🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Hawaii: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Hawaii certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The credential is the Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist (HCPS), issued by the state Department of Health's Adult Mental Health Division after its training and an oral and a written examination.

Applicants self-disclose recovery from mental illness and attest to a minimum of 12 consecutive months of self-directed recovery within the last two years.

Training and supervised-work hour totals are not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid pays for peer support under state plan amendment SPA TN 22-0003, effective May 1, 2022.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Hawaii, that is the Hawaii State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD), Office of Consumer Affairs.

At a glance

Credential titles

Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist (HCPS), the mental-health peer certification.

The Hawaii Forensic Peer Specialist (HFPS) is a grant-funded training and internship program, not a standing certification.

No SUD-specific peer credential was located in the sources read.

Certifier

The Hawaii State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD), through its Office of Consumer Affairs β€” a state agency.

The Office of Consumer Affairs also maintains the public HCPS registry.

Training

Attend the HCPS Training; an hour total is not stated in the sources read.

The 2024 application asks for documentation of completed WRAP, BRIDGES, Peer Educator, CPRP or other relevant training if applicable, plus three professional references.

Supervised or work hours

Not stated in the sources read.

Exam

Both formats: certification is awarded only after attending the HCPS Training and successfully passing oral and written examinations.

Lived experience

Required: the applicant self-discloses being a person in recovery from mental illness willing to share their recovery story, and β€” per the 2024 application β€” demonstrates a minimum of 12 consecutive months in self-directed recovery within the last two years.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered.

Medicaid state plan SPA TN 22-0003 (approval 11/28/2022, effective 05/01/2022) covers peer support provided by an AMHD-certified HCPS or a peer support program established by another State agency that meets existing and established national peer support criteria.

Renewal & CE

Annual, per the June 2012 handbook: 16 hours of continuing education each year with online trainings capped at 8 of the 16, and active status expires one year from the most recent renewal or certification date unless renewed; the handbook's currency is unconfirmed.

The 2022 SPA separately requires peer support providers to complete ongoing continuing educational requirements.

The Hawaii credential ladder

  1. Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist(HCPS)Independent

    The certification AMHD awards only after attending the HCPS Training and successfully passing both oral and written examinations.

    It is the credential Hawaii's Medicaid state plan names for peer support providers.

  2. Hawaii Forensic Peer Specialist(HFPS)Other

    A training and internship program under the federal Second Chance Act grant, coordinated by AMHD staff, with internships arranged on an individual basis.

    The sources read do not describe it as a standing certification.

One certification, a registry, and a grant-funded forensic program

πŸ“œ AMHD HCPS page; AMHD Hawaii Forensic Peer Specialist (HFPS) page

Hawaii's peer credential is the Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist (HCPS), a mental-health certification issued by AMHD; the program page notes it was modeled after Georgia's Certified Peer Specialist Project.

Certification is not the end of oversight: AMHD's Office of Consumer Affairs keeps a public registry of HCPS who met its certification standards.

Alongside it, the Hawaii Forensic Peer Specialist (HFPS) is a training and internship program funded through the federal Second Chance Act and coordinated by AMHD staff, not a standing certification, and no SUD-specific peer credential was located in the sources read.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œThe HCPS registry is maintained by the Office of Consumer Affairs and provides a listing of HCPS who have met certification standards established by the AMHD.”

Recovery from mental illness, self-disclosed, inside a 12-month window

πŸ“œ 2024 HCPS Training Application; AMHD HCPS page; HCPS Handbook (June 2012); SPA TN 22-0003 (approval 11/28/2022, effective 05/01/2022)

The credential is built on your own recovery from mental illness.

AMHD defines HCPS as persons in recovery from a mental illness certified by the division, and the 2024 application asks two gate questions: whether you are comfortable and willing to self-disclose that you are a person in recovery and to share your recovery story and lived experiences, and whether in the last two years you have demonstrated a minimum of 12 consecutive months in self-directed recovery.

The June 2012 handbook spelled out the same window and added that self-directed recovery includes experience in leadership, advocacy, and peer support; the handbook also required a primary diagnosis of mental illness or co-occurring disorder, with a single, primary diagnosis of a substance use disorder not meeting its certification requirements β€” an eligibility bar whose currency is unconfirmed.

The 2022 SPA, by contrast, describes peer providers as self-identified consumers in recovery from mental illness, physical illness and/or substance use disorders, so confirm current eligibility with the Office of Consumer Affairs rather than assuming the 2012 exclusion still applies unchanged.

β€œAre you comfortable and willing to self-disclose that you are a person in recovery from mental illness and willing to share your recovery story and lived experiences?”

The application packet: references, ethics signatures, and prior training evidence

πŸ“œ 2024 HCPS Training Application; HCPS Handbook (June 2012)

A training-hour total is not stated in the sources read; what the sources state is the packet around the HCPS Training.

The 2024 application requires a completed application, three professional references, a signed HCPS Code of Ethics, a signed Scope of Activities, documentation of any completed WRAP, BRIDGES, Peer Educator, CPRP or other relevant training if applicable, and a signed Intention to Become a Certified and Employed HCPS.

The June 2012 handbook's standards add age 18 or older, a high school diploma or GED, and completion of an AMHD Office of Consumer Affairs-approved Peer Specialist Training Program; that handbook's currency is unconfirmed, so verify these standards with the Office of Consumer Affairs.

Note the employment attestation: Hawaii's certification path is written for people who intend to work as an HCPS, not for collecting the credential alone.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œNote: A Professional Reference cannot be a family member.”

Two examinations, oral and written

πŸ“œ AMHD HCPS page; HCPS Handbook (June 2012)

Hawaii tests its peer specialists in two formats.

The AMHD page conditions certification on attending the HCPS Training and then passing both an oral and a written examination; the June 2012 handbook β€” whose currency is unconfirmed β€” describes the tested content as the certification competencies, shown through testing and evaluation in a recognized training program.

Format, length and pass marks for the current exams are not stated in the sources read, so confirm the arrangements with the Office of Consumer Affairs when your application is in.

β€œIndividuals are awarded certification only after attending the HCPS Training, and successfully passing both oral and written examinations.”

Medicaid covers peer support under SPA TN 22-0003

πŸ“œ SPA TN 22-0003 (approval 11/28/2022, effective 05/01/2022); HCPS Handbook (June 2012)

Hawaii's Medicaid state plan pays for peer support services.

SPA TN 22-0003 was approved on November 28, 2022 and took effect May 1, 2022, placing peer support in the state plan's community mental health rehabilitative services and naming two qualifying providers: an AMHD-certified HCPS, or a peer support program established by another State agency meeting existing and established national peer support criteria.

Covered services require a written individualized plan of care developed with the participation of a qualified mental health professional, prior authorization and monthly assessments, and are not provided in an institution for mental disease.

The June 2012 handbook adds an employment condition for reimbursable service: the HCPS must be employed to work in the role as a paid Certified Peer Specialist by an agency that is funded by AMHD and authorized to participate in the Medicaid Rehabilitation Option (MRO) program β€” handbook-derived, currency unconfirmed, so confirm an employer's MRO authorization with the Office of Consumer Affairs before you count on billing.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œPeer support services may be provided to Medicaid consumers and their family members (or parents/caretakers) by a peer support specialist certified by the State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD) as part of their Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist (HCPS) program or a peer support program established by another State agency that meets existing and established national peer support criteria.”

Supervision: a mental health professional, for billing and for AMHD-funded employment

πŸ“œ SPA TN 22-0003 (approval 11/28/2022, effective 05/01/2022); HCPS Handbook (June 2012)

The supervision rule appears twice, in two different documents.

For Medicaid billing, the state plan requires that supervision is provided by a mental health professional, as defined by the State; it names no titles, hours or ratios, so employing agencies set arrangements within the state's definition.

Beyond billing, the June 2012 handbook's employment guidelines require HCPSs employed by AMHD-funded programs to be under the general supervision of a mental health professional in accordance with acceptable guidelines and standards of practice as defined by the State, and repeat the requirement for provider agencies whose HCPS services are not Medicaid-covered β€” dated handbook, currency unconfirmed.

Either way, ask a prospective employer exactly which clinician supervises peer staff and how the state definition is met before you count on a particular arrangement.

β€œSupervision is provided by a mental health professional (as defined by the State)”

Moving to Hawaii: no individual reciprocity process in the sources read

πŸ“œ HCPS Handbook (June 2012); SPA TN 22-0003

If you hold a peer certification earned elsewhere, no inbound reciprocity or endorsement process for individual peer certifications appears in the sources read; certification runs through AMHD's own application, training and examinations.

The only related bridge sits in the Medicaid state plan, which recognizes peer support programs established by other State agencies that meet national peer support criteria β€” a program-level provision, not a certification transfer.

The June 2012 handbook did give the Office of Consumer Affairs room to consider other evidence-based or best practice Peer Specialist Training Programs when documentation of curriculum, requirements and competencies is submitted, so prior training may shorten the path even where a credential does not transfer; confirm both points with OCA before you apply.

β€œOther evidence-based or best practice Peer Specialist Training Programs may be considered if appropriate documentation related to the program's curriculum, requirements and competencies is submitted to OCA.”

Annual renewal, 16 CE hours, and a dated-handbook caveat

πŸ“œ HCPS Handbook (June 2012); SPA TN 22-0003 (approval 11/28/2022, effective 05/01/2022)

The renewal rules on record come from the June 2012 handbook, and their currency is unconfirmed, so treat them as the last published statement and verify with the Office of Consumer Affairs.

