🧭 Social work licensure

Social Work Licensure in West Virginia: LCSW Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

West Virginia issues four regular social work licenses — LSW, LGSW, LCSW and LICSW — and the trap is the third one.

The WV LCSW is the Licensed Certified Social Worker, an advanced generalist tier that may determine behavioral health diagnosis but practices clinical work only under a board-approved contract.

Independent clinical practice takes the LICSW: a clinical-concentration CSWE master's, two years of full-time clinical practice or three thousand supervised hours, and the ASWB Clinical exam; the board's page adds the advisory that an applicant should have at least 100 hours of face to face supervision.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In West Virginia, that is the West Virginia Board of Social Work.

At a glance

Clinical license

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW), Level D.

In West Virginia the letters LCSW belong to the Licensed Certified Social Worker — the non-independent Level C tier — so the independent clinical license is the LICSW.

Other license levels

LSW (Level A, bachelor's), LGSW (Level B, master's) and LCSW (Level C, certified, advanced generalist).

A temporary permit before the exam — six months, for candidates who have not yet passed — is not a regular license.

Degree

LSW: a CSWE-accredited bachelor's in social work (§30-30-14).

LGSW and LCSW: a CSWE-accredited master's (§30-30-12; §30-30-10).

LICSW: a CSWE master's including a concentration of clinically oriented course work as defined by the board, plus a supervised clinical field placement at the graduate level or equivalent post-master's clinical training (§30-30-8).

Supervised experience

LICSW: clinical social work practiced for at least two years in full-time employment, or three thousand hours under the supervision of an independent clinical social worker, or clinical supervision the board finds equivalent (§30-30-8(6)).

The board's page adds the advisory that an applicant should have at least 100 hours of face to face supervision.

ASWB exam

LSW: Bachelors.

LGSW: the board's page says "Intermediate", ASWB's former name for the Masters exam.

LCSW: Advanced Generalist.

LICSW: Clinical.

The board must pre-approve every candidate before ASWB registration.

Supervisor requirement

Clinical work on an LGSW or LCSW takes a written contract with a licensed clinical social worker, approved by the board before practice begins, while the licensee is employed by an institution or organization in which they hold no direct or indirect interest other than employment (§30-30-10(b); §30-30-12(b)).

Social Work Compact

Enacted 2026: SB 703, June 9, 2026, codified at W.

Va.

Code art. 30-30A.

As of September 2026 West Virginia is not yet on the commission's jurisdiction list, and the commission reports multistate licenses are not yet being issued anywhere.

Renewal & CE

Licenses expire 24 months after issuance (§30-30-19).

Thirty hours per two-year licensing period since July 1, 2022 (cut from 40), including at least 20 Category I hours — 2 on veterans' mental health and 1 in social work ethics — with at least 10 hours synchronous.

The West Virginia credential ladder

  1. Temporary permitPre-licensure

    A permit, not a regular license: issued for six months so a candidate who has not yet passed the ASWB exam can take it, with exam pre-approval sent automatically to permit holders (board examination and CE pages).

  2. Licensed Social Worker(LSW)Other

    The Level A regular license: a baccalaureate degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program and an examination approved by the board — the board's exam page maps that to the ASWB Bachelors level (§30-30-14; board ASWB Examination page).

  3. Licensed Graduate Social Worker(LGSW)Pre-licensure

    The Level B master's license, issued on the CSWE MSW and exam alone with no experience or supervision requirements of its own; clinical work happens only under a board-approved contract, and at the contract's end the holder applies for LICSW licensure or requests an extension (§30-30-12).

  4. Licensed Certified Social Worker(LCSW)Other

    The Level C certified, advanced-generalist license — a CSWE MSW, two years post-master's experience or three thousand hours, and the ASWB Advanced Generalist exam; it is not the independent clinical license, and clinical practice runs through the board-approved contract (§30-30-10).

  5. Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker(LICSW)Independent

    The Level D independent clinical license: assessment, diagnosis, treatment including psychotherapy and counseling, client-centered advocacy, consultation and evaluation, on the clinical-concentration MSW, the supervised clinical experience and the ASWB Clinical exam (§30-30-8; §30-30-9).

