🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Kentucky: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Kentucky certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.

DBHDID, the Cabinet for Health and Family Services' behavioral health department, certifies Adult, Family and Youth Peer Support Specialists, and the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialists under KRS 309.0831.

The adult track needs a thirty (30) hour department-approved training β€” the rule states no exam and no work hours.

The A&D registration needs 500 board-approved experience hours, 40 classroom hours and a written exam, and Medicaid covers peer support through enrolled provider groups.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Kentucky, that is the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DBHDID); the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers alcohol and drug peers.

At a glance

Credential titles

Adult Peer Support Specialist, Kentucky Family Peer Support Specialist (KFPSS), and Kentucky Youth Peer Support Specialist (KYPSS) under the DBHDID rules, plus the Registered Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialist.

Certifier

Cabinet for Health and Family Services, DBHDID (a state agency) for the three 908 KAR 2 tracks; the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (a state licensing board) for the A&D registration.

Training

Adult: a department-approved curriculum of at least thirty (30) hours based on a nationally recognized model, or a training waiver.

Family: a fifteen (15) hour KFLA prerequisite plus at least a thirty (30) hour core competency training.

Youth: KFLA plus the KYPSS training.

A&D peer: at least forty (40) classroom hours of board-approved curriculum plus the statute's listed topic hours.

Supervised or work hours

Only the A&D registration sets them: five hundred (500) hours of board-approved experience working with persons having a substance use disorder, twenty-five (25) of them under the direct supervision of a qualifying CADC, LCADC or registered A&D peer.

The 908 KAR 2 rules state none.

Exam

A&D peer: a board-approved written examination.

Youth: an oral and written examination after training.

Adult and family: no separate exam stated in the rules, though approved curricula must test trainees to a passing aggregate score of at least seventy (70) percent.

Lived experience

Adult: a current or past diagnosis of a mental health, substance use, or co-occurring disorder, treatment received or under way, and a demonstrated pattern of recovery.

Family: a parent or family member of a client served by a child serving agency.

Youth: at least eighteen (18) and not older than thirty-five (35), receiving or having received a state-funded service from a child-serving agency, plus short-essay, leadership and advocacy, and self-directed leadership development gates.

A&D: twelve (12) consecutive months of recovery, attested.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered: 907 KAR 15:010 pays for peer support by 908 KAR 2:220/230/240 specialists and by registered A&D peers, through enrolled behavioral health provider or multi-specialty groups; direct recipient contact is capped at thirty (30) hours per week and groups at eight (8).

The federal vehicle is not stated in the text read.

Renewal & CE

Adult, family and youth: a minimum of six (6) hours of related training or education in each subsequent year.

A&D peer renewal was not located.

The Kentucky credential ladder

  1. Adult Peer Support SpecialistIndependent

    The DBHDID-track certification under 908 KAR 2:220 for a self-identified consumer of mental health, substance use, or co-occurring services who has completed the department-approved training; the rule states no exam and no work hours.

  2. Kentucky Family Peer Support Specialist(KFPSS)Independent

    The 908 KAR 2:230 certification for a self-identified parent or other family member whose lived experience comes through a client served by a child serving agency, built on a fifteen (15) hour KFLA prerequisite and a core competency training.

  3. Kentucky Youth Peer Support Specialist(KYPSS)Independent

    The 908 KAR 2:240 certification for ages eighteen (18) through thirty-five (35) who are receiving or have received a state-funded service from a child-serving agency, with short-essay, leadership and advocacy, and self-directed leadership development gates on top of KFLA, the core competency training, and an oral and written examination.

  4. Registered Alcohol and Drug Peer Support SpecialistOther

    A registration on the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors' register under KRS 309.0831, not one of the DBHDID certifications: five hundred (500) board-approved hours with twenty-five (25) directly supervised, forty (40) classroom hours, a board-approved written examination and a twelve-month recovery attestation.

Four credentials, two issuers β€” none of them a licence

πŸ“œ 908 KAR 2:220; 908 KAR 2:230; 908 KAR 2:240; KRS 309.0831

Kentucky splits the peer role between two state bodies.

The Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DBHDID), part of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services, certifies the Adult, Family and Youth Peer Support Specialist tracks under three administrative regulations.

The Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors, the state licensing board for addiction counselors, keeps a separate register of Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialists under KRS 309.0831 β€” a registration, not one of the DBHDID certifications.

Read a posting for the track it names: the Medicaid rule treats all four as billable peers, but their entry requirements differ sharply.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œa self-identified consumer of mental health, substance use, or co-occurring mental health and substance use disorder services who has successfully completed the adult peer support specialist training”

Each track defines lived experience in its own terms

πŸ“œ 908 KAR 2:220 Β§2; 908 KAR 2:230 Β§2; 908 KAR 2:240 Β§2; KRS 309.0831(7)

The adult track rests on your own service history: a current or past diagnosis of a mental health, substance use, or co-occurring disorder, having received or be receiving treatment, and a demonstrated pattern of recovery β€” alongside being at least eighteen (18) and holding a high school diploma or GED.

The family track is the one place a relative's experience qualifies: a self-identified parent or family member whose lived experience comes through a client served by at least one (1) child serving agency.

The youth track is for those at least eighteen (18) and not older than thirty-five (35) who are receiving or have received a state-funded service from a child-serving agency, with lived experience defined around an emotional, social, behavioral, or substance use disability of a child or youth β€” plus entry gates no other track has: discussing that service experience on the short-essay form, demonstrating leadership and advocacy experience in behavioral health, and showing the applicant's own efforts at self-directed leadership development.

The A&D registration instead attests to twelve (12) consecutive months of recovery from a substance-related disorder.

β€œHave a current or past diagnosis of a mental health, substance use, or co-occurring mental health and substance use disorders”

Training: thirty hours for adults, a fifteen-hour family prerequisite, board hours for the A&D register

πŸ“œ 908 KAR 2:220 Β§3; 908 KAR 2:230 Β§3; 908 KAR 2:240 Β§Β§2–3; KRS 309.0831(4), (8)

DBHDID approves the adult training curriculum at no fewer than thirty (30) hours, built on a nationally recognized model, with modules on problem solving, wellness recovery action plans, stages of recovery, listening skills, recovery goals and support groups.

The family route layers a prerequisite β€” the Kentucky Family Leadership Academy's standard fifteen (15) hour curriculum β€” before the KFPSS core competency training, which the rule also sets at thirty (30) hours or more; youth candidates complete KFLA and the KYPSS core competency training.

The A&D registration is the heavy lift: at least forty (40) classroom hours of board-approved curriculum and, separately, at least sixteen (16) hours of ethics training, three (3) hours of domestic violence training, two (2) hours on HIV, ten (10) hours of advocacy training, ten (10) hours of mentoring and education, and ten (10) hours of recovery support.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œat least a thirty (30) hour adult peer support specialist training curriculum based on a nationally recognized model”

The 500 hours belong to the A&D registration; the DBHDID tracks state none

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0831(3)

Only the A&D registration sets experience hours: five hundred (500) hours of board-approved experience working with persons having a substance use disorder, twenty-five (25) of them under the direct supervision of a qualifying supervisor β€” a certified alcohol and drug counselor with at least two (2) years of post-certification experience and the board-sponsored supervision training, a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor with at least twelve (12) months of post-licensure experience or that training, or, under the board's supervision, a registered A&D peer with at least two (2) years of post-registered experience and the training.

The hours must be board-approved, so confirm your supervisor qualifies before they start counting.

The adult, family and youth rules state no pre-certification work hours; their supervision requirement attaches to service delivery, not to entry.

β€œfive hundred (500) hours of board-approved experience working with persons having a substance use disorder, twenty-five (25) hours of which shall have been under the direct supervision”

Exams: board-written for the A&D register, oral and written for youth, none stated for adult

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0831(5); 908 KAR 2:240 Β§5; 908 KAR 2:220; 908 KAR 2:230

The A&D applicant must pass a written examination approved by the board.

Youth candidates face their own gate: the KYPSS rule requires successfully completing an oral and written examination following the training, and the department keeps the application, competency examination and results on file.

