter include 2 credits of cultural-competency or specialized clinical training focused on LGBTQ patients (3-1205.10(b)(5)(A)); the total CE hours for social workers are not stated in the sources read (17 DCMR chapter 70 was not retrieved).

The Washington, DC credential ladder

  1. Licensed Social Work Associate(LSWA)Pre-licensure

    The baccalaureate-tier license: a CSWE-accredited BSW plus the examination process at the associate level, whose holder may perform case work, group work, and community organization services under the supervision of an LISW or LICSW (D.C. Code 3-1208.01).

  2. Licensed Graduate Social Worker(LGSW)Pre-licensure

    The master's-tier license, issued without the examination requirement since D.C. Law 26-7 (effective 2025-06-10); an LGSW may perform any function of social work other than psychotherapy under an LISW or LICSW, and psychotherapy only under an LICSW (3-1208.02(b)).

  3. Licensed Independent Social Worker(LISW)Independent

    An independent license covering every function of social work practice in an autonomous, self-regulated fashion, in an agency setting or independently, except the diagnosis or treatment (including psychotherapy) of psychosocial problems (3-1208.03(b)).

  4. Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker(LICSW)Independent

    The clinical license: may perform any function described as the practice of social work in an autonomous, self-regulated fashion, in an agency setting or independently, and may supervise other persons in the performance of these functions (3-1208.04(b)).

Four licenses, and independent does not mean clinical

πŸ“œ D.C. Code 3-1208.01–.04

The District issues four social work licenses: the Licensed Social Work Associate (L.S.W.A.), Licensed Graduate Social Worker (L.G.S.W.), Licensed Independent Social Worker (L.I.S.W.) and Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (L.I.C.S.W.).

The rung a reader from elsewhere is likeliest to misread is the LISW: it is a genuinely independent license β€” agency or independent practice, and it may direct other persons β€” but its statute carves out the diagnosis or treatment (including psychotherapy) of psychosocial problems.

Independent and clinical are separate rungs here.

The clinical license is the LICSW, which may perform any function described as the practice of social work and may supervise other persons.

If you hold an LCSW from another state, match licenses by what yours authorizes rather than by the acronym, and confirm the mapping with the Board.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

A BSW for the associate tier; a CSWE master's or doctorate above it

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.01(a); Β§ 3-1208.02(a); Β§ 3-1208.03(a); Β§ 3-1208.04(a)

The LSWA requires a baccalaureate degree (B.S.W.) from a social work program accredited by CSWE.

The LGSW, LISW and LICSW all require a master's degree or a doctorate from a CSWE-accredited social work program.

Because one degree rule covers the three upper tiers, what separates them is the examination level and the supervised experience, not additional coursework.

Every licensing section also opens with the phrase in addition to meeting the requirements of subchapter V of this chapter β€” general requirements whose text was not among the sources read, so confirm them with the Board rather than assuming this page is complete.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 hours in diagnosis and treatment, over two to four years

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.04(a); Β§ 3-1208.03(a)

The LICSW requires at least 3,000 hours of post-master's or postdoctoral experience participating in the diagnosis and treatment of individuals, families, and groups with psychosocial problems, under the supervision of a licensed independent clinical social worker, over a period of not less than 2 years or more than 4 years.

The window is statutory at both ends, so an experience plan that drifts past the fourth year is a real risk to the application.

The LISW carries a parallel rule: at least 3,000 hours of post-master's or postdoctoral experience under the supervision of a licensed independent social worker over not less than 2 or more than 4 years.

Neither section states how many hours of supervision the experience must include; the DC regulations were not among the sources read, so confirm the supervision count with the Board.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œhas satisfactorily completed the examination process at the independent clinical level, and has at least 3,000 hours of post-master's or postdoctoral experience participating in the diagnosis and treatment of individuals, families, and groups with psychosocial problems, under the supervision of a licensed independent clinical social worker over a period of not less than 2 years or more than 4 years; under special circumstances approved by the Board, supervision by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist may be substituted for up to 1500 hours”

Examination levels in the statute, and a 2025 change at the LGSW tier

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.01(a); Β§ 3-1208.02; Β§ 3-1208.03(a); Β§ 3-1208.04(a)

The statute requires each applicant to have satisfactorily completed the examination process at a named level: the associate level for the LSWA, the independent level for the LISW and the independent clinical level for the LICSW.

The text read does not name ASWB, so confirm the current examination with the Board before scheduling.

The LGSW is the exception: since D.C. Law 26-7 took effect on June 10, 2025, the license is issued without the examination requirement, and the obligation moves to the first renewal, where the holder must either pass a national examination or document 1,500 hours of supervised practice.

