Colorado licenses substance abuse counselors through the State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners: a Certified Addiction Technician certificate at the high school floor, a Certified Addiction Specialist certificate at the bachelor's level, and the Licensed Addiction Counselor licence for master's- and doctoral-level clinicians — with an addiction counselor candidate registration underneath the LAC.
Supervised hours are 1,000 (CAT), 3,000 (CAS) and at least 2,000 direct of 3,000 total (LAC).
Every tier adds the Colorado jurisprudence exam.
There is no IC&RC counselor board; portability runs through rule 1.12.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
The addiction counselor candidate registration sits below the Certified Addiction Technician (CAT) and Certified Addiction Specialist (CAS) certificates; the Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC) licence is the top of the ladder.
All four are issued by the State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners (DORA) — a registration, two certificates and a licence, not a private board.
The Behavioral Health Administration sets training requirements, and titles are protected.
CAT: a high school diploma or its equivalent.
CAS: a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health concentration or human services equivalent.
LAC and candidate: a master's or doctoral degree in the behavioral health sciences, or a board-determined equivalent.
CAT: a minimum of one thousand hours over a minimum of six months.
CAS: a minimum of three thousand hours over a minimum of eighteen months (may include the CAT one thousand).
LAC: at least two thousand direct clinical hours by statute; rule 1.15 C.4 says 3000 hours of supervised experience with a minimum of 2000 direct clinical hours.
CAT: NAADAC's NCAC I.
CAS: NCAC II.
LAC: NAADAC's master addiction counselor examination.
Every tier and the candidate registration also pass the Colorado jurisprudence exam, and the exam must be passed within five years before application — for licensure, r.1.15 A.3 notes the candidate exceptions may apply.
LAC scope may include clinical evaluation and diagnosis, treatment planning, psychotherapy and clinical supervisory responsibilities, including treatment of co-occurring mental health disorders (§803(4)).
CAS practice may include clinical assessments including diagnostic impression; CAT and CAS practise under supervision or consultation.
Members of other licensed professions may render services within their scope so long as they do not represent themselves to be certified or licensed addiction counselors (§804(4)); LCSWs, LMFTs and LPCs who meet LAC education may supervise CAT/CAS candidates (§805(2.5)(c)).
Article 245 also does not apply to DHS, BHA and county human/social-services employees, and to personnel under their direct supervision and control, for work undertaken as part of that employment (§217(2)(b)); an out-of-state licensed or certified addiction counselor may practise in Colorado up to twenty days per year, within scope, not otherwise in violation of article 245, and disclosed (§217(2)(e)).
No counselor-level IC&RC member board in Colorado (COPA covers prevention and peer only).
Portability runs through rule 1.12: substantially equivalent credentials to §12-245-804, or one year on a current, unrestricted, in-good-standing licence with substantially similar scope.
Forty PDH each renewal cycle for certified and licensed addiction counselors; sixty PDH from the second candidate renewal (r.1.19 E).
A sixty-day grace period applies after expiration (r.1.9 B).
Cycle length: Not stated in the sources read.
A registration, not a certificate or licence: for applicants who already hold the master's or doctoral degree and are completing the remaining LAC requirements — the exams, the human-services-board education and training, and the supervised hours (§804(1)(d)–(g)).
If those are not met within three years of registration (one year with an equivalent out-of-state credential), the registration becomes subject to the 12-20-202 renewal, reinstatement and delinquency fee provisions; it is not voided (C.R.S.
12-245-804(3.7)).
A state certificate at the high school floor: holders have the right to practice addiction counseling under supervision or consultation, within a practice list limited to collecting screening data, case management, psychoeducation groups, education and referral (C.R.S.
12-245-805(1), (3)(a)).
A state certificate at the bachelor's level: practice under supervision or consultation may include treating substance use and co-occurring disorders and clinical assessments including diagnostic impression, and a CAS may supervise addiction counseling practice and provide clinical supervision toward CAT or CAS certification (C.R.S.
