Arkansas licenses substance abuse counselors through the State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC), which issues two licences: the LAADAC at the baccalaureate level and the LADAC at the master's level.
Both tiers verify three (3) years of supervised work experience in a facility licensed and/or accredited as an SUD treatment program or under a supervisor with an SUD-specific credential — stated in years, no hour total — plus 270 clock hours of approved SUD education and a national qualifying written examination the rule does not name.
ASACB, the private IC&RC member board, certifies separately.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Two state licences: the Licensed Associate Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor (LAADAC) and the Licensed Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC).
Beside them, ASACB — the private IC&RC member board — certifies ADC, AADC and CS.
State licences issued by the State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC) under the Arkansas Department of Health, governed by Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-27-401 et seq.
ASACB is a separate private certification board.
LAADAC: a baccalaureate degree.
LADAC: a master's degree — each in the health or behavioral sciences field or other appropriate field from an accredited college or university.
Both tiers also need 270 clock hours of approved SUD education, and applicants must be twenty-one (21) or older.
Three (3) years of supervised work experience in the field of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, evidenced by work in a facility licensed and/or accredited as an SUD treatment program or under a supervisor with an SUD-specific credential.
The rule states the requirement in years and sets no hour total.
A national qualifying written examination prescribed by the SBEADAC.
The rule does not name the exam or any testing organization.
Not stated in the sources read.
The rule does not describe the licence's scope of practice or diagnosis authority; the statute that would carry that language (A.C.A. § 17-27-401 et seq.) was not retrieved.
Not stated in the sources read.
The statute was not retrieved, so exemptions for counselors licensed under other professions cannot be verified.
The SBEADAC licence is not an IC&RC credential; ASACB is the Arkansas IC&RC member board.
Reciprocity into the state licence runs under Acts 426/1011 (A.C.A. § 17-1-108), not through IC&RC.
Biennial renewal.
Forty (40) CE hours per two-year cycle, at least twenty (20) of them in addiction counseling or co-occurring disorders; no more than fifty percent online.
A state licence — the baccalaureate-tier licence issued by the SBEADAC.
The rule draws the two tiers by education: the LAADAC takes a baccalaureate degree in the health or behavioral sciences field or other appropriate field from an accredited college or university.
The application requirements below apply to both tiers, with a lower fee.
A state licence — the master's-tier licence issued by the SBEADAC.
Per the rule, the most significant difference between the two licences is the level of education: the LADAC takes a master's degree in the health or behavioral sciences field or other appropriate field from an accredited college or university.
The SBEADAC, under the Arkansas Department of Health, issues two licences: the Licensed Associate Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor (LAADAC) and the Licensed Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC).
Both are licences, and the difference the rule draws between them is education level — a baccalaureate degree for the LAADAC, a master's degree for the LADAC.
The rule says all SBEADAC licensure action is governed by Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-27-401 et seq., but the statute was not retrieved, so whether the licence is required to practise — practice protection versus title protection — is Not stated in the sources read.
The Arkansas Substance Abuse Certification Board (ASACB) is a separate, private IC&RC member board certifying ADC, AADC and CS; it is not the regulator.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“A two-tier licensure system is currently available.”
The degree floor separates the tiers: a baccalaureate degree for the LAADAC, a master's degree for the LADAC, each in the health or behavioral sciences field or other appropriate field from an accredited college or university.
The official transcript must be mailed directly from the college or university to the board.
On top of the degree, both tiers need the same 270 clock hours of approved education, and every education hour is subject to review and approval by the SBEADAC Credentialing Committee.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“The Applicant must successfully complete a minimum of two hundred seventy (270) clock hours of approved education. Approved education must be directly related to alcoholism and/or drug abuse counseling subjects, theory, practice, or research.”
Applicants must verify three (3) years of supervised work experience in the field of Substance Abuse and Mental Health.
The rule sets no hour total and no supervision-hour count — the requirement is stated only in years.
The facility-or-supervisor condition attaches to the whole requirement: to meet it, the applicant must show work in a facility licensed and/or accredited as a substance use disorder (SUD) treatment program or under a supervisor with a credential specific to SUD treatment.
