🧭 Counselor licensure

Counselor Licensure in Montana: LPC Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Montana licenses clinical professional counselors in two stages: an LCPC candidate license for the supervised-experience years, then the Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC).

The statute sets three gates — an approved master's or doctoral degree, 3,000 hours of supervised clinical professional counseling practice, and the NCE or NCMHCE examination.

The quirk: Montana repealed its stand-alone counseling chapter in 2023 and now licenses LCPCs under the Board of Behavioral Health's consolidated chapter 37-39, which a 2026 rule package substantially rewrote.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Montana, that is the Montana Board of Behavioral Health.

At a glance

Independent license

Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC), the license Montana requires for clinical professional counseling practice (37-39-309(1), MCA).

The state's ladder has two stages: candidate license, then LCPC.

Pre-licensure title

The LCPC candidate license — a license, not a registration.

A person who has completed the education requirements but not the supervised work experience may apply for licensure as a candidate (37-39-307(1), MCA), submit a training and supervision plan, and register annually.

Degree

A master's or doctoral degree from an approved program, primarily counseling in nature: a CACREP clinical mental health accredited program of at least 60 semester credits, or an accredited institution's program of at least 60 semester or 90 quarter credits including the CACREP clinical mental health core competencies (ARM 24.219.601).

CACREP accreditation is one route, not the only route.

Supervised experience

3,000 hours of supervised clinical professional counseling practice (37-39-309(2)(b), MCA); the board's necessity statement in MAR 2026-512 says LCPC candidates can potentially obtain up to 1,500 of their 3,000 hours pre-degree.

The direct-hour and supervision-hour breakdown (ARM 24.219.604) is not stated in the sources read.

Exams

The NBCC National Counselor Examination (NCE) or the NBCC National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE) (ARM 24.219.403(1)(d)).

No jurisprudence exam.

Maximum three attempts unless the board approves a retake.

Supervisor requirement

No separate supervisor license: a candidate must be supervised by an LCSW, LCPC, LMFT, licensed psychologist, or licensed and board-certified psychiatrist (ARM 24.219.421(4)).

From August 22, 2026, supervisors new to the role also need three years licensed (excluding candidacy) plus board-approved supervision training.

Counseling Compact

Enacted (37-39-401, MCA) and Montana sits on the commission's member list, but the Compact is not live in Montana as of September 2026 — the board is still completing implementation steps and reports no estimated date.

Renewal & CE

Annual renewal; 20 hours of continuing education each year, with up to 20 hours carried forward.

In odd years, a minimum of two of those hours must relate to suicide risk assessment and safety planning (ARM 24.219.435).

The Montana credential ladder

  1. LCPC candidate licensePre-licensure

    A license, not a registration: a person who has completed the education requirements but not the supervised work experience may apply for licensure as a candidate, practice supervised clinical professional counseling toward the 3,000 hours, and register annually under a training and supervision plan (37-39-307, MCA).

  2. Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor(LCPC)Independent

    The license Montana requires for clinical professional counseling practice — issued on the approved degree, 3,000 hours of supervised practice, and an approved examination (37-39-309(2), MCA).

Two stages: a candidate license, then the LCPC

📜 37-39-307(1), (2), (4), (5) MCA; ARM 24.219.431(1); Candidate and Peer Support Supervision FAQ (board website)

Montana's entry rung is a license, not a registration.

A person who has finished the education requirements but not the supervised work experience applies for licensure as a candidate, submits a training and supervision plan to the board (37-39-307(2), MCA), and then practices supervised clinical professional counseling toward the 3,000 hours.

The candidate license registers annually, and the rule allows only five annual registrations unless the board approves more (ARM 24.219.431(1)).

The statute directs the board to limit how many years a person may stay a candidate, but the cap in years is not stated in the sources read — the located limit is those five registrations.

In practice a candidate must keep at least one qualified supervisor of record, report a supervisor change to the board within 20 business days, and apply for the LCPC rather than waiting for an automatic step-up.

Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters — see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.

