Arkansas certifies peer recovery specialists through the Arkansas Peer Recovery program run by the Department of Human Services' Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, with applications and exams handled by NAADAC as the program's certification agency.
The ladder runs Core, Advanced, then Peer Recovery Supervisor.
Separately, DHS grants Peer Support Specialist status under 2019 standards that make it a requirement for Medicaid reimbursement in the OBHS program.
The two credentials are parallel tracks, and this page keeps them apart.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Core Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS), Advanced Peer Recovery Specialist (APRS), and Peer Recovery Supervisor (PRS) on the Arkansas Peer Recovery ladder; DHS separately grants Peer Support Specialist (PSS), Youth Support Specialist (YSS), and Family Support Partner (FSP) status for Medicaid.
Arkansas DHS Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, Arkansas Peer Recovery program; applications and exam run through NAADAC, the program's certification agency β a private body designated by the state agency.
Entry requires at least a high school diploma or equivalent.
Then a 30-hour core training (one week, in person) and additional education β the 2025 Levels PDF says 16 educational hours while the DHS How-to page says 30; the sources conflict.
500 experience hours including 100 domain-specific (25 each in advocacy, ethical responsibility, mentoring/education, and recovery/wellness), plus 25 hours of domain-specific peer supervision.
APRS repeats the 500 and the 25.
A credentialing exam administered through NAADAC; any score equivalent to or higher than 70% is considered a passing score.
CPRS: at least 2 years of consecutive abstinence and at least 2 years of recovery from substance use disorder and/or mental health.
PRS: three years of each.
PSS: two years or more of lived experience receiving services within the behavioral health system.
A background check showing no disqualifying murder, manslaughter, or sexual criminal offenses; NAADAC eligibility also bars any active warrants, and the 2019 standards bar Medicaid-track employment or reimbursement for Medicare/Medicaid exclusion, debarment under Ark.
Code Ann.
19-11-245, DHS Policy 1088 exclusion, or a final standards-of-care determination.
No waiver process was located in the sources read.
OBHS manual section 253.006 Peer Support, H0038, per 15 minutes (2018 edition read); current coverage under the PASSE managed-care model is not verified.
20 continuing education hours (6 must be ethics) at all three levels, plus peer supervision hours (CPRS 20, APRS 15; PRS satisfies it by providing supervision); the renewal interval is not stated in the sources read.
Status after acceptance into the APRP program: you complete the 30-hour core training, attain an agreement to work with a Peer Recovery Supervisor, and receive a PIT confirmation letter while finishing the remaining education and experience hours.
The entry credential: eligibility requires at least a high school diploma or equivalent, then the 30-hour core training, additional education hours (16 per the 2025 Levels PDF, 30 per the How-to page), 500 experience hours including 100 domain-specific, 25 hours of peer supervision, and a passing exam score.
Eligibility is a current Arkansas CPRS credential, and the DHS FAQ adds that Advanced training applicants must also be actively credentialed as NCPRSS; the path adds the 18-hour Advanced training, an Advanced-in-Training letter, 17 continued educational hours, 500 experience hours and 25 supervision hours, and the APRS credentialing exam.
Requires a current APRS, one to two years of consistent employment as a CPRS or APRS with current employment as such, active NCPRSS and APR credentialing per the DHS FAQ, and three years of recovery plus three of abstinence; the path adds the 24-hour Supervisor training, 16 continued educational hours, 25 hours of peer supervision, 500 hours split between supervised work and providing supervision, and the PRS state credentialing exam.
Separate from the APRP ladder: DHS approval under the 2019 standards, whose minimum qualifications are age 18 or older, a high school diploma or GED, a valid Arkansas driver's license or ID, two years of lived experience, the DHS-approved PSS training, and QBHP training documentation β applied for on Form 900 through your employing Behavioral Health Agency, required for Medicaid OBHS reimbursement and running on a two-year term, with Youth Support Specialist (ages 18 up to 29) and Family Support Partner as sibling statuses.
Arkansas runs two systems side by side.
The Arkansas Peer Recovery (APRP) program certifies a three-level career ladder β Core Peer Recovery Specialist, Advanced Peer Recovery Specialist, and Peer Recovery Supervisor β with the application and exam handled by NAADAC.
Separately, DHS grants Peer Support Specialist, Youth Support Specialist (ages 18 up to 29), and Family Support Partner status under 2019 standards, and that status is what the Medicaid OBHS program requires for reimbursement; its minimum qualifications β age 18 or older, a high school diploma or GED, a valid Arkansas driver's license or ID, the DHS-approved PSS training, and QBHP documentation β are set in the standards themselves.
The status is scoped to one service and tied to your employing agency, so it is not a portable credential.
