🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Alabama: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Alabama certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The Department of Mental Health's Office of Peer Programs, a state agency, issues both certificates: the Certified Peer Specialist (Adult, Parent and Youth) for recovery from mental illness, and the Certified Recovery Support Specialist for recovery from substance use disorders.

The CRSS route takes 40 hours of ADMH-paid training and a 70-point exam after two continuous years of demonstrated recovery.

No work hours come first; in Medicaid-billed peer settings you certify within six months of hire, with services billed under H0038.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Alabama, that is the Alabama Department of Mental Health, Office of Peer Programs.

At a glance

Credential titles

Certified Peer Specialist (CPS) with Adult, Parent and Youth tracks, for individuals in recovery from mental illness, and Certified Recovery Support Specialist (CRSS), for individuals in recovery from substance use disorders.

Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-2-20 defines the Certified Mental Health Adult, Parent and Youth Peer Specialist titles.

Certifier

The Alabama Department of Mental Health's Office of Peer Programs, a state agency that trains and certifies peers itself; both certificates come from this one certifier.

Training

CRSS: 40 hours of ADMH-approved CRSS training, with ADMH covering the cost of the training, hotel accommodations and meals.

CPS training hours are not stated in the sources read.

Supervised or work hours

None stated as a condition of certification.

A six-months-from-hire window applies in the Medicaid peer rules for all four credentials, in Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-2-20-.10 peer support services (required for contract providers only), in 580-2-20-.11 MI Adult Peer Specialist team slots, and in 580-9-44-.02 for SUD programs; some ADMH program staffing rules instead require completed CPS training at hire.

Exam

CRSS: pass the exam with a minimum score of 70.

The sources read state no exam detail for the CPS tracks.

Lived experience

CRSS: a minimum of two (2) years of continuous demonstrated recovery time from a substance use disorder at the date of application.

Mental-health rule: personal, lived experience with SMI as an adult (Adult), SED as a child or adolescent (Youth), or parenting a child who experienced SED (Parent).

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered: Alabama Medicaid Rehabilitative Services, Provider Manual ch. 105 (January 2026), billed as H0038 with Youth, Adult and Parent modifiers; the CRSS is the eligible SUD credential under provider type DMH-SA.

Renewal & CE

CRSS: sixteen (16) education hours each calendar year beginning the year after you pass the exam, due by December 31; ethics training every year and only ADMH-provided trainings count β€” miss the 16 hours and you lose the certification.

CPS renewal is not stated in the sources read.

The Alabama credential ladder

  1. Certified Peer Specialist (CPS) β€” Adult, Youth or ParentIndependent

    The ADMH certificate for a person in recovery from mental illness, with Adult, Parent and Youth tracks matching the Certified Mental Health Adult, Parent and Youth Peer Specialist titles defined in Ala.

    Admin.

    Code 580-2-20.

  2. Certified Recovery Support Specialist(CRSS)Independent

    The ADMH certificate for a person in recovery from a substance use disorder; under Ala.

    Admin.

    Code 580-9-44, a peer support specialist in an ADMH-regulated SUD program must hold the CRSS within six months of hire and work under QSAP I clinical supervision.

One certifier, two certificates: mental health (CPS) and substance use (CRSS)

πŸ“œ ADMH Office of Peer Programs website; Ala. Admin. Code 580-2-20

Alabama's peer credential comes from one place: the Alabama Department of Mental Health's Office of Peer Programs, a state agency that trains and certifies peers itself.

The Certified Peer Specialist is for individuals in recovery from mental illness, with Adult, Parent and Youth tracks, and the Certified Recovery Support Specialist is for individuals in recovery from substance use disorders.

Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-2-20 defines the matching Certified Mental Health Adult, Parent and Youth Peer Specialist titles for ADMH-certified providers.

The sources read name no private certification board beside ADMH, so a posting asking for a CPS or a CRSS means ADMH certification.

It is a certification, not a licence.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œCertified Peer Specialist (CPS): For individuals in recovery from mental illness.”

Lived experience: two continuous years for the CRSS, SMI or SED for the mental-health tracks

πŸ“œ ADMH Certified Recovery Support Specialist Training Program page; Ala. Admin. Code 580-2-20

For the CRSS the recovery clock runs to the day you apply: a minimum of two (2) years of continuous demonstrated recovery time from a substance use disorder at the date of application, plus a willingness to self-identify as a person in recovery for the benefit of others.

The two written references on your application must verify the length of your recovery, so the evidence is built into the application itself.

The mental-health tracks are defined in the rule: the Adult specialist has personal, lived experience with serious mental illness (SMI) as an adult, the Youth specialist experienced serious emotional disturbance (SED) as a child or adolescent, and the Parent track is for a parent who is parenting or has parented a child who experienced SED and can share that lived experience with another parent or caregiver.