A new MSW graduate can therefore begin licensed LGSW work before any exam, but the road to the first renewal now carries that choice.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œTo renew their license as a licensed graduate social worker, a person shall, prior to the first time renewing their license, either: (1) Pass a national examination or (2) Obtain 1,500 hours in the practice of social work under the supervision of a social worker licensed under Β§Β§ 3-1208.03 or 3-1208.04.”

Who can supervise: an LICSW for clinical hours, with a 1,500-hour substitution

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.01(b); Β§ 3-1208.02(b); Β§ 3-1208.03(a); Β§ 3-1208.04(a)

The statute names the supervisor by license.

Hours toward the LICSW must run under a licensed independent clinical social worker; under special circumstances approved by the Board, supervision by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist may be substituted for up to 1,500 of the 3,000 hours, and the approval is the Board's to give.

The LISW's 3,000 hours run under a licensed independent social worker.

Below the independent tiers, the LSWA performs case work, group work and community organization services under an LISW or LICSW, and the LGSW may perform psychotherapy only under an LICSW.

What the statute does not state is a required number of supervision hours; the DC regulations were not among the sources read, so treat any supervision figure from a secondary guide as unconfirmed.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

Autonomous practice is split: the LICSW's full scope, the LISW's carve-out

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.02(b); Β§ 3-1208.03(b); Β§ 3-1208.04(b)

The LICSW may perform any function described as the practice of social work in an autonomous, self-regulated fashion, in an agency setting or independently, and may supervise other persons β€” with the statute's own boundary that an LICSW shall not engage in the practice of medicine and shall refer patients or clients with apparent medical problems to an appropriate and qualified medical practitioner.

The LISW holds a parallel independent license with the diagnosis-and-treatment carve-out, so it may practise autonomously but cannot deliver psychotherapy.

The LGSW can do everything short of psychotherapy under an LISW or LICSW, and psychotherapy only under an LICSW.

For a new MSW, choosing between the LISW and LICSW tracks is really choosing whether your career includes clinical diagnosis and treatment.

β€œA licensed independent social worker ("L.I.S.W.") may perform any function described as the practice of social work in this chapter, other than the diagnosis or treatment (including psychotherapy) of psychosocial problems, in an autonomous, self-regulated fashion, in an agency setting or independently, and may direct other persons in the performance of these functions.”

Moving to the District: reciprocity and endorsement are mandatory routes

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1205.07

The reciprocity-and-endorsement section directs each board to issue a license to an applicant who qualifies and pays the applicable fees, so this is a duty rather than a discretion, and the statute defines the two routes separately.

Endorsement turns on the standards under which you were licensed elsewhere being the substantial equivalent, at the time of that licensing, to the District's standards, plus continuous good standing from that original licensing date until the District issues yours.

Reciprocity is its own route: you hold a license in good standing under another state's laws, with requirements that in the Board's opinion were substantially equivalent at the time of licensure, and that state admits health professionals licensed in the District of Columbia in a like manner.

The Mayor may also issue rules for assessing an endorsement applicant's current competency where the original standards were not substantially equivalent.

Confirm the mechanics and timing with the DC Board of Social Work before building a move around them.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œEach board shall issue a license, registration, or certification to an applicant who qualifies by reciprocity or endorsement and who pays the applicable fees established by the Mayor.”

Social Work Licensure Compact: not enacted in the District

πŸ“œ Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

As of September 2026, the District of Columbia is not on the Social Work Licensure Compact commission's list of member jurisdictions, so the compact is not enacted here.

There is no multistate-license route into or out of the District: practising in DC takes a DC license, by the standard route or the endorsement route above.

The compact has reached activation status nationally, but the commission says multistate licenses are not yet being issued anywhere, and its July 2026 update estimates its data system will be complete in spring 2027 rather than giving a launch date.

Check the commission's jurisdiction list and the Board before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Two-year license terms; the LGBTQ CE credits are statutory, the hour total is not

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1205.10

The term of a license shall not exceed 2 years, although the Mayor may by rule provide for a period of licensure of not more than 3 years, and an expiring license is renewed under rules the Mayor issues.

One CE line is statutory: except as provided in subsection (b-1)(4), the Mayor shall require that any continuing-education requirement for a health occupation licensed, registered, or certified under this section β€” social work among them β€” include 2 credits of instruction on cultural competency or specialized clinical training focusing on patients who identify as LGBTQ (3-1205.10(b)(5)(A)); the subsection it cross-references is not in the saved copy.

