🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Nevada: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Nevada certifies peer recovery support specialists; it does not license them.

The Nevada Certification Board, a nonprofit IC&RC member board, issues the PRSS credential, with a PRSS-Intern step at one year of recovery and full certification at two.

You need an approved foundational training, 475 hours of peer work plus 25 supervision hours under a certified PRSS Supervisor, and the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.

Certification renews every two years, and you must live or work in Nevada at least 51% of the time.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Nevada, that is the Nevada Certification Board (NCB), an IC&RC member board.

At a glance

Credential titles

Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS) with a PRSS-Intern (PRSS-I) rung, the PRSS Supervisor (PRSS-S), and the Family Peer Support Specialist (FPSS) with its FPSS-S.

PRSS holders can add problem-gambling and trauma-informed-care endorsements.

Certifier

The Nevada Certification Board, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit administered by CASAT, a Center within the School of Public Health at the University of Nevada, Reno, and an IC&RC member board.

Training

A high school diploma or jurisdictionally certified high school equivalency (HiSET or GED) plus successful completion of an NCB-approved PRSS foundational training; the requirements page states no hour total.

Initial training must fall within the past five years.

Supervised or work hours

475 hours of volunteer or paid work experience in the IC&RC PR domains under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor, plus 25 hours of supervision with a minimum of five hours in each domain.

A 2022 checklist put the total at 500 hours; the current page's wording governs.

Exam

All applicants are required to pass the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.

The PRSS application and testing fee is $165, with an $80 retake fee.

Lived experience

Required: in recovery at least two years prior to full PRSS certification, one year for PRSS-I.

The FPSS track instead requires lived experience parenting a child or youth with developmental, behavioral, or mental health care needs.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Not stated in the sources read.

Renewal & CE

Every two years: a $100 renewal fee and 20 hours of continuing education in the IC&RC Peer Recovery Domains including six in ethics, with a certified PRSS Supervisor through the first renewal and biweekly meetings; a $50 late fee applies after 30 days expired.

The Nevada credential ladder

  1. Peer Recovery Support Specialist-Intern (PRSS-I)(PRSS-I)Pre-licensure

    The entry rung of the PRSS track: a $35 application, open at one year of recovery where full certification requires two; the requirements page sets a single list of training, work-hour, supervision and examination requirements for the track, with no intern-specific terms beyond the recovery year.

  2. Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS)(PRSS)Independent

    The full certification β€” two years of recovery, an approved foundational training completed within the past five years, 475 work hours plus 25 supervision hours under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor, and the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination β€” with the certified supervisor remaining in place through the first renewal.

  3. Peer Recovery Support Specialist Supervisor (PRSS-S)(PRSS-S)Supervisor

    The certification a peer's qualifying work and supervision hours must run under; NCB lists a $125 application and a $75 renewal for it.

  4. Family Peer Support Specialist (FPSS) and FPSS Supervisor (FPSS-S)Other

    A parallel family track on the same board: certification for a family member with lived experience parenting a child or youth with developmental, behavioral, or mental health care needs ($100 application), with its own supervisor certification.

One board, one specialist track with an intern rung, and a parallel family track

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements and overview pages; NCB PRSS-S and FPSS pages

The Nevada credential is the Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS), issued by the Nevada Certification Board in two rungs: PRSS-Intern (PRSS-I) and full PRSS certification.

The same board certifies the PRSS Supervisor (PRSS-S) that qualifying hours must run under, and operates a parallel family track, the Family Peer Support Specialist (FPSS), with its own FPSS-S supervisor.

Certified PRSS specialists can add a problem-gambling (PG) or trauma-informed-care (TIC) endorsement.

These are certifications from a private nonprofit board, not a state licence: the PRSS-I application costs $35 and the full PRSS application and testing fee is $165.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œA certified peer recovery support specialist (PRSS) is an individual with lived experience in recovery from substance use, problem gambling, mental health and/or other co-occurring challenges.”

Two years of recovery for full certification, one year for the intern certificate

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page

The recovery clock is the qualification gate.

Full PRSS certification requires at least two years of recovery before you certify; the PRSS-I certificate is open at one year, which is the rule's own early-start route if you are close to the two-year mark.

The board's overview defines the qualifying lived experience as recovery from substance use, problem gambling, mental health and/or other co-occurring challenges.

The family track defines eligibility differently: lived experience parenting a child or youth with developmental, behavioral, or mental health care needs, extended to natural, step- and adoptive parents, foster parents, kinship caregivers and family friends chosen as primary caregiver.

β€œA certified peer recovery support specialist shall be in recovery for at least two years prior to full PRSS certification, one year for PRSS-I certification.”

Training: an NCB-approved foundational training, with no hour total stated

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page; NCB PRSS checklist (2022)

Two education gates sit before certification: a high school diploma or jurisdictionally certified high school equivalency (HiSET or GED in Nevada), and successful completion of an NCB-approved PRSS foundational training.

The requirements page states no hour figure for that training, so confirm current hours with NCB or the training provider before enrolling rather than budgeting from a number this page cannot source.

The 2022 checklist named the approved trainings NCB accepted at the time: CASAT Learning online self-paced training, Foundation for Recovery training, and CASAT in-person academic training.

Initial training must also have been completed within the past five years, so older coursework has to be redone.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œAll training for initial certification must have been completed within the past five years.”

475 work hours plus 25 supervision hours, under a certified supervisor

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page

The current requirements page asks for 475 hours of volunteer or paid work experience in the IC&RC PR domains, performed under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor, plus 25 hours of supervision with a minimum of five hours in each domain.

An older 2022 checklist stated the total as 500 hours including the supervision; the two reconcile if the 25 supervision hours count inside 500, and the current page's wording is the one to plan around.