12-245-805(1), (2.5)(a), (3)(b)).
The licence, and the top of the ladder: the right to practice addiction counseling with a scope that may include clinical evaluation and diagnosis, psychotherapy and treatment of co-occurring disorders, and authority to supervise candidates for the LAC, CAT and CAS — and, if education-equivalent, LPC and LMFT candidates (C.R.S.
12-245-805(2), (2.5)(b); 12-245-803(4)–(5)).
Colorado regulates addiction counselors through a single state board, and every rung is a state credential.
CAT and CAS holders have the right to practice addiction counseling under supervision or consultation as the rules of the state board of human services require, and a CAS may supervise addiction counseling practice.
The LAC is the licence.
The candidate registration exists for master's-level applicants working toward the LAC and is under the board's jurisdiction.
There is no CAC I/II/III ladder today: CAT and CAS holders may use the title "certified addiction counselor" and the abbreviation CAC (§805(1)), and the rules mention a "certificate of addiction counseling, level III" only historically, through March 31, 2020 (r.1.15 B.2).
Titles are protected (§805; §217(1)).
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“Any person who possesses a valid, unsuspended, and unrevoked license as an addiction counselor has the right to practice addiction counseling and to use the title "licensed addiction counselor" or the abbreviation "LAC".”
The degree floor rises by tier: a high school diploma or its equivalent for the CAT, a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health concentration or human services equivalent for the CAS, and a master's or doctoral degree in the behavioral health sciences for the LAC and the candidate registration.
The Behavioral Health Administration's training sheets add specialty coursework on top: nine addiction specialty trainings totalling 154 hours for the CAT, eleven totalling 161 hours for the CAS, and seven totalling 112 hours for the LAC — the LAC sheet says these must be taken from a BHA-approved trainer with no educational equivalency.
The licensure rule requires training at the CAS level (r.1.15 B.3).
A non-conforming bachelor's or master's degree is approved or denied at the Addiction Board's discretion, per the BHA sheets.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“master's or doctoral degree in the behavioral health sciences from an accredited school, college, or university or an equivalent program as determined by the board”
The hours are stated per tier and never rounded: the CAT needs a minimum of one thousand hours of supervised clinical experience over a minimum of six months; the CAS a minimum of three thousand hours over a minimum of eighteen months, which may include the CAT one thousand.
For the LAC the statute says at least two thousand direct clinical hours, while rule 1.15 C.4 requires 3000 hours of supervised experience with a minimum of 2000 direct clinical hours — read both together and confirm the current figure with the board.
CAT hours may accrue before application, and BHA's sheet notes the 1,000 hours do not require DORA registration first.
For planning, BHA's clinical training page tells students it takes 18 months to earn the LAC hours.
Any additional criteria for the CAT hours sit in 2 CCR 502-1, which was not among the sources read.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“Has completed at least two thousand direct clinical hours of clinically supervised work experience in the addiction field. The clinical supervision may be in person or telesupervision.”
Each tier carries a NAADAC exam plus the Colorado jurisprudence exam: NCAC I for the CAT, NCAC II for the CAS, and the master addiction counselor examination administered by the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors for the LAC — the BHA sheets link the MAC and NCAC testing to caap.us.
Candidates also pass the jurisprudence exam (r.1.15 D.1).
The clock matters as much as the exam: it must be passed within five years before application, and experience and supervision completed more than five years before the application are not accepted absent good cause (r.1.14 A.3, r.1.15 A.3) — though r.1.15 A.3 adds that this may not apply in the statutory exceptions concerning addiction counselor candidates.
If your hours are older than that, plan a conversation with the board before you apply.
“An applicant for licensure must pass the required examination no more than five (5) years prior to the date of the application. Experience and supervision requirements that were completed by more than five (5) years before the date of application will not be accepted by the Board absent a showing of good cause, as determined by the Board.”
Choose the supervisor before the placement.
For LAC hours the board accepts as a supervisor a Colorado LAC, an addiction counselor licensed at the highest possible level in another jurisdiction, someone not licensed as an LAC there where the jurisdiction provided no such credential (the supervisor documents competence in the same field of addiction counseling), and other professionals with equivalent experience approved by the board case-by-case (r.1.15 C.3.a(1)–(2)).
For CAT and CAS hours the supervisor may be an LAC, LCSW, LMFT or LPC who has met the LAC education requirements set by the state board of human services (r.1.15 C.3.a(3); §805(2.5)(c)); a CAS may supervise CAT and CAS practice (§805(1), (2.5)(a)).
Group supervision counts only at not more than ten individuals at one time (r.1.15 C.1.b), and the supervisor keeps the hour records for five years.
BHA says master's students can earn hours during internship or practicum under a CAS or LAC.
“Consultation is not supervision. Experience under contract for consultation will not be credited toward fulfillment of supervision requirements.”
Diagnosis is not exclusive to the licence: §803(2)(c) names the ability to properly diagnose behavioral health disorders among the statute's four transdisciplinary foundations that underlie the work of all addiction counselors.
Among the credentials, the LAC scope expressly includes clinical evaluation and diagnosis (§803(4)); a CAS's practice may include treating substance use and co-occurring disorders and clinical assessments including diagnostic impression (§805(3)(b)); CAT practice is limited to a list that runs from collecting biopsychosocial screening data through case management, psychoeducation groups and referral (§805(3)(a)) — and both certificates practise under supervision or consultation (§805(1)).
Whether an LAC may open an independent or private practice is not stated in the sources read.
One cross-credential wrinkle: since HB 24-1045, an LAC who has met the LPC or LMFT education requirements may supervise candidates working toward those licences (§803(5)).
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“Based on education, training, knowledge, and experience, the scope of practice of a licensed addiction counselor includes behavioral health counseling and may include the treatment of substance use disorders, addictive behavioral disorders, and co-occurring mental health disorders, including clinical evaluation and diagnosis, treatment planning, service coordination, case management, clinical documentation, professional and ethical responsibilities, education and psychotherapy with clients, family, and community, clinical supervisory responsibilities, and intervention.”
Colorado has no counselor-level IC&RC member board — COPA, the Colorado board on the IC&RC directory, covers prevention and peer only — so there is no IC&RC-to-Colorado reciprocity to invoke, and an out-of-state IC&RC credential holder applies like anyone else.
The route is rule 1.12, the Occupational Credential Portability Program: substantially equivalent education, experience and credentials to §12-245-804, or at least one year holding a current, unrestricted licence in good standing in another jurisdiction with a substantially similar scope of practice.
Endorsement applicants for licensure and candidate registration also pass the board's jurisprudence examination (r.1.12 D), and the board may decline endorsement for non-equivalence or disciplinable conduct (r.1.12 B).
Separately, an addiction counselor licensed or certified in another state may practise in Colorado up to twenty days per year — within scope, not otherwise in violation of article 245, and disclosed to the public that the person is not licensed or certified in Colorado (§217(2)(e)).
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“Satisfactory proof that the applicant has held for at least one year a current and unrestricted license in good standing to practice addiction counseling in another jurisdiction with a scope of practice that is substantially similar to the scope of practice for the applicable credential pursuant to the Part 8 of the Mental Health Practice Act.”
Every credential renews through the same competence program: certified and licensed addiction counselors complete forty professional development hours (PDH) each renewal cycle against a personal learning plan, and candidates complete sixty PDH from the second renewal on (r.1.19 E).
No more than twenty PDH from a single activity count per cycle, at most five carry over (if earned within six months of expiry and in excess of the forty), and an original, reinstated or reactivated credential issued mid-cycle must accrue 1.66 PDH for each month or portion thereof certified or licensed during the current cycle (r.1.19 E.3).
There is a sixty-day grace period after expiration to renew without a disciplinary sanction for practising on the expired credential, with a delinquency fee for late renewal; someone who does not renew within the sixty days is treated as having an expired credential and is ineligible to practise until it is reinstated (r.1.9 B).
