New Jersey certifies substance abuse counselors as Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselors (CADCs) and licenses the advanced tier as Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselors (LCADCs).
Both are required to practise or use the title, and independent practice for a fee belongs to the LCADC, or a CADC working under an LCADC's supervision.
The CADC has no degree floor β just 300 hours of practical training, two years of supervised work experience, 270 hours of education and an ICRC written and oral exam.
The LCADC adds a counseling master's degree on top of the same requirements.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Alcohol and Drug Counselor Intern (training status) leads to the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) and, with a counseling master's, the Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LCADC).
A New Jersey-licensed health care provider who, within their own scope, diagnoses and treats drug or alcohol disorders, or both, must be issued the LCADC without the exams once they demonstrate equivalent education, training and comparable experience (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-4b; N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.4).
CADC is a state certificate and LCADC is a state licence, both issued by the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners on the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee's recommendation (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-3, -6).
APCBNJ, New Jersey's IC&RC member board, issues separate private ICRC credentials and is not the Committee.
CADC: a bachelor's degree, an associate's degree, a high school diploma or a GED equivalency β no degree is required (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.3(b)1).
LCADC: a master's degree in counseling, or a related master's degree with at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-4a(1); N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.2(b)1).
Both tiers: 300 hours of supervised practical training across 12 core functions, plus two years of supervised work experience within the five years before applying.
A full-time year is 1,500 hours over 50 weeks with no carry-over of extra hours into the next year; part-time work qualifies only if it totals at least 3,000 hours within the five years (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.2(b)2, 2.3(b)2-3).
Both tiers: a written examination developed by the ICRC and an oral examination, also ICRC-developed, on the applicant's written case presentation; after a third failed attempt at either section, remedial coursework is required before a fourth try (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.2(b)2v-vi, (e); 2.3(b)6-7, (e)).
Independent practice of alcohol and drug counseling for a fee is limited to an LCADC, or a CADC practising under an LCADC's supervision (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-8c).
For interns, all diagnoses must be made by the qualified clinical supervisor and may not be delegated to the intern (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.2(g)); whether a non-intern CADC may diagnose is not stated in the sources read.
The rules do not apply to a person doing alcohol- or drug-counseling work within the scope of their own licensed profession, consistent with their training β the rule names physicians, clinical social workers, professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, psychologists and nurses, then extends to any other State-licensed profession and to students in those professions' accredited programs β as long as the person does not hold themselves out as CADC- or LCADC-credentialed (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.6(a)5).
APCBNJ, the state's IC&RC member board, issues its own reciprocal ICRC credentials, but IC&RC's directory says the state's own written and oral exams and Division of Consumer Affairs review mean it "cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO New Jersey for ADC credentials."
No separate state endorsement section was read.
A biennial renewal for both tiers: 40 contact hours of continuing education for the LCADC, 60 contact hours for the CADC (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-5.1).
A training status, not a credential: an individual working under a qualified clinical supervisor while completing the two-year (at least 3,000-hour) supervised work experience that counts toward the CADC or LCADC (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.1).
A state certificate issued by the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners on the Committee's recommendation; certification is required to use the CADC title or practise as one, and independent practice for a fee is allowed only under an LCADC's supervision (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-5, -8a, -8c).
New Jersey's clinical licence for this profession, required to practise or use the LCADC title, and the credential that may independently practise alcohol and drug counseling for a fee without another counselor's supervision (N.J.S.A.
45:2D-4, -8a, -8c).
An ICRC-member credential β from an ICRC member board, not the state Committee, and not necessarily APCBNJ specifically β that an LCADC has had to hold since June 2, 2021 to supervise alcohol and drug counselor interns, unless they were already supervising before that date and receive a Committee-granted extension for extenuating circumstances; a separate, narrower case-by-case waiver applies only to the dual-licensee supervision route (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.2(a)1, (a)1i, (a)4ii).
New Jersey runs two state credentials: the CADC, a certificate, and the LCADC, a licence.
The Act protects both the practice and the specific titles a person may use, including "substance use disorder counselor" and "chemical dependency counselor" among the names it restricts to a certificate- or licence-holder.
Both are issued by the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners on the Committee's recommendation, not by a private board.
A New Jersey-licensed health care provider who, within their own scope, diagnoses and treats drug or alcohol disorders, or both β the rule's examples include a physician, advanced practice nurse, psychologist, clinical social worker or professional counselor β must be issued the LCADC once the Committee finds them in good standing with equivalent education, training and comparable experience; that route waives only the written and oral exams, not the education and experience requirements.
Section 8 was amended in 2023 (2023, c.177, s.132); the statute's saved text carries no markup showing which of its listed titles the amendment added, so this page does not guess.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βNo person shall engage in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling as a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor unless licensed under this act. No person shall engage in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling as a certified alcohol and drug counselor unless certified under this act.β
The CADC sets no degree floor at all: the rule accepts "a bachelor's degree or an associate's degree or a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalency."
