🧭 Counselor licensure

Counselor Licensure in Wisconsin: LPC Requirements, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Wisconsin licenses professional counselors under Wis. Stat. ch. 457.

The entry rung is the professional counselor training license, valid 48 months and the vehicle for accruing supervised hours; the full license takes a master's or doctorate in professional counseling or its equivalent, at least 3,000 hours of practice after the master's including 1,000 face-to-face client contact hours, and the NCE, NCMHCE or CRCE.

The quirk: 2023 Act 55 makes every applicant elect a compact-eligible license or a single-state license, and as of September 2026 the Compact is not yet live.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Wisconsin, that is the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board (MPSW), Professional Counselor Section, administered by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).

At a glance

Independent license

The professional counselor license β€” Licensed Professional Counselor, LPC β€” under Wis. Stat.

457.12, Wisconsin's single independent counseling credential.

Since 2023 Act 55 it is granted as a compact-eligible license or a single-state license.

Pre-licensure title

The professional counselor training license (Wis. Stat.

457.13) β€” a license, not a registration: valid 48 months, renewable at the section's discretion, and required to accumulate supervised practice hours for full licensure.

Degree

A master's or doctorate in professional counseling or its equivalent from a program approved by the professional counselor section; MPSW 14.01(2) requires at least 60 semester or 90 quarter hours, a 100-hour practicum (40 face-to-face) and a 600-hour internship (240 face-to-face).

CACREP is not named as a requirement in the text read.

Supervised experience

After the master's, the equivalent of at least 3,000 hours of professional counseling practice including at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact (Wis. Stat.

457.12(1m)(c)1.).

Doctoral route: at least 1,000 hours of full-time practice, during or after the doctorate.

No minimum number of months is stated.

Exams

The NCE, NCMHCE or CRCE, per DSPS.

Reciprocity applicants take the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination, passing score 85%.

Supervisor requirement

No separate supervisor credential: an LPC with a professional counseling doctorate or the equivalent of 5 years of full-time practice, a psychiatrist, a psychologist licensed under ch. 455, a DVR supervisor, or a person approved in advance on 5 years of experience (Wis. Stat.

457.12(1m)(c)1.; MPSW 12.02(1)).

Counseling Compact

Enacted by 2023 Wis. Act 55 (Wis. Stat.

457.50).

As of September 2026 Wisconsin is a member and the Compact is not live; applicants elect a compact-eligible or a single-state license under Wis. Stat.

457.12(4m).

Renewal & CE

Due 02/28 each odd-numbered year (DSPS); at least 30 CE credit hours per 2-year credential period, at least 4 of them in professional ethics and boundaries (MPSW 19.02).

The Wisconsin credential ladder

  1. Professional Counselor Training License(LPC-IT)Pre-licensure

    A license, not a registration: granted to degree holders with a position or an offer of a position in a supervised clinical professional counseling practice, valid 48 months and renewable at the section's discretion, and required to accumulate the supervised practice hours for full licensure.

  2. Licensed Professional Counselor(LPC)Independent

    The independent counseling license under Wis. Stat.

    457.12; since 2023 Wis. Act 55 the applicant elects a compact-eligible license or a single-state license when applying (457.12(4m)).

A 48-month training license, then the LPC

πŸ“œ Wis. Stat. 457.13(2); 457.14(2); DSPS LPC website

Both Wisconsin rungs are licenses.

The training license requires the master's or doctorate of 457.12(1m)(b) plus a position, or an offer of a position, in a supervised clinical professional counseling practice (457.13(1)(d)); it is valid 48 months and renewable at the section's discretion, and DSPS warns it cannot be renewed through the LicensE portal.

The full license is the professional counselor license under Wis. Stat.

457.12, which DSPS presents as the Licensed Professional Counselor credential.

The statute never creates an associate tier: the training license carries its own validity period and its own title authority under s.

457.04(6).

A temporary license under 457.14(2) β€” up to 9 months, renewable once β€” is a bridge for applicants who have met everything except the examination.

