🧭 MFT licensure

LMFT Licensure in Rhode Island: Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Rhode Island licenses marriage and family therapists through the Department of Health, on one board shared with clinical mental health counselors.

The ladder is two licences: marriage and family therapist associate, then marriage and family therapist (LMFT).

Licensure takes a minimum of two years of relevant postgraduate experience with at least 2,000 direct client-contact hours offered with emphasis in marriage and family therapy, plus 100 hours of supervised case work spread over two years, and the AMFTRB or board-approved examination.

Renewal is biennial, with 40 CE credits.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Rhode Island, that is the Rhode Island Department of Health.

At a glance

Independent title

Licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT) — the licence § 5-63.2-10(a)(2) issues once the associate-stage qualifications plus the experience, supervision and examination requirements are met.

Pre-licensure title

Marriage and family therapist associate — a licence under § 5-63.2-10(a)(1), not a registration, expiring three years from issuance with a one-year extension available for good cause shown.

Regulator

The Rhode Island Department of Health, under R.I.

Gen.

Laws ch. 5-63.2 (Mental Health Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists) — one board licenses clinical mental health counselors and marriage and family therapists together.

Degree

A graduate degree program specializing in marital and family therapy — 60 semester or 90 quarter hours from a New England Association of Schools and Colleges-accredited or equivalent-regionally-accredited institution — with a minimum of 12 semester hours of supervised practicum and a one-calendar-year supervised internship of 20 hours per week.

COAMFTE is named as the approver of postgraduate clinical training programs; it is not required for the degree.

Post-degree experience

A minimum of two years of relevant postgraduate experience, including at least 2,000 hours of direct client contact offering clinical or counseling or therapy services with emphasis in marriage and family therapy, plus a minimum of 100 hours of post-degree supervised case work spread over two years (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(2)).

No separate couples/families figure is stated.

Exams

The AMFTRB examination or another examination approved by the Board (11.3.6(A)(4)); no jurisprudence exam was found in the sources read.

Endorsement

§ 5-63.2-15 permits licensure without examination, in the board's discretion, but its operative clause names only a clinical mental health counselor applicant — confirm an MFT route with the board.

There is no MFT compact.

Renewal & CE

The marriage and family therapist licence expires on July 1 of the next even year and renews for twenty-four (24) months (§ 5-63.2-17); associate licences instead expire three years from issuance (11.3.10(C)).

Renewal takes 40 CE credits over the preceding two years, at least 20 within Category 1 (11.3.12(A)).

The Rhode Island credential ladder

  1. Marriage and Family Therapist AssociatePre-licensure

    A licence, not a registration or a permit: R.I.

    Gen.

    Laws § 5-63.2-10(a)(1) issues it to an applicant of good character who has completed the qualifying graduate degree, and 216-RICR-40-05-11.3.10(C) expires it three years from issuance, with a one-year extension for good cause to complete the postgraduate requirements.

  2. Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist(LMFT)Independent

    The licence that carries the marriage and family therapist title: it adds to the associate qualifications a minimum of two years of relevant postgraduate experience with at least 2,000 hours of direct client contact, 100 hours of post-degree supervised case work spread over two years, and the AMFTRB or board-approved examination (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(2); 11.3.6(A)).

Two licences on one board: associate, then marriage and family therapist

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10(a); 216-RICR-40-05-11.3.10(C)

Rhode Island licenses marriage and family therapists under the same chapter, and the same Department of Health board, as clinical mental health counselors — chapter 5-63.2 is titled Mental Health Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists.

The MFT ladder has two rungs, and both are licences.

The marriage and family therapist associate licence under § 5-63.2-10(a)(1) is issued to an applicant of good character who has completed the qualifying graduate degree: education is the gate, and the experience and examination come later.

The rule expires an associate licence three years from issuance, and the board may grant a one-year extension for good cause to finish the postgraduate requirements, so the associate stage runs on a hard clock.

The marriage and family therapist licence then adds the experience, supervision and examination items in § 5-63.2-10(a)(2).

Either credential takes the affirmative vote of at least four board members, two of whom must be the marriage and family therapists on the board (§ 5-63.2-10(b)).

