California has no state licence for substance use disorder counselors.
To counsel in an AOD program the state licenses, certifies or funds, you register with β and then certify through β a private certifying organization DHCS approves: CAADE, CADTP or CCAPP.
The requirements are hourly, not academic: 315 education hours, 2,080 or more hours of work experience, an organization exam passed at 70%, and β from 2026 β 80 hours of education, core-competency topics included, inside six months of registration.
Certification is due within five years of registration.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A registered AOD counselor (registration valid one (1) year) working toward certification with a DHCS-approved certifying organization; certified titles are CCAPP CADC I/II/III and LAADC, CADTP SUDCC and CAADE CATC.
There is no state SUD licence.
Private registrations and certifications issued by certifying organizations DHCS approves (CAADE, CADTP, CCAPP), under HSC 11833 and 9 CCR chapter 8.
DHCS states plainly: "DHCS does not certify counselors."
None in regulation: 9 CCR 13040 sets hour and exam requirements, not a degree.
An additional 2,080 or more documented hours of paid or unpaid work experience providing counseling services in an AOD program (9 CCR 13040(c)), which may be completed before, after, or alongside the education.
A written or oral examination approved by the certifying organization, passed at seventy percent (70%) (9 CCR 13040(d)); CCAPP's IC&RC-reciprocal tiers use the IC&RC ADC and AADC exams.
Scope is not defined in 9 CCR; certification is a program-staffing credential for counseling in DHCS-licensed, certified or funded programs.
Whether a certified counselor may diagnose: Not stated in the sources read.
Graduate students affiliated with university programs in psychology, social work, marriage and family therapy or counseling, completing supervised practicum hours for postgraduate requirements (removals for ethical or professional misconduct must be reported to certifying organizations, HSC 11833(d)(2)), associates registered with the Board of Behavioral Sciences, and "a licensed professional, as defined by the department" are exempt (11833(d)(1)); counselors in good standing with a master's in those fields are exempt from the core-competency topics (11833(b)(9)).
CCAPP is an IC&RC member board; CADTP and CAADE are not on the IC&RC directory, so IC&RC reciprocity reaches a CCAPP credential only.
There is no state licence to reciprocate into.
Certification renews every two years with 40 hours of continuing education (9 CCR 13055(a)).
Registration is annual β one (1) year of validity β with at least 50 hours of AOD education per year until 315 hours are reached, then 20 hours of AOD education to renew while still uncertified (BHIN 25-029 FAQ).
A registration with a DHCS-approved certifying organization β the status under which you may counsel in covered programs while completing the requirements, valid for one (1) year and renewable, with certification due within five (5) years of registration (9 CCR 13035(f)(1); BHIN 25-029 FAQ #15).
The terminal credential, and a private board certification rather than a state licence: issued by a DHCS-approved, NCCA-accredited organization as CCAPP CADC I/II/III or LAADC, CADTP SUDCC or CAADE CATC.
Under HSC 11833(c)(1) the rule is disjunctive β counseling in covered programs requires being registered with, or certified by, an approved organization β and certification is the credential that ends the five-year registration clock (9 CCR 13035(f)(1)).
A CCAPP specialty credential on the IC&RC reciprocal list; CCAPP's own requirements for it are not stated in the sources read, and the counselor rules require only that the 160-hour supervised training be supervised on site by an AOD counselor who has been licensed or certified pursuant to this Chapter (IC&RC member-board directory; 9 CCR 13040(b)).
California does not license substance use disorder counselors.
The operative credentials are a registration and a certification issued by private, NCCA-accredited certifying organizations that DHCS approves β currently CAADE, CADTP and CCAPP β and DHCS states that it does not certify counselors.
Registration is valid for one (1) year, renewable, and certification must be completed within five (5) years of registration; DHCS says a counselor who fails to certify within five years will not be permitted to provide counseling services to clients.
Outside the HSC 11833(d) exemptions, the rule reaches counseling in any AOD recovery or treatment program licensed, certified, or funded under the part.
Two traps: the LII text of 9 CCR 13035(a) still lists ten approved organizations as of April 1, 2005, while the DHCS page now lists three; and CCAPP's LAADC, despite the word Licensed, is a private credential.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βExcept as set forth in subdivision (d), an individual providing counseling services working within a program described in subdivision (a) shall be registered with, or certified by, a certifying organization approved by the department to register and certify counselors.β
9 CCR 13040 requires a minimum of 155 documented hours of formal classroom AOD education β the TAP 21 curriculum, special populations, ethics, communicable diseases and sexual-harassment prevention β plus a minimum of 160 documented hours of supervised AOD training, the 315-hour total the FAQ names.