Check which of the two a job posting actually asks for.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βThis status only allows the provision of services as indicated by the standards. For example, the status for Peer Support Specialist only allows the provision of Peer Support services.β
For the Core Peer Recovery Specialist, the Levels PDF requires at least 2 years of consecutive abstinence from illicit substances or alcohol and at least 2 years of recovery from substance use disorder and/or mental health; NAADAC's application asks you to attest to two years of abstinence-based recovery.
The Peer Recovery Supervisor bar is higher: a minimum of three years of recovery and three years of abstinence.
The Medicaid-track PSS standard is different again β two years or more of lived experience having personally received services within the behavioral health system β so the definition you must meet depends on which track you apply under.
βa. At least 2 years of consecutive abstinence from illicit substances or alcohol. b. At least 2 years of recovery from substance use disorder and/or mental health.β
The education floor for the Core credential is a high school diploma or equivalent: the Levels PDF asks for a copy of at least your High School diploma or equivalent transcript, and NAADAC's eligibility is a GED or high school graduation.
Every candidate then starts with the 30-hour core training, a one-week in-person course, taken as a Peer-in-Training after acceptance into the program.
After that the two DHS sources disagree: the Levels PDF published September 11, 2025 says to complete an additional 16 educational hours, while the How-to page says 30 continued education hours.
The PDF appears newer, but the conflict is unresolved in the sources read, so confirm the current figure with the certifier before scheduling coursework.
Above the Core level, the Advanced requirement is the 18-hour Advanced training plus 17 continued educational hours, and the Supervisor path is 40 education hours including the 24-hour Supervisor training, per NAADAC's program page.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βComplete an additional 16 educational hours.β
As a Peer-in-Training you complete 500 experience hours, including 100 hours of domain-specific experience split 25 each across advocacy, ethical responsibility, mentoring/education, and recovery/wellness.
You also complete 25 hours of domain-specific peer supervision, individual or group.
The program counts only pre-approved hours accumulated while serving as a peer-in-training β the DHS FAQ rules out college credit, counselor-in-training hours, or hours accumulated elsewhere.
The APRS level repeats the same 500 and 25 hours, and the Supervisor path β open only to someone with one to two years of consistent employment as a CPRS or APRS who is currently employed as such β adds its own 25 hours of peer supervision and splits its 500 into 250 hours of supervised work experience and 250 hours of providing peer supervision.
Your current credential must stay valid while you accrue in-training hours for the next level.
βComplete 500 experience hours, including 100 hours of domain-specific experienceβ
After the hours are complete you sit the credentialing exam for your level, administered through NAADAC, and any score equivalent to or higher than 70% is considered a passing score.
Applying carries a fee β $50 for the Core application, $75 for Advanced, and $100 for the Peer Supervisor application, each non-refundable.
Only the Core application's instructions ask for a copy of a background check completed in the last 60 days; the Advanced and Supervisor applications ask for reference evaluations instead.
No Arkansas state exam beyond the NAADAC-administered credentialing exam appears in the sources read.
βAny score equivalent to or higher than 70% is considered a passing score.β
On the APRP track, NAADAC's Core eligibility requires that you have not committed a sexual offense or murder or have any active warrants, and the Levels PDF's CPRS list requires a background check showing no disqualifying murder, manslaughter, or sexual criminal offenses β the whole bar as that PDF states it, with no waiver or exception process located in the sources read.
The Medicaid track carries its own bars: under the 2019 standards, an applicant may not be employed or provide services for reimbursement if excluded from Medicare, Medicaid, or both, debarred under Ark.
Code Ann.
19-11-245, excluded under DHS Policy 1088, or subject to a final determination that the provider failed to comply with professionally recognized standards of care, conduct, or both.
The Core application asks for a copy of a background check completed in the last 60 days, and the DHS FAQ points applicants to the Arkansas State Police for the check.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βA background check showing no disqualifying murder, manslaughter, or sexual criminal offenses.β
In the Outpatient Behavioral Health Services manual, section 253.006 Peer Support covers H0038 β self-help/peer services, per 15 minutes β with a telephonic variant, H0038 U4.
The unit is 15 minutes, delivery is face-to-face under the Rehabilitative tier, and the benefit limit is a yearly maximum of 120 units, combined between H0038 and H0038, U8, per state fiscal year, with an extension of benefits available on request.
The allowable performing providers the manual names are Certified Peer Support Specialist and Certified Youth Support Specialist.
The edition read is dated 2-1-18, and current coverage under the PASSE managed-care model was not verified in the sources read β check the current manual before relying on any billing figure.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βSelf-help/peer services, per 15 minutesβ
Supervision means different things on the two tracks.
On the certification track, a Peer-in-Training attains an agreement to work with a Peer Recovery Supervisor and logs the 25 supervision hours; the DHS Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health publishes a list of credentialed PRSs with contact details, and the FAQ says fees for peer supervision are currently covered by DHS through grant funding.