What the sources read still do not establish is the total: the research records the social-work CE hours as not located, because 17 DCMR chapter 70 was not retrieved.

Get the current total from the Board, and expect the LGBTQ credits to ride along with it.

β€œThe term of a license, registration, or certification shall not exceed 2 years; except, that the Mayor may by rule provide for a period of licensure, registration, or certification of not more than 3 years.”

The LGSW exam moved in 2025; a 2024 act amended the endorsement section

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.02, amended by D.C. Law 26-7, effective 2025-06-10; Β§ 3-1205.07, amended by D.C. Law 25-191 (July 19, 2024)

Three dated changes fall in the window.

D.C. Law 26-7, effective June 10, 2025, amended the LGSW licensing section so the license is issued without the examination requirement; the obligation moved to the first renewal, where the holder must pass a national examination or obtain 1,500 hours in the practice of social work under the supervision of an LISW or LICSW β€” for a 2026 graduate, the difference between sitting an exam before the first job and documenting 1,500 supervised hours while working.

Before that, D.C. Law 25-191, section 101(gg), effective July 19, 2024 β€” the Health Occupations Revision General Amendment Act of 2024 β€” amended the reciprocity-and-endorsement section; the sources read record the amendment in that section's history but do not describe what it changed beyond the wording now in force.

DC Health has also moved credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024, to a birth-month renewal cycle, per its notice covering all DC Health professional licenses.

The compact status did not change: the District had not enacted it as of September 2026.

Subchapter V, and the practice-of-medicine boundary

πŸ“œ Β§ 3-1208.01(a); Β§ 3-1208.04(b)

Every tier's licensing section opens with in addition to meeting the requirements of subchapter V of this chapter, and the text of that subchapter was not among the sources read, so what else a District applicant must satisfy beyond the tier-specific rules on this page was not stated in the sources read.

The statute also draws a medical boundary around the LICSW: the licensee shall not engage in the practice of medicine and shall refer patients or clients with apparent medical problems to an appropriate and qualified medical practitioner.

For a clinician used to integrated care, that line is written into the license itself.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Washington, DC statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the DC Board of Social Work (DC Health) publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Washington, DC, MFT licensure in Washington, DC, or what therapists earn in Washington, DC.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the DC Board of Social Work (DC Health) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does DC have an LCSW?

No. The District's four licenses are the LSWA, LGSW, LISW and LICSW (D.C. Code 3-1208.01–.04).

The independent clinical license is the LICSW.

The letters do not carry across state lines β€” an LCSW elsewhere is not always the independent clinical tier β€” so match licenses by what yours authorizes you to do, not by the acronym, and confirm the mapping with the DC Board of Social Work.

How many supervised hours does the DC LICSW require?

At least 3,000 hours of post-master's or postdoctoral experience participating in the diagnosis and treatment of individuals, families, and groups with psychosocial problems, under the supervision of an LICSW, over not less than 2 years or more than 4 years (D.C. Code 3-1208.04(a)).

Under special Board-approved circumstances, psychiatrist or psychologist supervision may substitute for up to 1,500 hours.

The statute states no separate supervision-hour count; ask the Board, since the DC regulations were not among the sources read.

Do I need to take an exam for the LGSW in DC?

Not at entry anymore.

Since D.C. Law 26-7 took effect on June 10, 2025, the LGSW is issued without the examination requirement.

Before your first renewal you must either pass a national examination or obtain 1,500 hours in the practice of social work under the supervision of an LISW or LICSW (D.C. Code 3-1208.02(c)).

The statute says a national examination without naming ASWB in the text read, so confirm with the Board which exam and which renewal option fit your plans.

Can a psychologist supervise my LICSW hours in DC?

Only as a substitution, and only with Board approval.

D.C. Code 3-1208.04(a) requires the 3,000 hours to run under a licensed independent clinical social worker, but allows supervision by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist to be substituted for up to 1,500 hours under special circumstances approved by the Board.

Approval is the Board's call, so get it in writing before the hours start, and confirm the rest of the supervision rule with the Board.

I am licensed in another state. How do I move my license to DC?

Through reciprocity or endorsement under D.C. Code 3-1205.07, which directs each board to issue a license to an applicant who qualifies and pays the fees.

The statute defines the routes separately: endorsement asks whether the standards you were licensed under were the substantial equivalent at the time of that licensing, with continuous good standing since; reciprocity requires a license in good standing in another state whose requirements the Board considers substantially equivalent, plus a state that admits DC licensees in a like manner.

The District had not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact as of September 2026, so there is no multistate route.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Washington, DC & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the DC Board of Social Work (DC Health).