Massachusetts licenses substance abuse counselors at three tiers under the Department of Public Health's Bureau of Substance Addiction Services: LADC-A, LADC II and LADC I.
The licence is not a universal practice requirement — employees of DPH-licensed or approved treatment programs are exempt while they counsel solely within the program.
LADC II and the assistant tier start at a high school diploma; the LADC I requires a behavioral-sciences master's or doctorate.
Every tier takes a Department-prescribed exam unless a current certification from MBSACC, NAADAC, IC&RC or another recognized body waives it.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Three state licences, lowest to highest: licensed alcohol and drug counselor assistant (LADC-A), licensed alcohol and drug counselor II (LADC II) and licensed alcohol and drug counselor I (LADC I).
MBSACC's CADC, CADC II, CCS, CCJP and CPS are separate private certifications.
A state agency licence issued by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (Bureau of Substance Addiction Services) under M.G.L. c.
111J and 105 CMR 168.000.
MBSACC is the private IC&RC member board.
LADC I: a master's or doctorate in behavioral sciences with at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling or counseling-related subjects, plus a 270-hour approved program.
LADC II: high school diploma or equivalent plus the same 270 hours.
LADC-A: high school diploma or equivalent plus ten hours of continuing education in each of five subject areas.
LADC I and II: a 300-hour supervised counseling practicum plus at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience within the past ten years; a bachelor's waives 2,000 of the 6,000 for the LADC II.
LADC-A: at least one year or 2,000 hours.
A Department-prescribed written examination, portions of which may be conducted orally, plus a possible oral examination for those who pass the written; one retake within 12 months.
105 CMR 168.013 waives the exam for holders of a current certification from a recognized certifying body, including MBSACC, CEAP, CAC, NAADAC and ICRC, who meet an eligibility category.
LADC I may provide clinical supervision to LADC II and LADC-A; LADC II may supervise LADC-A.
Whether an LADC may diagnose or the LADC I may practise independently: Not stated in the sources read.
Yes: 105 CMR 168.005(A)(1) exempts an educational psychologist, marriage and family therapist, mental health counselor, nurse practitioner, occupational therapist, physician, physician assistant, practical nurse, psychologist, registered nurse, rehabilitation counselor and social worker; 168.005(A)(3) exempts employees counselling solely within DPH-licensed programs.
The DPH licence is not an IC&RC credential.
MBSACC is the Massachusetts IC&RC member (CADC → ADC, CADC II → AADC; also CCS, CCJP, CPS), and a current certification from a recognized certifying body, including MBSACC, CEAP, CAC, NAADAC and ICRC, waives the exam.
Licences expire on the first day of October of each even-numbered year, or not more than two years from issue (168.011).
The number of CE hours per licence category is set by Department guidelines — not stated in the sources read.
The entry state licence: a person licensed by the Department to provide recovery based services under direct clinical and administrative supervision (105 CMR 168.004), needing a high school diploma or equivalent, at least one year or 2,000 hours of supervised work experience, and ten hours of continuing education in each of the five exam subject areas (105 CMR 168.006(C)).
Supervised by an LADC I or an LADC II (168.006(D)).
A full state licence to practise alcohol and drug counseling under clinical supervision (105 CMR 168.004): a high school diploma or equivalent, the 270-hour approved education program, the 300-hour practicum and at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised work experience — a bachelor's waives 2,000 of the 6,000 (105 CMR 168.006(B)).
The supervisory tier: a master's or doctorate in behavioral sciences with at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling, the same 270-hour program, practicum and work experience; an LADC I may provide clinical supervision to an LADC II and/or an LADC-A (105 CMR 168.006(A), (D)).
Massachusetts licenses alcohol and drug counselors at three tiers under the Department of Public Health: licensed alcohol and drug counselor assistant (LADC-A), licensed alcohol and drug counselor II (LADC II) and licensed alcohol and drug counselor I (LADC I) — three state licences, not certifications.
The licence is not a universal practice requirement.
105 CMR 168.005(A)(3) exempts employees of treatment programs or facilities licensed or approved by the Department, as long as they counsel solely within or under that program's jurisdiction; the other exemptions cover a list of licensed professions (A)(1), employees and agents of academic institutions, employee assistance programs, government agencies and schools counselling solely for those bodies (A)(2), qualified members of other professions — clergy among them — counselling consistent with their professions' standards (B), and peer or self-help groups (C).
Read the exemption that fits your setting before assuming the licence applies.
Beside the state licence, the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification (MBSACC) — a private IC&RC member board — issues CADC, CADC II, CCS, CCJP and CPS certifications.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“an employee of an alcohol or drug treatment program or facility which is licensed or approved by the Department pursuant to M.G.L. c. 111B and M.G.L. c. 111E; provided, however, that such individual perform alcohol and drug counseling solely within or under the jurisdiction of such program or facility.”