Four regular licenses — and LCSW does not mean clinical here

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-8; §30-30-10; §30-30-12; §30-30-14; WV Board of Social Work Regular License pages

The board's Regular License pages list four levels: Level A - LSW, Level B - LGSW (Licensed Graduate Social Worker), Level C - LCSW (Licensed Certified Social Worker) and Level D - LICSW (Licensed Independent Clinical Social Work).

The statute backs each with its own section: §30-30-14 for the social worker, §30-30-12 for the graduate social worker, §30-30-10 for the certified social worker and §30-30-8 for the independent clinical social worker.

The load-bearing distinction is the step from C to D.

The LCSW is a certified, advanced-generalist license — its scope even includes determining behavioral health diagnosis — but it is not the independent clinical license, and its clinical work runs through the contract rule.

The LICSW is the license for independent clinical practice.

A reader carrying LCSW expectations from another jurisdiction should recalibrate before applying.

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

“In WV, "LCSW" stands for Licensed Certified Social Worker. It is the Level C advanced generalist tier, NOT the independent clinical license. The clinical-independent title is the LICSW.”

One master's rule for three levels, a clinical concentration for the LICSW

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-8(4), (5); §30-30-10(a)(4); §30-30-12(a)(4); §30-30-14(4)

The bachelor's and both non-independent master's licenses take the degree as printed: a baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by the council on social work education for the LSW (§30-30-14(4)), and a master's from a school of social work accredited by the same council for the LGSW and the LCSW (§30-30-12(a)(4); §30-30-10(a)(4)).

The LICSW sharpens the master's rule two ways: the degree must have included "a concentration of clinically oriented course work as defined by the board", and the applicant must have completed "a supervised clinical field placement at the graduate level, or post-master's clinical training that is found by the board to be equivalent" (§30-30-8(4), (5)).

For an MSW student aiming at the LICSW, the clinical concentration and the graduate-level clinical placement are the two boxes that matter — build them into enrollment, because the post-master's training alternative exists only for those without the field placement.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

Two years full-time or three thousand hours — and a board page that reads "and"

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-8(6); WV Board of Social Work Level D - LICSW page; ASWB Examination page

The statute gives the LICSW applicant a choice: clinical social work practiced "for at least two years in full-time employment, or three thousand hours under the supervision of an independent clinical social worker, or clinical supervision that is found by the board to be equivalent" (§30-30-8(6)).

The board's pages word it more tightly.

The LICSW page says the applicant "must verify a minimum of two years of full-time employment and 3,000 hours of practice in full or part time employment", joining the two with "and"; the examination page's Clinical Level line looks for two years of post-master's direct clinical practice while under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker.

Ask the board which reading it applies to your file before you count hours.

What stays constant: the statute's 3,000-hour route runs under an independent clinical social worker.

Separately, the board advises — "should," not a statutory minimum — that an applicant have at least 100 hours of face to face supervision; the source does not tie it to the 3,000-hour route.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“Have practiced clinical social work for at least two years in full-time employment, or three thousand hours under the supervision of an independent clinical social worker, or clinical supervision that is found by the board to be equivalent”

One ASWB exam per level, and one stale name on the board's page

📜 WV Board of Social Work Level B - LGSW page; Level C - LCSW page; Level D - LICSW page; ASWB Examination page

Each level maps to one ASWB exam: Bachelors for the LSW, Masters for the LGSW, Advanced Generalist for the LCSW and Clinical for the LICSW — with one stale name to know about.

The board's LGSW page still says "Intermediate level state social work exam", which is ASWB's former name for the Masters exam; the board's own exam page lists the current levels — Bachelors, Masters, Advanced Generalist, Clinical — under a heading dating to April 2004.

Sequencing is the planning point: WV must pre-approve all candidates for examination before registration can be completed with ASWB.

Pre-approval goes out automatically to temporary-permit holders; other applicants should clear the board before registering with ASWB.

An applicant who is or has ever been licensed in another state also files verification of good standing from those boards with the application.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

“The graduate level license is issued to an applicant who holds a master's degree in social work (MSW) from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited social work program, has passed the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Intermediate level state social work exam, and has submitted the appropriate application and fee.”

The contract rule: who supervises, and when the hours start

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-10(b), (c); §30-30-12(b), (c)

Clinical work below the LICSW runs on a contract.

A certified social worker — or a graduate social worker, under the parallel rule in §30-30-12 — may practice clinical social work only after contracting in writing with a licensed clinical social worker who shall assume responsibility for and supervise the practice as directed by the board through legislative rules (§30-30-10(b)(3)), while the licensee is an employee of an institution or organization in which they hold no direct or indirect interest other than employment.

Two timing rules follow for anyone counting hours.

The contract must be board-approved before clinical practice happens, so approval lag is dead time.

And practice stops the moment the contract terminates — at that point the licensee applies for LICSW licensure or asks the board for an extension.

What qualifies a licensee to take these supervision contracts is not stated in the sources read.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

“A certified social worker may not practice clinical social work until his or her contract has been approved by the board, and shall cease the practice of clinical social work immediately upon the termination of the contract.”

Diagnosis without independence: what each level may do

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-9; §30-30-11; §30-30-13

The LICSW's scope is the widest in West Virginia: applied social work theory and methods to the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of psychological dysfunction, disability or impairment, including emotional and mental disorders and developmental disabilities.

The certified LCSW sits just under it — all LGSW and LSW duties, theory and methods applied to diagnosis, treatment and prevention, and the power to determine behavioral health diagnosis using diagnostic taxonomies commonly accepted across disciplines (§30-30-11).

The LGSW conducts clinical or psychotherapeutic services, individual, family and group, under clinical supervision (§30-30-13).

Read together, the pattern is clean: diagnosis authority arrives at Level C, but independence — the practice, not the diagnosis — arrives only at Level D, and every level below D practices clinical work inside the contract structure.

“Clinical social work services consist of assessment, diagnosis, treatment, including psychotherapy and counseling, client-centered advocacy, consultation and evaluation.”

Moving to West Virginia: no endorsement route in the sources read

📜 WV Board of Social Work Level D - LICSW page

No endorsement or reciprocity provision was located in W.

Va.

Code art. 30-30 — the article's section list was read — and the board's administrative rules were not part of the sources read, so this page states no endorsement route.

What the board's LICSW page describes instead is "an eligible applicant from another state" meeting the same substance: a CSWE-accredited MSW and/or a Ph.D. or DSW in social work, completed supervised practice and the ASWB Clinical exam, with verification of licensure in good standing required from every state where the applicant is or has ever been licensed.

That reads as the ordinary LICSW application applied to an out-of-state clinician, not a named endorsement pathway.

A clinician relocating with hours already earned should ask the board how those hours and licenses will be evaluated before counting on either.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

Social Work Licensure Compact: enacted June 2026, issuing nothing yet

📜 W. Va. Code art. 30-30A (2026 Regular Session SB 703); Social Work Licensure Compact commission website (swcompact.org)

West Virginia enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact in 2026.

The bill history on the codified article reads "2026 Regular Session SB703", the commission's news post dates enactment to Tuesday, June 9, 2026, and the statute sits at W.

Va.

Code art. 30-30A.

Two cautions before relying on it.

First, as of the research date (September 24, 2026) West Virginia is not yet on the commission's own list of member jurisdictions.

Second, enactment is not operation: the commission states the compact has reached activation status but that multistate licenses are not yet being issued, and offers only an estimate that its data system will be complete in spring 2027.

Until multistate licenses issue, practicing in another state still takes that state's own license.

For the compact’s status nationally and what it will allow, see the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Licenses expire at 24 months; 30 CE hours with veterans and synchronous minimums

📜 W. Va. Code §30-30-19; WV Board of Social Work CE Requirements page

Every license expires twenty-four months and the number of days remaining in the month after issuance (§30-30-19(a)).

Since July 1, 2022, every regular licensee — LSW, LGSW, LCSW, LICSW — owes thirty hours of board-approved continuing education per two-year licensing period, a decrease from the previous forty.

At least twenty hours must be Category I, presented by a board-approved provider, ten of which must be face to face or synchronous; inside the twenty, at least 2 hours must address mental health conditions specific to veterans and family members of veterans, and at least 1 must be social work ethics.

Up to ten hours of approved asynchronous online coursework count, and up to ten Category II hours of individual professional activities.

Temporary-permit holders owe no CE until the full regular license issues, and volunteer hours no longer count as continuing education.