For how pre-licensure titles line up across states, see the LMSW, LPC-A and AMFT title alphabet.

“Licenses for Clinical Mental Health Counselor Associates and Marriage and Family Therapist Associates shall expire three (3) years from the date of issuance. However, for good cause shown, a one (1) year extension of the Associate license may be granted to complete all postgraduate requirements, as approved by the Board in its discretion.”

A 60-hour MFT-specializing degree, a 12-hour practicum and a year-long internship

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10(a)(1)(ii)–(iv); 11.3.5(A)(2)(a), 11.5.2

The statute asks for three things in one degree.

The program: a graduate degree program specializing in marital and family therapy from a college or university accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges or an equivalent regional accreditation agency (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(1)(ii)).

The volume: 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours inside that program (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(1)(iii)).

The clinical training: a minimum of 12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours of supervised practicum plus a one-calendar-year supervised internship of 20 hours per week (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(1)(iv)).

COAMFTE appears in the statute only as the approver of accredited postgraduate clinical training programs, not as a required degree accreditor.

The rule adds a second route for a graduate degree in an allied field, requiring coursework equivalent to an MFT master's that includes the RI Core Curriculum (11.3.5(A)(2)(a)); that curriculum's supervised clinical practice area requires 500 face-to-face client hours over twelve successive months, including at least 100 hours of supervision and at least 250 hours with couples or families physically present in the room (11.5.2).

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

2,000 direct client-contact hours in at least two years, plus 100 supervised hours

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10(a)(2)

The statute splits the post-degree requirement into experience, client contact and supervision, and states no other figure.

Experience: a minimum of two years of relevant postgraduate experience.

Direct client contact: at least 2,000 hours offering clinical or counseling or therapy services with emphasis in marriage and family therapy, all earned subsequent to the award of your master's degree or doctorate.

Supervision: a minimum of 100 hours of post-degree supervised case work spread over two years, valid only if the supervisor was, at the time it was rendered, recognized by the board as an approved supervisor.

Nothing in the rule credits pre-degree work — the practicum and internship are degree requirements, not licensure hours.

And there is no separate couples-and-families sub-total: the relational requirement is the emphasis language itself, and the rule states no total beyond the 2,000 direct hours.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“(i) Has had a minimum of two (2) years of relevant postgraduate experience, including at least two thousand (2,000) hours of direct client contact offering clinical or counseling or therapy services with emphasis in marriage and family therapy subsequent to being awarded a master's degree or doctorate; (ii) Has had a minimum of one hundred (100) hours of post-degree supervised case work spread over two (2) years; provided, that the supervision was provided by a person who, at the time of rendering the supervision, was recognized by the board as an approved supervisor”

The AMFTRB exam, or another one the board approves

📜 11.3.6(A)(3)–(4)

The rule states the examination requirement twice, and both clauses carry the same alternative.

Clause (3) asks for a pass, to the satisfaction of the board, on an examination the board conducts; clause (4) asks that an applicant successfully completes the AMFTRB examination or another examination approved by the Board; and each clause ends with the option of applying for licensure under R.I.

Gen.

Laws § 5-63.2-15 instead.

No jurisprudence or state-law examination appears in the sources read.

AMFTRB itself does not determine candidate eligibility — that is each state board's call — so confirm with the Department of Health which examination administration it currently accepts before you register for a test date.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

“Successfully completes the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB) or other examination approved by the Board to determine the applicant's qualification for licensure as a marriage and family therapist or is applying for licensure under the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-15.”

Who counts as an approved supervisor — verified at the time, not after

📜 11.3.6(B)

Supervision counts only if the supervisor was recognized by the board as an approved supervisor when it was rendered.

The rule lists four qualifications, connected as written: 1. duly certified as a supervisor by AAMFT; OR 2. a licensed marriage and family therapist licensed in good standing for at least five years, with at least five years of clinical experience as a licensee; AND 3. has completed one graduate-level course in MFT supervision; OR 4. has completed one MFT supervision course through AAMFT/RIAMFT.