On top of that, the CADC needs 270 hours of alcohol and drug education split into five 54-hour domains β assessment, counseling, case management, client education and professional responsibility β with at most 54 of those hours by distance learning, plus 30 self-help meetings, at least five each in Alcoholics Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous and Al-Anon.
The LCADC adds a graduate credential on top of the same coursework and hours: a master's degree in counseling, or a master's in an addictions or counseling-related area with at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling across the ten content areas the rule lists.
Nothing in the sections read lets a bachelor's substitute for the LCADC's master's degree.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βa bachelor's degree or an associate's degree or a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalencyβ
Both tiers need 300 hours of supervised practical training distributed across 12 core functions, which may overlap with the work-experience hours below and may span more than one agency or supervisor.
Both also need two years of supervised work experience within the five years immediately before applying, paid or voluntary, directly with alcohol or other drug clients.
A full-time year counts as 1,500 hours over a 50-week period, and hours over that yearly total may not be carried into the next year β extra hours in one year do not shorten a later one.
Part-time work qualifies only if it totals at least 3,000 hours within the five-year window.
Continuing education, unsupervised work and formal schooling cannot substitute for these hours.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βAny hours over the required 1,500 hours per year may not be carried over into the succeeding year.β
Both the CADC and LCADC require a written examination developed by the ICRC (or its successor) and an oral examination, also ICRC-developed, on the applicant's own written case presentation.
An application is deemed abandoned if it sits incomplete for 12 months, or if the applicant does not sit for or pass the written or oral sections within 12 months of being notified they are eligible.
After a third unsuccessful attempt at either section, the applicant may not try a fourth time without first completing coursework in the subject matter the exam showed as a weakness.
The health-care-provider route into the LCADC is the one exception: it exempts the applicant from both exams, but not from the education and experience requirements.
βAfter the third attempt or thereafter to pass the written and/or oral sections of the examination, the applicant may not reapply a fourth time or any time thereafter without having first successfully completed and passed a course(s) in the subject matter(s) in which the examination has demonstrated the applicant's deficiencies.β
An intern must work under a "qualified clinical supervisor," and the rule names exactly who qualifies: an LCADC, who since June 2, 2021 must also hold a Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) credential from an ICRC member board; a New Jersey physician certified by ASAM or a psychiatrist with added chemical-dependency qualifications; an APN, psychologist, LCSW, LMFT or LPC who holds the CCS; or a dual-licensed LCADC who also holds one of those other licences.
That last route carries its own conditions: the person must be deemed a qualified supervisor by the OTHER licensing board, and must have three years of clinical experience in alcohol and drug counseling, including internship hours, with at least one of those years coming after they held the LCADC.
The Committee may waive the CCS for this dual-licensee route only case by case, and only where the other licensing board has no statutory or regulatory requirement qualifying its licensees to supervise clinical mental health services.
Supervision itself runs at least 50 hours a year face to face, no more than 25 of them in a group.
βIf the other professional licensing board does not have specific statutory or regulatory requirements to qualify a licensee to supervise clinical mental health services, the Committee will, on a case-by-case basis, consider that dual-licensee's supervisory experience to determine whether to waive the CCS requirement.β
The Act's independent-practice rule is narrow: it governs only independent practice for a fee, reserving that to the LCADC or to a CADC working under an LCADC's supervision.
N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.1 defines "supervised practice" and "supervised agency practice" as alcohol and drug counseling performed by a CADC under clinical supervision or within a licensed treatment facility, and defines "clinical supervision" itself as covering an alcohol and drug counselor intern and/or a CADC β so the chapter plainly contemplates CADCs practising under supervision.
The saved sections do not state a separate, general rule that every employed CADC must be supervised outside the fee-for-independent-practice rule in 8c; this page does not claim an employed CADC works unsupervised, only that no standalone employment-supervision mandate is spelled out.
For interns, the rule runs the other way and is explicit: supervisors must co-sign diagnostic summaries, treatment plans and reports, and all diagnoses must be made by the supervisor, never delegated to the intern.
Whether a CADC past the intern stage may diagnose independently is not stated in the sources read.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βNo person shall engage in the independent practice of alcohol and drug counseling for a fee unless the person is licensed under this act as a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor or the person is a certified alcohol and drug counselor practicing under the supervision of a licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselor.β
APCBNJ, the Addiction Professionals Certification Board of New Jersey, is the state's IC&RC member board; it issues its own reciprocal ICRC credentials β an ADC-level CADC, plus CCS, CCJP, prevention and peer credentials β separately from the state Committee's CADC and LCADC.
IC&RC's own member-board directory says: "Both the Written & Oral Exams are required in the state of New Jersey.
Licensure applicants must be reviewed and approved by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs.
For this reason, IC&RC cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO New Jersey for ADC credentials."
That statement is scoped to the ADC-level credential behind the CADC β it says nothing about the LCADC.