As the handbook frames it, HCPSs complete 16 hours of continuing education trainings, seminars, workshops, or college courses each year, earned within the January–December period, with online trainings capped at 8 of the 16.

Renewal applications are due at least 45 calendar days before the recertification date, the handbook requires no reports of Code of Ethics violations, and unless certification is renewed, active status expires one year from the most recent renewal or certification date.

The CE requirement itself has a current source: SPA TN 22-0003 requires peer support providers to complete training and certification as defined by the State and to complete ongoing continuing educational requirements β€” the hour figures above remain the handbook's.

β€œAs of January 2012, HCPSs must complete 16 hours of continuing education trainings, seminars, workshops, or college courses each year.”

The 2022 SPA, a 2024 working group, and a form that predates both

πŸ“œ Peer Support Specialists Working Group minutes (December 18, 2024); 2024 HCPS Training Application

The largest recent change predates the 2023–2026 window: SPA TN 22-0003 took effect May 1, 2022 and put peer support into the Medicaid state plan.

Since then, the Peer Support Specialists Working Group under the Governor's Office of Wellness and Resilience met on December 18, 2024 and discussed statewide certification with possible specializations; the outcome is not established in the sources read.

The application packet linked from the AMHD page was posted in 2024, but each form inside carries an internal revision date of 05/01/2011, so the process this page describes is the packet as posted β€” check with the Office of Consumer Affairs for anything newer.

Scope: no diagnosis, no medication, no clinical services

πŸ“œ 2024 HCPS Training Application (Scope of Activities); HCPS Handbook (June 2012)

The Scope of Activities every applicant signs draws the lines of the role.

Certified Peer Specialists teach and model recovery, facilitate recovery dialogues, help peers build recovery plans such as WRAP or a crisis plan, assist with self-advocacy and documentation, and share the peer perspective with non-peer staff.

The limits are equally explicit: certification does not make the specialist qualified to diagnose an illness, prescribe medication, or provide clinical services.

The Code of Ethics applicants sign runs from confidentiality and non-discrimination to never engaging in sexual or intimate activities with peers served, and the June 2012 handbook, whose currency is unconfirmed, ties renewal to having no reports of Code of Ethics violations.

β€œCertification does not imply that the Certified Peer Specialist is qualified to diagnose an illness, prescribe medication, or provide clinical services.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Hawaii statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Hawaii State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD), Office of Consumer Affairs publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Hawaii.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Hawaii State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD), Office of Consumer Affairs before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Hawaii that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist a license?

No. Hawaii certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

The Hawaii Certified Peer Specialist (HCPS) is a certification issued by the Hawaii State Department of Health's Adult Mental Health Division through its Office of Consumer Affairs, which also maintains the public HCPS registry.

There is no state peer support licence in Hawaii.

What are the steps to become an HCPS in Hawaii?

Apply to AMHD's Office of Consumer Affairs with the completed application, three professional references (a family member cannot be one), your signed Code of Ethics and Scope of Activities, and any documentation of WRAP, BRIDGES, Peer Educator, CPRP or similar training.

The application asks you to self-disclose recovery from mental illness and to confirm a minimum of 12 consecutive months in self-directed recovery in the last two years.

Then attend the HCPS Training and pass both the oral and written examinations.

How many training hours does the HCPS require?

That total is not stated in the sources read.

The published requirement is to attend the HCPS Training and pass both examinations; the June 2012 handbook framed it as completing an AMHD Office of Consumer Affairs-approved Peer Specialist Training Program, with mastery of the listed competencies shown through testing.

Because the handbook is dated and its currency is unconfirmed, ask the Office of Consumer Affairs what the current training and hour expectations are before you apply.

Does Hawaii Medicaid cover peer support services?

Yes.

SPA TN 22-0003, approved November 28, 2022 and effective May 1, 2022, covers peer support for Medicaid consumers and their family members or parents/caretakers when provided by an AMHD-certified HCPS or a peer support program established by another State agency that meets existing and established national peer support criteria.

The June 2012 handbook adds an employment condition for reimbursable service: a paid HCPS role at an agency AMHD funds and that is authorized for the Medicaid Rehabilitation Option (MRO) β€” its currency is unconfirmed, so confirm the employer's MRO authorization.

Supervision must be provided by a mental health professional, as defined by the State.

Can I transfer an out-of-state peer certification to Hawaii?

No reciprocity process for individual peer certifications appears in the sources read.

The only related bridge is in the Medicaid state plan: peer support programs established by other State agencies that meet national peer support criteria can serve Medicaid consumers, but that is a program-level provision, not a certification transfer.

Ask AMHD's Office of Consumer Affairs whether your training counts toward anything before you apply; the June 2012 handbook let other evidence-based or best-practice training programs be considered with documentation.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Hawaii
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Hawaii & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Hawaii State Department of Health, Adult Mental Health Division (AMHD), Office of Consumer Affairs.