The adult rule states no exam β€” but the training curriculum it defines must include trainee knowledge assessment through testing with a passing aggregate assessment score of at least seventy (70) percent, so assessment is built into approved training rather than set as a separate state exam.

The family rule takes the same shape: no separate examination is stated, and the KFPSS training curricula carry the identical requirement β€” trainee knowledge assessment through testing to a passing aggregate score of at least seventy (70) percent.

β€œHave passed a written examination that has been approved by the board”

Medicaid covers peer support through enrolled provider groups

πŸ“œ 907 KAR 15:010

Kentucky Medicaid's behavioral health regulation, 907 KAR 15:010, covers peer support services delivered by adult, family and youth peer support specialists certified under the 908 KAR 2 rules and by registered alcohol and drug peer support specialists qualified under KRS 309.0831.

Coverage runs through behavioral health provider groups and behavioral health multi-specialty groups enrolled in Medicaid β€” a peer does not bill alone.

The service must be provided face-to-face, be an evidence-based practice, and be identified in the recipient's plan of care, and providers must hold direct recipient contact to thirty (30) hours per week and group size to eight (8) individuals.

The federal financing vehicle is not stated in the text read.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œprovide no more than thirty (30) hours per week of direct recipient contact”

Who supervises, how often, and for how long

πŸ“œ 907 KAR 15:010; 908 KAR 2:220 Β§6; 908 KAR 2:230 Β§6; 908 KAR 2:240 Β§7

For billing, an approved behavioral health practitioner supervises adult, family and youth peer support specialists; the registered A&D peer is outside that supervision clause, though the day treatment support services clause permits one only under an approved behavioral health practitioner's supervision.

Adult and family share an identical closed list β€” a physician, psychiatrist, APRN, physician assistant, licensed psychologist, licensed psychological practitioner, LCSW, LPCC, LMFT, licensed psychological associate, MFT associate, CSW, LPC associate, licensed professional art therapist or associate, a professional equivalent within a CMHC, an LCADC or LCADC associate, a CADC, or a psychiatric nurse working in a CMHC β€” and meetings are face-to-face, at least twice monthly with at least one individual meeting, at least thirty (30) minutes, recorded and signed by both.

Youth supervision differs: the list drops the LCADC, LCADC associate and art therapist associate, and states professional equivalent and psychiatric nurse without the CMHC qualifier; every youth supervisor must complete Youth Peer Support 101; and individual meetings are face-to-face at least weekly the first year and monthly thereafter, with no thirty (30) minute floor stated.

β€œBe conducted face-to-face; (b) Occur no less than twice per month, at least one (1) of which shall be individual; and (c) Be at least thirty (30) minutes in length.”

Moving to Kentucky: a training waiver, not reciprocity

πŸ“œ 908 KAR 2:220 Β§5; 908 KAR 2:230 Β§5; 908 KAR 2:240 Β§6

The sources read record no reciprocity route.

What the three DBHDID rules offer instead is a training waiver β€” documentation of a comparable training sponsored by a federal entity or by another state β€” but its terms differ by track.

For adult and family peers the training must fall within five (5) years of the waiver request, and the department approves or denies in writing within twenty (20) business days; the family waiver covers only the KFPSS core competency training, so KFLA stays mandatory.

The youth waiver instead looks back five (5) years from the application date, with no decision deadline stated, and the department may approve pending successful completion of the KYPSS core competency training exam.

For the A&D registration no waiver appears in the sources read, and the statute requires that you live or work at least a majority of the time in Kentucky.

If you hold an out-of-state peer credential, ask DBHDID or the board what transfers before you plan around it.

β€œProvide documentation to show that the training has occurred within five (5) years of the waiver request”

Six hours a year for the DBHDID tracks; the A&D renewal was not located

πŸ“œ 908 KAR 2:220 Β§Β§2, 4; 908 KAR 2:230 Β§Β§2, 4; 908 KAR 2:240 Β§5

The adult and family rules require a minimum of six (6) hours of related training or education in each subsequent year and add the same reporting duty: maintain documentation and submit a list of trainings β€” provider or presenter and hours β€” to the department every three (3) years, due the last day of the month of initial training completion or, for family, waiver receipt.

