North Carolina credentials substance use disorder professionals through the Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (NCASPPB), which also serves as the state's own IC&RC member board.
You register first, then work toward either the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), a certificate requiring only a high school diploma but 6,000 supervised hours regardless of degree, or the Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist (LCAS), the state's actual licence, which needs a master's degree and lets practice be independent.
A parallel track runs Clinical Supervisor Intern to Certified Clinical Supervisor.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Registrant, leading to an Alcohol and Drug Counselor Intern or a Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist Associate (LCAS-A); the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC), Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS), and Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist (LCAS); a separate Clinical Supervisor Intern to Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) track; and the Certified Criminal Justice Addictions Professional (CCJP).
The CADC, CPS, and CCJP are state certificates; the LCAS is the state licence.
All are issued by the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (NCASPPB), which is also North Carolina's own IC&RC member board.
CADC and CPS: a high school diploma or equivalency certificate.
LCAS: a master's degree with a clinical application in a human services field, required under all four criteria β even the deemed-status route (Criteria D), whose only path runs through a professional discipline that itself requires a master's of its own members.
CADC: 300 hours of supervised practical training plus a total of 6,000 hours of supervised experience, regardless of degree.
LCAS Criteria A: two years of postgraduate supervised SUD counseling experience plus its own 300-hour practicum; Criteria C: one year.
An examination developed by the IC&RC/AODA or a deemed-status discipline's own standards.
For the LCAS, the statute also names a passing score on a master's-level written examination administered by the Board β the text read here does not say whether that is the same IC&RC-developed exam or a separate one.
LCAS practice may be independent and includes referral for people with co-occurring disorders and treatment for addictive disorder or disease; a CADC practices under a practice supervisor.
Whether either credential covers diagnosis: Not stated in the sources read.
The Article does not apply to other regulated professionals rendering SUD services within the scope of their own license, certification, or registration (G.S.
90-113.42(b)-(c)).
Yes β NCASPPB is itself the IC&RC member board (CADC as ADC, LCAS as AADC, CCS as CS, CCJP as CCJP, and CPS as PS).
An out-of-state credential that is not an IC&RC match may still qualify under the Board's substantially-equal standard (G.S.
90-113.36(b)).
Every certified or licensed credential (CADC, LCAS, CCS, CCJP, CPS) renews every other year; a registrant's status instead runs up to five years at a time.
LCAS: at least 40 CE hours.
CADC and CPS: at least 60 CE hours.
CCS: an additional 15 hours of supervision-specific training.
CCJP: 40 hours of CE in its own performance domains.
A person who has completed all requirements to register with the Board and is supervised by a certified clinical supervisor or clinical supervisor intern.
Registrant status lasts up to five years and can be renewed once for another five while working toward a credential (G.S.
90-113.31A(23); 90-113.40A(b)).
A registrant who has completed 300 hours of Board-approved supervised practical training while pursuing the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor credential (G.S.
90-113.31A(1)).
A registrant who has completed 300 hours of Board-approved supervised practical training while pursuing licensure as a clinical addictions specialist.
The Associate title names a registrant status, not a separate licence (G.S.
90-113.31A(19a)).
A state certificate, not a licence, held while practicing under a practice supervisor.
Supervision eases from one hour per 40 hours of practice to 1:160 as experience grows, and certification takes 6,000 hours of supervised experience regardless of degree (G.S.
90-113.31A(6); 90-113.40(a); 90-113.37A(b)).
North Carolina's actual substance use disorder counselor licence.
The statute says its practice "may be independent" and covers the Twelve Core Functions, referral for people with co-occurring disorders, and treatment for addictive disorder or disease (G.S.
90-113.31A(19); 90-113.31B(4)).
A state certificate for someone practicing substance use disorder prevention rather than counseling.
It shares the CADC's 270-hour education floor and applicant-supervision requirement, but reaches certification at 6,000 hours of supervised experience unless the applicant holds a bachelor's degree in a human services field, which lowers it to 4,000 (G.S.
