🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Alabama: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Alabama has no state licence for substance abuse counselors: every counselor credential in the sources is a voluntary private certification from the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA), a private nonprofit IC&RC member board.

Its ladder runs from the Associate Addiction Professional through the Alcohol & Drug Counselor to the Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor, with requirements set by AADAA's own sheets.

One state hook is ADMH's program rule, which defines QSAP III staff status as holding a substance abuse counselor certification and a program's Counselor as licensed-or-certified clinical staff.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Alabama, that is the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA) — a private nonprofit certification board, not a state agency.

At a glance

Credential tiers

AADAA's four counselor certifications: Associate Addiction Professional (AAP), Certified Adolescent Alcohol & Drug Abuse Professional (CAADP, state level), Alcohol & Drug Counselor (ADC) and Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (AADC).

The ADMH program rule separately defines QSAP I / II / III staff status.

Type and issuing body

Voluntary private certifications from the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA), a private nonprofit IC&RC member board — not a state agency.

No state statute or licence for SUD counselors was found in the sources read.

Degree floor

AAP: none stated.

ADC and CAADP: none stated — a human-services bachelor's substitutes 2,000 of the 6,000 work hours, a master's 4,000.

AADC: a master's degree in a relevant field.

QSAP III status in the ADMH rule: a bachelor's in a named behavioral-health field.

Supervised hours

AAP: 2,000 work hours plus 150 clinical supervision hours.

ADC and CAADP: 6,000 work hours plus at least 300 supervision hours, with at least 10 in each of the four domains.

AADC: 2,000 supervised work hours plus 100 supervision hours.

Exams

AAP and CAADP: a written state examination.

ADC: the IC&RC written examination.

AADC: the IC&RC-AADC examination.

Scope and diagnosis

Not addressed in the AADAA sheets.

In the ADMH rule, QSAP I status belongs to individuals licensed in Alabama (professional counselors, certified social workers, MFTs and others) who also meet the standards' other qualifications, and a QSAP III's two qualifying years run under a QSAP I.

Other licensees

There is no exemption clause, because no SUD licence exists to be exempt from.

Licensed LPCs, certified social workers and MFTs are QSAP I under ADMH r.

580-9-44-.01(126) when licensed as one of the rule's listed professionals and meeting the other qualifications the standards specify.

IC&RC reciprocity

Yes: AADAA is the IC&RC member board, and its reciprocal credentials are the ADC, AADC, CCS, CCJP and CPS.

Reciprocity runs between member boards only — a NAADAC credential does not transfer.

Renewal & CE

AADC: 20 hours of continuing education earned every year.

Renewal for the AAP, ADC and CAADP tiers: Not stated in the sources read.

The Alabama credential ladder

  1. Associate Addiction Professional(AAP)Other

    A voluntary private certification from AADAA, a private nonprofit IC&RC member board — not a state licence.

    The AADAA sheet asks for 140 education clock hours, 2,000 documented work hours, 150 hours of clinical supervision and a state written examination; it states no scope of practice.

  2. Alcohol & Drug Counselor(ADC)Other

    AADAA's IC&RC-level counselor certification, still a private voluntary certification.

    The sheet asks for 6,000 documented work hours (a human-services bachelor's may substitute 2,000; a master's 4,000), at least 300 clinical supervision hours, 300 education clock hours and the IC&RC written examination.

  3. Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor(AADC)Other

    AADAA's advanced private certification: a master's degree in a relevant field, 2,000 supervised work hours and 180 education hours specific to the AADC Job Analysis, the IC&RC-AADC examination, and renewal on 20 CE hours every year.

  4. Qualified Substance Abuse Professional III(QSAP III)Other

    Not a credential anyone issues: a staff-qualification status defined in ADMH's SUD program standards — a bachelor's in Psychology, Social Work, Community Rehabilitation, Pastoral Counseling, Family Therapy or another behavioral-health area requiring equivalent clinical coursework; two years of full-time paid employment providing direct treatment or care for individuals who have substance-related disorders, under a QSAP I; and a held substance abuse counselor certification.

    The same rule's (35) Counselor definition is another place its text touches counselor work.

Four voluntary certifications from a private board — and one state hook

📜 AADAA certification page and requirement sheets (2019 uploads); Ala. Admin. Code r. 580-9-44-.01(35), (126)-(128)

AADAA lists four counselor certifications: Associate Addiction Professional (AAP), Certified Adolescent Alcohol & Drug Abuse Professional (CAADP, a state-level credential), Alcohol & Drug Counselor (ADC) and Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (AADC).

All are voluntary certifications from a private nonprofit association and IC&RC member board — AADAA is not a state board, and no state statute or licence for SUD counselors was found in the sources read.

