🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Kentucky: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Kentucky credentials substance abuse counselors through the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors, a state board that is also Kentucky's IC&RC member board.

The ladder climbs from the associate certificates (AADC I and II) through the CADC and the master's-level LADC, while the clinical track pairs a supervised associate licence (LCADCA) with the LCADC.

Degree floors step from high school to a 60-hour master's, hour totals come from the IC&RC standards the statutes import, and supervision follows the board's four-domain rule.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Kentucky, that is the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (KBADC).

At a glance

Credential tiers

Associate Alcohol & Drug Counselor I β†’ II β†’ Certified Alcohol & Drug Counselor (CADC) β†’ Licensed Alcohol & Drug Counselor (LADC), plus the clinical pair Licensed Clinical Alcohol & Drug Counselor Associate (LCADCA) β†’ LCADC and the Certified Clinical Supervisor credential.

Type and issuing body

Both state certificates and state licences, issued by the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (KBADC), a state board that is itself the IC&RC member board β€” so the state credential and the IC&RC reciprocal credential come from the same regulator.

Degree floor

High school diploma or equivalency (AADC I); baccalaureate unless certified as an AADC II (CADC); a 30-hour master's in a human services field with clinical application (LADC); a 60-hour master's, 30-hour advanced placement master's, or doctorate in a behavioral science with clinical application (LCADCA/LCADC).

Supervised hours

AADC II: 400 hours (at least 80 in chemical dependency counseling).

CADC/LADC: the IC&RC ADC work-experience standard β€” 6,000/5,000/4,000/2,000 hours by degree.

LCADC: the statute imports only the AADC education (180 hrs) and supervision (100 hrs) requirements and sets no work-hour total.

Clinical supervision: 300/250/200/100 hours by degree, at least 10 in each of four domains (201 KAR 35:070 Β§1(3)).

Exams

CADC and LADC: an IC&RC-approved written exam.

LCADC: a written exam 'as specified by the board in administrative regulation' β€” the specific exam is not stated in the sources read.

No exam named for the associate certificates in the sources read.

Scope and diagnosis

Practice means the assessment and counseling of an individual, family, or group dealing with an alcohol or drug problem or addiction, and 'Does not include the diagnosis or treatment of a mental health condition, or the administration or interpretation of psychological tests' (KRS 309.080(11)).

Other licensees

Not stated in the sources read β€” the exemption section for other licensees (LPC/LCSW/MFT) was not among the statutes retrieved.

IC&RC reciprocity

KBADC is the IC&RC member board, so IC&RC reciprocity runs through the regulator β€” and eligibility is IC&RC's own framing, not a guaranteed transfer (CADC/LADC map to ADC; LCADC to AADC; CCS to CS).

State reciprocity under KRS 309.088 requires the same privileges and substantially similar requirements.

Renewal & CE

CADC/LADC/LCADC: 60 CE hours per three-year period including 3 in ethics.

AADC I/II: 30 hours each year including 6 in ethics.

LCADCA: 20 hours each year.

CCS: 9 hours per three years.

Plus 6 hours in suicide assessment (KRS 210.366); at least 50% live synchronous or face-to-face.

The Kentucky credential ladder

  1. Associate Alcohol and Drug Counselor I(AADC I)Pre-licensure

    A state certificate, not a licence: the entry rung requires a high school diploma or equivalency, forty (40) classroom hours of board-approved curriculum, and ongoing supervision by a board-approved supervisor of no less than two (2) hours, two (2) times a month (KRS 309.0841).

  2. Associate Alcohol and Drug Counselor II(AADC II)Pre-licensure

    A state certificate built on the AADC I: at least eight (8) months holding it, four hundred (400) hours of documented chemical dependency counseling-related compensated work or supervised internship with at least eighty (80) hours in chemical dependency counseling, and seventy (70) approved classroom hours beyond the AADC I set (KRS 309.0842).

  3. Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CADC)Other

    A state certificate at the IC&RC ADC standard: age eighteen, a baccalaureate degree unless the applicant is certified as an AADC II, the IC&RC minimum education, work-experience and supervision requirements, and an IC&RC-approved written examination (KRS 309.083).

  4. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor(LADC)Other

    A state licence, created in 2021, at the IC&RC ADC standard with a master's floor: a thirty (30) hour master's degree in a human services field with clinical application, the IC&RC education, work-experience and supervision requirements, and an IC&RC-approved written examination (KRS 309.0830).