No section on a separate New Jersey endorsement or reciprocal-licensure pathway for out-of-state CADCs or LCADCs was read; confirm any relocation route directly with the Committee.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βIC&RC cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO New Jerseyβ
Both credentials renew every two years.
An LCADC must complete 40 contact hours of continuing education per biennial period to renew; a CADC must complete 60 contact hours.
The rule sets the required hours by credential tier β LCADC versus CADC.
βAll licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselors shall complete 40 contact hours of continuing education for license renewal.β
Section 8 of the Act β the practice- and title-protection section β was amended in 2023 (2023, c.177, s.132).
The current text protects titles including "alcohol use disorder counselor," "substance use disorder counselor" and "chemical dependency counselor" alongside the CADC and LCADC titles themselves, but the statute as saved carries no strike-through or inserted-text markup, so this page cannot say which titles the 2023 amendment added versus the original 1997 Act.
Separately, N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.2 β the supervisor-qualification rule β was amended only once, by 51 N.J.R.
1761(a), effective December 2, 2019; that amendment wrote in the LCADC's CCS requirement, with June 2, 2021 as a delayed compliance date inside the same text, plus the (a)1.i extension for a supervisor already supervising by then.
Other N.J.A.C.
13:34C sections carry their own dates β 6.1's definitions were last amended October 5, 2009, and 2.2, 2.3, 2.5 and 2.6 were last amended April 3, 2017 (2.4 carries no amendment date) β so no single date describes the whole chapter.
The rules exempt five groups, the fifth open-ended: self-help and uncompensated peer support; a private employer's or institution's designated employee, evaluating or referring only its own employees solely within that employer's or agency's jurisdiction, where the credential isn't a job requirement; clergy acting within ministerial duties; students and interns in a supervised, accredited course of study; and anyone doing this work within the scope of their own licensed profession and training β physicians, social workers, counselors, therapists, psychologists, nurses, any other State-licensed profession, and their accredited-program students β as long as they don't hold themselves out as CADC- or LCADC-credentialed.
An honorably discharged veteran's military training, education and experience can count toward either credential only once the Committee finds it, together with any non-military training, substantially equivalent in scope and character to what the rule requires; a VMET Document and, where the applicant lacks the coursework or degree, an ACE-evaluated Joint Services Transcript are how that's shown.
Every other requirement still applies, and only the equivalent portion is credited β never the exams.
βA person doing work of an alcohol or drug counseling nature, or advertising those services, when acting within the scope of the person's profession or occupation and doing work consistent with the person's training, including physicians, clinical social workers, professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, psychologists, nurses, or any other profession or occupation licensed by the State, or students within accredited programs of these professions, if the person does not hold oneself out to the public as possessing a license or certification issued pursuant to the Act or this chapter.β
This page summarizes the New Jersey statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee of the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, NJ Division of Consumer Affairs publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in New Jersey.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee of the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, NJ Division of Consumer Affairs before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in New Jersey that asks for it.
New Jersey has two credentials: a state certificate (CADC) and a state licence (LCADC), and using either title or practising under it requires certification or licensure under N.J.S.A.
45:2D-8a.
Independent practice for a fee is reserved to the LCADC, or a CADC working under an LCADC's supervision.
The Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee of the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners administers both.
Yes.
N.J.A.C.
13:34C-2.3(b)1 accepts a high school diploma or GED equivalency for the CADC, alongside 300 hours of supervised practical training, two years of supervised work experience, 270 hours of alcohol and drug education and both an ICRC written and oral exam.
The LCADC is different: it requires a counseling master's degree, or a related master's with at least 18 graduate counseling credits.
Not automatically through IC&RC.
IC&RC's own member-board directory notes that because New Jersey requires its own written and oral exams and Division of Consumer Affairs review, it "cannot facilitate the reciprocity process INTO New Jersey for ADC credentials" β APCBNJ is New Jersey's IC&RC member board, but that statement comes from IC&RC's directory, not from APCBNJ itself.
No separate state endorsement route for out-of-state counselors was found in the sections read; confirm directly with the Committee.
The sections read answer this only for interns: all diagnoses must be made by the qualified clinical supervisor and may not be delegated to an alcohol and drug counselor intern (N.J.A.C.
13:34C-6.2(g)).
Whether a CADC past the intern stage may diagnose independently is not stated in the sources read; ask the Committee before taking on that scope of work.
A qualified clinical supervisor must be an LCADC holding a Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) credential since June 2, 2021, a New Jersey physician certified in addiction medicine or a psychiatrist with added chemical-dependency qualifications, or an APN, psychologist, LCSW, LMFT or LPC holding the CCS.
A dual-licensed LCADC in one of those other professions can also qualify, but only if the other board deems them a qualified supervisor and they have three years of relevant clinical experience, at least one earned after the LCADC.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee of the State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, NJ Division of Consumer Affairs.