🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in Washington: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Washington licenses social workers at two full levels, the Licensed Advanced Social Worker (LASW) and the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), with an associate version of each for graduates working toward full licensure.

The LICSW takes a CSWE-accredited master's or social work doctorate, 3,000 supervised hours over not less than two years including 1,000 of direct client contact, at least 100 hours of direct supervision, and the advanced or clinical exam the rule approves.

Distinct here: associates may not practise independently for a fee, and a year licensed elsewhere satisfies the experience rule.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Washington, that is the Washington State Department of Health (secretary), advised by the Mental Health Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Social Workers Advisory Committee.

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW).

An associate may not provide independent social work for a fee, monetary or otherwise, so independent clinical practice takes the LICSW (RCW 18.225.090; RCW 18.225.145(2)).

Other license levels

Licensed Advanced Social Worker (LASW), plus two associate licenses: Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Advanced (LSWAA) and Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Independent Clinical (LSWAIC), for graduates declaring they are working toward full licensure.

Degree

Every tier requires graduation from a CSWE-accredited master's social work program or a social work doctorate approved by the secretary based on nationally recognized standards (RCW 18.225.090; WAC 246-809-320).

Supervised experience

LICSW: 3,000 hours over not less than two years, including at least 1,000 hours of direct client contact, with at least 100 hours of direct supervision (at least 70 with an LICSW, at least 60 one-to-one).

LASW: 3,000 hours with at least 800 direct client contact and 90 hours of direct supervision (at least 40 one-to-one).

ASWB exam

The rule approves either the advanced or the clinical examination as the state examination for licensure of social workers; the text read maps no tier to one exam, so confirm with the Department of Health (WAC 246-809-340).

Supervisor requirement

An approved supervisor who has been licensed for at least two years: an LICSW with at least one year supervising the clinical social work of others, an LASW (for LASW candidates only), or an equally qualified licensed mental health practitioner (RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(ii)(C); WAC 246-809-310(2)).

Social Work Compact

Enacted: HB 1939, signed March 19, 2024, now RCW chapter 18.321.

Not operational β€” as of September 2026 the commission is not yet issuing multistate licenses anywhere, including to or from Washington.

Renewal & CE

32 hours of continuing education every two years, including at least 6 in professional ethics and law and at least 2 in professional roles and boundaries, plus 6 hours of suicide assessment every 6 years; associates take 16 hours.

The license renewal period itself was not stated in the sources read.

The Washington credential ladder

  1. Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Advanced(LSWAA)Pre-licensure

    An associate license for a graduate of a CSWE-accredited master's or doctoral social work program who declares they are working toward full licensure; the holder may not provide independent social work for a fee and must work under an approved supervisor (RCW 18.225.145).

  2. Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Independent Clinical(LSWAIC)Pre-licensure

    The independent-clinical associate license, on the same degree and written declaration; it carries the same ban on independent practice for a fee and the same duty to disclose associate status to each client at first contact (RCW 18.225.145(2), (3)).

  3. Licensed Advanced Social Worker(LASW)Other

    A full license for the advanced practice area: 3,000 supervised hours with at least 800 in direct client contact and 90 hours of direct supervision, at least 40 one-to-one.

    An LASW may serve as an approved supervisor only for LASW candidates (WAC 246-809-310(2)).

  4. Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker(LICSW)Independent

    The clinical and independent license: 3,000 hours over not less than two years including at least 1,000 direct client contact hours supervised by an LICSW, at least 100 hours of direct supervision with the 70 LICSW / 60 one-to-one composition, and the state examination (RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(ii)(C); WAC 246-809-330(2)).

  5. Approved supervisorSupervisor

    A status, not a separate license: an LICSW, an LASW (for LASW candidates only), or an equally qualified licensed mental health practitioner.

    The experience rule requires the supervisor to have been licensed for at least two years, and an LICSW supervisor to have at least one year of experience supervising the clinical social work of others (WAC 246-809-310(2); RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(ii)(C)).

Two full licenses, two associates, and no LCSW among them

πŸ“œ RCW 18.225.090; RCW 18.225.145

Washington issues two full social work licenses, the Licensed Advanced Social Worker (LASW) and the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), plus two associate licenses for graduates who declare they are working toward full licensure: the Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Advanced (LSWAA) and the Licensed Social Worker Associateβ€”Independent Clinical (LSWAIC).