  5. Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor Associate(LCADCA)Pre-licensure

    A state licence, not a registration: the supervised associate form of the clinical licence, which completes the KRS 309.0832(1) to (9) requirements, obtains a board-approved supervisor of record, and may be supervised only by a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor (KRS 309.0833; 201 KAR 35:070 Β§4(4)).

  6. Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor(LCADC)Other

    The board's clinical licence: a sixty (60) hour master's, a thirty (30) hour advanced placement master's, or a doctorate in a behavioral science with clinical application, the IC&RC AADC education and supervision requirements, and a written examination as specified by the board in administrative regulation (KRS 309.0832).

  7. Certified Clinical Supervisor(CCS)Supervisor

    A state certificate for clinical supervisors; its requirements sit in KRS 309.0834, which is not among the statutes read, while the sources read carry the path from board-approved supervisor (a five-year window to qualify) and its nine (9) continuing education hours per three years (201 KAR 35:070 Β§4(1)(c); 201 KAR 35:040 Β§1(2)).

Seven board credentials β€” certificates and licences side by side

πŸ“œ KRS 309.080

The Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors issues seven counselor credentials: three certificates (associate alcohol and drug counselor I and II, certified alcohol and drug counselor), three licences (licensed alcohol and drug counselor, licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor associate, licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor), and the certified clinical supervisor credential.

The board also registers alcohol and drug peer support specialists under KRS 309.0831 β€” a separate peer role, noted only to mark it off from the counselor ladder.

Because KBADC is itself the IC&RC member board, the state credential and the IC&RC reciprocal credential come from the same regulator.

One gap matters before you rely on any page about Kentucky: the statutes the research retrieved set the credential requirements, but the section that protects the title or the practice was not among them, so the sources read do not state whether Kentucky practice is legally restricted to credential holders.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œ"Licensee" means a clinical alcohol and drug counselor who is licensed pursuant to KRS 309.080 to 309.089”

Degree floors that step up the ladder

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0841; .0842; .083; .0830; .0832

The entry certificate starts at a high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma plus forty (40) classroom hours of board-approved curriculum, with at least thirty (30) more in the first twelve months (KRS 309.0841).

The AADC II adds seventy (70) approved classroom hours beyond the AADC I set (KRS 309.0842).

The CADC requires a baccalaureate unless the applicant is certified as an AADC II, plus the IC&RC ADC education requirements and six (6) hours of ethics training, three (3) hours of domestic violence training, and two (2) hours of HIV training (KRS 309.083).

The LADC sets a thirty (30) hour master's degree in a human services field with clinical application (KRS 309.0830).

The clinical licence steps higher: a sixty (60) hour master's, a thirty (30) hour advanced placement master's, or a doctoral degree, each in a behavioral science with clinical application (KRS 309.0832).

The CADC, LADC and LCADC statutes require applicants to live or work at least a majority of the time in Kentucky (KRS 309.083(9); .0830(8); .0832(8)); the LCADCA inherits it via 309.0833(1)(b).

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œHave obtained a baccalaureate degree, unless the applicant is certified by the board as an associate alcohol and drug counselor II”

Hours: 400 at the associate rung, IC&RC standards above it

πŸ“œ KRS 309.0842; 309.083(3); 309.0832(3); 201 KAR 35:070 Β§1(3)

The AADC II needs at least eight (8) months as an AADC I and four hundred (400) hours of documented chemical dependency counseling-related compensated work or supervised internship, of which a minimum of eighty (80) hours are in chemical dependency counseling, all under a qualified supervisor (KRS 309.0842).

Above that rung Kentucky does not write its own hour totals: KRS 309.083(3) imports the IC&RC ADC work-experience standard, 6,000 hours with a high school diploma, 5,000 with an associate degree, 4,000 with a bachelor's, and 2,000 with a master's or higher.

The clinical licence is different: KRS 309.0832(3) imports only the IC&RC AADC education and supervision requirements, 180 education hours and 100 supervision hours, and prints no work-experience total, so the sources read set no LCADC work-hour floor.

The board's rule sets the clinical supervision inside those hours: 300 for a high school diploma, 250 for an associate degree, 200 for a bachelor's, and 100 for a master's or higher, at least ten (10) hours in each of four domains (201 KAR 35:070 Β§1(3)).