The practical upshot is sequencing: find a certified PRSS-S before you start logging hours, because hours worked under anyone else do not satisfy the requirement as written.

NCB's checklist also notes it cannot provide placements or referrals, so the field-experience arrangement is yours to make.

β€œ475 hours of volunteer or paid work experience in the IC&RC PR domains below under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor”

The IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination, with fees bundled into the application

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page

Every applicant must pass the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination, the exam IC&RC sets for its peer recovery credential; NCB links IC&RC's candidate guide for preparation.

Cost is bundled on the Nevada side: the PRSS application and testing fee is $165, and an exam retake after a failure or a missed appointment costs $80.

Applicants who need ADA accommodations are directed to contact NCB before scheduling.

β€œAll applicants are required to pass the IC&RC Peer Recovery Examination.”

One named supervisor: an NCB Certified PRSS-S, biweekly through first renewal

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page; NCB PRSS-S page

The requirements page names one supervisor for the qualifying hours: an NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor.

The 25 supervision hours need a minimum of five hours in each IC&RC PR domain, so they have to be spread across domains rather than accumulated in one.

The supervisor requirement does not end at certification either: a certified PRSS-S must stay in place through your first renewal, with meetings at least biweekly.

Supervisors hold their own NCB certification (a $125 application, renewed at $75), and the family track has its own FPSS-S.

β€œ25 hours of supervision with a minimum of five hours in each IC&RC PR domain under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor”

Moving to Nevada: IC&RC reciprocity, and a 51% residency rule

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page; NCB IC&RC Reciprocity page

NCB is an IC&RC member board, and a peer certification from another state may transfer if it is eligible under IC&RC reciprocity β€” the reciprocity page says to check the IC&RC member-board directory first to see if your certification is eligible to switch from state to state.

If it is, your home board issues a Reciprocity Application, IC&RC verifies it and forwards it to the Nevada Certification Board, and NCB contacts you when the process is complete.

The requirements page also attaches a residency condition that survives the move: you must live and/or work in Nevada at least 51% of the time, both to be certified and to keep the certification.

β€œYou must live and/or work in Nevada at least 51% of the time to be certified by the Nevada Certification Board and to maintain that certification.”

Renewal every two years: $100 and 20 CE hours, six in ethics

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS requirements page

Recertification runs on a two-year cycle with a $100 renewal fee and 20 hours of continuing education in the IC&RC Peer Recovery Domains, six of them in ethics.

Continuing education must be completed within the renewal period, and each hour needs a certificate of attendance or participation from an approved training organization showing the sponsor, the training title and dates, the participant's name and the hours.

A $50 late fee attaches to renewals that have been expired for 30 days.

The biweekly supervision requirement runs through the first renewal, which is the point the requirements page ties it to.

β€œA renewal fee of $100 and 20 hours of continuing education in the IC&RC Peer Recovery Domains earned every two years, including six hours in ethics. You must have a certified PRSS Supervisor through your first renewal and meet with them biweekly.”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ NCB PRSS checklist PDF (2022-11); NCB PRSS requirements page

The work-experience wording changed from 500 hours on the 2022 checklist to 475 hours plus 25 supervision hours on the current page; the change date is not stated, so treat the current requirements page as governing.

NCB's PRSS code of ethics PDF is dated March 2025 and is worth reading before you apply, because agreeing to the code of ethics is itself an application requirement.

Nevada Medicaid also moved under the Nevada Health Authority, and the manual that would say how peers bill could not be retrieved at the time of reading, which is why this page states no Medicaid rule.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Nevada statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Nevada Certification Board (NCB), an IC&RC member board publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Nevada.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Nevada Certification Board (NCB), an IC&RC member board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Nevada that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is peer support specialist a licensed profession in Nevada?

No. The sources read for this page show no state-agency credential or state licence for peer support specialists in Nevada; the credential is the NCB's certification, issued by the Nevada Certification Board, a private 501(c)(3) nonprofit administered by CASAT at the University of Nevada, Reno, and an IC&RC member board.

Check which credential a posting names before you apply.

How many hours does Nevada PRSS certification take?

The requirements page asks for 475 hours of volunteer or paid work experience in the IC&RC PR domains under a NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor, plus 25 hours of supervision with at least five hours in each domain.

It states no hour total for the approved foundational training, so confirm training hours with NCB before enrolling.

Recovery time is a separate gate: two years for full certification, one year for the PRSS-Intern certificate.

Can you become a peer specialist in Nevada with a criminal record?

The sources read for this page, chiefly NCB's PRSS requirements page, do not state a background-check rule for applicants.

That is a statement about the sources, not an assurance either way.

Ask NCB directly how your record would be treated before you pay for training, and keep in mind that any employer sets its own hiring screens on top of certification.

Who can supervise a Nevada peer support specialist's hours?

The requirements page names one supervisor for the qualifying hours: an NCB Certified PRSS Supervisor (PRSS-S).

The 25 supervision hours need at least five hours in each IC&RC PR domain, and a certified PRSS-S must remain in place through your first renewal, with meetings at least biweekly.

The family track has its own supervisor certification, the FPSS-S.

I certified as a peer in another state. Can I transfer to Nevada?

If your current credential comes from an IC&RC member board, the reciprocity route runs through it: ask that board for a Reciprocity Application, which IC&RC verifies and forwards to the Nevada Certification Board.

Check the IC&RC member-board directory first to see whether your state's board participates.

NCB also requires that you live and/or work in Nevada at least 51% of the time, both to certify and to keep the certification.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Nevada
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Nevada & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Nevada Certification Board (NCB), an IC&RC member board.