🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Hawaii: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Hawaii does not license substance abuse counselors — the state certifies them.

The Department of Health's Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD) issues the Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC) under HRS § 321-193(10) and HAR chapter 11-177.1, and ADAD is itself Hawaii's IC&RC member board.

The standard route starts at a high school diploma: 270 hours of SUD education, 6,000 clinically supervised hours, 400 Twelve-Core training hours and the IC&RC exam.

No rule requiring the certification to practise was located in the sources read.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Hawaii, that is the Hawaii State Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD).

At a glance

Credential tiers

The Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC) with high school, bachelor's and master's routes, plus the Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS), Certified Substance Abuse Program Administrator (CSAPA), Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) and Certified Criminal Justice Professional (CCJP), and CSAC categories for already-licensed professionals.

Type and issuing body

A state certification, not a licence, issued by the Department of Health's Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD) under HRS § 321-193(10) and HAR chapter 11-177.1.

ADAD is itself Hawaii's IC&RC member board.

Degree floor

High school diploma or its equivalent (HAR § 11-177.1-16); a bachelor's route in social work, psychology, counseling psychology, substance abuse counseling or another counseling or mental health field (§ 11-177.1-17); a master's or higher in those majors (§ 11-177.1-18).

Supervised hours

Six thousand hours of clinically supervised work experience providing direct alcohol and drug treatment services; 4,000 with the qualifying bachelor's; 2,000 with a master's or higher; plus 400 hours of supervised practical training in the Twelve-Core functions, 20 minimum in each.

Exams

Applicants must pass the IC&RC Examination — computer-based, 150 multiple-choice questions, 3 hours permitted, $125 testing fee.

The ADAD documents read say only “Exam Required” and “the IC&RC Examination”; the IC&RC member-board directory lists ADC as the exam behind the CSAC.

Scope and diagnosis

No scope-of-practice section was located; the rule's definition has the CSAC directly providing assessment, treatment planning and implementation, counseling, and discharge planning as they relate to substance abuse treatment.

Whether a CSAC may diagnose: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

HAR chapter 11-177.1 sets separate CSAC categories for licensed physicians, psychologists, social workers, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors and APRNs (§§ 11-177.1-10 to -15); those categories are not eligible for reciprocity.

IC&RC reciprocity

Yes — into ADAD itself, the member board: addiction professionals certified by an IC&RC member board who relocated to Hawaii may transfer their credential to ADAD through the reciprocity process.

The IC&RC member-board directory lists reciprocal CSAC, CCS, CCJP and CPS credentials and notes a 51% residency requirement for all certified professionals and reciprocity applicants.

Renewal & CE

A two-year certification (HAR § 11-177.1-22).

CSAC renewal: 40 ADAD-approved CE hours, six in SUD Ethics.

The licensed-professional CSAC categories (LCSW, LMFT, LMHC, APRN, physician, psychologist) renew with 16 hours, six in SUD Ethics. $25 renewal fee.

The Hawaii credential ladder

  1. Certified Substance Abuse Counselor(CSAC)Independent

    A state certification, not a licence: the core credential the Department of Health's ADAD issues under HRS § 321-193(10) and HAR chapter 11-177.1, with a high school route (§ 11-177.1-16), a bachelor's route (§ 11-177.1-17) and a master's route (§ 11-177.1-18).

    Reciprocity-eligible CSAC categories carry IC&RC recognition because ADAD is the member board.

  2. Certified Clinical Supervisor(CCS)Supervisor

    A separate ADAD certification among the chapter's categories; renewal takes 40 CE hours, six in SUD Ethics, and you must be an active CSAC.

    The rule text read does not make the CCS a prerequisite for supervising CSAC applicants — § 11-177.1-16(c)(3) instead requires the 400 practical-training hours under a CSAC certified in a reciprocity-eligible category.

  3. Certified Substance Abuse Program Administrator(CSAPA)Other

    A state certification for program administrators under HAR § 11-177.1-19: 6,000 hours of clinically supervised work experience in a substance abuse program in an administrative position requiring, at a minimum, organizational planning and development, program management, human resources management, financial management, and professional responsibility, plus the department's exam requirements.

  4. CSAC with a License (licensed-professional categories)Other

    State certification categories under HAR §§ 11-177.1-10 to -15 for professionals already licensed by the state: physicians and psychologists (specialty and general), social workers, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors and APRNs.

    They are not eligible for reciprocity, and ADAD's renewal instructions say holders may not supervise a candidate working on the 12 Core Functions.

A state certification, not a licence — and ADAD is the IC&RC board

📜 HRS § 321-193(10); HAR §§ 11-177.1-4 to -19; ADAD certification page

Hawaii has no substance abuse counselor licence.

ADAD, within the Department of Health, certifies counselors and program administrators, and HAR chapter 11-177.1 lays out fourteen categories: the CSAC routes at §§ 11-177.1-16 (high school), -17 (bachelor's) and -18 (master's); categories for licensed physicians, psychologists, social workers, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors and APRNs at §§ -10 to -15; and the CSAPA, CPS, CCS, CCJP and co-occurring disorders diplomate credentials.

Because ADAD is Hawaii's IC&RC member board, the state certification and the IC&RC-recognized credential come from the same body.

The sources read contain no rule requiring this certification to practise.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“In accordance with Hawaii Revised Statutes 321-193(10), the Department of Health's Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division certifies substance abuse counselors and program administrators.”

270 SUD-specific hours, plus six-hour blocks in ethics, Part 2 and HIV/AIDS

📜 HAR §§ 11-177.1-16(b), -17(c), -18(c); ADAD CSAC application instructions (2024)

Every CSAC route requires a minimum of 270 hours of substance abuse specific education, and all three carry the same add-ons: six hours on professional ethics, six hours on Title 42 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 2, and six hours on HIV and AIDS.

ADAD's 2024 application instructions total the education requirement at 300 hours, 270 of them SUD-specific — the rule text and the form do not state the figure the same way, so check both when you document.

The instructions also cap distance learning at 50%, or 135 hours.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“Six hours of education on HIV and AIDS including issues related to confidentiality of records.”

6,000 hours — or 4,000 with a bachelor's, 2,000 with a master's

📜 HAR §§ 11-177.1-16(a), -17(a)–(b), -18(a)–(b); ADAD CSAC application instructions (2024)

The high school route requires six thousand hours of clinically supervised work experience providing direct alcohol and drug treatment services.

A bachelor's degree with a major in social work, psychology, counseling psychology, substance abuse counseling or another counseling or mental health field drops the total to 4,000 hours; a master's or higher in those majors drops it to 2,000.

A certificate in substance abuse counseling from an accredited school may be substituted for 2,000 hours of the high school route.

Two timing rules from ADAD's 2024 instructions matter for planning: you must be currently employed in the qualifying position when you apply, and only employment within the last three years may be counted toward the total.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“six thousand hours of clinically supervised work experience providing direct alcohol and drug treatment services”

The IC&RC exam: 150 questions, $125, and a 90-day wait after a fail

📜 HAR §§ 11-177.1-20, -21; ADAD CSAC application instructions (2024); ADAD certification page; IC&RC member-board directory

The rule requires an exam for every category and gates testing behind an approved application: no permanent revocation in the previous five years, a criminal history check, at least one exam cycle per year, 21 days' notice, and an application and fee that stay valid for three years.

ADAD's 2024 instructions name the exam as the IC&RC Examination — computer-based, 150 multiple-choice questions, 3 hours permitted — and the IC&RC member-board directory lists ADC as the exam behind the Hawaii CSAC, though no ADAD document read names the level.

The testing fee is $125.

If you do not pass, you wait 90 days to request a new testing application.

Retakes are bounded on both sides: § 11-177.1-21 keeps re-examination within the valid three-year period of the original application, and a candidate who fails three consecutive times must obtain 480 additional hours of clinically supervised work experience and possibly further education before reapplying.

“Applicants must pass the IC&RC Examination”

400 Twelve-Core hours, under a reciprocity-eligible CSAC

📜 HAR § 11-177.1-16(c), (a)(1); ADAD renewal application instructions (rev. 10/01/24)

On top of the work-experience total, the applicant documents 400 hours of supervised practical training in the Twelve-Core function areas, with a minimum of 20 hours in each core function; those hours may be counted within the route's larger total.

The supervisor of those hours must be a certified substance abuse counselor certified in a category eligible for reciprocity, and the clinical supervisor documenting your experience must be employed or contracted by the program or agency where it is gained.

ADAD's renewal instructions confirm the flip side: holders of the licensed-professional CSAC categories "will not be eligible for reciprocity or to supervise a candidate working on the 12 Core Functions."

If you are choosing a first supervisor, that category restriction is the one to check.

“The four hundred hours shall be completed under the supervision of a certified substance abuse counselor certified in a category which is eligible for reciprocity.”

What the definition covers, and the gaps the sources leave

📜 HAR § 11-177.1 (definition, as quoted in ADAD's 2024 CSAC application instructions); ADAD certification page

No scope-of-practice section was located in HAR chapter 11-177.1 or in ADAD's materials.

The rule's own definition is the closest text: a CSAC provides the twelve-core functions and, at a minimum, the four services in the quote, as they relate to substance abuse treatment.

Whether a CSAC may diagnose is not stated in the sources read.

One concrete scope application does appear: since October 1, 2017, ADAD has maintained a list of CSACs who perform the mandatory assessments of people charged with operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant, as a private enterprise on a client self-pay basis.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

““Substance abuse counselor” means a person who through both education and demonstrated experience, is capable of providing the twelve-core functions and, at a minimum, directly provides assessment, treatment planning and implementation, counseling, and discharge planning, as they relate to substance abuse treatment.”

Moving to Hawaii: reciprocity runs through ADAD itself

📜 HAR §§ 11-177.1-16(g), -17(i), -18(i), -10 to -15; ADAD certification page; IC&RC member-board directory

Because ADAD is the IC&RC member board, an IC&RC transfer lands directly in state hands.

All three CSAC routes gate reciprocity the same way — §§ 11-177.1-16(g), -17(i) and -18(i) open it to a counselor in good standing with an IC&RC member board — and the Hawaii certificate issued on approval cannot outlast your original: its expiration is capped at the original's current expiration date.

ADAD's certification page supplies the process: request a reciprocity application from your current board, complete it together, and ADAD reviews it and advises whether additional requirements are needed before you become a Hawaii CSAC.

The IC&RC member-board directory adds two practical notes: Hawaii has a 51% residency requirement for all certified professionals and reciprocity applicants, and AADC-level holders reciprocate into ADAD at the ADC level because no AADC reciprocal credential is offered.

The directory lists reciprocal CSAC, CCS, CCJP and CPS credentials; the licensed-professional categories at §§ 11-177.1-10 to -15 state the opposite — they are not eligible for reciprocity.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“A counselor in good standing with an International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium member board, who desires to practice in the State of Hawaii, may apply for reciprocity.”

Two-year certification; renewal CE runs from 16 to 40 hours by category

📜 HAR §§ 11-177.1-22, -10(c), -11(d)(3), -12(c), -13(d)(3), -14(d)(3), -15(d)(3); ADAD renewal application instructions (rev. 10/01/24)

Every category certifies for two years at a time.

At renewal, a CSAC documents 40 ADAD-approved continuing education hours, six of them in SUD Ethics.

General physician and general psychologist CSACs document sixteen contact hours completed within the current certification period (HAR §§ 11-177.1-11(d)(3), -13(d)(3)); the CSAC with a License (LCSW, LMFT, LMHC) and APRN categories document 16 ADAD-approved hours, six in SUD Ethics, plus a licence copy.

The specialty physician and psychologist categories differ: their rules set no CE hours — recertification takes the specialty certification or proficiency certificate plus the current Hawaii licence (§§ 11-177.1-10(c), -12(c)) — while ADAD's renewal table lists 16 ADAD-approved hours, six in SUD Ethics, plus the licence copy and the Proficiency Certificate.

The CPS, CCS, CCJP and CSAPA credentials renew with 40 hours each — six in Prevention Ethics for the CPS, six in SUD Ethics for the other three.

CEs must fall within the current renewal period; duplicates and CEs under 1.0 hour do not count.

The renewal fee is $25.

“Certification for each category shall be granted for a period of two years to an individual who satisfactorily meets all of the requirements specific to the category applied for and all other requirements of this chapter.”

A 2010 rule scan; 2023 documentation enforcement; forms revised into 2026

📜 HAR ch. 11-177.1 (amended and compiled 2010); ADAD certification page

The rules exist on ADAD's site as the 2010 amended-and-compiled HAR chapter, and no post-2010 amendment to chapter 11-177.1 appears in the sources read.

What has moved is process: since June 26, 2023, failing to submit required documentation can result in rejection of the application or hinder its review; the renewal instructions were revised October 1, 2024; and the fillable certification application was updated September 16, 2026, with the work-verification form updated September 10, 2026.

ADAD also warns that response times can run up to 8–12 weeks given candidate volume, and all applications, renewals and educational documents must be mailed to the office.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Hawaii statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Hawaii State Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Hawaii.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Hawaii State Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Hawaii that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Hawaii?

Hawaii does not issue a substance abuse counselor licence — it certifies.

The Department of Health's ADAD issues the Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC), and the sources read contain no rule requiring that certification to practise, so this page cannot tell you the CSAC is legally required.

Some settings do involve the credential: ADAD keeps a list of CSACs who perform the mandatory assessments for people charged with OVUII.

Confirm current expectations with ADAD.

How many supervised hours do you need for the Hawaii CSAC?

It depends on your route: 6,000 hours with a high school diploma or equivalent, 4,000 with a qualifying bachelor's, or 2,000 with a master's or higher in the listed majors.

A certificate in substance abuse counseling from an accredited school substitutes for 2,000 hours.

Add 400 Twelve-Core training hours (20 minimum per function).

Only employment within the last three years counts, and you must be currently employed in the qualifying position when you apply.

Can I transfer an out-of-state certification to Hawaii?

Yes — ADAD is itself Hawaii's IC&RC member board, so reciprocity runs into the regulator.

HAR § 11-177.1-16(g) opens it to a counselor in good standing with an IC&RC member board: request a reciprocity application from your current board, complete it together, and ADAD will review it and advise whether additional requirements are needed before you receive the Hawaii CSAC.

The IC&RC member-board directory notes a 51% residency requirement for certified professionals and reciprocity applicants, and your new certificate cannot expire later than your original.

The licensed-professional CSAC categories are not eligible for reciprocity.

How long is a Hawaii CSAC good for, and what CE does renewal require?

Two years — HAR § 11-177.1-22 grants each category a two-year certification period.

A CSAC renews with 40 ADAD-approved CE hours, six in SUD Ethics.

The general physician and general psychologist categories renew with sixteen contact hours (§§ 11-177.1-11(d)(3), -13(d)(3)); the LCSW/LMFT/LMHC and APRN categories with 16 ADAD-approved hours plus a copy of the current Hawaii licence.

The specialty physician/psychologist rules set no CE hours — recertification takes the specialty certificate plus the licence (§§ -10(c), -12(c)) — while ADAD's renewal table lists 16 hours and the Proficiency Certificate.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Hawaii
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Hawaii & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Hawaii State Department of Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division (ADAD).