“A person who has completed the education requirements of 37-39-308, 37-39-309, 37-39-310, or 37-39-311 but who has not completed the supervised work experience may apply for licensure as a candidate.”

A 60-credit counseling degree with a clinical mental health core

📜 37-39-309(2)(a) MCA; ARM 24.219.601; ARM 24.219.402(5)

The statute requires a master's or doctoral degree from an approved program (37-39-309(2)(a), MCA).

The board rule, rewritten effective August 22, 2026, defines approved: the degree must be primarily counseling in nature, either from a CACREP clinical mental health accredited program of at least 60 semester credits, or from an accredited institution whose program of at least 60 semester or 90 quarter credits includes the CACREP clinical mental health core competencies and CACREP professional practice standards for fieldwork and academic quality (ARM 24.219.601).

CACREP accreditation is one route, not the only route — the second path fits non-CACREP programs carrying the same content.

Mind the transfer and age caps: no more than 12 post-baccalaureate semester credits may transfer, or up to 20 semester credits from a completed graduate counseling degree, and credits earned more than six years before graduation do not count (ARM 24.219.601(2)).

A degree program in the candidate stage of accreditation counts as accredited (ARM 24.219.402(5)).

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

3,000 supervised hours, up to 1,500 before the degree

📜 37-39-309(2)(b), (4) MCA; ARM 24.219.301(27); MAR 2026-512 necessity statement

The statute's total is exact: 3,000 hours of supervised clinical professional counseling practice (37-39-309(2)(b), MCA), completed as 37-39-307 and board rule direct.

The board's necessity statement in MAR 2026-512 sets how much can predate the degree: LCPC candidates can potentially obtain up to 1,500 of their 3,000 hours pre-degree.

Two guardrails shape the count.

Since August 22, 2026, all supervised work experience must fall within the five years before the licensure application (ARM 24.219.301(27)), so stale hours age out.

And post-degree hours cannot begin until the candidate license issues — the board's supervision FAQ says that once you graduate you must hold an active candidate license to practice legally.

The rule that would split the 3,000 into direct-client hours, supervision hours and a minimum timeframe (ARM 24.219.604) could not be retrieved — not stated in the sources read — so confirm the breakdown with the board before committing to a job or supervisor.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

“Supervised work experience must have been obtained in the five years prior to application for licensure.”

One exam: the NCE or the NCMHCE

📜 37-39-309(2)(c), 37-39-307(5) MCA; ARM 24.219.403(1)(d), (3)

Applicants must have passed an approved examination (37-39-309(2)(c), MCA).

The rule names two for the LCPC: the National Board for Certified Counselors' National Counselor Examination (NCE) and its National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE) (ARM 24.219.403(1)(d)).

Montana adds no jurisprudence exam.

An applicant may not take an approved exam more than three times unless the board approves a retake, and a retake request must include a study plan (ARM 24.219.403(3)).

A 2024 change, restated in the 2026 rulemaking, lets department staff approve a candidate to register for an exam at any point of candidacy rather than only after the supervised hours are complete — each exam entity still sets its own eligibility standards and timelines.

Passing does not finish the process: the candidate license converts to the LCPC only by application.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

“On passage of an approved examination, the candidate must apply for licensure in order to continue to practice.”

Who can supervise an LCPC candidate — and on video

📜 ARM 24.219.421(2)-(4); ARM 24.219.301(13); Candidate and Peer Support Supervision FAQ (board website)

Montana issues no separate supervisor credential.

The rule fixes the eligible list: a candidate must be supervised by an LCSW, LCPC, LMFT, licensed psychologist, or licensed and board-certified psychiatrist (ARM 24.219.421(4)).

Since August 22, 2026, anyone supervising for the first time must also have been licensed in their discipline for at least three years, excluding their own candidacy, and must have completed board-approved supervision training — a minimum of one semester credit of graduate education focused on supervision or 20 hours of board-approved training — and training taken during the supervisor's own graduate program or candidacy does not count; supervisors already supervising before that date are grandfathered (ARM 24.219.421(2)-(3)).

