🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in North Carolina: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

North Carolina certifies peer support specialists; it does not license them.

The credential is the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist (NC CPSS), issued by the NCCPSS Program (UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS).

Eligibility rests on lived experience: recovery from a serious mental illness and/or substance use disorder, at least 18 months before training starts.

Track A adds 20 prerequisite hours and the Foundations of Peer Support course; Track B, for applicants who completed a Track B approved course, has separate steps.

No work hours come first; Medicaid pays under Clinical Coverage Policy 8G.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In North Carolina, that is the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist Program, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS.

At a glance

Credential titles

NC Certified Peer Support Specialist (NC CPSS), with designations: Military at application, and COAPS and others after certification.

Applications run on Track A or Track B, and there is no trainee or associate rung.

Certifier

The NC Certified Peer Support Specialist Program, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS β€” a state/university partnership, not a private certification board.

Training

Track A: 20 hours of prerequisite training (3 hours of Ethics training and 17 hours of related behavioral training), then Foundations of Peer Support Part 1 (online) and Part 2 (in person).

The Foundations course hours are not stated in the sources read, which also do not cover Track B's steps.

Supervised or work hours

None required before certification.

Exam

Track A: a certification examination you must pass before your first recertification (due in two years); $50 per attempt, with three attempts.

Track B's exam rule is not covered in the sources read.

Lived experience

Lived experience of, and recovery from, a serious mental illness (SMI) and/or substance use disorder (SUD); at least 18 months of recovery before starting training and certification.

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered: NC Medicaid's Clinical Coverage Policy 8G, Peer Support Services (original effective November 1, 2019; amended September 1, 2026), requires PSS to be provided by a peer certified by the NC CPSS Program.

Renewal & CE

Every two years: a certificate for at least 3 hours of Ethics training plus certificates for 17 hours of related training (20 hours total), two reference letters and a $20 fee.

The North Carolina credential ladder

  1. NC Certified Peer Support Specialist(NC CPSS)Independent

    The full certification.

    On Track A it is granted on completing Foundations of Peer Support Part II (in person) and the course evaluation; the sources read do not cover how Track B certification is granted.

    It is a certification, not a licence, and NC Medicaid's Clinical Coverage Policy 8G requires peer support services to be provided by a peer holding active NC CPSS certification.

  2. Military designationOther

    A designation applied for at the initial CPSS application rather than after certification; the program's page points applicants to its required documentation, and the sources read do not state its eligibility criteria.

  3. COAPS and other designationsOther

    Specialty designations added after certification: the applicant must already be a CPSS and then complete the training for that designation.

    The sources read do not expand the acronym COAPS.

One certificate plus designations, on two application tracks

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

North Carolina issues a single peer credential, the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist, and adds specialization through designations rather than separate tiers.

The Military designation is selected at the initial application, while COAPS and the other designations require you to be a CPSS first and then complete that designation's training.

Applications run on Track A or Track B, and once you submit you must stay on the track you chose, so read both sets of eligibility rules before applying.

There is no associate or trainee rung: the first credential you can hold is the full certification.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œApplicants may pursue certification through Track A or Track B, but once the application process has begun, they must remain on the track they selected. Applicants cannot switch certification tracks after submitting an application.”

Lived experience: SMI or SUD recovery, at least 18 months before training

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

Eligibility rests on your own recovery, and the program states the rule tightly.

You need lived experience of, and recovery from, a serious mental illness (SMI) and/or substance use disorder (SUD), and co-occurring disorders count only if you are in recovery from both.

The 18-month recovery clock must be complete before you start training and certification, so it runs well before the application.

Two more floors sit on the certification page: you must be at least 18 years old and hold a high school diploma or equivalent.

The program also narrows the lived-experience definition: certification is not granted based solely on lived experience with tobacco, caffeine, gambling or social media addiction, or other addictions outside its SMI and SUD definitions.

β€œHave lived experience and be in recovery from a serious mental illness (SMI) and/or substance use disorder (SUD). If you have co-occurring (mental health and substance use) disorders, you must be in recovery from BOTH to qualify for certification.”

Training: 20 prerequisite hours, then Foundations of Peer Support

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

Training comes in two stages, as the program describes them for Track A.

First, 20 hours of prerequisite training, split into 3 hours of required Ethics training and 17 hours of related behavioral training, are completed before you apply; a $20 non-refundable fee opens the application.

Second, applicants approved into the program take Foundations of Peer Support: Part 1 online, with 60 days to finish it, and Part 2 in person, with both parts due within 150 days.

The sources read scope these steps to Track A, do not state how many hours the Foundations course itself carries, and do not cover Track B's steps.

The program advises that certification can take 7 to 8 weeks start to finish once documents are in, and an application not completed within six months must be resubmitted as new.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œComplete 20 hours of prerequisite training: 3 hours of required Ethics training and 17 hours of related behavioral training”

No work or supervision hours before certification

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

North Carolina requires no work, volunteer or supervised hours before certification.

The gates the sources name are the 18-month recovery period and, on Track A, the 20 prerequisite hours and the Foundations course; what Track B requires is not covered in the sources read.

Your first paid peer role normally comes after you are certified, and what the job then requires is set by the employer and, for Medicaid billing, by Clinical Coverage Policy 8G's program and supervision rules, not by a pre-certification hour log.

If you are planning a move into peer work, budget for the recovery period and, on Track A, the course windows rather than for accruing hours.

The exam comes after certification, before the first renewal

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

On Track A, certification itself is granted on completing Foundations of Peer Support Part II and the course evaluation; the sources read do not cover how Track B certification is granted or whether the same exam rule applies to it.

There is no entrance exam on the Track A route: instead, you must pass a certification examination before your first recertification, which is due two years after certification.

The exam costs $50 per attempt, a second attempt may follow 14 days later and a third after 30 days, and failing all three expires the certification and sends you back to the start of the process.

Treat the exam as a two-year deadline attached to your certificate, not a hurdle at the door.

β€œYou become certified after completing Part II (in person) and the course evaluation. Pass the certification examination before your first recertification (due in two years).”

Medicaid: Clinical Coverage Policy 8G requires an active NC CPSS

πŸ“œ NC Medicaid Clinical Coverage Policy 8G Β§6.2 (amended September 1, 2026)

NC Medicaid pays for peer support services under Clinical Coverage Policy 8G, Peer Support Services, originally effective November 1, 2019 and amended September 1, 2026.

The policy requires the service to be delivered by a peer holding active NC CPSS certification, and it makes employers responsible for keeping that true: providers must verify certification at hire, keep a roster of their CPSS staff, and restrict from service any CPSS whose certification has expired or been revoked.

On the beneficiary side, 8G covers PSS for beneficiaries with a serious mental illness or substance use disorder diagnosis (other than a sole intellectual and developmental disability diagnosis) and excludes beneficiaries under age 18.

The federal funding vehicle is not named in the sections read.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œPSS must be provided by a Peer Support Specialist certified by North Carolina's Certified Peer Support Specialist Program (NC CPSS Program). CPSS must maintain an active NC certification to provide services included in this policy.”

Billing supervision: a QP-directed program, 1:8 ratios, every other week

πŸ“œ NC Medicaid CCP 8G Β§6.2.1; 10A NCAC 27G .0104

Billing runs inside a program, not around an individual freelancer.

The PSS program must be under the direction of a full-time Qualified Professional who meets 10A NCAC 27G .0104, with designated competent mental health or substance use professionals supervising CPSS during service provision.

The policy caps program staffing at one QP per eight CPSS and one CPSS per 15 beneficiaries, one to 12 for CPSS group facilitators, and requires the PSS Program Supervisor to give each staff member individual administrative and supportive supervision at least every other week, or more if needed β€” the requirement in force since the September 1, 2026 amendment, which replaced 'at least once per month'.

For a newly certified peer, that means your supervision structure is fixed by the policy your employer bills under, so ask a prospective employer how its QP coverage and supervision calendar work before accepting an offer.

β€œProvide administrative and supportive supervision to program staff individually at least every other week or more if needed.”

Moving to North Carolina: out-of-state certification is not accepted

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program certification page (pss.unc.edu)

North Carolina does not accept peer certification earned in another state, and the program states plainly that it has no reciprocity.

A peer certified elsewhere must meet North Carolina's requirements as a new applicant: on Track A, the eligibility floors, the 20 prerequisite hours, the Foundations course and the examination; what Track B requires is not covered in the sources read.

The sources read name no waiver, work-experience substitution or shortened route for experienced out-of-state peers, so plan the Track A sequence, including the 7-to-8-week processing window, into any relocation.

The certifier is a state/university partnership rather than a private IC&RC member board, which is consistent with there being no board-to-board transfer route.

β€œThe NCCPSS Program does not accept certification from other states. Thus, the Program does not have reciprocity with other states regarding certification.”

Renewal every two years: 20 hours, two references, $20

πŸ“œ NCCPSS Program recertification page (pss.unc.edu)

Recertification is due every two years, counted from the initial date awarded, and the requirements mirror the entry training: a certificate for at least 3 hours of Ethics training plus certificates for 17 hours of related training (20 hours total), two reference letters, at least one from someone outside your household, and a $20 non-refundable processing fee.

A late application is accepted within 30 days after expiration with an added $20 late fee; after that, certification lapses and the peer must reapply as a new applicant, including a new training certificate, because a previously used one cannot be reused.

The program emails a notice 60 to 90 days before expiration, but the certificate holder is solely responsible for renewing on time.

β€œFailure to recertify by the expiration date of your current certificate, or to complete the late recertification process within 30 days after the certificate expiration date, will result in lapsed certification.”

Changes 2023–2026: CCP 8G amended September 1, 2026

πŸ“œ NC Medicaid CCP 8G revision history, 09/01/2026 entries (Β§Β§6.2, 6.2.1); amended effective 4/1/2023 and September 1, 2026

NC Medicaid amended Clinical Coverage Policy 8G effective April 1, 2023 and again September 1, 2026.

The September 1, 2026 revision-log entry for Β§6.2.1 records the CPSS supervision requirement being revised to 'every other week' from 'at least once per month', and the same date's entries added the provider-certification and roster requirements in Β§6.2, replaced the beneficiary's 'mental health' diagnosis language with 'serious mental illness' and tightened the covered-needs criteria.

On the certification side, the program pages read describe the current Track A/Track B process, and no 2023–2026 change to the CPSS certification requirements themselves was recorded in the sources read.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the North Carolina statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist Program, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in North Carolina.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist Program, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in North Carolina that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist credential a license?

No. North Carolina issues a certification, not a licence: the NC CPSS comes from the NCCPSS Program at the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS.

The certification is also what NC Medicaid's Clinical Coverage Policy 8G requires for billing peer support services, so employers asking for a 'peer support license' in North Carolina are describing this certificate.

Confirm the credential and any designation a posting wants with the program.

How fast can you become a CPSS in North Carolina?

Two clocks run on Track A.

The recovery clock requires at least 18 months of recovery before you start training and certification.

The application clock then runs through the 20 prerequisite hours, the Foundations of Peer Support course (Part 1 within 60 days, both parts within 150 days) and program review: the program's stated average is 7 to 8 weeks start to finish, and incomplete applications delay it.

You must finish within six months of beginning or resubmit as a new application.

Track B's timeline is not covered in the sources read.

Can I transfer a peer certification from another state to North Carolina?

No. The program does not accept certification earned in another state and has no reciprocity, so a peer certified elsewhere applies as a new North Carolina applicant.

On Track A that means the eligibility floors, the 20 prerequisite hours, the Foundations of Peer Support course and the certification examination; what Track B requires is not covered in the sources read.

No shortened route for experienced out-of-state peers is described, so build the Track A sequence into your moving timeline.

Who supervises a peer support specialist billing North Carolina Medicaid?

Under Clinical Coverage Policy 8G, the PSS program must be directed by a full-time Qualified Professional who meets 10A NCAC 27G .0104, with designated competent mental health or substance use professionals supervising CPSS during service provision.

Ratios cap at one QP per eight CPSS and one CPSS per 15 beneficiaries, and program staff receive individual supervision at least every other week.

Ask a prospective employer how its QP coverage and supervision calendar meet 8G before you accept an offer.

What happens if my NC CPSS certification expires?

You have a 30-day late recertification window after the expiration date: submit the same renewal requirements plus a $20 late fee on top of the $20 processing fee.

After 30 days the certification lapses and you must apply as a new applicant, including a new training certificate, because a certificate already used cannot be reused for a new application.

The program emails a notice 60 to 90 days before expiration, but renewal on time is solely your responsibility.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in North Carolina
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More North Carolina & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the NC Certified Peer Support Specialist Program, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work, in partnership with NC DMH/DD/SUS.