AADAA's page also lists specialty certifications, including the CCS and CCJP, whose requirement sheets are not among the sources read.

The state layer is ADMH's SUD program rule: it defines QSAP I, II and III staff status, and its (35) Counselor definition — clinical staff in a program who are licensed or certified — is another way rule text reaches counselor work.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“Qualified Substance Abuse Professional III (QSAP III) - An individual who has a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in Psychology, Social Work, Community Rehabilitation, Pastoral Counseling, Family Therapy, or other behavioral health area that requires equivalent clinical course work and; who has a minimum of two (2) years full-time paid employment experience providing direct treatment or care for individuals who have substance-related disorders, under the supervision of a QSAP I, and holds a substance abuse counselor certification.”

Clock hours by tier: 140, 300 and 180 — plus a master's for the AADC

📜 AADAA certification page — AAP, ADC and AADC requirement sheets (2019 uploads)

The AAP sheet asks for 140 clock hours of education related to the domains and tasks of an IC&RC-certified counselor, including 4 hours of AIDS/HIV education and 6 hours of professional ethics.

The ADC sheet asks for 300 clock hours in the four domains from an accredited college or university, including 6 hours of ethics education and 4 hours of AIDS/HIV education.

The CAADP asks for the same 300 clock hours in the four domains, from an accredited college or university and with an emphasis in adolescent addiction counseling, plus the same 6 ethics and 4 AIDS/HIV hours.

The AADC replaces clock hours with a degree floor: a master's degree in a relevant field, plus 180 hours of education specific to the AADC Job Analysis, six of them in counselor ethics and responsibilities.

No degree floor is stated for the AAP, ADC or CAADP; a degree enters those tiers only as a substitution for ADC and CAADP work-experience hours.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“Included in this education must be 4 hours of AIDS/HIV Education and 6 hours of Professional Ethics.”

Hours as written: 2,000 and 150, 6,000 and 300, 2,000 and 100

📜 AADAA certification page — AAP, ADC and AADC requirement sheets (2019 uploads)

The AAP requires 2,000 documented hours of work experience plus 150 hours of clinical supervision, at least 5 in each of the domains and tasks of an addiction counselor.

The ADC requires 6,000 documented work hours; a bachelor's degree in a human services field may be substituted for 2,000 of them and a master's degree for 4,000, and clinical supervision must total at least 300 hours across the four domains with at least 10 hours in each.

The CAADP mirrors the ADC: 6,000 documented hours with the same 2,000 and 4,000 degree substitutions, and at least 300 supervision hours across the four domains with at least 10 hours in each.

The AADC requires 2,000 supervised work hours specific to the AADC Job Analysis plus 100 supervision hours with at least ten hours in each domain.

These are AADAA's own figures — not an IC&RC minimum, and not a state rule.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“Must have documented 6,000 hours of work experience.”

State written exams at the entry tiers, IC&RC exams above

📜 AADAA certification page — AAP, ADC and AADC requirement sheets (2019 uploads)

The AAP and the adolescent CAADP are examined by a written state examination under AADAA's own process.

The ADC steps up to the IC&RC written examination and the AADC to the IC&RC-AADC examination, which is what makes those two the credentials other IC&RC member boards recognize.

The sheets read do not name a testing vendor, passing score or retake rule for any tier; ask AADAA for current candidate instructions before scheduling.

“Passage of a Written Examination (State)”

Who signs your hours: a certified clinical supervisor, or a QSAP I for the ADMH status

📜 AADAA certification page — AAP and ADC requirement sheets (2019 uploads); Ala. Admin. Code r. 580-9-44-.01(128)

The AAP sheet ties its work experience to documentation by a certified clinical supervisor or someone who meets that sheet's qualifications, so confirm who will sign before you start counting hours.

The ADC sheet carries supervision inside the total: at least 300 hours across the four domains, at least 10 in each.

The AADC sheet asks for 100 hours specific to the AADC Job Analysis with a minimum of ten hours in each domain, without saying how many domains.

On the state side, the ADMH rule defines a QSAP III's two years as full-time paid employment providing direct treatment or care for individuals who have substance-related disorders, under the supervision of a QSAP I — a licensed professional under r.

580-9-44-.01(126) who also meets the standards' other qualifications.

The two tracks have different supervisors: AADAA's for its certifications, a QSAP I for the ADMH status.

“2,000 documented hours of work experience by a Certified Clinical Supervisor, and/or one who meets these qualifications.”

What the certification does not say: scope, diagnosis, independent practice

📜 AADAA requirement sheets (2019 uploads); Ala. Admin. Code r. 580-9-44-.01(126)

The AADAA sheets set certification criteria and do not address scope of practice, diagnosis or independent practice, so nothing in them makes an ADC or AADC a clinician who may diagnose.