The rule does not state how those connectors group, so whether the course items bind an AAMFT-certified supervisor is not resolved by the text — confirm a prospective supervisor's qualifications with the board before you count case-work hours.

Hours supervised by someone the board had not recognized do not satisfy the rule, and telesupervision is not stated in the sources read: ask before counting remotely supervised hours.

Whether you or your employer pays for that supervision is covered in who pays for clinical supervision.

“An approved supervisor has completed post graduate experience and supervised case work hours as required in R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10 by a person who at the time of rendering the supervision is recognized by the Board as an approved supervisor under the following requirements: 1. Is duly certified as a supervisor by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT); OR 2. Is a licensed marriage and family therapist who has been licensed in good standing for at least five (5) years and has at least five (5) years of clinical experience as a licensee; AND 3. Has successfully completed one graduate-level course in MFT supervision; OR 4. Has successfully completed one (1) MFT supervision course taken through the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT)/Rhode Island Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (RIAMFT).”

Moving to Rhode Island: a 1996 endorsement clause that names counselors

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-15; 11.3.6(A)(4), 11.3.9

Portability runs through § 5-63.2-15, and its wording matters.

The statute allows a license as a clinical mental health counselor or marriage and family therapist to be issued, in the board's discretion and without examination, to an applicant licensed or certified in another state whose requirements are equivalent to or exceed Rhode Island's — but the operative clause then names only a clinical mental health counselor applicant, unamended since P.L.

1996, ch. 85.

The MFT rule nonetheless contemplates the route: its exam clauses each end with the option of applying for licensure under § 5-63.2-15 (11.3.6(A)(3)–(4)).

The rule's one endorsement provision, 11.3.9, is counselor-side: it deems a CACREP-accredited clinical mental health counseling degree of 60 or more semester hours equivalent for a § 5-63.2-15 applicant already licensed as a counselor in another state, and names no MFT equivalent.

Confirm with the board how it reads the clause for MFT applicants; there is no MFT compact (checked 2026-09-24), so this statute is the portability door a relocating LMFT has.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

“A license as a clinical mental health counselor or marriage and family therapist may be issued, in the discretion of the board, without examination, to an applicant who is a clinical mental health counselor where the applicant is licensed or certified in another state whose requirements are equivalent to or exceed the requirements established pursuant to this chapter.”

Renew every two years on July 1, with 40 CE credits

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-17; 11.3.12(A)–(G)

The rule ties licensed marriage and family therapists to § 5-63.2-17 (11.3.10(A)): the licence expires July 1 of the next even year, and a renewal runs twenty-four (24) months; associate licences instead expire three years from issuance (11.3.10(C)).

Renewal application, fee and CE verification are due June 1 of the even year; using either title while lapsed carries the chapter's penalties, and a lapse of four years or more is reinstated only at the board's discretion.

Continuing education is 40 credits over the two years preceding re-licensure, with a minimum of 20 within Category 1 (11.3.12(A)).

Category 1 is formal continuing education — graduate or postgraduate courses, workshops and institutes, including web-based offerings — at one credit per hour; Category 2 credits exceptional contributions such as a peer-reviewed publication or national service, at ten or twenty credits each (11.3.12(C)).

Approved sponsors include AAMFT and RIAMFT (11.3.12(B)).

Keep documentation at least four years — the Department audits randomly (11.3.12(E)); anyone first licensed by examination after the July 1 renewal date is exempt until the next cycle (11.3.12(G)).

“The application for license renewal shall include satisfactory evidence of completion of forty (40) credits of continuing education relevant to the practice of clinical mental health counseling or marriage and family therapy practice, completed over the two (2) year period preceding re-licensure. Furthermore, a minimum of twenty (20) of the forty (40) credits of continuing education shall be completed within Category 1 of §11.3.12(C) of this Part.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

📜 216-RICR-40-05-11.3 (Amended effective 5/15/2023); R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10 (P.L. 2022, ch. 167/168)

The licensing rule, 216-RICR-40-05-11, was amended effective May 15, 2023; the sources read record the amendment's effective date but not its content, so treat the current rule text — not any pre-2023 summary of it — as the operative standard.

