New Jersey certifies peer recovery specialists through a private board, not a state agency.
The Addiction Professionals Certification Board issues the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist: 46 hours of approved training, 500 hours of work experience and a 25-hour supervised practicum, with the IC&RC exam optional — skip it and the credential is recognized only in New Jersey.
Medicaid has covered peer recovery support services since July 1, 2019, billed by independent clinics under the supervision of a licensed clinical professional.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS), issued either as a NJ-only credential or upgraded to the reciprocal International Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (ICPRS) by passing the IC&RC exam.
Addiction Professionals Certification Board, Inc. (APCB, the Certification Board of New Jersey), a private IC&RC member board — not a state agency.
46 hours of pre-approved CPRS training from a CCAR- or CARES-approved training agency, plus a high school diploma or GED — or a supervisor's letter for applicants without either.
A minimum of 500 hours of work experience in a pre-approved facility within the past two years, plus completion of a pre-approved 25-hour Supervised Practicum.
Optional for the NJ-only CPRS.
The IC&RC exam is required for the International Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, and you can take it later and be upgraded.
Not stated on the certifier's CPRS page.
The Medicaid newsletter requires lived experience with a minimum of two years of successful recovery from an SUD diagnosis; the independent clinic and the PRSS must each complete individual Lived Experience Attestations.
Not stated in the sources read.
Covered since July 1, 2019: the 1115 SUD Waiver added peer recovery support specialist services to the State Plan, billed through Independent Clinic–Drug and Alcohol outpatient providers.
Since July 1, 2021, billing is restricted to properly certified peers.
18 hours in any of the four domains of peer recovery within the two-year period (24 months) between recertifications, plus a $200 non-refundable renewal fee.
The APCB's entry-level credential, issued without the IC&RC exam and recognized only in New Jersey — the certification the DMAHS newsletter names for Medicaid peer billing.
The same CPRS upgraded by passing the IC&RC exam: the reciprocal credential acknowledged by the states and countries that accept it.
It is a certification, not a licence.
The Addiction Professionals Certification Board issues a single peer credential, the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, and describes it as an entry-level credential.
You can apply for the NJ-only version without the IC&RC exam and upgrade later by passing it.
The board is explicit about the boundary: the CPRS is not a clinical practice credential, cannot substitute for the LCADC or CADC in New Jersey regulations, and does not let you act independently — you work under agency supervision.
No supervisor-level peer credential appeared on the board pages the sources read.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
“You may apply for the NJ Only Certified Peer Recovery Specialist at this time without taking the IC&RC PRS exam, but the credential will only be recognized in NJ.”
The board's CPRS page states no lived-experience requirement; the rule in the sources read is Medicaid's.
To enroll as a peer recovery support specialist in an independent clinic, a peer needs lived experience with a minimum of two years of successful recovery from an SUD diagnosis.
As part of the clinic's Medicaid enrollment addendum, the independent clinic and the PRSS must each complete individual Lived Experience Attestations.
The sources read place the attestation in that enrollment paperwork, not in the board's certification requirements.
“lived experience with a minimum of two years of successful recovery from an SUD diagnosis”
The training requirement is 46 hours of pre-approved CPRS training, and the approved training agencies deliver coursework that is CCAR- or CARES-approved.
Alongside it the board expects a high school diploma or GED.
Since January 15, 2021 there has been a route for applicants without either: a supervisor's letter verifying two years in the recovery field, the ability to write and read client reports, and an understanding of the CPRS's basic ethics requirements.
The credential's four performance domains are advocacy, ethical responsibility, mentoring and education, and recovery and wellness support.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
“As of January 15, 2021, those without the minimum HSD or GED may still qualify by having their supervisor send a letter verifying that you have Two years in the Recovery Field, Are able to accurately write and read client reports and, Understand and Display the Basic Ethics Requirements for the CPRS.”
Before you apply, the board expects a minimum of 500 hours of work experience in a pre-approved facility, all of it within the past two years, plus completion of a pre-approved 25-hour Supervised Practicum provided by a licensed or approved agency.
Both hour gates point at the same practical conclusion: the qualifying job comes first.
Look for a facility the board has pre-approved, and confirm your practicum provider counts before you start logging hours.
“Minimum of 500 hours of work experience in a pre-approved facility within the past two years. Completion of a pre-approved 25 hour Supervised Practicum provided by licensed or approved agency.”
New Jersey's CPRS can be earned without any exam: the NJ-only credential is issued without the IC&RC PRS exam and is valid only in New Jersey.
The IC&RC exam is what upgrades it to the International Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, the reciprocal version, and you can take it later and be upgraded automatically.
For Medicaid billing the exam is not the gate — the newsletter accepts either NAADAC's NCPRS or the APCB's CPRS.
“The IC&RC Exam is required for the International Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, which is acknowledged by the States and Countries that accept it.”
New Jersey's 1115 SUD Waiver added peer recovery support specialist services to the State Plan, effective July 1, 2019, and the benefit runs through NJ FamilyCare Independent Clinic–Drug and Alcohol outpatient providers; the newsletter states peers may not be utilized by independent clinics–mental health.
Since July 1, 2021, billing has been restricted to properly certified peers, and the peer's NPI must be added to the claim as the servicing provider.
Managed care organizations cover the benefit for DDD, MLTSS and FIDE-SNP members.
The clinic enrolls and bills, not the peer.
The newsletter's 2020 per-15-minute rate is a dated figure; check current Medicaid materials for the rate.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
“The New Jersey Medicaid 1115 Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Waiver included peer recovery support specialist (PRSS) services to be added to the State Plan.”
