🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Nevada: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Nevada licenses and certifies substance abuse counselors through the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors, and NRS 641C.900 makes holding a licence, certificate or intern status a precondition of practice.

The ladder runs from a certified intern certificate to the bachelor's-level certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor, the master's-level licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor and the separate licensed clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor for co-occurring care.

Exams are written and oral, and IC&RC reciprocity does not flow into Nevada.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Nevada, that is the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors.

At a glance

Credential tiers

Two intern certificates (alcohol and drug counselor intern; clinical alcohol and drug counselor intern) leading to the certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor, the licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor and the licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor, a population-limited Native American Alcohol and Drug Counselor certificate beside the CADC (NAC 641C.276), plus a separate Board certificate for supervisors of interns.

Type and issuing body

State certificates and licences issued by the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors under NRS chapter 641C; practice is gated by NRS 641C.900.

That same state board is Nevada's IC&RC member (ADGC-NV).

Degree floor

Intern: current enrollment with at least 60 bachelor's credits completed, enrollment in a master's or doctoral program, or a degree with at least 18 SUD credit hours, plus 6 hours on confidentiality and 6 on ethics (NRS 641C.420).

Clinical intern: master's or doctorate with comprehensive clinical mental-health coursework including diagnosis (NRS 641C.340(1)(c)).

CADC: bachelor's in a board-approved social science (641C.390(1)(b)), replaced on the Native American route by a high school diploma or GED plus 270 education hours or a qualifying Indian-board credential (NAC 641C.276).

LADC: master's or doctorate on its degree route (641C.350(1)(b)); LCADC: master's or doctorate with clinical mental-health coursework including diagnosis on its degree route (641C.330(1)(b)).

Supervised hours

CADC: 4,000 hours (641C.390(1)(c)).

LADC: 3,000 (641C.350(1)(c)), or 1,000 for holders of specified licences (641C.350(2)).

LCADC: at least 3,000 supervised, postgraduate hours β€” 1,500 co-occurring, 1,000 SUD, 500 either β€” or at least 6 months of Board-approved supervised SUD counseling for LCSWs, MFTs, CPCs and master's/doctoral nurses (641C.330(1)–(2)).

NAC 641C.205 credits qualifying SUD coursework as 2,500 hours (CADC/LADC) or 1,250 plus 1,250 (clinical).

Exams

Written and oral examinations prescribed by the Board at the counselor tiers, passed with an average score of at least 70 percent (NRS 641C.290; NAC 641C.220(1)); after three failures the applicant must appear before the Board.

Intern certificates carry no exam.

Exam vendor: Not stated in the sources read.

Scope and diagnosis

CADCs, LADCs and supervised interns may diagnose or classify an alcohol or other substance use disorder.

An LADC may not identify, evaluate, diagnose or treat a mental illness in a co-occurring client (641C.360(3)); only the LCADC covers co-occurring mental illness, and its clinical practice excludes psychotic disorders (641C.065).

Other licensees

NRS 641C.130 exempts physicians, nurses authorized by the State Board of Nursing, psychologists including PSYPACT authorizees, behavioral health and wellness practitioners, clinical professional counselors and their interns, marriage and family therapists and their interns when their board authorizes them, licensed clinical social workers and master or independent social workers in internships approved by the Board of Examiners for Social Workers, when that board authorizes them, and certified prevention specialists and peer recovery support providers; NAC 641C.250(6) also excludes supervised students and trainees of psychology, MFT/clinical professional counseling and social work in recognized training programs.

IC&RC reciprocity

The state Board is Nevada's IC&RC member, but the directory states IC&RC cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO Nevada for ADC or AADC credentials.

Counselors move by state endorsement instead: NRS 641C.3306, 641C.356 and 641C.396, decided within 45 days of complete information.

Renewal & CE

Licences and certificates run 2 years (641C.331, 641C.360, 641C.390(3)): 40 CE hours per period including at least 3 ethics and 3 confidentiality (NAC 641C.300(1)) plus at least 3 hours per year on cultural competency and DEI (NRS 641C.450(3)).

Intern certificates run 6 months, renewable, with 12, then 10, then 20 hours of training per year.

The Nevada credential ladder

  1. Alcohol and Drug Counselor InternPre-licensure

    A state certificate under NRS 641C.420, valid 6 months and renewable: the status under which supervised hours toward the CADC accrue, with practice and SUD diagnosis only under an approved supervisor.

  2. Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor InternPre-licensure

    A separate state certificate under NRS 641C.340 for master's or doctoral holders, valid 6 months and renewable; clinical practice and diagnosis under a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor.

  3. Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor(CADC)Independent

    A state certificate β€” not a licence β€” at the bachelor's level: 4,000 supervised hours and the written and oral examinations (NRS 641C.390).

  4. Native American Alcohol and Drug Counselor(NACADC)Independent

    A state certificate serving only populations authorized under 25 U.S.C.: the bachelor's floor is replaced by a high school diploma or GED plus 270 hours of Board-approved formal education, or a qualifying Indian-board credential (NAC 641C.276).

  5. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor(LADC)Independent

    The master's-level state licence: 3,000 supervised hours, or 1,000 for holders of specified licences including the LCADC, plus the written and oral examinations (NRS 641C.350).

  6. Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor(LCADC)Independent

    The co-occurring-care state licence: a master's or doctorate with clinical mental-health coursework including diagnosis, at least 3,000 supervised postgraduate hours and the written and oral examinations (NRS 641C.330(1)) β€” or, for an LCSW, MFT, CPC or master's/doctoral nurse, at least 6 months of Board-approved supervised SUD counseling (641C.330(2)).

  7. Supervisor of Certified InternsSupervisor

    A Board certificate an LADC, LCADC, CADC or certified problem gambling counselor must hold before supervising interns (NAC 641C.280(2)).

Three counselor credentials, two intern certificates, one practice gate

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.040, 641C.080, 641C.900, 641C.320; NAC 641C.250(7)–(8)

Chapter 641C provides state certificates for the alcohol and drug counselor and for the clinical and non-clinical counselor interns, and licences for the alcohol and drug counselor and the clinical alcohol and drug counselor β€” all issued by the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors.

The naming runs against intuition: the bachelor's-level credential is the certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), and the master's-level credential is the licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC).

The licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LCADC) is the separate co-occurring licence.

Practice is gated by NRS 641C.900: outside the exemptions, counseling persons with substance use disorders requires being a licensed counselor, certified counselor or certified intern.

Intern certificates run 6 months and are renewable, but a provisional credential issued to an exam applicant is valid not more than 6 months and may not be renewed.

The rule reserves the initials CADC, LADC, LCADC and NACADC to Board holders.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œA person shall not engage in the practice of counseling persons with alcohol and other substance use disorders, the clinical practice of counseling persons with alcohol and other substance use disorders or the practice of counseling persons with an addictive disorder related to gambling unless the person is a licensed counselor, certified counselor or certified intern.”

Intern coursework first, then the bachelor's, master's and clinical floors

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.420(1), 641C.390(1)(b)–(2), 641C.350(1)(b), 641C.330(1)(b); NAC 641C.276, 641C.277

The intern certificate takes three routes: bachelor's-program enrollment with at least 60 credits completed, master's or doctoral enrollment, or a degree with at least 18 SUD-specific credit hours β€” plus 6 confidentiality and 6 ethics hours.

The CADC's floor is a bachelor's in a board-approved social science field, which NRS 641C.390(2) waives for counselors under federal contract or grant to serve populations authorized under 25 U.S.C.; NAC 641C.276 fills in the substitute: a high school diploma or GED plus 270 hours of Board-approved formal education (at least 10 hours in each of 12 listed skills), or a credential from the Southwest Indian Substance Abuse Certification Board or the Northwest Indian Council on Chemical Dependency.

That Native American Alcohol and Drug Counselor serves only those federal populations, counts an associate's degree as 1,000 supervised hours (NAC 641C.276(4)), and holds reserved initials NACADC; only Indian-board credential holders may certify without the exam (NAC 641C.277).

The LADC requires a master's or doctorate in a board-approved social science field; the LCADC requires one with comprehensive clinical mental-health course work including diagnosis.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œat least 18 hours of credit specifically related to the practice of counseling persons with alcohol and other substance use disorders”

4,000, 3,000 and 3,000 postgraduate hours β€” and what coursework credits

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.390(1)(c), 641C.350(1)–(2), 641C.330(1)–(2); NAC 641C.205

The CADC takes 4,000 hours of supervised counseling of persons with alcohol and other substance use disorders.

The LADC's degree route takes 3,000 hours; its second route takes 1,000 for applicants already licensed as a clinical social worker, clinical professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, a master's- or doctoral-prepared nurse, or as a clinical alcohol and drug counselor.

The LCADC requires a Board-approved program of at least 3,000 hours of supervised, postgraduate counseling β€” at least 1,500 with co-occurring clients, at least 1,000 with SUD clients and at least 500 of either β€” while its second route accepts an LCSW, MFT, clinical professional counselor or master's/doctoral nurse with at least 6 months of Board-approved supervised SUD counseling; the licensed clinical ADC is not in that 6-month group.