“Effective July 1, 2022, all regular licensed social workers (LSW, LGSW, LCSW, LICSW) must earn thirty (30) hours of WV Board of Social Work (WVBSW) approved continuing social work education hours in each two-year licensing period. This is a decrease from the previous requirement of 40 hours.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026: the compact arrived

📜 W. Va. Code art. 30-30A (2026 Regular Session SB 703); WV Board of Social Work CE Requirements page

The change inside the window is the compact: 2026 Regular Session SB 703, codified as article 30-30A, enacted June 9, 2026 per the commission's news post.

The bill histories printed on the saved statute pages show no amendments to the license provisions themselves in 2023–2026 — §30-30-8's history ends with 2019 legislation (HB 2486) and §30-30-19's with 2011 (HB 2525).

The most recent CE change also sits just outside the window: the thirty-hour requirement and the end of the face-to-face waiver took effect July 1, 2022.

And the "Intermediate" exam name still on the board's LGSW page is a stale label ASWB retired, not a rule change — the current Masters exam is what that page means.

Before the exam: the temporary permit, plus two statuses the sources name

📜 WV Board of Social Work ASWB Examination page; CE Requirements page; W. Va. Code §30-30-19(e)

The pre-exam status is a temporary permit, not a license.

The examination page says the board automatically sends exam pre-approval to temporary permit holders, the CE page excuses them from continuing education until the full regular license issues, and the LGSW page routes applicants who have not passed the ASWB exam to the permit application.

Two further statuses appear in the sources without their terms: the statute references provisional licensees documenting progress toward full requirements at renewal (§30-30-19(e)), and the CE page sets provisional licensees and service worker registrants at twenty hours per two-year period, with no independent study.

What a provisional license or a service worker registration actually authorizes is not stated in the sources read.

Emeritus-status licensees are exempt from continuing education entirely.

“The Temporary Permit is only issued for six months to allow the candidate time to take the state social work exam.”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the West Virginia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state social work licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the West Virginia Board of Social Work publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in West Virginia, MFT licensure in West Virginia, or what therapists earn in West Virginia.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the West Virginia Board of Social Work before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the licensed clinical social worker jobs in West Virginia that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the West Virginia LCSW the clinical license I need for independent practice?

No. In West Virginia LCSW means Licensed Certified Social Worker — the Level C advanced-generalist tier under W.

Va.

Code §30-30-10.

It may determine behavioral health diagnosis, but it practices clinical social work only under a board-approved written contract with a licensed clinical social worker, as an employee of an organization in which the holder has no interest beyond employment.

The independent clinical license is the Level D LICSW (§30-30-8).

Confirm your target title with the board before you apply.

How many supervised hours does the West Virginia LICSW require?

The statute, §30-30-8(6), accepts clinical social work practiced for at least two years in full-time employment, or three thousand hours under the supervision of an independent clinical social worker, or clinical supervision the board finds equivalent.

The board's LICSW page states it more strictly — a minimum of two years of full-time employment and 3,000 hours of practice — and separately advises that an applicant should have at least 100 hours of face to face supervision.

Ask the board how it reads the two before you plan your hours around either.

Can I practice clinical social work in West Virginia right after finishing my MSW?

Only under a contract.

The LGSW license itself requires no experience (§30-30-12), but clinical social work on an LGSW — or on an LCSW — requires a written contract with a licensed clinical social worker, approved by the board before any clinical work happens, while you are employed by an institution or organization in which you hold no direct or indirect interest other than employment.

Without an approved contract, no clinical practice.

Does West Virginia's Social Work Licensure Compact let me practice across state lines yet?

Not yet.

West Virginia enacted the compact in 2026 — SB 703, June 9, 2026, codified at W.

Va.

Code art. 30-30A — but as of September 2026 it is not yet on the commission's jurisdiction list, and the commission reports that multistate licenses are not being issued anywhere.

Practicing in another state still takes that state's own license.

Check the commission's list and the board for current status before you rely on it.

What are my options if I have not passed the ASWB exam yet?

The board's pages describe a temporary permit issued for six months to allow a candidate time to take the state social work exam.

The examination page says the board automatically sends exam pre-approval to temporary permit holders, and continuing education is not required until the full regular license issues.

The terms of practice on a temporary permit come from board regulations the sources read do not reproduce — ask the board what a permit allows before you plan a job start around one.

Find Licensed Clinical Social Worker Jobs in West Virginia
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More West Virginia & Licensed Clinical Social Worker Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the West Virginia Board of Social Work.