The education floor rises with the tier.
The LADC I needs a master's or doctorate degree in behavioral sciences from a recognized institution, at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling or counseling-related subjects, and an approved program of a minimum of 270 hours: 110 on knowledge of alcoholism and drug abuse, 75 on counseling, assessment, clinical evaluation, treatment planning and case management, 75 on patient, family and community education and cultural competency, and ten on professional and ethical responsibilities.
The behavioral-sciences list is broad — the 168.004 definitions run from psychology, social work and nursing to counseling/guidance, criminal justice and education.
The LADC II needs only a high school diploma or equivalent plus the same 270-hour program — no degree.
The LADC-A needs a high school diploma or equivalent and a minimum of ten hours of continuing education training in each of the five subject areas covered by the examination.
All applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“a master's or doctorate degree in behavioral sciences … with a minimum of 18 graduate semester hours in counseling or counseling-related subjects; and … a minimum of 270 hours”
Both the LADC I and the LADC II need 300 hours of supervised counseling practicum in a program approved by the Department: each of the 12 counselor core functions performed for a minimum of ten hours, with a minimum of one hour of direct face-to-face supervision to ten hours of practical experience documented.
On top of that sits the work-experience requirement: at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience, obtained within the past ten years, covering diagnostic assessment, intervention, individual and group counseling, relapse work, and weekly, on-site and documented clinical supervision.
LADC II applicants with a bachelor's degree or higher may waive 2,000 of the required 6,000 hours by providing transcripts.
The LADC-A instead needs at least one year or 2,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience in the alcoholism and drug abuse field.
The practicum is part of your approved education program, so arrange it through the program — a job started on your own does not substitute for it.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience”
Every tier takes a Department-prescribed written examination; the rule allows portions thereof to be conducted orally (168.006).
The written exam is multiple-choice (168.009(A)), and an oral examination may be administered to applicants who pass the written, in a format consistent with those standards established by the ICRC and any Department recognized certifying body (168.009(D)).
Applicants who fail may retake the examination one additional time within the 12-month period from the date of the initial examination, and an applicant denied a licence after failing the written may request an administrative review within 30 days (168.010).
The application goes on Department forms with a $100.00 fee, three evaluations from people with a minimum of six months of direct knowledge of the applicant's performance (one written by the current or most recent supervisor), and a signed ethics affidavit.
A second door: 105 CMR 168.013 lets the Department issue a licence without the written or oral examination for a current certification from a recognized certifying body, including MBSACC, CEAP, CAC, NAADAC and ICRC, paired with the tier's eligibility requirements.
“The Department will issue a license without requiring written or oral examination to any applicant who is deemed eligible based on the following”
The supervision hierarchy is explicit.
The 168.004 definitions describe clinical supervision as an ongoing, regularly occurring process of examination, critique and improvement of a counselor's skills — one-to-one or small group, using intensive case review and direct and indirect observation of clinical practice — and tie it to the LADC I, while 168.006(D) also authorizes an LADC II to provide clinical supervision to an LADC-A.
For the LADC I and II work experience the rule requires weekly, on-site and documented clinical supervision (168.006(A)(4), (B)(4)); the LADC-A route instead requires supervised full-time work experience in the alcoholism and drug abuse field without spelling out that cadence (168.006(C)(2)).
If you are choosing a first placement as an LADC-A, your clinical supervisor can be an LADC I or an LADC II, so confirm before you accept the position that a qualifying supervisor is actually in place.
What separates the LADC I from the LADC II is the right to supervise an LADC II — and the LADC I education requirements are the gate to it.
“A licensed alcohol and drug counselor I may provide clinical supervision to a licensed alcohol and drug counselor II and/or a licensed alcohol and drug counselor assistant. A licensed alcohol and drug counselor II may provide clinical supervision to a licensed alcohol and drug counselor assistant.”
The rule spells out supervision rights but not much else.
Whether an LADC may diagnose is not addressed in the sections read, and the same is true of independent practice.
What the rule does protect is the title: exempt professionals and members of peer or self-help groups may provide alcohol or drug counseling consistent with their own professions' standards, but no such person shall use a title stating or implying that such person is a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.
The 168.004 definitions position the LADC II as practising alcohol and drug counseling under clinical supervision and the LADC-A as providing recovery based services under direct clinical and administrative supervision, so the tier you hold determines how much independence the licence itself describes.