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œfour hundred (400) hours of documented chemical dependency counseling-related compensated work or supervised internship experience of which a minimum of eighty (80) hours shall be in chemical dependency counseling”

Two IC&RC-approved exams and one the board specifies

πŸ“œ KRS 309.083(5); 309.0830(4); 309.0832(4)

The CADC requires a written examination for alcohol and drug counselors approved by the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (KRS 309.083(5)), and the LADC statute likewise requires a written examination approved by the IC&RC (KRS 309.0830(4)).

The clinical licence differs: KRS 309.0832(4) requires a written examination as specified by the board in administrative regulation, and the sources read do not name which exam the board's regulation specifies β€” check KBADC's current application materials before scheduling.

The associate certificates (AADC I and II) carry no exam requirement in the statutes read.

β€œa written examination for alcohol and drug counselors that has been approved by the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium”

Choosing a supervisor: who qualifies, and the frequency floor

πŸ“œ KRS 309.083(3); 309.0830(3); 201 KAR 35:070 Β§3(1), Β§4(1)-(4)

For a CADC applicant, KRS 309.083(3) requires supervised hours under a certified alcohol and drug counselor with at least two (2) years of post-certification experience plus the board-sponsored supervision training, or an LCADC with at least twelve (12) months of post-licensure experience or that training.

For an LADC applicant, KRS 309.0830(3) keeps the LCADC option but requires its two-year supervisor to be a licensed alcohol and drug counselor with at least two (2) years of post-licensure experience plus the training.

The rule's supervisor-approval path is where reciprocity enters: a certified or licensed alcohol and drug counselor needs two (2) years of post-certification experience, including Alcohol and Drug Counselor credentials transferred through reciprocity, plus the training (201 KAR 35:070 Β§4(1)(a)2).

The frequency floor: supervision must consist of not less than two (2) hours, two (2) times a month, met with face-to-face individual or group weekly contact except as the rule provides (Β§3(1)).

A supervisor of record who is a certified alcohol and drug counselor or licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor is capped at twenty-five (25) supervisees (Β§4(3)).

β€œConsist of not less than two (2) hours, two (2) times a month in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling”

Assessment and counseling for addiction β€” not mental health practice

πŸ“œ KRS 309.080(11)

The statutory definition draws the scope line for every credential on this page: the practice of alcohol and drug counseling means the assessment and counseling of an individual, family, or group dealing with an alcohol or drug problem or addiction.

No credential in the statutes read β€” the clinical LCADC included β€” adds diagnostic authority on top of it.

What the sources read cannot tell you is the enforcement side: the section that protects the title or the practice, and the exemption section for other licensees, were not among the statutes retrieved, so whether Kentucky practice is legally restricted to credential holders, and which other licensees may counsel outside these credentials, is not stated in the sources read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œ(a) Means the assessment and counseling of an individual, family, or group dealing with an alcohol or drug problem or addiction; and (b) Does not include the diagnosis or treatment of a mental health condition, or the administration or interpretation of psychological tests”

Moving to Kentucky: reciprocity through the IC&RC member board itself

πŸ“œ KRS 309.088

Reciprocity runs through the regulator: a holder of one member board's credential may be eligible for reciprocity into another, not all certifications and licences are eligible, and member boards have the authority to set reciprocity requirements.

The directory row maps the CADC/LADC to ADC, the LCADC to AADC, and the CCS to CS.

KRS 309.088(1) lets the board grant a reciprocal credential to out-of-state holders of the CCS, LADC, LCADC, CADC, AADC II, AADC I, or the alcohol and drug peer support specialist when three conditions hold: the other jurisdiction grants the same privileges, the requirements are substantially similar, and the applicant states they have studied, are familiar with, and will abide by KRS 309.080 to 309.089.

KRS 309.088(2) adds a catch-up: where Kentucky asks for more than the other jurisdiction does, the applicant must meet those additional requirements.

For the CADC, LADC and LCADC, one such requirement is residency (KRS 309.083(9); 309.0830(8); 309.0832(8)).

The LCADCA is not on the reciprocity list; it applies directly under 309.0833(1)(b), which carries the same condition.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

β€œThe requirements for licensure, certification, or registration are substantially similar to the requirements in KRS 309.080 to 309.089”

Renewal cycles: 60 hours for the credentials, 30 a year for the associates

πŸ“œ 201 KAR 35:040 Β§1(1)-(2), Β§2(3); KRS 210.366

Continuing education differs by credential.

The CADC and LADC each accrue sixty (60) continuing education hours during the three (3) year certification period for renewal, with at least three (3) hours in ethics, and the LCADC carries the same 60-hour, three-year, three-ethics requirement over its licensure period.