The clinical license is the LICSW.

The letters LCSW appear nowhere in Washington's scheme, so a title earned in another state does not tell you which Washington license matches your scope β€” the rung you apply for decides which hour package and supervision rules apply.

The associates are licenses, not registrations: RCW 18.225.145 issues them on a written declaration of working toward full licensure and obliges each associate to disclose that status to clients.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

One degree rule covers every tier

πŸ“œ RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(i)(A), (ii)(A); WAC 246-809-320

Every tier requires graduation from a master's social work program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, or a social work doctorate from a university accredited by a recognized accrediting organization and approved by the secretary (WAC 246-809-320).

Associates sit the same degree requirement, and no supervised postgraduate experience is required before an associate license issues (WAC 246-809-330(3)).

Because the sections read name no coursework add-on for the LICSW β€” no clinical concentration, no extra practicum β€” what separates an LASW application from an LICSW application is the supervised-experience composition and the exam, not more school.

Confirm program approval with the Department of Health before you enroll.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 hours, two years, and the composition that decides when a count is done

πŸ“œ RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(ii)(C); WAC 246-809-330(2)

The LICSW needs a minimum of 3,000 hours of experience over not less than two years, and the composition rules decide whether a count is complete: at least 1,000 hours of direct client contact, which the WAC says are supervised by a licensed independent clinical social worker, plus at least 100 hours of direct supervision β€” at least 70 hours with an LICSW, at least 60 hours one-to-one, the remainder with an equally qualified licensed mental health practitioner or in group supervision.

The LASW package is parallel: 3,000 hours, at least 800 in direct client contact, and 90 hours of direct supervision with at least 40 one-to-one.

A graduate counting hours should track each strand separately, because reaching 3,000 without the 1,000 LICSW-supervised direct hours or the 60 one-to-one hours does not finish the LICSW requirement.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œThe supervised experience requirement consists of a minimum of 3,000 hours of experience, over a period of not less than two years, with supervision by an approved supervisor who has been licensed for at least two years and, as specified in this subsection, may be either a licensed independent clinical social worker who has had at least one year of experience in supervising the clinical social work of others or an equally qualified licensed mental health practitioner.”

Either the advanced or the clinical exam β€” the rule maps no tier

πŸ“œ WAC 246-809-340

The examination rule approves two ASWB exams as the state examination for licensure of social workers and accepts the passing scores the testing company establishes.

The text read assigns no specific exam to the LASW or the LICSW, so confirm the exam for your application category with the Department of Health before you register.

Mind the vocabulary: the rule's advanced examination is the exam ASWB now calls Advanced Generalist β€” the rule uses ASWB's older label.

The compact's legislative history criticizes the ASWB test, but that is an intent statement, not an exam waiver; the examination rule still stands.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œEither the American Association of State Social Work Board's advanced or clinical examination is approved for use as the state examination for licensure of social workers.”

Who can supervise you, and video counts

πŸ“œ WAC 246-809-310(2), (4), (7) (eff. 2025-06-12); RCW 18.225.090(1)(a)(ii)(C)

An approved supervisor is a licensed independent clinical social worker, a licensed advanced social worker β€” but an LASW may supervise only LASW candidates β€” or an equally qualified licensed mental health practitioner, which the definitions rule names as a licensed mental health counselor, marriage and family therapist, psychologist, physician practicing as a psychiatrist, or psychiatric nurse practitioner (WAC 246-809-310(2), (3)).

The experience rule adds a floor: the supervisor has been licensed for at least two years, and an LICSW supervisor needs at least one year of experience supervising the clinical social work of others.

Since June 12, 2025, group and one-on-one supervision are defined as face-to-face or virtual, and groups are capped at six licensure candidates, so remote supervision is usable under the current rule as long as the composition minimums are met.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

β€œ"Group supervision" means face-to-face or virtual supervision with an approved supervisor, involving one supervisor and no more than six licensure candidates.”

Associates: no independent work for a fee, disclosure to every client

πŸ“œ RCW 18.225.145(2), (3)

Associates may not provide independent social work for a fee, monetary or otherwise, and must work under the supervision of an approved supervisor; at the first professional contact each associate must give the client a disclosure form stating they are an associate under supervision.

From October 1, 2025, an applicant for an associate license may practice without a license, under the direct supervision of an approved supervisor, for 120 days after the department receives the completed application β€” or until the license is issued or denied, whichever is sooner.