Other states issue the same counselor licence under different letters β€” see LPC vs LMHC vs LPCC vs LCPC, mapped state by state.

β€œA professional counselor training license is required to accumulate supervised practice hours for full licensure.”

60 semester hours, a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship

πŸ“œ Wis. Stat. 457.12(1m)(b); Wis. Admin. Code MPSW 14.01(2)

The degree is a master's or doctorate in professional counseling or its equivalent from a program approved by the professional counselor section.

MPSW 14.01(2) defines equivalency: transcript course work totaling at least 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours; a practicum of at least 100 hours including at least 40 of face-to-face contact (at least 3 semester or 4 quarter credits); and an internship of at least 600 hours including at least 240 of face-to-face client contact (at least 6 semester or 8 quarter credits).

The rule names the topic areas, from human growth and development through professional counseling orientation, plus community mental health or rehabilitation foundations, diagnosis and treatment planning, crisis and trauma, psychopathology, addictions AODA, and family, partnership and couples work.

Up to 18 credit hours may sit outside the master's program at a regionally accredited institution (14.01(3)).

CACREP is not named in the text read; DSPS publishes its own list of approved 60-credit programs.

For why boards write program accreditation into the degree rule, see CSWE vs CACREP vs COAMFTE accreditation.

β€œAll course work reflected on the applicant's official transcript totals at least 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of academic credit.”

3,000 hours after the master's, 1,000 of them face-to-face

πŸ“œ Wis. Stat. 457.12(1m)(c)1.; Wis. Admin. Code MPSW 12.01, 12.02(2)(a)

The clock starts after the master's: the applicant must have engaged in the equivalent of at least 3,000 hours of professional counseling practice, including at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact, under an approved supervisor.

The doctoral route substitutes at least 1,000 hours of full-time professional counseling practice, during or after the doctorate.

MPSW 12.01(1) requires the supervised practice to occur while holding a valid training license β€” but 12.01(3) directs the department to credit hours completed in another state without a Wisconsin training license when they meet this chapter, the provision a relocating applicant reads twice.

Supervision averages one hour per week across the supervised practice period, and group sessions run no more than 6 supervisees per supervisor.

The sources read state no total supervision-hour figure and no minimum number of months.

For what counts as a supervised hour, and what changes at independent licensure, see associate vs. independently licensed therapists.

β€œAfter receiving a master's degree in professional counseling or its equivalent, engaged in the equivalent of at least 3,000 hours of professional counseling practice, including at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact, supervised by one of the following:”

One of three national exams, chosen at registration

πŸ“œ DSPS LPC Exam Information page

DSPS lists three accepted examinations for the LPC: the NCE, the NCMHCE or the CRCE.

The department does not authorize applicants to take the NCE itself; registration runs through NBCC.

The sources read name no Wisconsin-specific examination on the examination route.

A different test applies on the reciprocity route: the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination, with a passing score of 85%, spanning MPSW chapters 1, 11, 12, 14 and 20 and Wisconsin Statutes chapters 51, 55, 146, 457 and 948.

DSPS notes the statutes-and-rules test is not timed and can be exited and resumed over three months.

For how the counselor, social work and MFT licensing exams compare, see ASWB vs NCE vs NCMHCE vs the MFT national exam.

β€œLicensed Professional Counselor (LPC) by examination applicants are required to successfully complete either the NCE, NCMHCE, or CRCE.”

Choosing a supervisor: the qualification list and the weekly hour

πŸ“œ Wis. Stat. 457.12(1m)(c)1.a.-d.; Wis. Admin. Code MPSW 12.02(1), (2)(a), (3)(a)

The supervisor list is not a credential.

It reaches an LPC with a professional counseling doctorate; an LPC with the equivalent of 5 years of full-time practice; a psychiatrist; a psychologist licensed under ch. 455; a DVR vocational rehabilitation supervisor, licensed or with 5 years of full-time practice; and anyone the section approves in advance on 5 years of counseling experience.