The associate certificates accrue thirty (30) hours each year including at least six (6) in ethics; the LCADCA accrues twenty (20) hours each year, with three ethics hours during the renewal cycle; and the certified clinical supervisor accrues nine (9) hours per three years, at least three of them the board-sponsored clinical supervision training.

Every credential holder also completes six (6) hours in suicide assessment, treatment, and management under KRS 210.366, and at least fifty (50) percent of required hours must be earned through live synchronous or face-to-face presentations.

One labeling quirk: the CE rule names the associate tiers 'certified alcohol and drug counselor associate I or II,' while the statute calls them associate alcohol and drug counselors.

β€œA minimum of sixty (60) continuing education hours shall be accrued by each person holding a credential as a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or certified alcohol and drug counselor during the three (3) year certification period for renewal with at least three (3) continuing education hours in ethics”

A ladder rebuilt in 2020–2021, amended in 2024

πŸ“œ 2024 Ky. Acts ch. 89; 2021 Ky. Acts ch. 107; 2020 Ky. Acts ch. 99

Three waves shaped the current ladder.

The associate certificates were created by 2020 Ky.

Acts ch. 99, effective March 1, 2021.

The LADC tier was created by 2021 Ky.

Acts ch. 107, effective March 24, 2021, and ch. 107 amended the clinical licence statutes the same day.

Then 2024 Ky.

Acts ch. 89, effective July 15, 2024, amended the definitions, the CADC statute, both associate statutes, and the reciprocity statute.

One warning follows from that 2021 rewrite: guides that print hour figures attributed to KRS 309.0832 β€” classroom hours or experience hours for the clinical licence β€” are repeating the pre-2021 text.

The current statute contains no hour figures; it incorporates the IC&RC AADC education and supervision requirements instead, so treat any specific KRS 309.0832 hour total in an older guide as outdated.

β€œCreated 2021 Ky. Acts ch. 107, sec. 2, effective March 24, 2021”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Kentucky statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (KBADC) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Kentucky.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (KBADC) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Kentucky that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Kentucky?

Kentucky issues both state certificates and state licences for alcohol and drug counseling, but the statutes the research retrieved set credential requirements without the title- or practice-protection section, so the sources read do not state whether practising requires one of these credentials.

What they do show: KBADC issues three certificates (AADC I, AADC II, CADC), three licences (LADC, LCADCA, LCADC) and a certified clinical supervisor credential.

Can you become a Kentucky CADC without a bachelor's degree?

Yes β€” through the associate route.

KRS 309.083 requires a baccalaureate degree 'unless the applicant is certified by the board as an associate alcohol and drug counselor II.'

The AADC II itself takes at least eight (8) months as an AADC I, four hundred (400) hours of documented chemical dependency counseling-related work (at least eighty (80) in chemical dependency counseling), and seventy (70) classroom hours beyond the AADC I set.

How many supervised hours does the Kentucky LCADC need?

KRS 309.0832(3) imports the IC&RC AADC education and supervision requirements rather than printing its own figures, so the concrete numbers are 180 education hours and 100 supervision hours.

The board's rule sets that 100-hour clinical supervision for applicants with a master's degree or higher, at least ten (10) hours in each of four domains (201 KAR 35:070 Β§1(3)); the statute names no work-experience total, so the sources read set no LCADC work-hour floor.

Guides citing specific hour figures inside KRS 309.0832 are repeating the pre-2021 text.

Who can supervise AADC II hours in Kentucky?

The 400 hours must all fall under the direct supervision of a certified alcohol and drug counselor with at least two (2) years of post-certification experience and the board-sponsored supervision training, or a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor with at least twelve (12) months of post-licensure experience or that training (KRS 309.0842).

A licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor associate, by contrast, may be supervised only by an LCADC (201 KAR 35:070 Β§4(4)).

Can a Kentucky alcohol and drug counselor diagnose mental health conditions?

No. The statutory definition of the practice of alcohol and drug counseling 'Does not include the diagnosis or treatment of a mental health condition, or the administration or interpretation of psychological tests' (KRS 309.080(11)).

The statutes read add no diagnostic authority at any tier, including the clinical LCADC.

Whether Kentucky practice is otherwise restricted to credential holders is not stated in the sources read.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Kentucky
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Kentucky & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Kentucky Board of Alcohol and Drug Counselors (KBADC).