β€œHave a minimum of two (2) years of continuous demonstrated recovery time from a substance use disorder at the date of application.”

The application and training: 40 ADMH hours the state pays for

πŸ“œ ADMH Certified Recovery Support Specialist Training Program page

The CRSS application starts before training: a high school diploma or GED, a valid driver's license, and two written references that attest to your appropriateness for certification.

The references should verify the length of your recovery, and at least one must specifically address your ability to support others seeking and maintaining recovery.

Training is 40 hours of ADMH-approved CRSS training, run in scheduled cohorts, and ADMH covers the cost of the training, hotel accommodations and meals β€” it does not reimburse your time during the training.

For the CPS tracks, no training-hour figure appears in the sources read.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œ40 hours of ADMH-approved Certified Recovery Support Specialist (CRSS) training.”

Where the six-month window applies β€” and where training must come first

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 580-2-20-.10 and 580-2-20-.11; Ala. Admin. Code 580-9-44-.02; Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual ch. 105 (January 2026)

Neither track states supervised or work hours as a condition of certification; the timing rule is employment-linked, and its reach depends on the source.

In the Medicaid manual, all four peer credentials β€” Youth, Adult, Parent and the CRSS β€” must complete an approved training program within six (6) months of date of hire.

In the mental-health rule, the six-month window sits in 580-2-20-.10's Peer Support Services definition, which is required for contract providers only, and in 580-2-20-.11's MI Adult Peer Specialist slots on two team models.

Other team rules in 580-2-20-.11 run the other way: the First Episode Psychosis team needs a CPS-Youth and a CPS-Parent who has completed the training, and C&A In-Home Intervention documents completed CPS-Youth training in personnel records.

In those programs the training comes before the job.

β€œPeer Support Specialist shall successfully complete an approved ADMH Peer Support Specialist training/certification program within six (6) months of date of hire.”

One exam number on the page: 70 for the CRSS

πŸ“œ ADMH Certified Recovery Support Specialist Training Program page

The CRSS requires passing an exam with a minimum score of 70 after the 40-hour training; the exam is ADMH's own, part of the state agency's certification rather than a national body's.

The sources read name no exam for the Adult, Parent or Youth CPS tracks β€” the certification pages read are the CRSS pages, and no CPS exam detail was located.

If you are pursuing the mental-health track, ask the Office of Peer Programs what its CPS training and testing involve before you plan around a schedule.

β€œPass the exam with a minimum score of 70.”

Medicaid pays for peer support under Rehabilitative Services, H0038

πŸ“œ Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual ch. 105 (January 2026)

Alabama Medicaid covers peer support as a Rehabilitative Services benefit in Provider Manual chapter 105, the January 2026 edition, billed with code H0038 and modifiers for Youth, Adult and Parent services.

The service is delivered by Certified Peer Specialists β€” Adult, Youth, Family Peer Specialists and the Recovery Support Specialist β€” and the eligible SUD credential is the CRSS under provider type DMH-SA.

Billing runs in 15-minute units, capped at 20 units per day individual and 8 per day group, with 2,080 units per year for individual services and 2,080 for group services.

A peer does not bill alone: the staffing and supervision rules below are conditions of the provider's participation.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œPeer Support services provides structured, scheduled activities that promote socialization, recovery, self-advocacy, development of natural supports, and maintenance of community living skills, by Certified Peer Specialists (Adult, Youth, Family Peer Specialists, Recovery Support Specialist).”

Who supervises a certified peer: a Rehabilitative Services Professional, or a QSAP I

πŸ“œ Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual ch. 105 (January 2026); Ala. Admin. Code 580-9-44

The supervision requirement depends on the track.

In the Medicaid manual, the Adult, Youth and Parent mental-health peer specialists must each be supervised by a Rehabilitative Services Professional, which the manual defines to include a licensed professional counselor, an associate licensed counselor, an independent clinical or licensed master social worker, a marriage and family therapist or associate, a licensed psychologist, or a master's-level clinician under supervision β€” so an associate-level counselor can be the supervisor of record on the mental-health side.

On the SUD side, Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-9-44 requires concurrent participation in clinical supervision by a licensed or certified QSAP I: under the manual's definition, a license in one of eight Alabama professions, or a master's degree with a practicum or six months' post-master's clinical experience plus a substance abuse counselor certification obtained within thirty (30) months of hire.

β€œConcurrent participation in clinical supervision by a licensed or certified QSAP I.”

Moving to Alabama: no reciprocity route in the sources read

πŸ“œ ADMH Office of Peer Programs website

The sources read name no reciprocity, endorsement or transfer route for either certificate β€” the Office of Peer Programs pages and the two administrative-code chapters read publish no equivalency process for a peer credential earned in another state.

If you hold a peer certification elsewhere and are moving to Alabama, contact the Office of Peer Programs before you assume it transfers, and ask what of your training counts toward ADMH's own requirements.

In Medicaid-billed peer settings, the six-months-from-hire window gives a defined period to complete Alabama training and testing after an employer hires you.

CRSS renewal: 16 hours a year, only from ADMH, or the certification is lost

πŸ“œ ADMH, Maintaining Your CRSS Certification (2023)

The CRSS renews on a calendar-year discipline: sixteen (16) education hours each year beginning the calendar year after you pass the exam, due by December 31, with ethics training required every year.

The maintenance policy currently accepts only trainings provided by ADMH β€” no other hours count β€” and it points to at least 36 hours of annual opportunity: at least four hours of training per quarter, four hours through peer-to-peer support groups, and 16 hours at the annual Peer Conference.

The stakes are explicit: if you do not receive the 16 hours by December 31 you lose the certification.

For the CPS tracks, no renewal rule appears in the sources read.

β€œOnce certified, a Certified Recovery Support Specialist must obtain sixteen (16) education hours each year by the deadline of December 31st.”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ Ala. Admin. Code 580-2-20-.10; Ala. Admin. Code 580-9-44-.02; Alabama Medicaid Provider Manual ch. 105 (January 2026)

Both administrative-code chapters read for this page are marked Revised 2/14/26.

The peer-relevant rules changed within this window: 580-2-20-.10, which holds the Peer Support Services six-month rule, is a new rule published April 28, 2023, effective June 12, 2023, since amended in 2025; 580-9-44-.02, which holds the CRSS staffing and QSAP I supervision rules, was amended effective March 17, 2023 and June 12, 2023.

Which provisions each amendment changed is not established in the sources read.

The Medicaid manual read is the January 2026 edition of chapter 105, and it allows individual peer support services by audio-and-visual telehealth (GT modifier) or audio only (FQ modifier).

β€œHistory: New Rule: Published April 28, 2023; effective June 12, 2023. Amended: Published July 31, 2025; effective September 14, 2025.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Alabama statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Alabama Department of Mental Health, Office of Peer Programs publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Alabama.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Alabama Department of Mental Health, Office of Peer Programs before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Alabama that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Alabama?

No. Alabama certifies peer specialists through the Department of Mental Health's Office of Peer Programs, a state agency β€” there is no state licence for the role.

The two certificates are the Certified Peer Specialist (Adult, Parent, Youth) for recovery from mental illness and the Certified Recovery Support Specialist for recovery from substance use disorders.

Employers in ADMH-certified provider settings hire against these certifications, so confirm which one a posting requires.

How do you become a Certified Recovery Support Specialist in Alabama?

You need a high school diploma or GED, a valid driver's license, and two written references, plus a minimum of two (2) years of continuous demonstrated recovery from a substance use disorder at the date of application.

Then complete 40 hours of ADMH-approved CRSS training and pass the exam with a score of at least 70.

ADMH pays for the training, hotel and meals; it does not reimburse your time.

Apply through the Office of Peer Programs.

Can you work as a peer specialist in Alabama before you are certified?

In many settings, yes.

The Medicaid peer rules give all four credentials six months from hire, Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-2-20-.10 applies the window to contract-provider peer support services, 580-2-20-.11 to MI Adult Peer Specialist team slots, and 580-9-44-.02 gives SUD programs the CRSS window.

But some ADMH program rules require completed training at hire β€” the First Episode Psychosis team needs a CPS-Youth and a CPS-Parent who has completed the training.

Ask the employer which staffing rule covers your slot.

Does Alabama Medicaid cover peer support services?

Yes.

Alabama Medicaid's Rehabilitative Services manual, chapter 105 (January 2026), covers peer support billed as H0038 with Youth, Adult and Parent modifiers.

The eligible credentials are the Certified Mental Health Peer Specialists and, for provider type DMH-SA, the CRSS.

Billing runs in 15-minute units, capped at 20 units a day individual and 8 a day group, 2,080 units a year each.

The Adult, Youth and Parent peer specialists must each be supervised by a Rehabilitative Services Professional.

Can you become a peer specialist in Alabama with a criminal record?

The sources this page is built from β€” the ADMH certification pages and the two administrative-code chapters β€” state no criminal-history bar for peer certification.

Separately, Ala.

Admin.

Code 580-2-20 requires agencies to conduct criminal background checks on employees before employment, so a hiring agency's own check is a separate gate.

Ask the Office of Peer Programs and the employer directly how a record affects your application before you apply.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Alabama
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Alabama & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Alabama Department of Mental Health, Office of Peer Programs.