🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Massachusetts: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Massachusetts certifies peer specialists; it does not license them, and it has no single credential.

Mental health peers earn the Certified Peer Specialist (CPS) by completing Kiva Centers' 65-hour training and passing the state-recognized certification exam.

Recovery coaches earn the Certified Addiction Recovery Coach (CARC) from the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification β€” 60 training hours, 500 supervised work hours and 35 supervision hours per its 2018 packet.

MassHealth requires CARC credentialing, or active progress toward it, for peer recovery coaches in its substance use disorder services.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Massachusetts, that is the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC) for the CARC; Kiva Centers, DMH-funded nonprofit, for the CPS.

At a glance

Credential titles

Certified Peer Specialist (CPS) for mental health peers and Certified Addiction Recovery Coach (CARC) for substance use recovery coaches.

They are separate credentials from two separate certifiers, not tiers of one licence.

Certifier

CPS: Kiva Centers, a nonprofit β€” the only organization in the Commonwealth authorized to provide the training, fully funded by the Massachusetts Department of Mental Health.

CARC: the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC), a state certification board.

Training

CPS: a 65-hour training through Kiva Centers, free to participants.

CARC: 60 hours across the four domains plus additional areas, per MBSACC's requirements packet β€” PDF created June 2018, and current CARC figures were not located.

Supervised or work hours

CARC (2018 packet): 500 hours of supervised work experience specific to the domains, within the past ten years, paid or volunteer, plus 35 hours of supervision with a minimum of 5 hours in each domain.

CPS: not stated in the sources read.

Exam

CPS: the state-recognized certification exam after the training.

CARC: the 2018 packet waived the IC&RC written exam during a grandparenting period; MBSACC's current page links a CARC Test Application, and its content was not read.

Lived experience

CPS: your own lived experience with significant life impacts like trauma or receiving a mental health diagnosis, with willingness to share your recovery story.

MassHealth separately requires peer recovery coaches to have at least two years of sustained recovery.

The MBSACC packet read states no lived-experience line.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Recovery coaches: covered under 130 CMR 418.000 β€” at least two years of sustained recovery, CARC held or in progress (adopted eff.

1/1/2023, amended eff.

3/28/2025).

CPS: services reach MassHealth through Behavioral Health Community Partners, CSP, One Care and crisis programs (130 CMR 448.000), with an EOHHS rate of $16.92 in CHCs and CBHCs, per the BCBSMA Foundation (Dec 2023, secondary).

Renewal & CE

CARC (2018 packet): recertification every two years with 30 contact hours of approved continuing education; the recertification form shows a $150 fee.

CPS renewal: not stated in the sources read.

The Massachusetts credential ladder

  1. Certified Peer Specialist(CPS)Independent

    The mental health peer credential: complete the 65-hour training at Kiva Centers, the only organization in the Commonwealth authorized to provide it, and pass the state-recognized certification exam.

    It is a certification, not a licence.

  2. Certified Addiction Recovery Coach(CARC)Independent

    The substance use recovery coach certification from MBSACC, and the credential MassHealth names in its rule for peer recovery coaches, who must hold it or be actively working to obtain it (130 CMR 418.410(B)(1)).

Two credentials from two certifiers, not one ladder

πŸ“œ MBSACC CARC page and requirements packet (2018); Kiva Centers CPS pages

Massachusetts has no single peer certification.

The Certified Peer Specialist is the mental health credential, built entirely around Kiva Centers: the state has authorized Kiva as the only provider of its training, and the program is fully funded by the Department of Mental Health.

The Certified Addiction Recovery Coach is the substance use credential, issued by the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification.

Neither is a licence, and neither is a rung toward the other β€” they rest on different lived experience, different training and different certifiers.

Read job postings carefully, because Massachusetts employers may mean either credential when they say peer.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œKiva Centers is the only organization in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts authorized to provide this training.”

Lived experience: worded by Kiva and by MassHealth, not by a board rule

πŸ“œ Kiva CPS course page; 130 CMR 418.410(B)(1)

For the CPS, Kiva's eligibility list asks for your own lived experience with significant life impacts like trauma or receiving a mental health diagnosis, and the willingness to share your own mental health recovery story in the context of peer support.