MPSW 12.02(1) puts the burden on the applicant to satisfy the section that the supervisor met every qualification β€” so an associate verifies the supervisor against the list before the first counted hour.

The rule requires the face-to-face supervision session to average one hour per week during the supervised practice period, and caps group sessions at 6 supervisees per supervisor, with social time not creditable.

Whether face-to-face supervision may be delivered by video is not addressed in the text read; confirm with the section before counting video sessions.

For what it takes to become a supervisor yourself, see can an LPC supervise an associate?

β€œExercise discretion as to the frequency, duration, and intensity of the face-to-face supervision session to meet an average of one hour of supervision per week during the supervised practice period.”

A psychometric testing specialty sits on top of the LPC

πŸ“œ DSPS LPC website

DSPS lets professional counselors add a psychometric testing specialty to their credentials, evidenced by a supervisor affidavit on form 2579.

The saved pages do not state what the specialty authorizes a counselor to do or under what training conditions it is granted β€” treat it as a pointer and ask DSPS before relying on it.

Nothing else in the statute excerpt read defines the LPC's practice scope further.

Moving to Wisconsin: reciprocity, the statutes-and-rules exam, and an Act 10 bridge

πŸ“œ DSPS LPC website; Wis. Stat. 457.12(2m)

DSPS describes reciprocity as available to counselors licensed in another state whose licensure requirements are substantially equivalent to Wisconsin's, plus the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination at 85%.

The statute holds out the same route: s.

457.15(3) lets the professional counselor section grant a license to an applicant holding a similar certificate or license in another state who passes the Wisconsin law exam, if the section determines that the other state's requirements are substantially equivalent to those of s.

457.12(1m) β€” a determination the section makes, not an entitlement.

Separately, 2021 Wis. Act 10 created a temporary credential for LPCs and LPC-ITs in good standing in another state while a Wisconsin application is pending.

And since Act 55 there is a third door on paper: s.

457.12(2m) grants a Wisconsin license to a counselor holding a home-state license in a compact party state who has changed primary state of residence to Wisconsin, running through s.

457.50(5).

That door does not open until the Compact is live β€” as of September 2026 it is not.

For how endorsement works when you move, see moving states as a therapist: license transfer and endorsement.

β€œApplication by reciprocity is available to individuals currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction with licensure requirements substantially equivalent to requirements in Wisconsin.”

Enacted in 2023, not yet live β€” and you elect your license type

πŸ“œ 2023 Wis. Act 55; Wis. Stat. 457.50; 457.12(4m)

Wisconsin enacted the Counseling Compact through 2023 Wis. Act 55, which wrote s.

457.50 into the statute and rewired 457.12 around it.

The compact commission's own list showed Wisconsin as a member state with the Compact not live there as of 2026-09-24.

The operational change applicants feel today is the s.

457.12(4m) election: every license is granted as a compact-eligible license or a single-state license, and under (4m)(b) the applicant must specify which at application.

A compact-eligible license is defined as one that, subject to s.

457.50(4), entitles the holder to obtain and exercise a privilege to practice in other compact states.

Until the commission lists Wisconsin as live, no privileges are issued or accepted and a counselor licensed elsewhere cannot use the Compact to practise in Wisconsin β€” the working routes remain examination and reciprocity.

Act 55's effective date is not stated in the sources read.

For how the compact’s privilege to practice works, see the Counseling Compact explained.

β€œA license that, subject to s. 457.50 (4), entitles the holder to obtain and exercise a privilege to practice in other states that are parties to the counseling compact.”

Renew by February 28 of odd-numbered years; 30 CE hours each cycle

πŸ“œ DSPS LPC website; Wis. Admin. Code MPSW 19.02, 19.03(1)(f)

DSPS sets LPC renewal for 02/28 of each odd-numbered year.

Continuing education runs at least 30 credit hours per 2-year credential period, of which at least 4 must be in professional ethics and boundaries; 19.02(2)(a) lets one ethics minimum cover multiple credentials held in the same period.

Hours apply only to the credential period in which they were completed β€” no carry-forward (19.02(4)) β€” and the first, partial credential period after initial licensure is exempt (19.02(3)).

No more than 15 of the 30 hours may come from in-house training not approved by the organizations listed in the rule (19.03(1)(f)).

Training licenses renew separately, and DSPS notes they cannot be renewed through LicensE.

β€œA minimum of 4 continuing education credit hours, of the required 30 continuing education credit hours, shall be in the area of professional ethics and boundaries related to the practice of marriage and family therapy, professional counseling, or social work.”

What changed from 2023 to 2026

πŸ“œ 2023 Wis. Act 55; Wis. Admin. Code MPSW 12, 14, 19.03

One law moved most things: 2023 Wis. Act 55 amended ss.

457.12 and 457.13 and added the compact provisions β€” a license based on a compact privilege (457.12(2m)), the privilege to practice (457.12(3m)), the two license types (457.12(4m)) and new subchapter 457.50.

Act 55's effective date is not stated in the sources read.

On the rule side, MPSW 12 and 14 were last recreated by CR 16-009, effective 2018-02-01, with no change located between 2023 and 2026; the one amendment inside the window is in the CE chapter, where MPSW 19.03's approved-provider list was revised effective 2025-07-01 by CR 24-097.

So a pre-2023 guide still has the hours, degree hours and exams right β€” its compact framing is the part to re-check.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Wisconsin statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state counselor licensure series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board (MPSW), Professional Counselor Section, administered by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) publishes.

Nor does it cover social work licensure in Wisconsin, MFT licensure in Wisconsin, or what therapists earn in Wisconsin.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the counselor, social work and MFT licences differ, see LCSW vs. LPC vs. LMFT: which therapy licence to get.

Confirm every requirement with the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board (MPSW), Professional Counselor Section, administered by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the mental health counselor jobs in Wisconsin that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I count supervised hours in Wisconsin before my training license is issued?

No. MPSW 12.01(1) requires the supervised practice to take place while you hold a valid training license, and DSPS states plainly that the training license is required to accumulate the supervised practice hours for full licensure.

The one carve-out is for movers: MPSW 12.01(3) credits supervised hours you completed in another state without a Wisconsin training license, as long as they meet the chapter's requirements.

Hours earned inside Wisconsin need the training license first.

Which exam does Wisconsin accept for the LPC?

DSPS lists three: the National Counselor Examination (NCE), the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), or the CRCE.

You register for the NCE through NBCC β€” the department does not authorize applicants to take it directly.

If you are applying by reciprocity instead, you take the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination rather than a national exam, and the passing score is 85%.

Can my Wisconsin supervision be by video?

The rule is silent.

MPSW 12.02(2)(a) requires the face-to-face supervision session to meet an average of one hour per week during the supervised practice period, and nothing in the sources read defines whether a video session counts as face-to-face.

That question is not addressed in the text read, so do not assume either way β€” ask the Professional Counselor Section in writing before relying on video sessions for counted hours.

Compact-eligible or single-state license β€” which should I elect?

Wis. Stat.

457.12(4m)(b) requires you to specify your election at application.

A compact-eligible license is one that, subject to s.

457.50(4), entitles you to obtain and exercise a privilege to practice in the states party to the compact; a single-state license entitles you to practice in Wisconsin only.

As of September 2026 the Compact is not live in Wisconsin, so no compact privileges issue here yet.

Check the compact commission and DSPS before you apply.

How long does the Wisconsin training license last?

48 months, renewable at the discretion of the examining board section (Wis. Stat.

457.13(2)).

Note DSPS's practical warning: training licenses cannot be renewed through the LicensE portal β€” use the renewal form instead.

Separately, if you have met every requirement except the examination, a temporary license under Wis. Stat.

457.14(2) covers up to 9 months and can be renewed once.

Find Mental Health Counselor Jobs in Wisconsin
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Wisconsin & Mental Health Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board (MPSW), Professional Counselor Section, administered by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).