Beyond that — diagnosis, billing, private practice — the sections read are silent; confirm with the Department.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“no such person shall use a title stating or implying that such person is a licensed alcohol and drug counselor”
No reciprocity or endorsement rule appears in the sections of 105 CMR 168.000 read here.
What it has instead is the 168.013 examination waiver: a licence without the written or oral exam for a current certification from a recognized certifying body, plus the tier's education and experience requirements.
The rule's examples — MBSACC, CEAP, CAC, NAADAC, ICRC — are introduced by "including" — illustrative, not closed.
168.004 defines a recognized certifying body as an organization the Department recognizes whose standards are at least as stringent as the Department's, and the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor definition adds more — the American Academy of Healthcare Providers in the Addictive Disorders, or a certificate from any recognized certifying body (CEAP, CNAC, CCS among them).
An out-of-state counselor's certificate shortens the path without replacing it.
The DPH licence is not an IC&RC credential; IC&RC reciprocity runs between member boards — in Massachusetts, MBSACC: CADC → ADC, CADC II → AADC, plus CCS, CCJP and CPS.
NAADAC and IC&RC credentials do not reciprocate; under 168.013 either counts like any other recognized certifying body.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
Licences expire on the first day of October of each even numbered year, or not more than two years from the date of issue as determined by the Department.
Renewal applications must be filed with a non-refundable fee on or before the 15th day of September each even-numbered year, or 30 days before the licence expires.
Renewal requires evidence of the continuing professional education needed to maintain the licence — but the number of hours is not in the rule: the Department shall issue guidelines and stipulate the number of continuing professional education hours required for each licensed category.
The figure is not stated in the sources read; confirm it with the Bureau of Substance Addiction Services before your first renewal.
At each two-year renewal cycle a random sample of renewal applicants must document their hours, and credit is neither retroactive nor cumulative — it must be earned within the biennium for which it is claimed.
“The Department shall issue guidelines and stipulate the number of continuing professional education hours required for each licensed category”
This page summarizes the Massachusetts statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (Bureau of Substance Addiction Services) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Massachusetts.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (Bureau of Substance Addiction Services) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Massachusetts that asks for it.
From the 16 active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 16 jobs →Not always.
Employees of alcohol or drug treatment programs or facilities licensed or approved by the Department are exempt under 105 CMR 168.005(A)(3) as long as they perform alcohol and drug counseling solely within or under the jurisdiction of that program — so counselor jobs inside DPH-licensed programs often do not require the licence.
The other exemptions cover a list of licensed professions (168.005(A)(1)), employees and agents of academic institutions, employee assistance programs, government agencies and schools counselling solely for those bodies (168.005(A)(2)), qualified members of other professions such as the clergy (168.005(B)), and peer or self-help groups (168.005(C)).
Confirm your setting with the Bureau of Substance Addiction Services.
The degree floor.
The LADC I requires a master's or doctorate in behavioral sciences with at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling or counseling-related subjects, plus the 270-hour approved program; the LADC II requires only a high school diploma or equivalent plus the same 270 hours.
Both tiers need the 300-hour practicum and at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised work experience, though an LADC II applicant with a bachelor's may waive 2,000 of the 6,000 hours.
An LADC I may provide clinical supervision to an LADC II and an LADC-A; an LADC II may supervise an LADC-A (105 CMR 168.006(A)–(D)).
For the LADC I or II: a 300-hour supervised counseling practicum — each of the 12 counselor core functions performed for at least ten hours, with one hour of direct face-to-face supervision documented per ten hours of practical experience — plus at least three years or 6,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience obtained within the past ten years, with weekly, on-site and documented clinical supervision.
A bachelor's degree lets an LADC II applicant waive 2,000 of the 6,000 hours.
The LADC-A needs at least one year or 2,000 hours of supervised full-time work experience (105 CMR 168.006).
The exam, not the requirements.
Under 105 CMR 168.013, the Department issues a licence without the written or oral examination to an applicant who holds a current, valid certification from a recognized certifying body, including MBSACC, CEAP, CAC, NAADAC and ICRC, and meets the eligibility requirements of the tier sought.
MBSACC, the Massachusetts Board of Substance Abuse Counselor Certification, is the private IC&RC member board here; the DPH licence itself is not an IC&RC credential.
You will still need to document the tier's education and supervised hours.
The rule does not set a figure.
Licences expire the first day of October of each even-numbered year, renewal applications are due by September 15 of even-numbered years or 30 days before the licence expires, and renewal must include evidence of continuing professional education — but 105 CMR 168.015(A) leaves the number of hours per licence category to Department guidelines, and the figure is not stated in the sources read.
Ask the Bureau of Substance Addiction Services what the current guideline requires for your tier before your first renewal.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (Bureau of Substance Addiction Services).