For Medicaid-billed peer services, supervision sits with a licensed clinical professional, and the services must be coordinated within the context of a care plan developed by a licensed clinician.
No peer-supervisor credential is named in the sources read — the supervisor is a clinician.
The newsletter also ran a transition window before July 1, 2021 for peers still seeking certification, requiring at minimum a 3-day ethics course, provider orientation, regular meetings with a qualified supervisor and six months at the agency; billing now requires full certification.
“Under the supervision of a licensed clinical professional, Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS') provide non-clinical assistance and support throughout all stages of the SUD recovery and rehabilitation process.”
The Medicaid newsletter names exactly two certifying routes for peers billing PRSS services: NAADAC's National Certified Peer Recovery Specialist or the APCB's Certified Peer Recovery Specialist — so a peer arriving with NAADAC's NCPRS already holds a certification the newsletter names.
For IC&RC credential holders, the one inbound rule in the sources read is on the board's applications page: all IC&RC reciprocal applicants must either work or live in New Jersey a minimum of 51% of the time.
The board's Reciprocity–NJ & IC&RC page was not among the sources read, so the rest of that process, including whether any exam is required of incoming holders, is not stated here; confirm with APCB.
The newsletter is dated November 2020, so confirm the current enrollment rule with DMAHS too.
“All IC&RC reciprocal applicants must either work or live in New Jersey a minimum of 51% of the time.”
Renewal runs on a two-year cycle: 18 hours in any of the four domains of peer recovery, all falling within the 24-month period between recertifications, plus a $200 non-refundable renewal fee and a $15 late fee per month.
The board allows all renewal hours in pre-approved distance-learning courses, and its credentials are issued electronically only.
The same four domains — advocacy, ethical responsibility, mentoring and education, recovery and wellness support — frame the renewal hours.
“18 hours in the any of Four Domains of Peer Recovery Hours must fall within the two-year period (24 months) between Recertification. $200 non-refundable renewal fee.”
The board's CPRS page warns that the training requirements change as of January 2027.
The change is IC&RC's, and only part of it is fixed: to comply with the updated minimum standards, a board must add 6 education hours in a new Harm Reduction domain, while the IC&RC floor for each of the advocacy, mentoring/education and recovery/wellness support domains drops from 10 hours to 8 — and a board may instead keep requiring 10.
APCB's own choice is not stated in the sources read.
The 46-hour total is IC&RC's minimum; a board that keeps 10 hours per domain would require more.
IC&RC asks member boards to implement the change for new applicants and renewals beginning January 1, 2027; holders of the reciprocal credential before that date are unaffected unless they apply for reciprocity afterward.
“The updated Minimum Standards become effective January 1, 2027.”
The newsletter draws the peer's lane carefully.
Peer staff may not be counted toward the staff-to-client ratio requirements and may not be substituted for substance abuse counseling staff; their job functions are limited to those listed in their job description.
Beneficiaries must be told at intake that the staff person is a peer, not a counselor, and must be given a choice about working with peer staff.
For a new CPRS this is the shape of the job: non-clinical support, documented inside the clinic's structure, alongside counselors rather than in place of them.
“Peer staff may not be substituted for substance abuse counseling staff and their job functions shall be limited to those listed in their job description.”
This page summarizes the New Jersey statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Addiction Professionals Certification Board, Inc. (APCB, the Certification Board of New Jersey), a private IC&RC member board publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in New Jersey.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Addiction Professionals Certification Board, Inc. (APCB, the Certification Board of New Jersey), a private IC&RC member board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in New Jersey that asks for it.
The Addiction Professionals Certification Board, Inc. (APCB), a private IC&RC member board also known as the Certification Board of New Jersey.
It is not a state agency, and no state license for peer recovery specialists appeared in the sources read — the CPRS is a board certification.
Its Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) is issued as a NJ-only credential, or as the reciprocal ICPRS once you pass the IC&RC exam.
Applications run through the board's Certemy portal.
Three figures: 46 hours of pre-approved CPRS training, a minimum of 500 hours of work experience in a pre-approved facility within the past two years, and a 25-hour Supervised Practicum.
You also need a high school diploma or GED, or a supervisor's letter verifying two years in the recovery field.
The IC&RC exam is separate and optional — it upgrades the credential to the ICPRS.
No. The DMAHS newsletter names two certifications for peers billing PRSS services: NAADAC's National Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (NCPRS) or the APCB's Certified Peer Recovery Specialist.
The IC&RC exam's role is outbound — it upgrades the NJ-only CPRS to the ICPRS recognized beyond New Jersey; an IC&RC credential coming into New Jersey instead goes through the board's reciprocity process, whose applications page sets a 51% live/work minimum.
Since July 1, 2021, billing has been restricted to properly certified peers.
The board's CPRS page states none — the requirement in the sources read comes from Medicaid.
For enrollment as a peer recovery support specialist in an independent clinic, the DMAHS newsletter requires lived experience with a minimum of two years of successful recovery from an SUD diagnosis, and the independent clinic and the PRSS must each complete individual Lived Experience Attestations.
Ask the board whether it applies any recovery attestation of its own at application.
No background-check rule for the CPRS appeared in the sources read for this page — neither the board's CPRS page nor the November 2020 DMAHS newsletter states one.
That is a statement about what was read, not a guarantee of current practice.
Confirm application requirements with the board directly, and expect any hiring clinic to run its own employment screening.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Addiction Professionals Certification Board, Inc. (APCB, the Certification Board of New Jersey), a private IC&RC member board.