For recovery coaches, the two-year recovery rule comes from MassHealth's billing rule, not from a certifier: peer recovery coaches serving MassHealth members must have at least two years of sustained recovery.

The MBSACC CARC packet that was read states no lived-experience line at all β€” so the recovery requirement a recovery coach hears about is the payer's, and the CPS's wording is the trainer's.

β€œHave your own lived experience with significant life impacts like trauma, receiving a mental health diagnosis.”

Training: 65 CPS hours at Kiva, 60 CARC hours from a 2018 packet

πŸ“œ Kiva CPS course page; MBSACC CARC Information and Requirements packet (PDF created June 2018)

The CPS training is 65 hours, delivered over 4 to 10 weeks depending on the format, with mandatory attendance, and there is no cost for training, exams or materials because the Department of Mental Health funds the program.

Applicants need to be 18 or older, live or work in Massachusetts, and hold a high school diploma or equivalent such as a GED or HiSET.

The CARC's education requirement is 60 hours β€” Advocacy 10, Mentoring/Education 10, Recovery/Wellness Support 10, Ethical Responsibility 16, plus Cultural Competency 3, Addictions 101 5, Mental Health 3 and Motivational Interviewing 3 β€” with a high school diploma or GED and no distance learning accepted for initial certification.

That breakdown is from the June 2018 packet, flagged as old; current MBSACC figures were not located, so confirm them before you plan coursework.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

CARC hours: 500 supervised work hours and 35 supervision hours (2018 packet)

πŸ“œ MBSACC CARC Information and Requirements packet (PDF created June 2018)

The CARC's work requirement is 500 hours of supervised work experience specific to the domains, completed within the past ten years, and it can be paid or volunteer.

On top of that sits 35 hours of supervision specific to the domains with a minimum of 5 hours in each of the four domains, provided by an organization's documented and qualified supervisory staff β€” the packet requires the supervisor to be a trained Recovery Coach and/or to have completed the Recovery Coach supervision training, and allows the hours to accumulate under more than one supervisor or agency.

The supervisor requirement makes an organization with qualified supervisory staff, paid or volunteer, the qualifying setting β€” so confirm a prospective employer can document both the hours and the supervision before you count on them.

No supervised or work hours for the CPS were stated in the sources read.

β€œ500 Hours of Supervised work experience specific to the domains (see below). Work experience must have been completed within the past ten (10) years and can be as paid or volunteer staff.”

Exams: a state-recognized CPS exam; a CARC Test Application on the current page

πŸ“œ Kiva CPS course page; MBSACC CARC page and requirements packet (2018)

For the CPS the path is training then exam: you become a Certified Peer Specialist when you complete the CPS training and pass the certification exam, and Kiva describes that exam as the state-recognized certification exam.

For the CARC, the 2018 packet said the IC&RC written exam would not be required during a test-exempt grandparenting period.

None of the sources read dates or confirms when that period ended: what exists today is a CARC Test Application link on MBSACC's current page, which suggests an exam now applies, and its content was not read.

Ask MBSACC which requirement applies to you before you plan around either version.

β€œThe IC&RC written exam for the CARC Certification will not be required during the test exempt (grand-parenting) period.”

MassHealth covers peer services: recovery coaches under 418.410, CPS via 448.000 programs

πŸ“œ 130 CMR 418.410(B)(1)–(2); BCBSMA Foundation peer workforce report (Dec 2023, SECONDARY)

MassHealth pays for both credentials, through different doors.

Peer recovery coaches sit in the substance use disorder services regulation, 130 CMR 418.000: staff rule 418.410(B)(1) requires at least two years of sustained recovery and CARC credentialing held or actively being obtained, and a March 2025 amendment added a pregnant and postpartum coach category with the same recovery and credentialing plus lived experience as a pregnant or postpartum individual or specialized training.

The CPS reaches MassHealth through programs the BCBSMA Foundation's December 2023 report (secondary) names: Behavioral Health Community Partners, Community Support Program (CSP), One Care, and Community Crisis Stabilization and Mobile Crisis Intervention services (130 CMR 448.000).

The report also lists an EOHHS rate of $16.92 for CPS services in community health centers (130 CMR 306) and Certified Behavioral Health Centers (130 CMR 305).

Recovery coach services, it says, are covered for all members except MassHealth Limited, at $19.70 per enrolled client day under 101 CMR 346.

The federal funding authority behind these benefits is not stated in the sources read.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œhold, or be actively working to obtain, credentialing as a Certified Addiction Recovery Coach (CARC) through the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification, or alternative licensure or certification process, as directed by EOHHS.”

Supervision: no peer-named billing rule located; the rule's general staff standard applies

πŸ“œ 130 CMR 418.410(A)

The research did not locate a peer-specific billing supervision rule β€” no named supervisor credential, frequency or ratio for peer recovery coaches β€” in the MassHealth text that was read.

What the rule does say is general and reaches peers squarely: it requires direct and continuous supervision for professionals who are unlicensed or in a profession without licensure, allows that supervision to be delivered by telehealth, makes the supervising clinician primarily responsible for the member's care with chart review documented, and requires all supervision to be documented where MassHealth can review it.

The rule also recognizes certified peer supervisors as a staff class, supervised under the relevant licensing requirements and program policy.

Ask a prospective employer how it staffs supervision against this standard.

β€œAll professionals who are unlicensed, who are in a profession without licensure, or who are not independently licensed or certified as a peer supervisor must receive direct and continuous supervision.”

Moving to Massachusetts: residency rules and an open IC&RC question

πŸ“œ MBSACC CARC requirements packet (2018); Kiva CPS course page; PRCoE 2023 (AGGREGATE)

Both credentials draw a Massachusetts line.

The MBSACC packet requires CARC applicants to be working and/or living in Massachusetts at least 51% of their time at application, and Kiva's CPS eligibility requires that you live or work in the state.

Reciprocity is the uncertain part: PRCoE's January 2023 national chart lists MBSACC among IC&RC member boards, but MBSACC's own packet says it would apply to the IC&RC for reciprocity status after grandparenting, and its IC&RC status was not re-verified in the sources read.

If you hold an IC&RC peer credential from another state, ask MBSACC directly what transfers before you assume it counts toward the CARC.

No reciprocity route for the CPS was stated in the sources read.

β€œMBSACC will make application to the IC&RC for acceptance for the MBSACC CARC Certification to receive reciprocity status.”

Renewal: CARC every two years with 30 contact hours; CPS renewal not located

πŸ“œ MBSACC CARC requirements packet (2018) and CARC Recertification form

MBSACC certifications run on a two-year period, and the CARC renews by holding a current certificate, submitting 30 contact hours of approved continuing education, and paying the recertification fee β€” the recertification form on MBSACC's page shows $150.

What counts toward those 30 hours is deferred to the packet's Recertification Policy, which is not among the sources read.

All of this is 2018 paper, so treat the figures as the last ones on file rather than the current rule.

For the CPS, Kiva's pages read state no renewal or continuing-education requirement, so ask the CPS Administrative Team what certified specialists must do to stay certified.

β€œSubmit 30 contact hours of approved continuing education, approved by MBSACC, as described in the Recertification Policy.”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ 130 CMR 418.410 (Mass Register Issue 1485, eff. 1/1/2023; Issue 1544, eff. 3/28/2025); BCBSMA Foundation report (Dec 2023); Kiva CPS pages (2026)

MassHealth's substance use disorder services rule was adopted effective January 1, 2023 and amended effective March 28, 2025, when 418.410 gained the pregnant and postpartum peer recovery coach category.

CPS training grew from 50 hours as described in the Foundation's December 2023 report, citing the Transformation Center, to the 65 hours Kiva lists in 2026 β€” the 50-hour figure is stale and should not be repeated.

A bill to license recovery coaches, H.2005/S.1388, was reported by the Foundation in 2023; its enactment status was not established in the sources read.

The MBSACC requirements on file still date to June 2018, and current post-2018 CARC requirements were not located.

