Idaho certifies peer support specialists; it does not license them.
IDAPA 16.07.19 sets the qualifications β though IDHW's site links a peer-rule repeal FAQ that was not read β and the IDHW CPSS Standards and BPA Health's guide restate them.
BPA Health, the contracted certifying agency, administers the process: a state-recognized 40-hour training, a post-training exam at 80% or higher, and 100 or 200 work hours plus at least 20 supervised hours.
In most cases, training graduates start on a six-month certification.
Lived experience in mental health recovery is required; a substance use disorder alone does not qualify.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Support Specialist (CPSS) and Certified Family Support Partner (CFSP), both under IDAPA 16.07.19; the IDHW CPSS Standards cover CPSS, while CFSP has its own standards document on IDHW's page (not read).
IDHW's recovery-coaching page also names two IBADCC credentials for Idaho, Certified Recovery Coach and Certified Peer Recovery Coach; IBADCC's own pages were not retrieved and were not researched.
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Behavioral Health, through its contracted certifying agency BPA Health (a private agency designated by the state).
Forty (40) hours of training recognized by the State of Idaho, covering the 20 competency areas IDAPA lists; a high school diploma or GED, and age 18 or older.
One hundred (100) hours of peer support specialist experience with a bachelor's degree in a human services field, or two hundred (200) hours without one, plus at least twenty (20) hours of supervised peer support work or volunteer experience.
A six-month certification covers the accrual.
A post-training exam passed with a score of 80% or higher, per the IDHW CPSS Standards.
The training entity establishes the exam and skill competencies.
Recovery from mental illness, or from mental illness with a co-occurring substance use disorder.
A substance use disorder alone does not qualify.
The responsibility of the agency or place of employment, and not part of the certification process, per the IDHW CPSS Standards.
The sources read name no offense list or look-back period.
Blue Cross of Idaho provider administrative policy HCBS 307 lists Peer Support Services as a Medicaid-only behavioral health service.
The primary Idaho Medicaid vehicle was not read and is UNVERIFIED.
Annual renewal, with ten (10) hours of continued education related to the competency areas including at least one (1) hour of ethics.
A six-month certification the rule says may be granted under Section 111 of IDAPA 16.07.19 to an applicant who lacks the required experience, held while accruing the 100 or 200 work hours and the 20 supervised hours.
The Certification Guide 2026 says applicants can be paid employees during this period, and that in most cases applicants who have just completed training receive it.
The full certification, issued once the experience hours are documented and renewed annually with ten hours of continued education including one hour of ethics.
It is a certification, not a licence.
A certified peer providing services must be under the direct supervision of a CPSS Supervisor (IDHW standards 1.8.9), and CPSS supervisors are designated by each agency that employs certified peers (1.9.7).
The sources read do not describe a separate supervisor certification application.
A parallel certification under the same rule and the same certifying agency, for people whose lived experience is raising a child with mental illness and navigating child-serving systems, per the IDHW peer and family support page.
Two credentials sit under IDAPA 16.07.19: the Certified Peer Support Specialist, which the IDHW CPSS Standards cover, and the Certified Family Support Partner, which has its own standards document on IDHW's page (not read).
The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare's Division of Behavioral Health sits over the rule, but certification itself is administered by BPA Health, a private agency under IDHW contract.
Applicants who have not yet completed the experience hours can be granted a six-month certification first β in most cases those just out of training β and otherwise certification runs for one year; certified peers work under a CPSS Supervisor designated by their agency.
The CFSP is a parallel track for parents and caregivers rather than a rung above CPSS.
Note for career-changers from substance-use settings: IDHW's recovery-coaching page names two IBADCC credentials, the Certified Recovery Coach and the Certified Peer Recovery Coach, but IBADCC's own pages were not retrieved and their requirements were not researched, so this page covers only the IDHW and BPA Health certifications.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βBPA Health administers the certification process for Peer Support Specialists and Family Support Partners.β
The administrative rule requires each applicant to identify as an individual with lived experience in recovery from mental illness, or from mental illness with a co-occurring substance use disorder.
The IDHW standards draw the boundary in plain terms: having lived with a substance use disorder only, without a mental health illness, does not qualify a person to become a certified peer.
The standards also describe a certified peer as someone with at least one year of lived experience receiving behavioral health services and at least one year of ongoing recovery.
At the training stage, the lived-experience claim is documented through a Lived Experience Essay under standards 1.2.1.1.
βEach applicant identifies as an individual with lived experience in recovery from mental illness or mental illness with a co-occurring substance use disorder.β
The rule requires forty (40) hours of training covering the 20 Peer Support Specialist competency areas it lists, from motivation and empowerment to community resources, and the standards set those hours as face-to-face instruction, or virtual if necessary, with training bodies separate from the certifying agency.
The Certification Guide 2026 narrows which course counts: it must be recognized by the State of Idaho and completed before applying, and the application must include a certificate of completion and a letter of notification from the training organization showing you passed the comprehension exam.
Applicants also sign the Code of Ethics Acknowledgment found within the certification application, and document education: a high school diploma or GED, or a bachelor's degree or higher in a human services field, verified with the application.
Before training, applicants go through the training entity's screening interview and submit a Lived Experience Essay and two letters of recommendation, one personal and one professional (standards 1.2.1.1 through 1.2.1.3).
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βTraining is 40 hours of face-to-face instruction or virtual training if necessary. Training bodies are separate from the certifying agency.β
The rule scales the experience requirement to education: an applicant with a bachelor's degree in a human services field documents one hundred (100) hours of peer support specialist experience, and an applicant without one documents two hundred (200) hours.
Every applicant, either route, documents at a minimum twenty (20) hours of supervised peer support work or volunteer experience.
An applicant who lacks the required experience can be granted a six-month certification under Section 111 of the rule and accrue the hours while certified.
The BPA Certification Guide 2026 fills in the practice: the certification awarded is valid for 6 months or 1 year based on the certification requirements met, in most cases applicants who have just completed training receive the six-month one because the work and supervision hours remain, hours can be accrued as a paid employee, and a four-month extension is available for hours.
The guide requires the 20 supervision hours to come from someone holding a bachelor's degree or higher in a human services field who serves in a supervisory capacity at your organization.
βAn applicant documents at a minimum twenty (20) hours of supervised peer support services work or volunteer experience.β
The exam sits at the end of training: a certified peer candidate passes a post-training exam with a score of 80% or higher and also demonstrates skill competencies during the training.
The training entity establishes the exam and the skill competencies, and the certifying agency may review them, so the test is built into the 40-hour course rather than run as a separate state examination.
Accommodations β examples include extra time, a separate room, and use of a computer, among others β are provided as deemed necessary by the applicant taking the exam (standards 1.2.1.4.1).
The BPA Certification Guide 2026 asks applicants to submit the training certificate showing the comprehension exam was passed.
The sources read name no separate state-run exam.
βCertified peer candidate passes a post-training exam with a score of 80% or higher and successfully demonstrates skill competencies during the training.β
Idaho puts the criminal background check on the employment side, not the certification side.
The standards' special-considerations language ties eligibility to provide peer support services to the nature of the employment and to whether the certified peer passes a check, and states plainly that checks are the agency's or employer's responsibility.
The standards repeat the point in the agency-responsibility section: checks may be required by law and rule, but they are not part of the certification process.
The sources read name no offense categories, look-back periods, or waiver process for this credential, so ask a prospective employer about its requirements before you apply.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βEligibility to provide peer support services may depend on the nature of the employment and whether the certified peer passes a criminal background check. Background checks are the responsibility of the agency or place of employment.β
The Medicaid document read for this page is Blue Cross of Idaho's provider administrative policy HCBS 307, a managed-care plan policy dated July 2014 and reviewed October 2024.
It describes Peer Support Services as a community-based service for adults with a mental illness or a substance abuse disorder, provided by a certified peer support specialist.
The policy states the services no longer require prior authorization from in-network providers; Blue Cross of Idaho audits submitted claims instead, using criteria that include, but are not limited to, billing beyond 12 consecutive months, more than 3 hours per week, multiple agencies, and duplicated services.
The policy also describes the peer as in recovery from mental illness or substance abuse issues β wording that conflicts with the certification requirements above, which bar substance-use-only lived experience; the IDHW standards govern certification, not this plan policy.
The primary Idaho Medicaid vehicle, the Idaho Behavioral Health Plan contract or state plan, was not read and is UNVERIFIED β not stated in the sources read.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βPeer Support Services (PSS) is a community-based service for adults who have a mental illness or a substance abuse disorder.β
For service delivery, the standards require that a certified peer be under the direct supervision of a CPSS Supervisor.
Who that supervisor is comes from the employer: CPSS supervisors are designated by each agency that employs certified peers, and the agency must ensure supervisors are trained in best practices per SAMHSA standards (1.9.3).
The standards also bar role mixing: an individual cannot be a participant's CPSS provider and their other professional provider at the same time.
For the pre-certification 20 hours, the BPA Certification Guide 2026 requires supervision from someone with a bachelor's degree or higher in a human services field in a supervisory capacity.
The Medicaid-specific supervision rule was not read β not stated in the sources read.
βCertified peer is under the direct supervision of a CPSS Supervisor.β
The standards have a reciprocity provision: an applicant requesting reciprocity to provide CPSS services in Idaho meets the requirements, and the certifying agency oversees reciprocity along with initial certification, renewal, revocations, and reactivation (1.4.15).
The BPA Certification Guide 2026 describes how it works in practice: a person holding a valid certification from a state other than Idaho may apply for CPSS or CFSP certification by reciprocity, must hold a current and active certificate in good standing with that state's authorizing regulatory entity, and will be required to meet Idaho's certification requirements as set out in the IDHW Standards.
An out-of-state certificate therefore starts the process; it does not replace it.
Ask BPA Health which pieces of your record carry over before you apply.
βApplicant requesting reciprocity to provide CPSS services in Idaho meets the requirements.β
CPSS certification is renewed annually, and the renewal requirements include ten hours of continued education related to the competency areas, at least one of them on ethics.
The BPA page repeats the same figure: 10 hours each year with at least one hour in ethics.
The Certification Guide 2026 adds the mechanics: continuing education must fall within the current certification period, a one-month extension is available for CE, and a person holding both CPSS and CFSP certifications completes 10 unique hours for each.
For a certification expired more than 365 days, the guide's reinstatement table requires submitting an application for active certification status plus 10 hours of continuing education with at least 1 hour in ethics completed in the last 12 months; on approval, a six-month certification is granted during which the 100-200 work/volunteer hours and 20 supervision hours must be obtained again.
The table lists no new 40-hour training.
The certifying agency may also deny, revoke, or suspend certification or recertification at its discretion (standards 1.4.13).
βTen hours of continued education related to the competency areas including at least one (1) hour of ethics.β
The rule chapter read for this page, IDAPA 16.07.19.200, shows an effective date of July 1, 2024; it was read on Cornell LII, which may lag the Idaho administrative rules.
IDHW's own peer and family support page, last updated April 22, 2026, also links a Peer Rule Repeal & Certification FAQs document under its additional resources; that FAQ was not read, so the rule chapter's current status is unconfirmed here.
The operating figures this page gives β the 40 training hours, the 100 or 200 experience hours, the 20 supervised hours, the 80% exam, and annual renewal with 10 CE hours including 1 ethics hour β are each restated by the IDHW CPSS Standards or the BPA Health page and Certification Guide 2026, which is where this page anchors them.
The IDHW CPSS Standards were reissued in 2025 and are hosted on BPA Health's site, where the certification page notes the standards were updated January 8, 2026 and its own Certification Guide 2026 was updated March 23, 2026.
Check BPA Health's page for current application steps before enrolling.
The standards define the certified peer's scope negatively: a certified peer is non-clinical and does not diagnose or offer treatment for mental health issues.
The services they deliver are listed as non-clinical (1.8.3), and a separate provision targets role ambiguity and conflicts of interest, barring an individual from being a participant's CPSS provider and their other professional provider at the same time.
For a clinician moving into peer work, that means the two roles cannot be held toward the same person simultaneously.
For a peer choosing an employer, it means the agency's structure should keep the peer role separate from clinical roles, and supervisors should be trained accordingly.
βCertified peer is non-clinical and does not diagnose or offer treatment for mental health issues.β
This page summarizes the Idaho statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Behavioral Health, through its contracted certifying agency BPA Health publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Idaho.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Behavioral Health, through its contracted certifying agency BPA Health before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Idaho that asks for it.
No. Idaho certifies peer support specialists; the sources read name no state license for this role.
IDAPA 16.07.19 sets the qualifications, and BPA Health administers certification under contract with the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare's Division of Behavioral Health.
One caveat: IDHW's site links a peer-rule repeal FAQ that was not read, so the rule chapter's current status is unconfirmed; the same requirements appear in IDHW's CPSS Standards and BPA's guide.
Confirm with an employer exactly which credential a posting requires before you apply.
Forty (40) hours of training covering the rule's 20 competency areas, then the experience requirement: one hundred (100) hours of peer support specialist experience if you hold a bachelor's degree in a human services field, or two hundred (200) hours without one, plus at least twenty (20) hours of supervised peer support work or volunteer experience.
You can accrue on a six-month certification, and a post-training exam passed at 80% or higher is required under the IDHW standards.
No. The IDHW standards state that having lived with a substance use disorder only, without the presence of a mental health illness, does not qualify a person to become a certified peer.
The IDAPA rule requires lived experience in recovery from mental illness or mental illness with a co-occurring substance use disorder.
IDHW's recovery-coaching page names two adjacent credentials at IBADCC, Certified Recovery Coach and Certified Peer Recovery Coach; IBADCC's own pages were not retrieved and their requirements were not researched, so this page cannot describe them.
There is a reciprocity route, but it does not transfer your certificate automatically.
Under the IDHW standards and BPA's Certification Guide 2026, you apply for certification by reciprocity, must hold a current and active certificate in good standing with the authorizing regulatory entity in the state that issued it, and must meet Idaho's own certification requirements as set out in the IDHW Standards.
Contact BPA Health before applying to see which of your hours and training will be accepted.
Once certified and delivering services, a certified peer must be under the direct supervision of a CPSS Supervisor, and each agency that employs certified peers designates those supervisors, per the IDHW standards.
For the 20 supervised hours you need before full certification, BPA's Certification Guide 2026 requires supervision from someone holding a bachelor's degree or higher in a human services field who is in a supervisory capacity at your organization.
A Medicaid-specific supervision rule was not read.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Behavioral Health, through its contracted certifying agency BPA Health.