🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Colorado: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Colorado certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The credential is the Colorado Certified Peer and Family Specialist (CPFS), issued by the Colorado Providers Association (COPA) under IC&RC standards.

The path: a high school diploma, GED or college transcript, 60 hours of training, 500 hours of paid or volunteer peer work with 25 hours of supervision, and the IC&RC exam.

Since January 1, 2026, Health First Colorado reimburses peer services only from peers who are certified or within six months of finishing required training.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Colorado, that is the Colorado Providers Association (COPA), issuer of the CPFS credential.

At a glance

Credential titles

One credential: the Colorado Certified Peer and Family Specialist (CPFS), issued by the Colorado Providers Association (COPA).

Certifier

The Colorado Providers Association (COPA), a professional association whose credential follows International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) standards — a private certifier, not a state agency.

Training

60 hours: 46 core-domain hours (Advocacy 10, Ethics 16, Mentoring & Education 10, Recovery & Wellness Support 10; no required harm-reduction hours) plus 14 peer-focused hours.

Clinical trainings are not allowed.

Supervised or work hours

At least 500 hours of work experience in a peer role, paid or volunteer, plus 25 hours of supervision.

Exam

The IC&RC exam, which includes harm-reduction competencies; you have one year from CPFS Committee approval to take it.

Lived experience

A Lived Experience Statement is required; a minimum of two years in recovery was strongly recommended and planned to become a requirement in March 2026 — whether it took effect was not confirmed in the sources read.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered: peer support services are reimbursed through the Capitated Behavioral Health Benefit via Regional Accountable Entities; from July 1, 2025, individual peer contributions bill H0038 and H0023.

Renewal & CE

It costs $200 to recredential; the renewal cycle and CE hours were not stated in the sources read.

The Colorado credential ladder

  1. In the process of becoming certified (HCPF billing status)Pre-licensure

    Not a credential: HCPF's Medicaid billing status for a peer who has completed all 60 hours of required training and is finishing experience hours — services delivered in this window are reimbursable by a Regional Accountable Entity for up to 6 months following the completion of training.

    HCPF follows Behavioral Health Administration (BHA) rule definitions, and its page does not name the certification it requires.

  2. Colorado Certified Peer and Family Specialist(CPFS)Independent

    The certification COPA issues after its CPFS Committee approves the application and the applicant passes the IC&RC exam; COPA describes it as recognized beyond Colorado through IC&RC reciprocity.

One credential, issued by a professional association

📜 COPA CPFS page and CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

Colorado's peer credential is the Certified Peer and Family Specialist (CPFS), issued by the Colorado Providers Association, a professional association rather than a state agency.

COPA processes applications through Certemy, and its CPFS Committee — the final authority on approvals — meets monthly on the third Wednesday, with applications due at least 10 days before a meeting.

Applying costs $50 to register plus $245 for the application, $295 total, and recredentialing costs $200.

COPA also cautions that a rise in application volume has slowed review times.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

“It costs $50 to register, and $245 to complete your application for a total of $295. It costs $200 to recredential.”

Lived experience: a statement is required, and a two-year recovery rule was pending

📜 COPA CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

Every applicant files a Lived Experience Statement as part of the application.

Beyond that statement, COPA's guidance asked for a minimum of two years in recovery before applying — but only as a recommendation, with a planned March 2026 switch to a hard requirement.

The pages read on 2026-09-24 do not confirm whether that switch happened, so confirm your recovery-time status with COPA before you apply.

No other recovery-duration rule appears in the sources read.

“In addition to your Lived Experience Statement, a minimum of two years in recovery prior to applying for the CPFS certification is strongly recommended. This will become a requirement in March 2026.”

60 training hours: 46 core-domain plus 14 peer-focused

📜 COPA CPFS page and CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

Training totals 60 hours: 46 core-domain hours from COPA's Approved Training List — Advocacy 10, Ethics 16, Mentoring & Education 10, Recovery & Wellness Support 10, with no required harm-reduction hours — plus 14 additional hours that must be peer-focused, such as trauma-informed care or motivational interviewing.

Clinical trainings are not allowed, self-paced trainings are on the restriction list, and every training needs a certificate of completion.

Trainings that are not on the Approved Training List are considered on a case-by-case basis.

Eligibility also takes a high school diploma, a GED or a college transcript, and you must live or work in Colorado at least 51% of the time when you apply.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

“You must take 60 hours of trainings.”

500 hours of peer work and 25 hours of supervision before you apply

📜 COPA CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

The experience requirement is at least 500 hours of work in a peer role plus 25 hours of supervision, and it can be paid or volunteer.

Experience has to align with the IC&RC domains, and your supervisor has to check off on it.

Separately, HCPF's Medicaid billing rule gives peers who have completed all 60 hours of required training a reimbursable window of up to 6 months after training while they finish experience hours — a reimbursement rule, not a COPA application step, and HCPF follows BHA rule definitions without naming the certification or the training behind its 60 hours.

“You need at least 500 hours of work experience in a peer role, and 25 hours of supervision. This can be paid or volunteer.”

The IC&RC exam, with harm reduction on it now

📜 COPA CPFS page and CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

Certification ends with the IC&RC exam, which already tests harm-reduction competencies even though IC&RC does not require harm-reduction training hours until January 1, 2027.

You have one year from your CPFS Committee approval date to take the exam, and COPA's manual covers the fees for missed exam dates and retakes.

The domain weights are laid out in the IC&RC Candidate Guide that COPA links.

“IC&RC does not require training hours for harm reduction until January 1, 2027, but it's on the current exam as it's a vital part of providing care as a peer.”