How long a renewal cycle lasts is not stated in the parts read — confirm with DORA.
“Certified and licensed addiction counselors shall complete forty PDH each renewal cycle in order to renew their license or certification. Registered addiction counselor candidates shall complete sixty PDH at the second and all subsequent renewal cycles.”
The recent changes cluster on the candidate registration.
SB 24-115 rewrote §804(3.7), effective 2024-08-07: candidates take the jurisprudence exam and accrue continuing professional competency hours, and if the LAC requirements are not met within the three years (or one year for an equivalent out-of-state credential) the registration falls under the renewal, reinstatement and delinquency fee provisions.
HB 24-1045, also effective 2024-08-07, added the education-equivalent LAC supervision of LPC and LMFT candidates at §803(5).
On the rule side, 4 CCR 744-1 was amended effective 2025-03-30 (rules 1.9, 1.13, 1.14 A.2, 1.15) and 2025-09-30 (rules 1.12 D, 1.15 C.3.a(3), 1.15 D, 1.24), with a correction effective 2025-10-07 — cite the current version.
“If the requirements of subsections (1)(d) to (1)(g) of this section are not met within three years after the date of registration as a candidate or within one year if the candidate holds an equivalent credential from another state, the registration of the addiction counselor candidate is subject to the renewal, reinstatement, and delinquency fee provisions specified in section 12-20-202.”
This page summarizes the Colorado statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners (Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Colorado.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners (Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Colorado that asks for it.
It depends on the level you want to practise at.
The CAT and CAS certificates authorize addiction counseling practice under supervision or consultation; the Licensed Addiction Counselor licence is the top credential, whose scope may include diagnosis and psychotherapy.
The titles "certified addiction counselor" and "CAC" are protected to certificate holders and "licensed addiction counselor" and "LAC" to licence holders.
Some settings sit outside article 245: DHS, BHA and county human/social-services employees, and personnel under their direct supervision and control, for work undertaken as part of that employment (§217(2)(b)); and religious ministry, which may not use the protected titles (§217(1)).
Confirm your intended role with the board.
Yes, at the CAT tier: it requires a high school diploma or its equivalent, a minimum of one thousand hours of supervised clinical experience over at least six months, NAADAC's NCAC I exam and the Colorado jurisprudence exam, plus BHA's nine specialty trainings (154 hours total).
The CAS needs a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health concentration or human services equivalent, and the LAC a master's or doctoral degree in the behavioral health sciences.
No. Colorado's current credentials are the CAT, CAS and LAC, plus the addiction counselor candidate registration.
The board's rules refer to a "certificate of addiction counseling, level III" only historically, through March 31, 2020 (r.1.15 B.2).
Today a CAT or CAS holder may use the title "certified addiction counselor" and the abbreviation CAC.
Older guides describing a CAC I/II/III ladder are describing Colorado's repealed structure.
For the CAT, hours may accrue before you apply — the statute counts hours accrued prior to application, and BHA's sheet notes the 1,000 hours do not require DORA registration first.
For the LAC, the candidate registration exists for master's-level applicants; if the remaining licensure requirements — the exams, education, training and supervised hours (§804(1)(d)–(g)) — are not met within three years of registration (one year with an equivalent out-of-state credential), the registration falls under the 12-20-202 renewal, reinstatement and delinquency fee provisions rather than being voided.
BHA says master's students can earn hours during internship or practicum under a CAS or LAC supervisor.
Yes.
The statute says the LAC scope of practice may include the treatment of substance use disorders, addictive behavioral disorders and co-occurring mental health disorders, including clinical evaluation and diagnosis, treatment planning and psychotherapy.
A CAS's practice may include clinical assessments including diagnostic impression; the CAT's practice list is narrower.
For anything at the edge of your intended practice, confirm scope with the board.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the State Board of Addiction Counselor Examiners (Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA).