🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Idaho: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Idaho does not license substance abuse counselors.

The credentials are certifications from the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC), a private IC&RC member board: the SUDA for trainees, the ADC (formerly the CADC), the AADC, and the CCS for supervisors.

Since July 1, 2025, Idaho Code 39-305A has required each SUD program location to employ at least one qualified professional β€” an IBADCC ADC or AADC, a nationally certified master addictions counselor, or a licensed professional β€” and 39-305B sets the trainee rule.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Idaho, that is the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC) β€” a private certification board, not a state agency.

At a glance

Credential tiers

IBADCC certifications: Substance Use Disorder Associate (SUDA), Alcohol & Drug Counselor (ADC, formerly named CADC), Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (AADC, formerly named ACADC), and the Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS).

Idaho issues no state SUD counselor licence.

Type and issuing body

Private certifications from the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC), an IC&RC member board β€” not a state agency.

The state hook is Idaho Code 39-305A (eff.

2025-07-01): each behavioral health program providing SUD services must employ at least one qualified substance use disorders professional per program location.

Degree floor

ADC: a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health field with a clinical component (the sheet names Social Work, Counseling, Addiction Studies, Psychology, Sociology).

AADC: a master's degree in a behavioral health field with a clinical component.

SUDA: Not stated in the sources read.

Supervised hours

ADC: 4,000 hours of supervised work experience plus 200 hours of supervision (100 hours with Masters Degree).

AADC: 2,000 hours of supervised work experience plus 100 hours of Supervision with 10 hours supervised in each of the 8 domains.

Exams

ADC: the IC&RC ADC examination; AADC: the IC&RC AADC examination.

Per the AADC policy manual: one year from approval to test, retests in 90 days at $117.50, up to two retests within a year of approval.

The SUDA page lists a testing fee, but the examination it applies to is not stated in the sources read.

Scope and diagnosis

The ADC and AADC scope lists both include clinical evaluation with diagnostic impression including SUD diagnosis; the ADC practices with clinical supervision from an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.

Independent practice: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

The 39-305A qualified-professional definition also counts a licensed professional practising within their profession's authority, and a master addictions counselor certified by the national board for certified counselors or the NCCAP, beside the IBADCC-certified ADC and AADC.

IC&RC reciprocity

IBADCC is Idaho's IC&RC member board; the IC&RC directory lists five IBADCC reciprocal credentials β€” ADC, AADC, CCS, CPS and PRC.

The AADC policy manual states reciprocity is not granted to any counselor certified in a non-member state.

Renewal & CE

The ADC, AADC and SUDA pages print Valid : 2 years.

AADC renewal: 40 hours of continuing education including four hours of professional and ethical responsibilities.

ADC renewal CE: Not stated in the sources read.

The Idaho credential ladder

  1. Substance Use Disorder Associate(SUDA)Other

    A private certification from IBADCC, not a state credential.

    Idaho Code 39-305B requires an SUD program trainee to hold an SUDA certification or documented enrollment in a licensed professional's program, and IBADCC says an SUDA can only practice under the supervision of an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.

    Its requirements sheet is not among the sources read.

  2. Alcohol & Drug Counselor(ADC)Other

    IBADCC's bachelor's-level counselor certification β€” the page notes it was formerly named CADC, and it remains a certification, not a licence.

    It is one of the credentials Idaho Code 39-305A counts as a qualified substance use disorders professional for each SUD program location, and IBADCC's scope of practice for it runs with clinical supervision from an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.

  3. Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor(AADC)Other

    The master's-level certification, formerly named ACADC.

    It likewise counts as a qualified professional under 39-305A, and its scope adds counseling, therapy and clinical supervisory responsibilities for the SUDA and CADC; IBADCC says an AADC is more likely to provide clinical supervisory responsibilities.

  4. Certified Clinical Supervisor(CCS)Supervisor

    IBADCC's clinical supervisor credential.

    The ADC and SUDA scopes run with clinical supervision from an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor, and IBADCC's policy manual requires a supervisor to possess a Supervisor or CCS credential through IBADCC.

    The IC&RC directory maps the CCS to the CS exam and lists it among IBADCC's five reciprocal credentials (ADC, AADC, CCS, CPS, PRC).

    Its own requirements sheet is not among the sources read.

Certifications from a private board, with a state staffing rule beside them

πŸ“œ Idaho Code Β§Β§ 39-305A, 39-305B (2025 SB 1024, eff. 2025-07-01); IBADCC ADC, AADC and SUDA pages

Idaho has no state SUD counselor licence.

Every counselor credential is a certification from IBADCC, a private IC&RC member board: the Substance Use Disorder Associate (SUDA), the Alcohol & Drug Counselor (ADC, formerly named CADC), the Advanced Alcohol & Drug Counselor (AADC, formerly named ACADC), and the Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS).

The state hook is Idaho Code 39-305A, effective July 1, 2025: each behavioral health program providing substance use disorder services must employ at least one qualified substance use disorders professional per program location β€” an IBADCC-certified ADC or AADC, a master addictions counselor certified by the national board for certified counselors or the NCCAP, or a licensed professional.

39-305B requires a trainee to hold an SUDA certification or documented enrollment in a licensed professional's program.

Whether any credential is required to practise outside these programs is not stated in the sources read.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œshall employ at least one (1) qualified substance use disorders professional for each behavioral health program location”

270 clock hours on a behavioral-health bachelor's; 180 on a master's

πŸ“œ IBADCC ADC (CADC) Certificate Requirements sheet and AADC Certificate Requirements sheet (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

The ADC asks for a bachelor's degree in a behavioral health field with a clinical component β€” the sheet names Social Work, Counseling, Addiction Studies, Psychology and Sociology β€” plus 270 hours of education total, a minimum of 30 hours in each of the IC&RC domains, including 6 hours of ethics.

The AADC asks for a master's degree in a behavioral health field with a clinical component and 180 hours of education total, with the same 6 ethics hours.

Education is defined as workshops or college courses, with one credit equal to 15 hours; the ADC sheet restricts in-service training, allowing five hours for renewals.

No requirements sheet for the SUDA appears in the sources read, so its education floor is not stated in the sources read.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œI have proof of a Bachelor's Degree in Behavioral Health Field which includes a clinical component (Social Work, Counseling, Addiction Studies, Psychology, Sociology).”

4,000 hours for the ADC, 2,000 for the AADC β€” plus supervision hours

πŸ“œ IBADCC ADC (CADC) Certificate Requirements sheet and AADC Certificate Requirements sheet (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

The ADC requires 4,000 hours of supervised work experience with alcohol and other drug addicted clients within the 12 Core Functions and Domains β€” full or part time acceptable, paid or unpaid β€” plus 200 hours of supervision, 100 hours with a master's degree.

The AADC requires 2,000 hours of supervised work experience plus 100 hours of Supervision with 10 hours supervised in each of the 8 domains.

The sheets read set no rule about when the clock starts or how old hours can be, so if you are bringing work experience from a previous placement, confirm with IBADCC how it counts before you plan your timeline.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œI have required proof of 4,000 Hours of supervised work experience with alcohol and other drug addicted clients within the 12 Core Functions and Domains (full or part time acceptable, paid or unpaid).”

IC&RC examinations, with fees and a stated one-year time frame

πŸ“œ IBADCC ADC (CADC) and AADC (ACADC) pages and AADC Policy Manual (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

The ADC is examined by the IC&RC ADC examination and the AADC by the IC&RC AADC examination β€” what makes those two the credentials other IC&RC member boards recognize.

The AADC policy manual sets the testing mechanics: an initial test of $235.00, a failed candidate may retest in 90 days for $117.50 (a 50% discount), up to two retests within a year of application approval, and a candidate who fails three certification tests must reapply and be accepted before testing again.

You have one year from your approval date to test; after that the file goes inactive, a $50 reactivation fee applies between years one and two, and the application is suspended two years after approval.

The pages list an $80 application fee and a $235 testing fee; the ADC sheet budgets $315 total; the SUDA page lists $66 and $160.

No source read states a passing score, and the ADC's own manual was not among the sources read.

Who signs your hours: the IBADCC approved supervisor list

πŸ“œ IBADCC AADC Policy Manual, Part 1 Section I.C; IBADCC, Changes to Supervisor Requirements post; IBADCC ADC (CADC) Certificate Requirements sheet (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

IBADCC's policy manual requires a supervisor to meet one of the listed routes and possess a Supervisor or Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) credential through IBADCC.

The routes: an AADC; a CCS; a master's degree with a licence or certification in addictions counseling; or a master's in health and human services plus an Idaho clinical licence plus the equivalent of four years of paid full-time experience (three direct SUD treatment, one in supervision) in a state, federal, Joint Commission or CARF-approved SUD treatment program.

Supervision must take place in a setting where AODA counseling is being provided.

The ADC sheet still prints an older list β€” an ADC certified for 3 years with 15 hours of supervision training, or an approved Health & Welfare Clinical Supervisor under IDAPA 16.07.20.02 β€” and has you attest your supervisor is on the approved list; the 2026-05-11 post closes that ADC route as of 05/08/2026, grandfathering ADCs who already hold the Supervisor credential, with a one-time $30 application fee for it.

Confirm your supervisor's standing with IBADCC before starting a placement whose hours you need.

β€œmust meet one of the following requirements and possess a Supervisor or Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) credential through IBADCC”

Diagnosis in the scope list, supervision in the same line

πŸ“œ IBADCC ADC, AADC and SUDA pages (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

IBADCC prints a scope of practice for each credential.

The ADC's list β€” stated at the bachelor's level β€” opens with clinical evaluation and diagnostic impression including SUD diagnosis or SBIRT, and the page ties the whole list to clinical supervision from an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.

The AADC's list adds counseling, therapy and clinical supervisory responsibilities for the SUDA and CADC, and IBADCC notes an AADC is more likely to provide clinical supervisory responsibilities.

The SUDA can only practice under the supervision of an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor, with diagnostic impression and SBIRT in its scope.

Independent practice is not addressed in the sources read, and diagnosis authority here rests on IBADCC's scope statement β€” a certification body's document, not a state licence.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œSubstance Use Disorder Associate (SUDA) can only practice under the supervision of an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.”

Reciprocity runs between IC&RC member boards, through IBADCC

πŸ“œ IBADCC AADC Policy Manual, Residency and Reciprocity section; IC&RC member-board directory

IBADCC is Idaho's IC&RC member board, and the IC&RC directory lists five IBADCC reciprocal credentials: ADC, AADC, CCS, CPS and PRC β€” the CCS mapping to the CS exam.

The AADC policy manual splits the direction.

Reciprocity INTO IBADCC: a counselor certified by another member board who relocates to Idaho transfers the credential through the reciprocity process, and no additional requirements have to be met to transfer it to Idaho; after IBADCC issues the Idaho certification, the counselor is then expected to follow all requirements for certification through IBADCC.

Reciprocity OUT of IBADCC runs only to other member boards β€” reciprocity to a non-IC&RC member board is not permitted, and the new jurisdiction may impose additional requirements.

Reciprocity is not granted to any counselor certified in a non-member state, and a NAADAC credential does not transfer β€” the two frameworks have no reciprocity agreement.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

β€œReciprocity is not granted to any counselor certified in a non-member state.”

Two-year validity; CE stated only for the AADC

πŸ“œ IBADCC ADC, AADC and SUDA pages, AADC Certificate Requirements sheet and AADC Policy Manual (Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification)

IBADCC prints a two-year validity on the ADC, AADC and SUDA pages.

For renewal, the AADC carries the only counselor CE figure in the sources read: 40 hours of continuing education hours, including four hours of professional and ethical responsibilities.

The AADC policy manual adds the mechanics: a maximum of 10 hours in-service (five hours for the first renewal period), ethics education cannot be in-house in-service training, and there are no carryover hours from one renewal period to another.

The ADC's own renewal CE total is not stated in the sources read β€” a gap in the documents, not a statement that it has none β€” and the ADC sheet caps in-service training at five hours for renewals.

Confirm the current cycle and CE rules with IBADCC before planning CE spending.

β€œ40 hours of continuing education hours, including four hours of professional and ethical responsibilities.”

2025: the staffing rule moved from IDAPA into the Idaho Code

πŸ“œ 2025 SB 1024 (eff. 2025-07-01); IDAPA 16.07.17; IBADCC AADC Policy Manual; IBADCC, Changes to Supervisor Requirements post

2025 SB 1024, an emergency bill in full force and effect on and after July 1, 2025, created Idaho Code 39-305A/B/C and declared the rules in IDAPA 16.07.17, 16.07.33 and 16.07.37 null, void, and of no force and effect, moving the qualified-professional standard into statute.

The bill did not touch IDAPA 16.07.20, yet IBADCC's own requirement sheets still cite IDAPA 16.07.20.02 for one supervisor qualification β€” the research flags that citation as stale.

IBADCC's 2026-05-11 post says supervisor criteria were revised since the legislative transition away from IDAPA standards and closes the ADC route to new Supervisor credentials as of 05/08/2026, so the current criteria live in the policy manual, not the sheets.

If you hold an external licence and planned to supervise under the sheet's list, recheck with IBADCC.

β€œThis has been especially important since the legislative transition away from IDAPA standards, which impacted the criteria for those who do not hold a credential from IBADCC but have external licensure.”

Two more statutory hooks: the trainee's six months and a background-check waiver

πŸ“œ Idaho Code Β§Β§ 39-305B(2), 39-305C (2025 SB 1024)

Two provisions of the 2025 bill reach counselors-in-training directly.

Under 39-305B(2), an individual who completed a certification program described in 39-305A and is awaiting licensure may continue as a qualified substance use disorders professional trainee at the same agency for a period of six (6) months from the date of program completion β€” the statute's own word is licensure, even though Idaho certifies rather than licenses SUD counselors.

Under 39-305C, a person denied after a criminal history or background check may apply for a behavioral health waiver, and until the waiver request is processed and approved the person may work or have access to participants only under supervision.

Both are state-law rules that sit beside the private certification.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Idaho statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC) β€” a private certification board, not a state agency publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Idaho.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC) β€” a private certification board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Idaho that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Idaho?

No. Idaho issues no SUD counselor licence; the operative credentials are certifications from IBADCC, a private IC&RC member board.

The legal hook is Idaho Code 39-305A: since July 1, 2025, each behavioral health program providing SUD services must employ at least one qualified substance use disorders professional per location β€” an IBADCC-certified ADC or AADC, a master addictions counselor certified by the national board for certified counselors or the NCCAP, or a licensed professional.

Programs hire against that list.

Can you work as an SUD counselor in Idaho without a degree?

The sources read state no degree floor for the SUDA β€” its requirements sheet was not retrieved β€” while the ADC requires a behavioral-health bachelor's and the AADC a master's.

The trainee rule in 39-305B requires a SUDA certification or documented enrollment in a licensed professional's program before beginning work, so entry without a degree runs through that trainee path.

Ask IBADCC what the SUDA currently requires before relying on it.

How much does IBADCC certification cost?

The ADC and AADC pages list an $80 application fee and a $235 testing fee each, with a stated time frame of 1 year; the ADC requirements sheet budgets $315 total for certification and testing fees.

The SUDA page lists a $66 application fee and a $160 testing fee.

Fees and time frames can change, so confirm both on the IBADCC pages before you apply.

Can an IBADCC-certified counselor diagnose SUDs in Idaho?

The IBADCC scope lists for the ADC and AADC both include clinical evaluation with diagnostic impression including SUD diagnosis, and the ADC's scope runs with clinical supervision from an IBADCC approved Clinical Supervisor.

That is a certification board's scope statement, not a state licence scope, and nothing in the sources read addresses independent private practice.

Confirm scope, and what employers and payers accept, with IBADCC before you rely on it.

Does an IC&RC certification from another state transfer to Idaho?

Through IBADCC, Idaho's IC&RC member board, whose reciprocal credentials are the ADC, AADC, CCS, CPS and PRC.

Confirm IBADCC offers reciprocity for your credential, then request an Application for Reciprocity from your current board; the policy manual says no additional requirements have to be met to transfer the credential to Idaho, and IC&RC verifies it before IBADCC issues the Idaho certification.

Reciprocity to a non-IC&RC member board is not permitted, a NAADAC credential does not transfer, and reciprocity is not granted to any counselor certified in a non-member state.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Idaho
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Idaho & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Idaho Board of Alcohol/Drug Counselor Certification (IBADCC) β€” a private certification board, not a state agency.