No supervised postgraduate experience is required to become an associate; the degree and the written declaration of working toward full licensure are what the license takes.

For a new graduate choosing a first job, the 120-day window can bridge the wait for the license to issue; confirm the mechanics with the department.

β€œAssociates may not provide independent social work, mental health counseling, or marriage and family therapy for a fee, monetary or otherwise.”

Moving to Washington: without examination, a probationary license, and the one-year deemed rule

πŸ“œ RCW 18.225.140; WAC 246-809-330(1)(a), (2)(a)

Washington gives moving licensees overlapping routes.

RCW 18.225.140 licenses an applicant credentialed in another state without examination when the secretary finds the other state's credentialing standards substantially equivalent; the 2023 reciprocity program adds a probationary license for holders of substantially equivalent credentials with no disciplinary record or disqualifying criminal history, and on it the department may require additional education or experience and may impose a jurisprudential examination.

Separately, the supervised-experience rule deems the requirement met for an applicant who has held an active independent clinical social worker license β€” or, for the LASW, an active advanced social worker license β€” for the past year or more in another state, without discipline.

The department must publish its equivalency determinations, prioritizing the states or territories with the most historical applicants, so check that list before assuming your title maps.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œAn applicant holding a credential in another state may be licensed to practice in this state without examination if the secretary determines that the other state's credentialing standards are substantially equivalent to the licensing standards in this state.”

Enacted in 2024, not yet issuing multistate licenses

πŸ“œ RCW ch. 18.321; RCW 18.321.005; Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

Washington enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact in 2024 β€” HB 1939, signed March 19, 2024, now RCW chapter 18.321 β€” and the commission's jurisdiction list includes Washington.

The compact is not operational: as of September 2026 the commission had not issued a multistate license anywhere, so practice in another compact state still takes that state's license.

The legislature's stated intent criticizes the ASWB licensing test for severe disparities in outcomes and directs Washington to pursue alternatives β€” an intent statement, not an exam waiver, since the examination rule still requires an approved ASWB exam.

Check the commission's list and the Department of Health before relying on either status.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

β€œThe legislature acknowledges that the association of social work boards licensing test has been shown to have severe disparities in outcomes based on the race, age, and language of test takers. Because of these disparities, the state of Washington aims to collaborate with other states and interested parties to find alternatives to this test.”

32 CE hours every two years, with ethics, boundaries and suicide-training set-asides

πŸ“œ WAC 246-809-630 (eff. 2025-10-01); WAC 246-809-610

Chapter 246-809's continuing-education rules cover social workers as licensed counselors: 32 hours every two years, including at least 6 hours in professional ethics and law and at least 2 hours in professional roles and boundaries, which must be taken separately from the ethics hours; all licensees also complete 2 hours of health equity training every 4 years.

Licensed social workers add 6 hours of suicide assessment, treatment, and management at least once every 6 years, and those hours count toward the 32.

Associates complete 16 hours, and social worker associates must also complete 6 hours of suicide assessment, treatment, and management CE.

Employer-sponsored training is acceptable but capped at 26 hours per reporting period, and other learning such as peer consultation at 6 (WAC 246-809-610).

The license renewal period itself was not stated in the sources read β€” only the two-year CE cycle β€” so confirm renewal timing with the Department of Health.

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ 2023 c 425; 2024 c 371; 2024 c 176; WSR 25-11-019; 2025 c 58

Four waves land in the window.

The 2023 reciprocity act created the probationary-license route for out-of-state credential holders.

In 2024, the six-renewal cap on associate licenses was removed effective June 6, 2024, and the compact was enacted.

Rules followed in 2025: WSR 25-11-019, filed May 12, 2025, took effect June 12, 2025 for the supervision definitions and the supervised-experience rules and October 1, 2025 for the rewritten continuing-education rule β€” the same date the 120-day practice-pending-application window began and RCW 18.225.090's latest amendment (2025 c 58) took effect.

The saved rule text is the current wording and does not show what each amendment changed; read the effective dates as the change map and confirm any rule your application turns on with the department.

The substance-use-disorder professional hour reduction

πŸ“œ WAC 246-809-330(1)(b), (2)(b)

The supervised-experience rule hides a reduction for substance-use-disorder professionals: an applicant who can demonstrate at least three years of practice as a substance use disorder professional within the 10 years before applying has the total required hours cut β€” for the LICSW, from 3,000 hours to 2,600 hours.