The youth rule carries the same annual requirement but asks only that you complete and maintain documentation.

For the registered A&D peer, no renewal or continuing-education provision was located in the sources read, so confirm current requirements with the board before you rely on any cycle.

β€œa minimum of six (6) hours of related training or education in each subsequent year”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0831 (2024 Ky. Acts ch. 89, sec. 6, effective July 15, 2024); 908 KAR 2:220 (cert. eff. 12-28-2021)

The one amendment inside the window is to the A&D statute: KRS 309.0831 was amended by 2024 Ky.

Acts ch. 89, sec. 6, effective July 15, 2024 β€” the sources read do not state what it changed.

The DBHDID regulations are older: 908 KAR 2:220 was last certified effective December 28, 2021, and the legislature's page carries a seven-year expiration note of December 28, 2028 plus a notice that a proposed version of the regulation exists; the proposed version's contents were not read.

Check the current regulation before relying on the certified text.

β€œAmended 2024 Ky. Acts ch. 89, sec. 6, effective July 15, 2024.”

The rest of the A&D registration file

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0831

Beyond hours and exams, the A&D applicant must pay the board an initial registration fee, be at least eighteen (18), hold a high school diploma or equivalent, sign an agreement to abide by the board's standards of practice and code of ethics, and submit two (2) letters of reference from certified alcohol and drug counselors or licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselors.

The statute also requires compliance with Kentucky's training program in suicide assessment, treatment, and management under KRS 210.366, and that you live or work at least a majority of the time in Kentucky.

β€œLive or work at least a majority of the time in Kentucky”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Kentucky statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DBHDID); the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers alcohol and drug peers publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Kentucky.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DBHDID); the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers alcohol and drug peers before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Kentucky that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Kentucky?

No. Kentucky certifies peer specialists through two issuers: DBHDID certifies the Adult, Family and Youth Peer Support Specialist tracks under 908 KAR 2:220, 2:230 and 2:240, while the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialists under KRS 309.0831.

There is no state licence for the role, so read a job posting for the specific track it names.

How do you become an Adult Peer Support Specialist in Kentucky?

Meet the 908 KAR 2:220 eligibility list: be at least eighteen (18), hold a high school diploma or GED, have a current or past diagnosis of a mental health, substance use, or co-occurring disorder, have received or be receiving treatment, and demonstrate a pattern of recovery.

Then complete a department-approved training of at least thirty (30) hours, or obtain a training waiver, and plan on six (6) hours of related training each year afterward.

The rule states no exam and no work hours.

What does the Registered Alcohol and Drug Peer Support Specialist require?

The heaviest file of Kentucky's four credentials: five hundred (500) hours of board-approved experience working with persons having a substance use disorder, twenty-five (25) of them directly supervised by a qualifying CADC, LCADC or registered peer; at least forty (40) classroom hours plus the statute's ethics, domestic violence, HIV, advocacy, mentoring and recovery support hours; a board-approved written examination; a twelve (12) month recovery attestation; two references; and living or working in Kentucky a majority of the time.

Does Kentucky Medicaid cover peer support services?

Yes.

907 KAR 15:010 covers peer support by adult, family and youth peer support specialists and by registered alcohol and drug peers, through Medicaid-enrolled provider or multi-specialty groups.

Services are face-to-face, part of the plan of care, and capped at thirty (30) hours per week of direct recipient contact and eight (8) per group.

Supervision in the peer support services clause covers adult, family and youth peers only; the day treatment support services clause permits a registered A&D peer only under an approved behavioral health practitioner's supervision.

Can you become a peer specialist in Kentucky with a criminal record?

The sources this page is built from β€” the three 908 KAR 2 regulations and KRS 309.0831 β€” state no criminal-history bar for peer certification; the research behind the page searched them and none was located.

That is not a clean bill: an employer's own background check is a separate gate, and DBHDID's administrative procedures were not among the documents read.

Ask the department or the board directly how a record affects your application before you apply.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Kentucky
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Kentucky & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DBHDID); the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors registers alcohol and drug peers.