California certifies Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialists; it does not license them.
The Department of Health Care Services sets the standards, and CalMHSA — a joint powers authority, not a state board — runs the certification program for participating counties.
The path is an 80-hour training from an approved provider and a certification exam, with no work-hour requirement for initial certification.
Counties opt into peer services as a Medi-Cal benefit, 53 had done so as of September 2025, and certification renews every two years.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist (CMPSS) — the Certification Program must offer curricula for four DHCS-required specializations — plus the Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Supervisor role.
It is a certification, not a licence.
CalMHSA, the California Mental Health Services Authority — a joint powers authority, not a state board — operates the certification program participating County Behavioral Health Plans designate and DHCS has approved.
Once certified, a peer is recognized in all counties throughout California.
An 80-hour core competencies-based training from a CalMHSA-approved provider, covering the 17 core competencies and the Code of Ethics.
The training certificate is valid for two years from the date training is completed.
None for initial certification.
The 1,550-hour work history belongs to the alternate pathway and out-of-state reciprocity: 1550 hours in three years or fewer, with 500 hours completed within the last 12 months as a peer support worker (paid or unpaid).
A Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist certification examination provided by a DHCS-approved Certification Program (CalMHSA), offered in 10 languages.
CalMHSA's certification page lists a $100 application, a $150 exam and a $150 retake, subject to change.
Required: self-identified experience with the process of recovery from mental illness or substance use disorder, either as a consumer of these services or as the parent, caregiver or family member of a consumer (BHIN 25-010 § 6(b)(3), citing W&I § 14045.15(a)).
Not stated in the sources read.
Covered where the county opts in, in one or both delivery systems: Specialty Mental Health Services (SMHS) and Drug Medi-Cal / Drug Medi-Cal Organized Delivery System (DMC/DMC-ODS).
As of September 2025, 53 counties include Medi-Cal Peer Support Services as a benefit in one or both of their delivery systems.
Every two years: 20 hours of continuing education including six hours of law and ethics, reaffirmation of the Code of Ethics, and a renewal fee.
CalMHSA emails a reminder 90 days before expiration.
The single certification tier: an 80-hour training from a CalMHSA-approved provider plus the certification exam, with no work-hour requirement.
Once certified, a peer is recognized in all counties throughout California (BHIN 25-010 § 9(f)(4)); services are still delivered under the direction of a Behavioral Health Professional, so certification is not unsupervised clinical practice.
The supervisor role under BHIN 25-010 § 7(a): qualify as a CMPSS with at least two years of experience in direct behavioral health services, or as a state-plan practitioner with two years, or with a high school diploma or GED and at least four years of experience — and complete DHCS-approved supervisor training within 60 days of beginning to supervise.
The credential is the Certified Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist (CMPSS), issued under DHCS's standards by CalMHSA's certification program.
DHCS requires Certification Programs to implement curriculum for four specializations, which the rule dates; a footnote's example says a peer serving parents or legal guardians of members 17 and under may hold the Parent, Caregiver, and Family Member specialization.
There is also a Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Supervisor role, with its own qualification routes described in the supervision section below.
Certification is recognized in all counties throughout California, so it moves with you between counties; each county designates one Certification Program, and what varies by county is whether peer support is a Medi-Cal benefit at all.
Which specialization matters to you depends on the job — crisis, forensic, homelessness or parent/caregiver/family work — so ask the employer what it expects; the rule binds Certification Programs to offer these curricula, not every peer to hold every designation.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
“(i) Parent, Caregiver, and Family Member Peers (required as of July 1, 2022); (ii) Crisis Services (required as of July 1, 2023); (iii) Forensic (Justice Involved) (required as of July 1, 2023); and (iv) Homelessness (required as of July 1, 2023)”
The qualification is lived experience, and California defines it to cover two routes: your own experience as a consumer of mental health or substance use services, or being the parent, caregiver or family member of a consumer.
The rest of the same qualifications list requires being at least 18 years old, holding a high school diploma or equivalent, being willing to share your experience, having a strong dedication to recovery, and agreeing in writing to adhere to the code of ethics.
Under this definition a single certificate covers both mental health and substance use recovery — California does not split the credential by which recovery the person knows.
“Be self-identified as having experience with the process of recovery from mental illness or substance use disorder, either as a consumer of these services or as the parent, caregiver or family member of a consumer”
The 80-hour training is the qualifying education: a core competencies-based curriculum covering the 17 core competencies and the Code of Ethics, delivered asynchronous, hybrid, in person or online by a provider CalMHSA has approved.