The reduction does not touch the floors: the direct-client-contact and direct-supervision minimums apply regardless, so the cut comes out of the remaining practice hours.

For the LASW the same subsection states the reduction runs from 3,200 hours to 2,880 hours even though the LASW requirement in the very next subsection reads a minimum of 3,000 hours β€” the rule disagrees with itself on the baseline, so confirm which figure the department applies before you plan hours around the reduction.

β€œIn accordance with RCW 18.225.090 and 18.225.095, for an applicant who can demonstrate they have practiced as a substance use disorder professional for at least three years within 10 years from the date their application for an independent clinical social worker license is submitted to the department, the department shall reduce the total required supervised hours from 3,000 hours to 2,600 hours.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Washington statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Washington State Department of Health (secretary), advised by the Mental Health Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Social Workers Advisory Committee publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Washington, MFT licensure in Washington, or what therapists earn in Washington.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Washington State Department of Health (secretary), advised by the Mental Health Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Social Workers Advisory Committee before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in Washington that asks for it.

What Licensed Clinical Social Worker Job Listings in Washington Show Right Now

From the 19 active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
19
licensed clinical social worker jobs in Washington
Employers hiring
5
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
7
new listings
Listings stating pay
21%
of open listings

Employers with the most openings

Pay employers post

  • 21% of licensed clinical social worker listings in Washington state any pay at all.

Benefits and work arrangement

  • 5% remote or telehealth and 58% hybrid; the rest are on-site
  • 401k Matchnamed in 74%
  • Continuing Education Budgetnamed in 74%
  • Malpractice Insurance Coverednamed in 58%
  • Flexible Schedulenamed in 47%

Source: active licensed clinical social worker listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 19 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Washington have an LCSW?

No. Washington's full licenses are the Licensed Advanced Social Worker (LASW) and the Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) (RCW 18.225.090); the associate versions are the LSWAA and LSWAIC.

Letters earned in another state do not carry across as titles β€” an out-of-state clinical licensee moves through the without-examination route or the probationary reciprocity license in RCW 18.225.140.

Ask the Department of Health which Washington license fits your scope, and check the equivalency list it publishes before you apply.

Which ASWB exam do I take for the Washington LICSW?

The rule does not map one.

WAC 246-809-340 approves either the advanced or the clinical examination as the state examination for licensure of social workers, and the sections read assign no specific exam to the LASW or the LICSW.

Two cautions: the rule's advanced examination is the exam ASWB now calls Advanced Generalist, and the department accepts the passing scores the testing company sets.

Confirm the exam for your application category with the Department of Health before you register and pay.

Can LICSW supervision hours be done by video in Washington?

Yes, under the current rule.

Effective June 12, 2025, WAC 246-809-310 defines group and one-on-one supervision as face-to-face or virtual supervision with an approved supervisor, and caps groups at no more than six licensure candidates.

Format does not relax composition: an LICSW applicant still needs at least 100 hours of direct supervision, including at least 70 with an LICSW and at least 60 one-to-one.

Settle the arrangement with your approved supervisor before your hours start, and confirm it with the Department of Health.

I am licensed in another state. Do I have to redo supervised hours for Washington?

Probably not, if you qualify.

WAC 246-809-330 deems the supervised experience requirement met for an applicant who has held an active independent clinical social worker (or advanced social worker) license for the past year or more in another state, without a disciplinary record or disqualifying criminal history.

RCW 18.225.140 separately licenses without examination where the secretary finds the other state's standards substantially equivalent, and the reciprocity program can issue a probationary license while any gaps are addressed, possibly with a jurisprudential exam.

Confirm the route with the department.

What can a new graduate do before the associate license is issued?

Two things help.

An associate-license applicant may practice without a license under the direct supervision of an approved supervisor for 120 days after the department receives the completed application β€” or until the license is issued or denied, whichever is sooner (RCW 18.225.145(2), effective October 1, 2025).

And the six-renewal cap on associate licenses was removed in 2024, so the associate license renews without that limit.

Either way, an associate may not provide independent social work for a fee and must give each client a disclosure form at first contact.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in Washington
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Washington & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Washington State Department of Health (secretary), advised by the Mental Health Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, and Social Workers Advisory Committee.