Coursework credit: NAC 641C.205 treats a bachelor's with 18 semester SUD hours, or a graduate degree with 12, as 2,500 completed hours toward the CADC or LADC, and 6 SUD plus 6 co-occurring semester hours as 1,250 plus 1,250 toward the clinical licence.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œHas completed 4,000 hours of supervised counseling of persons with alcohol and other substance use disorders”

Written and oral exams at the counselor tiers β€” none at the intern tier

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.290, 641C.300, 641C.3306, 641C.356, 641C.396; NAC 641C.220

Each applicant for a Nevada counselor licence or certificate must pass written and oral examinations covering the practice, the chapter and its regulations β€” the clinical licence's exam covers the clinical practice.

The requirement carries its own exceptions: NRS 641C.290(1)–(2) excepts the substantially-equivalent waiver in NRS 641C.300 and the endorsement sections 641C.3306, 641C.356 and 641C.396, so exam-free entry runs only through those routes.

The intern certificates in NRS 641C.340 and 641C.420 carry no examination at all.

The rule sets the pass mark at an average score of at least 70 percent, and an applicant who fails three times may not retest until appearing before the Board, which must examine applicants at least twice a year.

The exam vendor: Not stated in the sources read.

β€œAn applicant for licensure or certification as a counselor must pass the examination required by the Board with an average score of at least 70 percent.”

Choosing a supervisor: the Board's supervisor certificate and its conditions

πŸ“œ NAC 641C.280, 641C.285, 641C.250(4), 641C.290; NRS 641C.420(3)

A supervisor must hold a Board licence or certificate, be in good standing and not under any Board investigation, have completed a Board-approved supervisor training course, and hold a certificate as a supervisor of certified interns β€” available after at least 2 years of practice for an LADC, LCADC or certified problem gambling counselor, or 3 years for a CADC.

A supervisor may not reside with, have an intimate relationship with or be related to the intern, may not have had the intern as a client, and may not supervise more than five certified interns at one time without the prior approval of the Board.

Supervision means at least 1 hour of individual communication every week, unless the Board specifically directs a different schedule.

Interns may provide services only at a treatment agency while the supervisor is physically present or supervising through a secure electronic method, or at the supervisor's own practice.

Hours logged under an unapproved supervisor or agreement do not count, and the internship must be completed within 5 years unless the Board grants an extension.

β€œSupervise more than five certified interns at one time without the prior approval of the Board”

SUD diagnosis is in scope; co-occurring mental illness is the clinical line

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.360, 641C.331, 641C.390(4), 641C.065; NAC 641C.250

All three counselor credentials may diagnose or classify a person as having an alcohol or other substance use disorder, and each may conduct testing for which the counselor was trained.

The LADC's line is firm: an LADC may not identify, evaluate, diagnose or treat a mental illness when a person with mental illness also has an alcohol or other substance use disorder.

The LCADC's clinical practice reaches mental illness in co-occurring clients β€” identification, evaluation, diagnosis and treatment β€” but excludes the diagnosis or treatment of a psychotic disorder and the use of a psychological or psychometric assessment test to determine intelligence, personality, aptitude and interests (641C.065(2)).

On supervision, a CADC may take on intern supervision after being certified at least 3 years and meeting the Board's regulatory requirements; an LADC may supervise certified alcohol and drug counselor interns only, while an LCADC may supervise both intern types.

Interns practice and diagnose only under the supervision their certificates require β€” and a clinical intern's supervisor must be an LCADC.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œA licensed alcohol and drug counselor may not identify, evaluate, diagnose or treat a mental illness when a person with mental illness also has an alcohol or other substance use disorder.”

Moving to Nevada: expedited endorsement, the without-exam path, and IC&RC

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.3306, 641C.356, 641C.396, 641C.470(3); NAC 641C.225; IC&RC directory

The Board may endorse a counselor holding a corresponding valid and unrestricted licence or certificate in the District of Columbia or any state or territory, with expedited sections for the clinical licence (641C.3306), the LADC (641C.356) and the CADC certificate (641C.396).

Applicants must prove they hold that credential, have not been disciplined or investigated by the corresponding authority, and have not been held civilly or criminally liable for malpractice anywhere in the United States, plus fingerprints, an affidavit and fees; the Board requests more information within 15 business days and decides within 45 days of receiving it.

The without-exam path in NAC 641C.225, tied to NRS 641C.300, applies only where the Board deems the other jurisdiction's requirements at issuance substantially equivalent to Nevada's; it demands proof of good standing, proof of the degree at issuance, and satisfaction of Nevada's own requirements.

Active Armed Forces members, their spouses, veterans and surviving spouses pay not more than one-half of the initial issuance fee.

IC&RC reciprocity does not fill the gap: its footnote scopes the bar to ADC and AADC credentials.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

β€œThe State of Nevada has additional exam and education requirements. For this reason, IC&RC cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO Nevada.”