90-113.31A(7); 90-113.40(a)).
A person designated by the Board to practice as a clinical supervisor under the supervision of a Certified Clinical Supervisor, for up to three years without a showing of good cause, while working toward the CCS (G.S.
90-113.31A(10)).
A person certified by the Board to supervise substance use disorder professionals.
Since January 1, 2003, only a CCS or Clinical Supervisor Intern may supervise CADC and non-deemed-status LCAS applicants (G.S.
90-113.31A(4); 90-113.40(f)).
A specialty state certificate for someone providing direct SUD services to clients or offenders in a criminal justice setting, with its own IC&RC/AODA examination and work-experience tiers set by degree level.
It shares the CADC's post-certification practice-supervisor ratios and is separately named in the practice-supervisor definition (G.S.
90-113.31A(5), (20); 90-113.40(d1); 90-113.37A(b)).
The Article names nine current roles, plus a Certified Substance Abuse Residential Facility Director certificate still named in 31A(8), the effective-until version of 31A(26), 42(d), and 43(a) but being phased out (see Recent Changes).
Two of the nine are entry-level registrant subtypes: an Alcohol and Drug Counselor Intern is a registrant completing 300 hours toward the CADC, and an LCAS-A is a registrant completing 300 hours toward the LCAS β the "Associate" title is the registrant category itself, not a separate licence.
Three are Board certificates rather than the state licence: the CADC, the Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS, for SUD prevention rather than counseling), and the specialty Certified Criminal Justice Addictions Professional (CCJP); the LCAS alone is the state licence, and the statute calls it "licensed" throughout while calling the others "certified."
A separate supervisor track runs Clinical Supervisor Intern to Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS).
Section 90-113.42(a) makes practicing any scoped activity unlawful for anyone not credentialed under this Article, unless regulated by another profession or holding registrant or intern status.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βIt shall be unlawful for any person not licensed or otherwise credentialed as a substance use disorder professional pursuant to this Article to engage in those activities set forth in the scope of practice of a substance use disorder professional under G.S. 90-113.31B, unless that person is regulated by another profession or is a registrant or intern as defined by this Article.β
The CADC's degree floor is a high school diploma or equivalency certificate, plus 270 hours of Board-approved education, of which no more than half may be independent study; the Certified Prevention Specialist shares that same floor.
The LCAS needs a master's degree with a clinical application in a human services field under every one of its four criteria.
Criteria A requires that master's plus 180 hours of SUD-specific training taken separately; Criteria B requires the master's plus an existing SUD counselor certification; Criteria C requires the master's itself to carry an SUD specialty that includes those 180 hours; and Criteria D, the deemed-status route, has no degree language of its own, but only reaches applicants from a professional discipline whose own credentialing body already requires a master's degree with a clinical application in a human services field of its members (G.S.
90-113.41A(a)(1)).
So the same statute runs from no college requirement at all for the CADC and CPS to a master's degree for the LCAS under every route to that licence.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βat a minimum, a high school diploma or a high school equivalency certificateβ
The CADC path takes 300 hours of Board-approved supervised practical training under an applicant supervisor, then a total of 6,000 hours of supervised experience in the field, paid or volunteer.
The statute sets that figure without a lower tier for degree-holders, unlike the certified prevention specialist track in the same subsection, which drops to 4,000 hours with a bachelor's degree in a human services field.
The LCAS under Criteria A needs two years of postgraduate supervised SUD counseling experience plus its own 300-hour practicum; Criteria C needs only one year, and its master's degree must itself carry an SUD specialty.
The statute read here does not reduce the CADC's 6,000-hour figure for any degree level, and whether the Board's 21 NCAC 68 rules do so was not read for this page.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βThe applicant for substance use disorder counselor has completed a total of 6,000 hours of supervised experience in the field, whether paid or volunteer.β
Every applicant for certification or licensure is tested in an examination developed by the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated, or by the standards of a deemed-status discipline.