Video supervision is available: the board's supervision FAQ confirms the board allows telesupervision, and the rule's face-to-face definition reaches real-time electronic transmission carrying audio and visual interaction (ARM 24.219.301(13)).

What the sources read cannot supply is how many supervision hours the LCPC rule requires inside the 3,000 — the ARM 24.219.604 breakdown is not stated in the sources read.

For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?

“However, the board defines “face-to-face” under ARM 24.219.301(13) to include both in-person and synchronous electronic transmissions.”

Practice protection, clinical settings and telepractice

📜 37-39-309(1) MCA; ARM 24.219.301(6); MCA 37-1-139(2)(d); Candidate and Peer Support Supervision FAQ (board website)

The practice bar is statutory: no one practices clinical professional counseling in Montana without a license under Title 37, chapter 1, and chapter 37-39 (37-39-309(1), MCA).

Where hours are earned is bounded too — the rule defines a clinical setting as any public or private agency whose primary functions are to provide services as defined in 37-39-102(11), MCA (ARM 24.219.301(6)); the services list itself was not in the sources read, so verify an unusual setting with the board.

Telepractice follows the client: the board's supervision FAQ treats you as practicing in Montana when the client is physically located in Montana, regardless of your own location.

One adjunct credential: the LCPC is among the eligible license types for the sexual offender evaluator endorsement under 37-1-139(2)(d), MCA (board website).

“A person may not practice clinical professional counseling unless licensed under Title 37, chapter 1, and this chapter.”

Moving to Montana: no years-shortcut was located

📜 ARM 24.219.402(2), (4); Montana Board of Behavioral Health website

An applicant licensed in another jurisdiction must have that jurisdiction verify licensure directly to the board (ARM 24.219.402(2)).

The sources read locate no years-licensed endorsement route that shortens Montana's requirements for an equivalent licensee.

What the rule does offer is a defined path for applicants whose education is not substantially equivalent: a master's degree in the profession from an accredited institution with a minimum of 48 semester or 72 quarter credits, plus 10,000 hours of post-degree experience in the profession, in addition to the supervised work experience (ARM 24.219.402(4)) — the 2026 rulemaking clarified that the five years this subsection references means specifically 10,000 hours.

One narrower door: military spouses can receive a provisional license, with a reservation of rights, that acts as an active, full license for 60 days while remaining requirements are completed (board website).

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

Counseling Compact: enacted, not yet live

📜 37-39-401 MCA; Montana Board of Behavioral Health Counseling Compact FAQ (updated 10/10/25)

Montana enacted the Counseling Compact — 37-39-401, MCA enacts the interstate compact on counseling into law — and the commission lists Montana as a member.

Enactment is not operation: the commission's fee table shows no Montana fee row, and the board's own Counseling Compact FAQ, last updated October 10, 2025 and read on September 24, 2026, reports Montana still completing implementation steps — setting fees, FBI-authorized background checks, IT systems, staff training, testing, and an application process for converting a privilege into a home-state license.

As of September 2026 the Compact is not live in Montana: a Montana LCPC cannot practice elsewhere on a compact privilege, and a counselor licensed elsewhere cannot use the Compact to practice here — the route in is a Montana license.

For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.

“At this time, Montana does not have an estimated date of implementation.”

Annual renewal, 20 CE hours, suicide hours in odd years

📜 ARM 24.219.435

The LCPC renews annually, and each renewal requires 20 hours of continuing education.

The two suicide hours are not annual: a minimum of two of the 20 hours must relate to suicide risk assessment and safety planning every odd year — a cycle the amendment effective August 22, 2026 applied to all licensees regardless of renewal date or first-licensing date, replacing the former requirement of two hours of suicide prevention at the first renewal and every two years thereafter.

Up to 20 hours may be carried forward.

The housekeeping matters: licensees holding more than one board license must complete 20 hours with each license, CE does not apply until after the first renewal, the department may randomly audit up to 50 percent of renewed licensees, and documentation must be kept for three years (ARM 24.219.435).