Timing matters twice over.
Training completed before a provider was approved does not count toward certification, and the training certificate is valid for two years from the date training is completed, so the exam has to happen inside that window.
There is no education requirement beyond a high school diploma or equivalent; CalMHSA's FAQ says that requirement cannot be waived because DHCS, not the certifying entity, sets it.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
“Trainings by providers not on this list, or training completed prior to the provider being approved by CalMHSA, will not qualify for initial Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification”
For the standard route there is no supervised-hour or work-hour requirement at all: an applicant completes the 80-hour training and passes the exam.
The 1,550-hour figure belongs to a different route — the alternate pathway and out-of-state reciprocity.
Grandparenting (a window that closed June 30, 2023) required employment as a peer support worker on January 1, 2022 and on the date the application was submitted; the reciprocity route has no employment deadline.
The hours test itself the rule states exactly: 1,550 hours accumulated in three years or fewer, with 500 of them in the last 12 months, plus 20 hours of continuing education including six hours of law and ethics.
If you are starting fresh in California, none of the hour history applies; training plus exam is your whole path.
“1550 hours in three years or fewer, with 500 hours completed within the last 12 months as a peer support worker (paid or unpaid)”
The last qualification DHCS lists is passing the Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist certification examination provided by a DHCS-approved Certification Program — in practice, CalMHSA's exam.
CalMHSA's FAQ lists the exam in 10 languages: English, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Russian and Vietnamese, and says your name appears on the registry within 7-14 days of passing.
Fees are CalMHSA's, from its certification page: a $100 certification application, a $150 exam and a $150 retake — $250 combined for a new applicant — and the page says the fee schedule is subject to change.
Training fees are separate and set by each training provider, so budget both.
Medi-Cal Peer Support Services became a Medicaid benefit in July 2022, after SB 803 and the federal approval DHCS sought for a peer provider type.
Whether you can bill peer services as Medi-Cal depends on the county: each county decides whether to include the benefit, in one or both of the systems that can deliver it — the Specialty Mental Health Services (SMHS) system and the Drug Medi-Cal / Drug Medi-Cal Organized Delivery System (DMC/DMC-ODS).
The count moves as counties opt in; DHCS's program page put it at 53 counties as of September 2025.
The BHIN anchors the program to California's Medicaid State Plan, Supplement 3 to Attachment 3.1-A, and DHCS also links the CalAIM 1115 Demonstration and 1915(b) waiver.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
“As of September 2025, 53 counties include Medi-Cal Peer Support Services as a benefit in one or both of their delivery systems.”
Two roles matter, and they are not the same.
Supervision: a Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Supervisor who meets the state's requirements — the routes are a CMPSS with at least two years of experience in direct behavioral health services, a state-plan practitioner (such as an LPHA) with two years, or a person with a high school diploma or GED and at least four years of experience, which may include providing Medi-Cal Peer Support Services — and each supervisor completes DHCS-approved supervisor training within 60 days of beginning to supervise.
Direction: the services themselves shall be under the direction of a Behavioral Health Professional, which the BHIN defines as the BHP acting as clinical team leader through direct or functional supervision, assuming ultimate responsibility, without needing to be physically present.
County behavioral health delivery systems may add their own supervisor training requirements.
“Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialists may be supervised by a Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Supervisor who meets applicable State of California requirements; however, the services shall be under the direction of a Behavioral Health Professional”
An out-of-state certified peer does not start over, but does have to pass California's exam.
The reciprocity route requires your out-of-state certification in good standing, the same 1,550-hour work history with 500 hours in the last 12 months, at least one peer training, a passing score on the Certification Program's exam, agreement to adhere to the Code of Ethics, and three Letters of Recommendation — from a supervisor, a colleague or professional contact, and yourself.
The BHIN states there is no employment deadline or sunset date for this route.
What the sources read do not settle: whether IC&RC or NCPRSS peer credentials are accepted was not located, so confirm with CalMHSA before assuming an IC&RC credential converts.
“There is no employment deadline or sunset date for peer support workers with out-of-state certification to apply for reciprocity.”
Renewal runs on a two-year cycle: 20 hours of continuing education including six hours of law and ethics, reaffirmation of the Code of Ethics, and the renewal fee.