For the LCAS specifically, Criteria A through C each also require a passing score on a master's-level written examination administered by the Board.
The statute read here does not say whether that Board-administered exam is the same IC&RC-developed exam or a separate one; NCASPPB is itself North Carolina's IC&RC member board, which would be consistent with the Board directly administering the IC&RC exam, but the text does not say so explicitly.
Examinations run in North Carolina at least twice a year, and applicants licensing through deemed status under Β§ 90-113.41A skip the standard 60-day filing deadline.
The statute does not name the specific IC&RC exam title (for example ADC or AADC) assigned to each tier; check the Board for the current exam assignment.
βtested in an examination developed by the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporatedβ
A CADC or CCJP is certified to practice under the supervision of a practice supervisor β a certified clinical supervisor, clinical supervisor intern, or LCAS providing face-to-face oversight to each of them by name.
That supervision does not end at certification: the renewal statute sets it, for both credentials, at one hour of supervision for every 40 hours of practice, easing to 1:80 after two years and 1:160 after four years, and each must submit a signed supervision contract documenting it at renewal.
The training period itself is also quantified for CCJP applicants specifically: they must complete a minimum of 10 hours of supervision in each criminal justice domain established by IC&RC/AODA as part of their 300 hours of supervised practical training.
A Clinical Supervisor Intern, in turn, works under the supervision of a certified clinical supervisor for a period not to exceed three years without a showing of good cause before becoming a CCS.
βone hour of supervision to every 40 hours of practice after the certification is granted by the Boardβ
The scope-of-practice statute says the LCAS's practice "may be independent" and includes the Twelve Core Functions, referral for people with co-occurring disorders, and treatment for addictive disorder or disease; an LCAS may also provide supervision to maintain "a professional credential as defined by this Article" β that is, another Article 5C credential, not a professional credential generally.
A CADC's scope is the same Twelve Core Functions, but performed under a practice supervisor, not independently.
Neither the LCAS's nor the CADC's scope-of-practice text uses the word "diagnose" or "diagnosis" anywhere in this Article β whether either credential covers diagnosis is not stated in the sources read.
The Article also exempts other regulated professionals rendering SUD services within their own licensed scope, so a physician or LCSW doing SUD work under their own license is not practicing under this Article at all.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βThe practice of a licensed clinical addictions specialist may be independent and consists of the Twelve Core Functions, including screening, intake, orientation, assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case management, crisis intervention, client education, report and record keeping, consultation with other professionals in regard to client treatment and services, referral to reduce the conditions that place individuals at risk of developing addictive disorder or disease with co-occurring disorders, and treatment for addictive disorder or disease.β
The North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board is itself the IC&RC member for this state, so an IC&RC-reciprocal transfer at a matching level (CADC as ADC, LCAS as AADC, CCS as CS, CCJP as CCJP, CPS as PS) runs through the same Board that issues the state credential, not a separate private organization.
For an out-of-state credential that is not an IC&RC match, the Board may furnish a certificate of certification or licensure to a person whose qualifications were, at the date of their out-of-state registration, certification, or licensure, substantially equal to this Article's requirements, after the applicant files and pays fees.
A separate deemed-status pathway under Β§ 90-113.41A lets a professional discipline's own SUD credential β one meeting a master's-degree, 180-hour, one-year-supervised-practice standard β qualify its members individually for the LCAS.
There is no reciprocity between NAADAC's national certifications and IC&RC credentials; only IC&RC member boards reciprocate with each other.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βThe Board may furnish a certificate of certification or licensure to any person in another state or territory if the individual's qualifications were, at the date of registration, certification, or licensure, substantially equal to the requirements under this Article.β
Every certified or licensed credential under this Article β CADC, LCAS, CCS, CCJP, and CPS β renews every other year; a registrant's status instead runs on its own five-year cycle, renewable once for another five years.
Renewal of licensure β the LCAS β requires at least 40 hours of continuing education; renewal of alcohol and drug counselor or prevention specialist certification β the CADC and CPS β requires at least 60 hours, so their CE load is higher than the LCAS's.
A CCS additionally needs 15 hours of SUD clinical-supervision training before its certificate renews, and a CCJP needs 40 hours of CE in its own performance domains.
Independent study may not exceed half of the hours counted toward any renewal.
A credential that is not renewed automatically lapses unless the Board approves a late renewal on payment of a late fee, and no late renewal may be granted more than five years after the credential expired.
βRenewal of licensure is subject to completion of at least 40 hours of the continuing education requirements established by the Board.β
Session Laws 2023-83 amended the definitions section (90-113.31A) and the renewal section (90-113.37A) β the statute's own history lines mark this as the most recent amendment to either section.
Separately, the Article is phasing out the Certified Substance Abuse Residential Facility Director credential through two different tagging patterns: its own definition (90-113.31A(8)) and its scope-of-practice paragraph (90-113.31B(5)) are each a single provision carrying a note tag β "Contingent repeal" for the definition, "Postponed repeal" for the scope paragraph β while the definition of substance use disorder professional (90-113.31A(26)), the fee maximums (90-113.38(a)), the title-protection list (90-113.42(d)), and the illegal-practice list (90-113.43(a)) instead each carry two full parallel versions, one "for effective until date" that still includes the credential and one "for postponed effective date" that omits it throughout.
The statute text read here does not include the session-law note explaining either tag's trigger or naming its effective date; check the Board or the session law itself before relying on which version currently controls.
This page summarizes the North Carolina statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (NCASPPB) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in North Carolina.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (NCASPPB) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in North Carolina that asks for it.
From the 33 active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires as of October 29, 2026.
Source: active substance abuse counselor listings on BehavioralHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range). Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesnβt mention one may still offer it.
Browse 33 jobs βIt depends which role.
Practicing any of the Article's scoped activities without a registration, certificate, or licence from NCASPPB is unlawful (G.S.
90-113.42(a)).
The Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) is a certificate, not a licence; the Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist (LCAS) is North Carolina's actual state licence and the only tier the statute calls independent.
Other regulated professionals doing SUD work within their own license, such as a physician or LCSW, are exempt from this Article entirely.
Yes.
The statute's floor for the Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor is a high school diploma or equivalency certificate, plus 270 hours of Board-approved education and 300 hours of supervised practical training.
You still need a total of 6,000 hours of supervised experience before certification, and the statute read here does not reduce that figure for any degree level.
It is not a separate licence.
The statute defines the LCAS-A as a registrant β someone who has completed 300 hours of Board-approved supervised practical training while pursuing the LCAS itself.
Like other registrants, LCAS-A status can be held for up to five years and renewed once for another five while you finish the LCAS requirements, under the general registrant provisions of G.S.
90-113.40A(b).
NCASPPB is both the state regulator and North Carolina's own IC&RC member board.
It issues the state certificates and licence, and it is the same Board that reciprocates with other IC&RC member boards at matching levels β for example, CADC as ADC and LCAS as AADC, alongside CCS as CS, CCJP as CCJP, and CPS as PS.
There is no reciprocity between NAADAC's national certifications and IC&RC credentials β only IC&RC member boards reciprocate with each other.
Not stated in the sources read.
G.S.
90-113.31B(4), the scope-of-practice provision for the LCAS, describes an independent practice built on the Twelve Core Functions, referral for people with co-occurring disorders, and treatment for addictive disorder or disease, but the word "diagnose" or "diagnosis" does not appear anywhere in the Article's scope-of-practice text.
Confirm directly with NCASPPB before relying on any diagnosis claim for this credential.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board (NCASPPB).