There is no degree floor in regulation.
AB 2473 layers twelve core competencies (DSM knowledge, ASAM criteria, medications for addiction treatment, co-occurring conditions and more) on top: under BHIN 25-029, first-year registrants who registered between July 1 and December 31, 2025 must prove 80 hours of education and core competency topics by July 1, 2026, and those registering on or after January 1, 2026 must do so within six months of registration.
The 80 hours count toward the 315 only if the certifying organization approves and accepts them (FAQ #12).
A counselor in good standing with a master's in psychology, social work, MFT or counseling is exempt from the core-competency topics but still owes the 80 hours (FAQ #13), and DHCS has no authority to grant hardship exceptions (FAQ #14).
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βFirst-year registered counselors who register between July 1, 2025, and December 31, 2025, must submit proof of eighty (80) hours of education and core competency education topics by July 1, 2026.β
The experience requirement is an additional 2,080 or more documented hours of paid or unpaid work experience providing counseling services in an AOD program.
The rule's clock is the coursework, not registration: the hours may be completed prior to, after, or at the same time as the education and the 160-hour supervised training.
Registration is a separate, hiring-driven gate β 9 CCR 13035(f) requires all non-licensed or non-certified individuals providing counseling services in an AOD program to be registered within six (6) months of the date of hire.
Documentation is the operative requirement, and no supervision ratio or supervisor credential is stated for these hours.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βComplete, an additional 2,080 or more documented hours of paid or unpaid work experience providing counseling services in an AOD program prior to, after, or at the same time as completion of the education required in (a) of this regulation and the supervised AOD training required in (b) of this regulation.β
Each certifying organization approves its own written or oral examination, and 9 CCR 13040(d) sets the pass mark at seventy percent (70%).
The regulation names no exam vendor.
CCAPP's counselor tiers that sit at the IC&RC reciprocal level use the IC&RC ADC and AADC examinations (member-board directory).
The tier-by-tier requirements of CCAPP, CADTP and CAADE β which exam maps to which title, and the prerequisites for advanced tiers β are not stated in the sources read: the CCAPP career-ladder page saved for this research is image-only.
βObtain a score of at least seventy percent (70%) on a written or oral examination approved by the certifying organizationβ
The 160 supervised-training hours must be supervised on site by an AOD counselor who has been licensed or certified pursuant to this Chapter, and the rule defines what supervised means: the supervisor is physically present and available on site or at an immediately adjacent site β not necessarily in the same room β and documents completion in the registrant's record.
If you are choosing where to train, confirm the supervisor meets the 13040(b) standard and will document your hours; the definition tolerates an adjacent site, not an absent one.
For the 2,080 work-experience hours, no separate supervision rule is stated.
βAs used in this regulation, "supervised" means that the individual supervising the training shall: (1) Be physically present and available on site or at an immediately adjacent site, but not necessarily in the same room at all times, and (2) Document in the registrant's record that the registrant has completed the supervised training required by this subsection.β
The regulations do not define scope of practice, diagnosis authority or private-practice rights for registered or certified AOD counselors; certification operates as a program-staffing credential.
The trigger is functional: DHCS's counselor-certification page describes intake, assessment of need for services, treatment planning, recovery planning, and individual or group counseling as the services that require certification in a DHCS-licensed or certified program.
Whether a certified counselor may diagnose is not stated in the sources read.
One boundary is written down: CCAPP says its LAADC is a non-governmental license and is not licensed to provide services as an LMFT, LCSW, LPCC or LEP.
The BBS-registered associates and licensed professionals HSC 11833(d)(1) exempts sit outside the certification rule entirely.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βIndividuals who provide counseling services such as intake, assessment of need for services, treatment planning, recovery planning, individual or group counseling to participants, patients, or residents in any alcohol and other drug program licensed or certified by DHCS are required by the State of California to be certified.β
There is no state credential to transfer into, so relocating means applying to a DHCS-approved certifying organization on its own terms.
IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards, and CCAPP is the California member board; CADTP and CAADE are not on the IC&RC directory, so an IC&RC credential from elsewhere does not reach them.
CCAPP's entry rules for counselors arriving with an IC&RC credential are not stated in the sources read, and there is no NAADAC-to-IC&RC credential reciprocity.