Two-year terms, 40 CE hours, and 3 hours a year on cultural competency

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.331(1), 641C.360(1), 641C.390(3), 641C.450(3), 641C.460; NAC 641C.300

Licences and certificates are valid for 2 years and renewable.

Each two-year period requires at least 40 hours of continuing education, including at least 3 hours on ethics and at least 3 on confidentiality standards, and NRS 641C.450(3) adds at least 3 hours of instruction on cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion for each year of the term.

Interns train as they go: at least 12 hours in the first 6 months β€” 6 on ethics and 6 on confidentiality β€” at least 10 in the second 6 months, and at least 20 in each subsequent year.

A licence not renewed on time becomes delinquent and must be renewed within 60 days with a delinquency fee; after that it expires, and restoration requires the application, the back fees, evidence of the CE β€” and passing the oral and written examinations again.

β€œat least 40 hours of continuing education during the 2-year period of licensure or certification”

Recent amendments: 2023 supervision conditions, 2025 renewal and exemption changes

πŸ“œ NRS 641C.331, 641C.450, 641C.130; NAC 641C.280, 641C.285, 641C.290

The amendment histories in the sections read date three recent changes.

NRS 641C.331, amended in 2023, adds the conditions for an LCADC to supervise certified problem gambling counselor interns: Board approval plus at least 30 hours of problem-gambling instruction and 12 hours of supervision instruction.

NRS 641C.450, the renewal and CE section, was amended in 2023 and 2025; its current text carries the cultural-competency requirement.

NRS 641C.130, the exemption list, was amended in 2025, including by the 36th Special Session; the items stated above reflect the list as it now stands.

The saved rules carry their own histories: the supervisor rules (NAC 641C.280, 641C.285) were last amended by R069-17, effective February 27, 2018, while NAC 641C.250 and 641C.290 (intern location, initials, hours) were amended again by R046-21, effective February 28, 2022, and a reviser's note says R058-14's amendments to the 5-year provision in NAC 641C.290(5) do not apply to anyone who applied to become a certified intern before December 22, 2014.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Nevada statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Nevada.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Nevada that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Nevada?

Yes.

NRS 641C.900 bars the practice unless you are a licensed counselor, certified counselor or certified intern.

NRS 641C.130 exempts physicians, nurses authorized by the State Board of Nursing, psychologists including PSYPACT authorizees, behavioral health and wellness practitioners, clinical professional counselors and their interns, authorized marriage and family therapists and their interns, licensed clinical social workers and master or independent social workers in internships approved by the Board of Examiners for Social Workers, when that board authorizes them, and certified prevention specialists and peer recovery support providers; supervised students and trainees in recognized training programs are also outside the practice (NAC 641C.250(6)).

What is the difference between the Nevada CADC and LADC?

The certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor is the bachelor's-level state certificate and takes 4,000 supervised hours; the licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor's degree route takes a master's or doctorate plus 3,000 hours, with a 1,000-hour route for holders of specified licences including the LCADC.

The Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor's degree route adds clinical mental-health coursework and 3,000 postgraduate hours β€” 1,500 co-occurring β€” with a 6-month route for LCSWs, MFTs, CPCs and master's/doctoral nurses.

All three may diagnose a substance use disorder; only the LCADC treats co-occurring mental illness.

Do Nevada certified interns have to take an exam?

No. The intern certificates in NRS 641C.340 and 641C.420 list education, fees and supervision conditions but no examination.

The written and oral exams attach to the counselor licence or certificate under NRS 641C.290, and even those are excused on the statutory waiver for substantially equivalent out-of-state holders and on the endorsement routes.

The pass mark is an average of at least 70 percent, and a third failure means appearing before the Board.

When do supervised hours start counting in Nevada?

Only under a Board-approved arrangement.

Hours logged under a supervisor the Board has not approved, or under an agreement it has not approved, do not count toward licensure or certification.

Interns may provide services only at a treatment agency while the supervisor is physically present or supervising through a secure electronic method, and the internship must be completed within 5 years unless the Board grants an extension.

Does an IC&RC credential transfer to Nevada?

Not for the counselor credentials: Nevada's state board is itself the IC&RC member, but the directory footnote states IC&RC cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO Nevada for ADC or AADC credentials.

Counselors move instead through the expedited endorsement sections, which require a corresponding valid, unrestricted credential and a clean discipline and malpractice record, or the NAC 641C.225 without-exam path, which applies where Nevada deems the other jurisdiction's requirements substantially equivalent and tests its own.

The directory's titles add β€œAbuse”; the statutory titles do not.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Nevada
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Nevada & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Board of Examiners for Alcohol, Drug and Gambling Counselors.