On the Medicaid track, the 2019 standards require the PSS to be supervised by a Mental Health Professional as defined by the QBHP requirements in the Behavioral Health Agency certification.
The certification-track PRS and the Medicaid-billing MHP are different roles with different requirements.
βMust be supervised by a Mental Health Professional as defined by the QBHP requirements in the Behavioral Health Agency certificationβ
The NCPRSS national credential is not just an outbound extra β it is a rung on the ladder.
The DHS FAQ says Advanced training applicants must be actively credentialed as NCPRSS, and Supervisor applicants must hold NCPRSS and APR, so STEP 5 of the How-to page β the test-exempt application for NCCAP Peer Certification through NAADAC, the door to the NCPRSS National Peer Certification β is a required step before moving past Core.
An inbound reciprocity route β using another state's peer credential to skip Arkansas training or hours β was not located in the sources read, and no IC&RC pathway is described for this program.
The Medicaid-track PSS status is expressly not transferable or assignable, so moving to a new Behavioral Health Agency means applying again.
βComplete the test-exempt application for NCCAP Peer Certification through NAADAC.β
The Levels PDF's renewal steps apply at all three levels: complete the renewal application with an ethics statement, self-attest to ongoing abstinence and recovery, complete 20 continuing education hours of which 6 must be ethics, and complete peer supervision hours β 20 for CPRS, 15 for APRS, while a PRS satisfies the item by providing supervision.
What the sources do not state is the renewal interval: the PDF lists requirements but no cycle length, so the CPRS renewal period is not stated in the sources read.
The Medicaid-track PSS status is clearer: approval runs continuous for two (2) years from the date of approval, with 8 hours of training annually and a renewal application due at least 15 business days before expiration.
βComplete 20 continuing education hours (6 hours must be ethics) at all three levels.β
The Levels of Peer Support Specialist PDF is dated September 11, 2025, and it is the newer of the two conflicting sources on additional education hours β 16 there versus 30 on the How-to page β a conflict the sources read leave unresolved.
NAADAC's Arkansas application packet shows recent revisions too: the Core application is a May 2025 form, and the NCPRSS test-exempt application is revised February 21, 2025.
The 2019 PSS/YSS/FSP standards and the 2018 OBHS section remain the newest Medicaid-facing documents in the sources read.
This page summarizes the Arkansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Arkansas Department of Human Services, Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (Arkansas Peer Recovery program) publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Arkansas.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Arkansas Department of Human Services, Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (Arkansas Peer Recovery program) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Arkansas that asks for it.
No. Arkansas certifies peer recovery specialists through the Arkansas Peer Recovery program under the Department of Human Services' Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, with NAADAC handling applications and testing.
No peer specialist licence appears in the sources read.
The separate DHS Peer Support Specialist status is an approval to bill Medicaid, not a licence either, so ask an employer which of the two tracks it means.
Before training you need a high school diploma or equivalent.
The core training is 30 hours over one week, in person.
After that, the 2025 Levels PDF says 16 additional educational hours while the DHS How-to page says 30 β the sources conflict.
You also need 500 experience hours, including 100 domain-specific hours (25 each in four domains), plus 25 hours of peer supervision, then a passing exam score of 70% or higher.
Only pre-approved peer-in-training hours count.
On the certification track, NAADAC's Core eligibility bars anyone who has committed a sexual offense or murder or has any active warrants, and the Levels PDF requires a background check showing no disqualifying murder, manslaughter, or sexual criminal offenses; no waiver process was located.
The Medicaid track has its own bars: exclusion from Medicare or Medicaid, debarment under Ark.
Code Ann.
19-11-245, exclusion under DHS Policy 1088, or a final standards-of-care determination all block employment or reimbursement.
The Core application needs a background check completed within the last 60 days.
It depends on the track.
For the credential, a Peer-in-Training attains an agreement with a Peer Recovery Supervisor and logs 25 supervision hours; DHS publishes a list of credentialed supervisors, and the FAQ says grant funding currently covers supervision fees.
For Medicaid billing, the 2019 standards require supervision by a Mental Health Professional as defined by the QBHP requirements in the Behavioral Health Agency certification.
The Core Peer Recovery Specialist is the entry rung of the Arkansas Peer Recovery career ladder, earned through training, hours, and the NAADAC-administered exam.
Peer Support Specialist status is separate: DHS approval, applied for on Form 900 through your employing Behavioral Health Agency, that the 2019 standards make a requirement for Medicaid OBHS reimbursement, with minimums of age 18 or older, a high school diploma or GED, a valid Arkansas driver's license or ID, the DHS-approved PSS training, and QBHP documentation.
PSS status runs two years, is not transferable, and only covers Peer Support services.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Arkansas Department of Human Services, Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (Arkansas Peer Recovery program).