The experience statute itself, § 5-63.2-10, was last amended by P.L.

2022, ch. 167 and ch. 168, effective June 27, 2022, which falls outside the 2023–2026 window: the 2,000-hour direct-contact requirement is not a recent change.

The endorsement clause § 5-63.2-15 has never been amended since P.L.

1996, ch. 85, which is why its counselor-only operative wording survives in the current code.

Timing the application: board meetings and a four-vote threshold

📜 R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-63.2-10(b); 11.3.7(A)

Two administrative rules shape your calendar.

Applications go to the board on Department forms thirty (30) days before the scheduled board meeting at which they will be reviewed (11.3.7(A)) — miss that cut-off and your file waits for the following meeting.

And qualification takes the affirmative vote of at least four board members, two of whom must be the marriage and family therapists on the board (§ 5-63.2-10(b)).

Fees are non-refundable (11.3.7(B)).

File early, and confirm meeting dates with the Department rather than planning around an assumed schedule.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Rhode Island statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state MFT licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Rhode Island Department of Health publishes.

Nor does it cover counselor licensure in Rhode Island, social work licensure in Rhode Island, or what therapists earn in Rhode Island.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Rhode Island Department of Health before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the marriage and family therapist jobs in Rhode Island that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long do I have to finish my hours on a Rhode Island MFT associate licence?

Three years from issuance.

The rule expires associate licences three years after they are issued, and the board may grant a one-year extension for good cause shown to complete the postgraduate requirements (216-RICR-40-05-11.3.10(C)).

Inside that window you need two years of postgraduate experience with at least 2,000 direct client-contact hours and 100 hours of supervised case work spread over two years.

If your timeline looks tight, ask the Rhode Island Department of Health about an extension before the licence lapses.

Does Rhode Island set a separate couples-and-families hour count for MFT licensure?

No separate figure is stated.

The post-degree rule requires at least 2,000 hours of direct client contact offering clinical or counseling or therapy services with emphasis in marriage and family therapy (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(2)) and sets no couples/families sub-total.

The only couples/families count in the sources read sits in the allied-field Core Curriculum's degree-level clinical practice: 250 of its 500 face-to-face hours with couples or families physically present (11.5.2).

Direct documentation questions to the Department of Health.

Can an LMFT licensed elsewhere get a Rhode Island licence by endorsement?

The route is discretionary and the statute is oddly worded. § 5-63.2-15 allows licensure without examination, in the board's discretion, for an applicant licensed or certified in another state whose requirements are equivalent to or exceed Rhode Island's — but its operative clause names only a clinical mental health counselor applicant, unamended since 1996.

The MFT rule's exam clauses each offer § 5-63.2-15 as the alternative.

There is no MFT compact.

Confirm your route with the Department of Health before relying on it.

Can I count pre-degree hours toward the Rhode Island LMFT requirements?

No. The 2,000 direct client-contact hours must be earned subsequent to the award of your master's degree or doctorate, and the 100 hours of supervised case work are post-degree by definition (§ 5-63.2-10(a)(2)).

The 12-semester-hour practicum and the one-calendar-year internship at 20 hours per week are degree prerequisites under § 5-63.2-10(a)(1)(iv), not licensure experience.

Plan on every licensure hour coming after graduation, and confirm any unusual arrangement with the Department of Health before you count on it.

How often does a Rhode Island LMFT licence renew, and what CE is due?

Every two years for the marriage and family therapist licence, which expires on July 1 of the next even year and renews for twenty-four (24) months (§ 5-63.2-17); associate licences instead expire three years from issuance (11.3.10(C)).

Each renewal takes 40 CE credits completed over the preceding two years, with at least 20 in Category 1 — formal programs including web-based offerings, at one credit per hour (11.3.12(A), (C)).

Keep documentation at least four years; the Department audits randomly.

Application, fee and CE verification are due June 1 of the even year.

Find Marriage and Family Therapist Jobs in Rhode Island
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Rhode Island & Marriage and Family Therapist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Rhode Island Department of Health.