Internship, practicum and volunteer hours are something the applicant may be able to use — not automatically creditable.
There is also a currency condition: an applicant must have been in SUD practice in all or part of the 12 months preceding application, and an applicant who was not must complete six (6) hours of professional ethics training, with the Board able to require more.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“The applicant must verify three (3) years of supervised work experience in the field of Substance Abuse and Mental Health.”
Licensure requires passing a national qualifying written examination prescribed by the SBEADAC.
The rule does not name the examination and does not tie it to any testing organization, so guides that name a specific exam or administrator for Arkansas go beyond the rule text read.
The reciprocity routes described below likewise ask for proof of passing a nationally qualifying written examination, again without naming one.
“The Applicant must pass a national qualifying written examination prescribed by The SBEADAC, sufficient to ensure professional competence in keeping with the highest standards of the alcoholism and drug abuse counseling profession.”
Because the experience requirement is counted in years, the placement is what makes the years count.
The work must be in a facility licensed and/or accredited as a substance use disorder (SUD) treatment program, or under a supervisor with a credential specific to SUD treatment — so before accepting an offer, confirm the site or the supervisor meets one of those two conditions.
Applications include a Supervision Verification form and a Supervised Work Experience form, and the detailed records behind them are not optional: the supervision record must be maintained by the applicant and supervisor, produced when the board asks, and must include the supervisor's observation of the applicant's ethical demonstration of the 12 Core Functions; the work-experience record, with specific duties under each job title, must be kept ready for submission when the board requests it.
The rule also strongly recommends keeping that detailed record of supervision topics, timeline and job duties for the full three years, which the board may call for in a dispute.
“It is strongly recommended that both the applicant and approved supervisor maintain detailed record of supervision topics, timeline, and job duties for the required minimum period of three (3) years.”
The rule text read does not describe the licence's scope of practice, diagnosis authority, or independent-practice rights, and the statute carrying that language (A.C.A. § 17-27-401 et seq.) was not retrieved — so what an Arkansas SUD counselor may do, including whether one may diagnose, is Not stated in the sources read.
The rule does show that a scope exists in law: the board may discipline a licensee who has practiced outside the scope of practice for which he or she is licensed or certified under the subchapter.
The practice frame the rule itself names is the 12 Core Functions, observed by the supervisor during the supervised years.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
Reciprocity requires a substantially similar licence — master's-level for the LADAC, bachelor's-level for the LAADAC — in good standing in another US jurisdiction, no revocation for bad faith or a violation of law, rule or ethics; no suspended or probationary licence.
Competence is shown by a passed nationally qualifying written examination, three professional letters of recommendation, and an unopened transcript.
On receipt of the application, fee and core documentation, the board must issue a temporary and provisional licence immediately — effective until the board decides; immediately revoked if the applicant fails the licence-similarity or competence requirements.
A separate route covers counselors from states that do not license the profession.
Where the applicant's state offers Arkansas residents no similar reciprocity under A.C.A. § 17-1-108, the board shall require the tier's degree — master's (LADAC) or bachelor's (LAADAC) in the health or behavioral science field or other appropriate field, from an accredited college or university.
The licence is not an IC&RC credential — ASACB is the IC&RC member board, so an IC&RC transfer is a private certification, not this licence.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“The Board shall issue a temporary and provisional license immediately upon receipt of the application, the required fee, and the documentation required under B.1.a. and b.”
The licence renews on a two-year cycle.
The biennial fee is $250 for the LADAC or $200 for the LAADAC if submitted by December 31, rising in steps to $450 or $400 by April 30.
If renewal materials and fees are not submitted by December 31, the licence expires effective that date and is suspended until the delinquent materials are submitted and approved — and a licensee not reinstated within four (4) months must apply as a new applicant.
Practising while suspended violates Act 443 of 2009.
Each cycle requires forty (40) hours of continuing education earned in the previous twenty-four (24) months, with a minimum of twenty (20) hours specific to addiction counseling or co-occurring disorders, no more than fifty percent online, and up to thirty-two (32) hours creditable at one hour per eight hours of volunteer service under Ark.
Code Ann. § 20-8-804.
“The State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors require that during the two year licensure cycle, a Counselor obtain forty (40) hours of continuing education.”
The codified rule text read (the LII file, retrieved 2026-09-24) contains the reciprocity, temporary-licence and re-licensure sections but no automatic-licensure section.
A SBEADAC markup copy received by the Bureau of Legislative Research in January 2024 adds a proposed Automatic Occupational Licensure section for an applicant who establishes residency in Arkansas: one year licensed elsewhere in good standing, or three years working in a state that does not license the occupation; no disqualifying criminal offense; no pending complaint, allegation or investigation in Arkansas or the prior state; and a state-law examination the Department of Health may waive.
Once granted, the licensee must still meet every other licensure and renewal requirement, including continuing education.
The same file pairs the markup with the engrossed Act 137 of 2023 (SB 193, approved February 24, 2023), which amends A.C.A. § 17-4-107 on accepting uniformed service education, training and national certifications toward initial licensure.
Whether the markup was finally adopted is not stated in the sources read.
Applicants must be twenty-one (21) or older; fees are $265.00 (LADAC) and $215 (LAADAC).
Under Act 725 of 2021 the board waives initial licence fees for Medicaid, SNAP, WIC, TANF or Lifeline recipients, unemployment approval in the last twelve (12) months, or income up to 200% of the federal poverty guidelines.
Act 990 of 2019 allows a pre-licensure criminal-record petition (decision not appealable) and board waiver of disqualification for a conviction listed in A.C.A.
17-3-102 (a) or (e); a waiver determination is appealable under the Administrative Procedures Act (25-15-201 et seq.).
Act 746 of 2021 extends licensure to a qualified applicant with a federal Form I-766 work permit.
Act 135 of 2021 grants automatic licensure to a similar-scope out-of-state licensee in good standing: a service member stationed in Arkansas; a veteran (discharged other than dishonorably) residing in or establishing Arkansas residency; or a spouse — of such a member or veteran; of a member whose tour of duty excludes the spouse, who relocates to Arkansas; or of a member killed in the line of duty, where the spouse establishes residency.
This page summarizes the Arkansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Arkansas State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Arkansas.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Arkansas State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Arkansas that asks for it.
Arkansas issues state licences — the LAADAC and the LADAC — through the State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC), whose licensure action is governed by Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-27-401 et seq.
Whether practising without the licence is prohibited sits in that statute, which was not among the sources read, so practice-versus-title protection is not verifiable here.
ASACB's ADC, AADC and CS certifications are private IC&RC credentials, not the state licence.
Neither tier has an hour total.
The rule requires three (3) years of supervised work experience in the field of Substance Abuse and Mental Health and sets no hour figure.
To meet the requirement, your experience must be in a facility licensed and/or accredited as a substance use disorder treatment program or under a supervisor with a credential specific to SUD treatment; internship, practicum and volunteer hours are something you may be able to use within that.
An applicant not in SUD practice during the 12 months before applying must complete six (6) hours of professional ethics training.
The rule requires a national qualifying written examination prescribed by the SBEADAC, sufficient to ensure professional competence in the profession.
It does not name the examination or any testing organization, and nothing in the sources read ties it to a specific vendor.
Sources that name a particular exam or exam administrator for Arkansas go beyond the rule text read.
Under Acts 426/1011 reciprocity, you need a substantially similar licence — master's-level for the LADAC, bachelor's-level for the LAADAC — in good standing, with no revocation for bad faith or a violation of law, rule or ethics and no suspended or probationary licence.
Competence is shown by a passed nationally qualifying written examination, three professional letters of recommendation, and an unopened transcript; identification is also required.
The board issues a temporary and provisional licence immediately on receipt of the application, fee and core documentation — immediately revoked if you fail the licence-similarity or competence requirements.
A separate route covers counselors from a state that does not license the profession.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Arkansas State Board of Examiners of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (SBEADAC).