“Licensees are required to obtain 20 hours of continuing education (CE) annually, prior to renewal.”

What changed between 2023 and 2026

📜 Ch. 713, L. 2023; MAR Notice No. 2026-512; ARM 24.219.601 necessity statement

Three waves to track.

2023: House Bill 137 (Ch. 713, Laws of 2023) repealed the stand-alone counseling chapter — Title 37, chapter 23 — and folded LCPC licensing into the Board of Behavioral Health's consolidated chapter 37-39; older guides still cite 37-23 numbers, and ARM 24.219.601 itself still cross-cites the repealed 37-23-202 and 37-23-104, so read those as chapter 37-39 citations.

2024: staff approval to sit for the exam moved to any point of candidacy.

2026: MAR Notice 2026-512, adopted as proposed and effective August 22, 2026, rewrote supervisor qualifications (three years plus training), narrowed LCPC education to clinical mental health content, quantified the alternative-experience route at 10,000 hours, moved the two-hour suicide CE requirement to an odd-year cycle with updated wording, and standardized a five-year lookback on supervised work experience for every candidate license.

“Specific requirements previously in statute specifically requiring a degree in clinical mental health were repealed as part of the general standardization and consolidation in this board's statutes under HB 137 (2023).”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Montana statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Montana Board of Behavioral Health publishes.

Nor does it cover social work licensure in Montana, MFT licensure in Montana, or what therapists earn in Montana.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Montana Board of Behavioral Health before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Montana that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I start counting supervised hours before I graduate in Montana?

Yes, up to a point: the board's necessity statement in MAR 2026-512 says LCPC candidates can potentially obtain up to 1,500 of their 3,000 hours pre-degree.

While enrolled in an accredited program you are exempt from licensure under 37-39-303(5), MCA.

But post-degree hours cannot start until the candidate license issues — the board's supervision FAQ says that once you graduate you must hold an active candidate license to practice legally.

Apply months before graduation, and confirm with the board how your program documents pre-degree hours.

How many direct-client and supervision hours does the Montana LCPC require inside the 3,000?

Not stated in the sources read.

The split — direct-client hours, supervision hours, any minimum timeframe — sits in ARM 24.219.604, which could not be retrieved because rules.mt.gov serves a CAPTCHA to automated readers.

The statute itself requires 3,000 hours of supervised clinical professional counseling practice (37-39-309(2)(b), MCA) without publishing a breakdown.

Read ARM 24.219.604 on the rules site or ask the Board of Behavioral Health before you accept a position or supervision contract built around a particular split.

Can my LCPC supervision sessions happen by video?

The board's supervision FAQ says the board allows telesupervision, and ARM 24.219.301(13) defines face-to-face supervision to include electronic transmission that is two-way, interactive, real-time and simultaneous, carrying both audio and visual interaction.

What the sources read cannot confirm is the number of supervision hours required inside the 3,000, because the ARM 24.219.604 breakdown rule was not readable.

Get the board's confirmation that your specific video arrangement counts before relying on it.

Can I practice in Montana under the Counseling Compact yet?

Not as of September 2026.

Montana enacted the Counseling Compact (37-39-401, MCA) and sits on the commission's member list, but the Compact is not live here: the commission's fee table shows no Montana fee row, and the board's FAQ — last updated October 10, 2025 — says Montana is still completing implementation steps with no estimated date of implementation.

Until that changes, the route to Montana practice is a Montana license issued by the Board of Behavioral Health.

How long can I stay on a candidate license in Montana?

The statute directs the board to limit how many years a person may be licensed as a candidate (37-39-307(4), MCA), but the cap in years was not stated in the sources read.

The located limit is administrative: a candidate registers annually and is allowed five annual registrations unless the board approves more (ARM 24.219.431(1)).

If your hours will take longer than five registration years, you will need the board's approval for an additional registration — ask it directly how the year limit is applied.

Find Mental Health Counselor Jobs in Montana
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Montana & Mental Health Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Montana Board of Behavioral Health.