The ADMH rule shows who the state treats as the senior professional in its program standards: QSAP I status belongs to individuals licensed in Alabama as professional counselors, certified social workers, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, marriage and family therapists, clinical psychologists, physician assistants or physicians, who also meet the other qualifications specified in the standards themselves.

A QSAP III's qualifying years run under one of those licensees.

Diagnosis authority for an AADAA-certified counselor is not stated in the sources read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“Qualified Substance Abuse Professional I (QSAP I) - An individual licensed in the State of Alabama as a Professional Counselor, Certified Social Worker, Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialist, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner, Marriage and Family Therapist, Clinical Psychologist, Physician's Assistant, Physician and meets the other qualifications as specified in the standards themselves.”

IC&RC reciprocity runs through AADAA, the member board

📜 AADAA certification page; IC&RC member-board directory (_icrc-member-boards.txt)

AADAA is Alabama's IC&RC member board, and the credentials it lists as IC&RC reciprocal are the ADC, AADC, CCS, CCJP and Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS).

IC&RC does not certify individuals; reciprocity runs only between member boards, at the same credential and reciprocal level at both ends, and the receiving board can apply its own standards on top.

An IC&RC transfer into Alabama therefore means applying to AADAA for its certification.

A NAADAC credential does not transfer — the two frameworks have no reciprocity agreement.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

Annual CE stated only for the AADC

📜 AADAA certification page — AADC requirement sheet (2019 uploads)

The AADC sheet is the only AADAA counselor sheet that states renewal terms: 20 hours of continuing education earned every year — an annual cycle, not a two-year one.

The AAP, ADC and CAADP sheets read state no renewal or CE rule at all, so the renewal cycle for those tiers is not stated in the sources read; that is a gap in the documents, not a statement that they do not renew.

Confirm the current cycle with AADAA before planning CE spending.

“20 hours of continuing education earned every year.”

Read the dates before you rely on the numbers: 2019 sheets, a 2020 site

📜 AADAA certification page and requirement sheets (2019 uploads)

No source shows a 2023–2026 change to any of this: the requirement sheets are 2019 uploads, the certification page announces criteria revised July 2018, and the research pass found the AADAA home page still showing 2020 content.

AADAA's documents being dated does not make the figures wrong, but it means no figure on this page has a recent date behind it, and the board could have changed a cycle or a score since.

Before paying a fee or counting hours against these numbers, ask AADAA for its current criteria.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Alabama statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA) — a private nonprofit certification board, not a state agency publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Alabama.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA) — a private nonprofit certification board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Alabama that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Alabama?

No state statute or licence for SUD counselors was found in the sources read.

The counselor credentials are voluntary certifications from AADAA, a private nonprofit IC&RC member board.

Two places in ADMH's program rule do touch the work: a QSAP III — a staff-qualification status — must hold a substance abuse counselor certification plus a behavioral-health bachelor's and two years of full-time paid direct-care experience under a QSAP I; and the rule's (35) Counselor is a member of a program's clinical staff who is licensed or certified.

AADAA certification itself stays voluntary.

Is AADAA a state board?

No. The Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association is a private nonprofit association and an IC&RC member board; its certifications are voluntary, and the sources found no state statute or licence for SUD counselors.

Its requirement sheets are also dated — 2019 uploads, with the home page still showing 2020 content when the sources were read — so confirm current requirements directly with AADAA before applying.

How many hours does the AADAA ADC certification require?

6,000 documented hours of work experience, with substitution: a bachelor's degree in a human services field may replace 2,000 hours and a master's degree 4,000.

Clinical supervision must total at least 300 hours across the four domains, with at least 10 hours in each, and the ADC also requires 300 clock hours of education and the IC&RC written examination.

These are AADAA's own figures, not a state rule.

Can an AADAA-certified counselor diagnose in Alabama?

The AADAA sheets do not address diagnosis or scope of practice, so the certifications say nothing either way.

In the ADMH program rule, the professionals the state treats as senior — QSAP I status — are licensees: professional counselors, certified social workers, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists and nurse practitioners, marriage and family therapists, clinical psychologists, physician assistants and physicians, who also meet the standards' other qualifications.

Diagnosis authority for a privately certified counselor is not stated in the sources read.

Does an IC&RC certification from another state transfer to Alabama?

Through AADAA, the IC&RC member board: its reciprocal credentials are the ADC, AADC, CCS, CCJP and CPS, so a counselor holding the matching credential from another member board applies to AADAA for Alabama certification.

IC&RC does not certify individuals, and the receiving board can apply its own standards.

A NAADAC credential does not transfer — the two frameworks have no reciprocity agreement.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Alabama
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Alabama & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Alabama Alcohol & Drug Abuse Association (AADAA) — a private nonprofit certification board, not a state agency.