Medicaid pays for peer services through the RAEs

📜 HCPF Peer Services page

Health First Colorado, the state Medicaid program, reimburses peer support services through the Capitated Behavioral Health Benefit, with Regional Accountable Entities (RAEs) contracting with enrolled providers; peers cannot submit claims themselves.

Effective July 1, 2025, HCPF limited the codes billable for individual contributions by Peer Support Professionals to H0038 (self-help/peer services) and H0023 (behavioral health outreach).

A second billing path runs through the Recovery Support Services Organization provider type (89/889), which requires an RSSO designation from the Behavioral Health Administration before enrolling with HCPF and contracting with an RAE.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

“Peer Support services are reimbursed through the Capitated Behavioral Health Benefit as outpatient behavioral health services.”

Billing supervision: Rendering Provider Oversight, not just a supervisor

📜 HCPF Peer Services page

Medicaid-billable peer services must be billed under the National Provider Identification (NPI) number of the Rendering Provider responsible for oversight — the licensed clinician who ensures the services delivered are medically necessary.

HCPF frames this as a federal constraint: unlicensed professionals, peers included, cannot independently deliver Medicaid-reimbursable behavioral health services in Colorado.

An employment supervisor or a mentoring peer can add support, but neither replaces Rendering Provider Oversight.

This billing rule is separate from the 25 supervision hours the CPFS application requires.

“The Rendering Provider is the licensed clinician who is responsible for ensuring that the services being delivered are medically necessary.”

Moving with the credential: IC&RC reciprocity

📜 COPA CPFS page and CPFS Quick Start Guide (posted 2025-09-12, updated September 10, 2026)

COPA markets the CPFS as portable: the credential is recognized beyond Colorado through IC&RC, which matters if you later leave the state.

For the reverse move — arriving with a peer credential earned elsewhere — the pages read describe no dedicated transfer route, so ask COPA how your existing certification and training hours count before you start over.

The 51% rule works in your favor if you live across a border but your peer work is in Colorado.

“Recognized in other states and countries through IC&RC, so your credential can go with you.”

Recredentialing: $200, with the cycle not stated in the sources read

📜 COPA CPFS page

Recredentialing with COPA costs $200.

What the pages read do not state is the renewal cycle and any continuing-education requirement — COPA keeps that detail in the CPFS Manual, which was not among the material read.

Get the cycle, the CE hours and any ethics requirement directly from COPA or the manual before you schedule your renewal.

2025–2026: certification now gates Medicaid reimbursement

📜 HCPF Peer Services page

Effective January 1, 2026, every Behavioral Health Peer Support Professional delivering RAE-billable services must be certified or in the process of becoming certified — meaning all 60 training hours complete, with services reimbursable for up to 6 months after training while experience hours are finished.

Agencies must attest to their RAE or RAEs by January 1 each year that their peers meet this standard.

Two more 2025 changes: the H0038/H0023 code limit took effect July 1, 2025, and COPA's September 12, 2025 Quick Start Guide flagged the two-year recovery requirement planned for March 2026.

“Effective January 1, 2026, all Behavioral Health Peer Support Professionals must either be certified or be in the process of becoming certified in order for the services they deliver to be reimbursable by a Health First Colorado Regional Accountable Entity (RAE).”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Colorado statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Colorado Providers Association (COPA), issuer of the CPFS credential publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Colorado.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Colorado Providers Association (COPA), issuer of the CPFS credential before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Colorado that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Colorado?

No. Colorado peer specialists are certified, not licensed.

The credential is the Colorado Certified Peer and Family Specialist (CPFS), issued by the Colorado Providers Association, a professional association whose credential follows IC&RC standards — not a state agency or licensing board.

From January 1, 2026, HCPF requires peers delivering Regional Accountable Entity (RAE)-billable services to be certified or in the process of becoming certified, following Behavioral Health Administration rule definitions; the sources read do not name which certification satisfies that rule.

Confirm current requirements with COPA before you apply.

How many training hours does the Colorado CPFS require?

60 hours.

That breaks into 46 core-domain hours from COPA's Approved Training List — Advocacy 10, Ethics 16, Mentoring & Education 10, Recovery & Wellness Support 10 — plus 14 additional hours that must be peer-focused.

Trainings not on the Approved Training List are considered on a case-by-case basis, clinical trainings are not allowed, and every training needs a certificate of completion.

You also need a high school diploma or GED — or a college transcript — and must live or work in Colorado at least 51% of the time at application.

Can I work as a peer in Colorado before I am certified?

Yes, for a limited window.

HCPF's rule lets peers who have completed all 60 hours of required training deliver reimbursable services for up to 6 months after finishing training while they complete their hours of experience and work toward certification.

Your agency must also attest to its Regional Accountable Entity by January 1 each year that its peers are certified or in process.

Ask your employer how the attestation covers you.

Can you be a peer specialist in Colorado with a criminal record?

The sources read for this page — COPA's CPFS page, its Quick Start Guide and HCPF's Peer Services page — do not state a background-check rule for the CPFS, so this page cannot say what COPA screens for.

COPA's CPFS Committee reviews every application, and employers run their own hiring checks separately.

Contact COPA directly about how a record affects eligibility before you pay the application fees.

Who oversees a peer specialist's Medicaid-billed work in Colorado?

For billing, oversight sits with the Rendering Provider — the licensed clinician responsible for ensuring the services delivered are medically necessary.

Peer services must be billed under that provider's NPI, and peers cannot submit claims themselves.

This Rendering Provider Oversight is separate from the 25 supervision hours the CPFS credential requires, and agencies may add employment supervisors or peer mentors, but neither replaces the Rendering Provider role.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Colorado
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Colorado & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Colorado Providers Association (COPA), issuer of the CPFS credential.