Applying: paper forms for the CARC, references and interviews for the CPS

πŸ“œ MBSACC CARC application packet (2018); Kiva CPS course page

The two application processes barely resemble each other.

MBSACC's packet requires hand-printed applications β€” typed forms are returned β€” mailed with a $250 application review fee during the grandparenting period, and supervisors must mail work-verification forms directly to MBSACC; no distance learning counts toward initial certification.

The packet's documentation rules attach to that initial application: workshop and conference certificates must be submitted with the application, with the participant's name officially recorded by the sponsoring agency, and in-service education and on-the-job training are not admissible for credit.

Kiva runs a three-step process: an online application, an interview, and two references submitted through its survey, at least one from a Certified Peer Specialist or someone you have supported, with family members and treatment providers not accepted.

CPS training applications open only during set windows for each cohort, so plan around the calendar rather than applying on demand.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Massachusetts statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC) for the CARC; Kiva Centers, DMH-funded nonprofit, for the CPS publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Massachusetts.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC) for the CARC; Kiva Centers, DMH-funded nonprofit, for the CPS before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Massachusetts that asks for it.

What Peer Support Specialist Job Listings in Massachusetts Show Right Now

From the 13 active peer support specialist listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.

Open listings
13
peer support specialist jobs in Massachusetts
Employers hiring
3
practices, clinics and systems
Posted in last 14 days
3
new listings
Listings stating pay
0%
of open listings

Benefits and work arrangement

  • Health Insurancenamed in 69%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 69%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 69%
  • PTO / Paid Time Offnamed in 69%
  • Continuing Education Budgetnamed in 69%

Source: active peer support specialist listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 13 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Massachusetts?

No. Massachusetts certifies peers; it does not license them.

The mental health credential is the Certified Peer Specialist, earned through Kiva Centers' 65-hour training and the state-recognized certification exam.

The substance use credential is the Certified Addiction Recovery Coach from MBSACC.

MassHealth's billing rule names the CARC for peer recovery coaches, so employers will tell you which of the two they need β€” ask before you enroll in either.

How many hours do you need to become a peer specialist in Massachusetts?

It depends on the credential.

The CPS requires the 65-hour Kiva training plus the state-recognized certification exam, with no supervised-hours figure stated in the sources read.

The CARC, per MBSACC's June 2018 packet, requires 60 training hours, 500 hours of supervised work experience within the past ten years, and 35 hours of supervision with at least 5 hours in each domain.

The packet is dated, so confirm current CARC hours with MBSACC before counting.

Can you become a peer specialist in Massachusetts with a criminal record?

No certification-level background-check rule was located in the sources read for either credential β€” the MBSACC packet and Kiva's eligibility list state none.

That is not the same as saying records do not matter: hiring employers run their own background checks as a separate gate, and MassHealth-enrolled programs carry their own requirements.

Ask MBSACC and Kiva directly how a record affects certification, and ask a prospective employer what its check covers.

Does MassHealth pay for peer support in Massachusetts?

Yes β€” both credentials reach MassHealth.

Peer recovery coaches in substance use disorder services need two years of sustained recovery and CARC credentialing held or in progress under 130 CMR 418.410(B)(1), and the BCBSMA Foundation's December 2023 report describes recovery coach services as covered for all members except MassHealth Limited at $19.70 per enrolled client day.

For the CPS, the same report says services are part of MassHealth's Behavioral Health Community Partners program, Community Support Program, One Care and crisis services (130 CMR 448.000), with an EOHHS rate of $16.92 in community health centers and Certified Behavioral Health Centers.

Can you get hired as a peer in Massachusetts before you are certified?

Often, yes.

Kiva's FAQ says a person may be hired before becoming certified, with the expectation of completing the training and earning certification within the first six months to one year of employment, though a few agencies require certification beforehand and set their own standards.

For recovery coaches, MassHealth's rule accepts coaches who hold or are actively working to obtain the CARC, so certification-in-progress is built into the billing rule itself.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Massachusetts
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Massachusetts & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC) for the CARC; Kiva Centers, DMH-funded nonprofit, for the CPS.