CalMHSA emails a reminder 90 days before expiration, and a renewed certificate is valid for two years from the original expiration date.
If the certification is not renewed, the BHIN sets three further states.
Lapsed — up to one year after the renewal due date: 20 CE hours, Code of Ethics reaffirmation, and the biennial renewal fee, plus a late fee if applicable.
Expired — up to four years after the due date: an 80-hour refresher course or passing the exam, plus 20 CE hours, the Code of Ethics reaffirmation, and a reinstatement fee, plus a late fee if applicable.
Vacated — not renewed within four years: reapply, complete the full 80-hour initial curriculum, pass the exam, and pay the application, training and exam fees.
“20 hours of continuing education every two years, including six hours of law and ethics.”
The statutory foundation is SB 803 (Beall, Chapter 150, Statutes of 2020), which added Welfare and Institutions Code sections 14045.13 through 14045.16 effective January 1, 2021; the benefit launched in July 2022.
DHCS has since consolidated its peer-support guidance into BHIN 25-010, dated April 4, 2025, which supersedes 11 earlier notices — BHIN 21-041, 22-006, 22-018, 22-026, 22-040, 22-061, 22-062, 22-067, 23-003, 23-010 and 23-012 — so older copies of the standards circulating online may be out of date.
Section 14045.14 structures the program as county-based: as BHIN 25-010 § 9(a) restates it, a Certification Program is administered by a county, or an agency representing the county, that DHCS has approved, and each county designates one program across its delivery systems.
CalMHSA is the program participating county behavioral health plans designated — CBHDA identified it for the role — so it certifies on behalf of those counties rather than operating a separate statewide track; its FAQ listed 50 counties that had opted in as of 06/03/2025; the statute adds program-plan, review and annual-report requirements.
The statute bounds the role: certification under this article does not authorize the holder to diagnose an illness, prescribe medication, or provide clinical services.
That is the legal frame behind every California peer job description — the peer is a discipline of their own on the team, with services directed by a Behavioral Health Professional for billing, but never the clinician.
Read a posting accordingly: duties should be peer support duties, and the credential a California employer needs is this certification, not a licence, because the state issues no peer specialist licence at all.
“This article does not authorize an individual who is certified pursuant to this article to diagnose an illness, prescribe medication, or provide clinical services.”
This page summarizes the California statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the California Mental Health Services Authority (CalMHSA), a joint powers authority operating the DHCS-approved Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification Program publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in California.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the California Mental Health Services Authority (CalMHSA), a joint powers authority operating the DHCS-approved Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification Program before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in California that asks for it.
No. California certifies Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialists; it does not license them.
DHCS sets the certification standards in BHIN 25-010 under SB 803, and CalMHSA — a joint powers authority, not a state licensing board — operates the approved certification program.
Employers and county systems treat the certificate as the workforce credential for billable Medi-Cal peer services, and the statute says certification does not authorize diagnosing, prescribing or clinical services.
For initial certification: an 80-hour training and a passing exam, with no supervised or work-hour requirement.
The 1,550-hour figure is different — it belongs to the alternate pathway and to out-of-state reciprocity, which require 1,550 hours in three years or fewer with 500 of them in the last 12 months, plus 20 continuing education hours.
Your 80-hour training certificate stays valid for two years, so plan to test within that window.
There is a reciprocity route, and it has no employment deadline.
You need your out-of-state certification in good standing, 1,550 hours of peer work in three years or fewer with 500 in the last 12 months, at least one peer training, a passing score on CalMHSA's exam, agreement to the Code of Ethics, and three letters of recommendation.
Whether IC&RC or NCPRSS credentials are accepted was not stated in the sources read, so confirm with CalMHSA before you apply.
Yes — a high school diploma or equivalent is one of the DHCS qualifications, along with being at least 18 years old.
CalMHSA's FAQ says the requirement cannot be waived because it is a state requirement set by DHCS, and the certifying entity has no authority to issue exceptions.
If you need records, the same FAQ points to free transcript and diploma resources, and your application ID must match your identification documents.
The sources read for this page — BHIN 25-010 and the CalMHSA pages — state no criminal-history requirement for certification, and this page does not claim one either way.
That is not a guarantee: county employers, crisis teams and forensic settings can impose their own hiring screens, and requirements can change.
Ask CalMHSA and the hiring county what screening applies to the job you want.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the California Mental Health Services Authority (CalMHSA), a joint powers authority operating the DHCS-approved Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification Program.