The statute's screening rule applies regardless of origin: prior to registering or certifying anyone, an organization must contact the other department-approved organizations to determine whether the individual has ever had a registration or certification revoked or has been removed from a postgraduate practicum for an ethical or professional violation, and HSC 11833(e) requires denial β with written appeal rights β for a counselor previously revoked or removed from a postgraduate practicum for an ethical or professional conduct violation.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
Certification renews on a two-year cycle: 40 hours of continuing education approved by the organization, drawn from TAP 21, special-populations, ethics, communicable-disease and sexual-harassment content (9 CCR 13055(a), (c)).
Registration runs on the tighter clock β renewal applications are due at least 120 calendar days before expiry, a registrant with fewer than 315 education hours must complete at least 50 hours of AOD education annually to renew, and a registrant who has reached 315 hours without certifying submits 20 hours (BHIN 25-029 FAQ #16β#17); those hours count toward initial certification.
A first-year registrant who misses the 80-hour requirement cannot renew, and an expired credential means you are not eligible to provide counseling services until it is renewed (FAQ #10).
βRegistration credentials are valid for one (1) year unless revoked or suspended.β
AB 2473 (Stats.
2022) is reshaping this credential, implemented by BHIN 25-029 with the education requirements effective January 1, 2026; the first 80-hour deadline lands July 1, 2026 for registrants from the second half of 2025.
HSC 11833 itself was last amended by Stats.
2024, ch. 847 (AB 2995), effective January 1, 2025.
Section 11833(g)(2) required DHCS to adopt implementing regulations by December 31, 2025; whether that happened is not verified, and the LII text of 9 CCR chapter 8 still shows the 2005-era list of ten certifying organizations.
DHCS and UC San Diego launched the free ASCEND 80-hour course, available January 2026 through June 30, 2028 (enrollment opened December 1, 2025) β certifying organizations are not required to accept its hours.
What happens if your certifying organization loses DHCS approval matters to anyone mid-ladder.
Under 9 CCR 13035(d), you must register with a different approved organization before your certification expires or within six (6) months of the notice, whichever is sooner; your certification stays valid until it expires only if you re-register, and the new organization must credit your continuing-education hours and place you at an equivalent level.
Separately, an organization may allow up to two (2) additional years to complete certification for a leave of absence due to a medical problem or other hardship (9 CCR 13035(f)(2)).
This page summarizes the California statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in California.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in California that asks for it.
No. California issues no state SUD counselor licence.
To provide counseling in an AOD program licensed, certified or funded by DHCS, you must be registered with, or certified by, a certifying organization DHCS approves β currently CAADE, CADTP or CCAPP.
DHCS says plainly that it does not certify counselors; the credentials belong to the organizations.
CCAPP's LAADC carries the word Licensed, but CCAPP itself calls it a non-governmental license, and it does not authorize practice as an LMFT, LCSW, LPCC or LEP.
Registration comes first, and certification must be complete within five (5) years of registration or you cannot keep counseling in covered programs.
The requirements are 315 education hours (155 classroom plus 160 supervised training), at least 2,080 hours of work experience in an AOD program, and a score of at least 70% on the organization's exam.
New registrants from January 1, 2026 also owe 80 hours of education including core competencies within six months of registration.
There is no degree floor in regulation.
No. 9 CCR 13040(c) lets the 2,080 or more hours of work experience providing counseling services in an AOD program be completed prior to, after, or at the same time as the education hours and the 160-hour supervised training β the rule times them against the coursework, not registration.
Registration is still the gate for working: 9 CCR 13035(f) requires individuals providing counseling services in an AOD program to register within six (6) months of the date of hire.
Keep documentation, and confirm with your certifying organization how it evidences the hours.
All three are DHCS-approved and NCCA-accredited, and registration or certification with any of them satisfies HSC 11833(c)(1).
They differ in titles (CAADE's CATC, CADTP's SUDCC, CCAPP's CADC I/II/III and LAADC) and in portability: CCAPP is the California organization on the IC&RC member-board directory, so IC&RC reciprocity runs only through CCAPP.
Each organization sets its own fees, applications and tier requirements β details not stated in the sources read β so compare current requirements directly.
Not stated in the sources read.
Title 9 of the California Code of Regulations does not define diagnosis authority for registered or certified AOD counselors, and certification operates as a program-staffing credential.
The AB 2473 core competencies include knowledge of the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, but curriculum and exam content are not legal authority to diagnose.
Confirm scope with DHCS and your certifying organization before taking on diagnostic work.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS).