Kansas certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.
KDADS, the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services, issues three peer credentials β the Kansas Certified Peer Specialist (KCPS, mental health), the KCPM (substance use) and the KCPPSS (parent peer) β each with an in-training stage.
The path runs from self-paced Level 1 online training through KDADS in-training approval and at least 90 supervised days to live Level 2 training and KDADS's final review.
For the KCPS, the Level 2 final exam is passed at 80% or higher.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Kansas Certified Peer Specialist (KCPS) for mental health with a KCPST in-training stage; Kansas Certified Peer Mentor (KCPM) for substance use with a KCPMT stage; Kansas Certified Parent Peer Support Specialist (KCPPSS) with a KCPPSST stage; and a Forensic Specialty for fully certified KCPM or KCPS.
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), a state agency, with Level 1 training on KDADS's LearnWorlds platform.
Two levels: Level 1 is a self-paced online training and Level 2 is live.
No total training hours are stated; the KCPS page gives conflicting Level 2 day counts (2-day vs. all three days).
A minimum of 90 days under supervision before applying for Level 2 training.
The KCPS Supervisor Overview sets 1 hour of supervision per 20 hours of services in training and 1 per 30 once certified, and caps certified peers at 30 hours of Peer Support Services per week.
Stated only in the KCPS Certification Supervisor Overview: the Level 2 training ends in a final exam requiring a score of 80% or higher, with supervisors supporting retaking the Level 2 Training otherwise.
The KCPM and parent peer sources describe no exam.
KCPS: lived experience with mental health challenges and stable, sustained recovery for at least one year; KCPM: the same for substance use challenges; parent peer: lived experience raising a child with SED, SUD or co-occurring conditions.
The eligibility list requires completion of all court-ordered parole, probation, and conditions; no offence list was located in the sources read.
Peer Support Services cannot be billed without documentation of a valid KCPST or KCPS certification (KCPMT or KCPM for peer mentors).
Billing supervision sits in the KMAP Mental Health Fee-for-Service Manual, which was not read; the vehicle was not established.
Not stated in the sources read.
KDADS's provisional KCPS certificate, valid for one year, held while the peer works at least 90 days under supervision and completes Level 2 training; peer support services cannot be billed without documentation of a valid KCPST or KCPS.
The full mental health peer certification: the peer is added to the Kansas Certified Peer Specialist Registry, receives a KCPS Certification Number, and can provide up to 30 hours of Peer Support Services per week.
The provisional substance use track certificate, held while the peer works a minimum of 90 days under supervision and completes the two-day Level 2 training.
The full substance use peer certification; the KCPM page states the same billable-only-with-certification rule for a valid KCPMT or KCPM.
The provisional parent peer certificate, issued after Level 1 and the Families Together IEP training, and held through a 90-day supervision period before Level 2.
The full parent peer certification after the 2-day Level 2 training; parent peer support is a Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic program requirement in Kansas.
Additional training available for fully certified KCPM or KCPS who have lived experience navigating the criminal justice system from within the system.
Kansas certifies peer workers through KDADS; no licence is involved.
The Kansas Certified Peer Specialist (KCPS) covers mental health, the Kansas Certified Peer Mentor (KCPM) covers substance use, and the Kansas Certified Parent Peer Support Specialist (KCPPSS) covers parents raising children with behavioral health needs.
Each has an in-training stage β KCPST, KCPMT or KCPPSST.
KDADS states peer support services cannot be billed without documentation of a valid KCPST or KCPS, and the KCPM page states the same for a valid KCPMT or KCPM; the parent peer page carries no billing statement of this kind.
The provisional KCPST certificate is valid for one year.
On the KCPS track, KDADS reviews the final application for approval, denial, extension or remediation, and approval adds the peer to the Kansas Certified Peer Specialist Registry with a KCPS Certification Number.
A Forensic Specialty sits above the two main credentials for certified holders with criminal justice lived experience.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βTo become fully certified, individuals must complete a provisional certification period of up to one year. This is known as the Kansas Certified Peer Specialist in Training (KCPST).β
The lived-experience rule differs by credential.
KCPS applicants must have lived experience with mental health challenges and been in stable, sustained recovery for at least one year; KCPM applicants the same for substance use challenges.
The parent peer credential states no recovery duration: its providers must self-identify as a person with lived experience in raising a child with a Serious Emotional Disturbance (SED), Substance Use Disorder (SUD), or co-occurring mental health diagnosis.
The Forensic Specialty is limited to fully certified KCPM or KCPS who have lived experience navigating the criminal justice system from within the system.
The one-year recovery clock sits in the eligibility list, so be ready to document it when you apply.
βHave lived experience with mental health challenges and been in stable, sustained recovery for at least one yearβ
Training runs in two levels on KDADS's LearnWorlds platform: Level 1 is self-paced and online, and Level 2 is live.
No total training hours are stated on any of the three pages.
For KCPS, the page calls Level 2 a 2-day in-person or virtual training, but its schedule text says individuals should plan to attend all three days of training from 9 am to 5 pm β confirm the day count with KDADS before you book around it.
KCPM Level 2 is stated as a two-day in-person training, and participants must attend both dates.
Parent peer training adds an Individualized Education Plan course through Families Together after Level 1, and its Level 2 is a 2-day training held at least quarterly, alternating in-person and virtual.
Registration closes two weeks before the preferred date.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βTraining occurs in two parts: Level 1 is a self-paced, online training, and Level 2 is a 2-day in-person or virtual training that will be offered at least 4 times per year in varying locations around the state.β
Kansas sets no work-hour total; it counts days under supervision.
Individuals must have a minimum of 90 days under supervision before applying for Level 2 training, and the KCPST approval has to come first; the KCPST certificate is valid for one year, so plan the supervised period and Level 2 training inside it.
On the KCPS track, the in-training supervisor provides 1 hour of supervision for every 20 hours of Peer Support Services and completes the Supervisor Observation Form, which is submitted with the Level 2 registration.
KCPM applicants must in addition be recommended by their supervisor as having demonstrated competency.
Once fully certified on the KCPS track, a peer can provide up to 30 hours of Peer Support Services per week.
βIndividuals must have a minimum of 90 days under supervision before applying for Level 2 training.β
The test sits at the end of the KCPS Level 2: a final exam on which a score of 80% or higher is required, and the supervisor must support retaking the Level 2 Training otherwise.
Full attendance is required to pass the KCPS Level 2 training itself.
KDADS then reviews the final certification application for approval, denial, extension or remediation β approval is what adds the peer to the Kansas Certified Peer Specialist Registry and issues the KCPS Certification Number.
For KCPM and the parent peer credential, the sources read describe no exam at all.
βSupport individuals seeking certification in retaking the Level 2 Training if they did not achieve a score of 80% or higher on the final exam.β
The only criminal-history language in the sources read is the preliminary-eligibility line requiring that an applicant has completed all court-ordered parole, probation, and conditions, which appears on the KCPS, KCPM and parent peer pages alike.
No offence list, look-back period, or waiver or exception route was located, and the pages describe no background-check program of their own.
That gap is not permission: if you have a record, ask KDADS how it affects an application before you invest in training, because the sources read do not say.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βHave completed all court-ordered parole, probation, and conditions.β
KDADS ties billing directly to the credential: Peer Support Services cannot be considered billable without documentation of the Peer Specialist's valid KCPST or KCPS Certification, and the KCPM page states the same for a valid KCPMT or KCPM.
For billing supervision, the Supervisor Overview points to the KMAP Mental Health Fee-for-Service Manual; that manual was not retrieved, so its rules are not restated here, and the Medicaid vehicle was not established in the sources read.
Parent Peer Support is a Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) program requirement as part of its required scope of services, and KDADS's service definition for Parent/Family Peer Support Services describes rehabilitative services as defined at section 1905(a)(13) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 440.130(d).
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βPeer Support Services cannot be considered billable without documentation of the Peer Specialist's valid KCPST or KCPS Certification.β
Supervising a peer specialist requires KDADS's two-part supervisor training, and only supervisors who completed it are authorized to submit approval forms.
Supervisors also complete the PS Observation Form throughout the in-training period.
The KCPS Supervisor Overview sets two ratios: 1 hour of supervision for every 20 hours of Peer Support Services provided by individuals seeking certification, and 1 hour for every 30 hours provided by certified individuals; the KCPM and parent peer supervisor overviews were not retrieved, so their supervision terms are not stated here.
Pick an employer whose supervisors are already trained β an untrained supervisor cannot file the forms a Level 2 registration needs.
βProvide 1 hour of supervision for every 20 hours of Peer Support Services provided by individuals seeking certification.β
The KCPS Certification Supervisor Overview is dated Rev 0, 4/14/2025, and the two-level Level 1/Level 2 training structure appears current on the KDADS pages read on 2026-09-24.
The KCPM and parent peer supervisor overviews are linked from those pages but were not retrieved, so their document dates are not stated here.
The date of the change to that structure was not located.
Kansas's renewal and continuing-education cycle was also not located in the sources read.
This page summarizes the Kansas statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Kansas.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Kansas that asks for it.
No. Kansas certifies peer workers: KDADS, the state's Department for Aging and Disability Services, issues the KCPS, KCPM and KCPPSS certificates and the in-training stages beneath them, and nothing in the sources read describes a peer licence.
The certification is what billers need β KDADS states peer support services cannot be billed without documentation of a valid KCPST or KCPS certification β so confirm which credential a job posting requires.
No training-hour total is stated, so the timeline runs on the sequence: pass the self-paced Level 1 online training, receive KDADS's KCPST in-training approval, work at least 90 days under supervision, then register for Level 2 β registrations close two weeks before the training date and need the supervisor's approval form with the Supervisor Observation Form attached.
After passing Level 2, the Final Certification Application goes to KDADS for review; on the KCPS, the final exam is passed at 80% or higher.
The KCPST certificate is valid for one year, so plan the steps inside that window.
A reciprocity or endorsement route was not stated in the sources read.
Kansas certification runs through KDADS's own two-level training and in-training period, so plan to complete the Kansas sequence.
Before you start, contact KDADS's peer support staff and ask whether an existing out-of-state credential changes anything β the pages read do not address it.
The KCPS Supervisor Overview states that fully certified peers can provide up to 30 hours of Peer Support Services per week, with supervision continuing after certification at 1 hour for every 30 hours of services, compared with 1 hour per 20 hours during the in-training period.
The KCPM and parent peer supervisor overviews were not retrieved, so this figure is stated for the KCPS only.
Billing additionally requires the valid KCPST or KCPS documentation KDADS describes on its page.
The KCPS preliminary eligibility list has four items: being at least 18 years of age, a high school diploma or equivalent, lived experience with mental health challenges and stable, sustained recovery for at least one year, and completion of all court-ordered parole, probation and conditions.
KCPM swaps in substance use challenges, and the parent peer credential instead asks for lived experience raising a child with SED, SUD or co-occurring conditions.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS).