🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in South Dakota: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

South Dakota has no state peer support specialist certification, and no certifier issues one. 'Peer Support Specialist' is a Medicaid staff role, defined in South Dakota Medicaid's billing manuals for community mental health centers (CMHCs) and SUD agencies.

The requirements are a high school diploma or equivalent, a signed self-attestation of lived experience and ongoing recovery, and documented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training; hours are not stated and there is no exam.

Continuing education is 10 CEUs per calendar year with at least 2 on ethics.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In South Dakota, that is the None. No state board or agency certifies peer support specialists; the requirements are Medicaid only, administered through South Dakota Medicaid (Department of Social Services), whose billing manuals for CMHC and SUD Agency Services define the role.

At a glance

Credential titles

None as a state credential. 'Peer Support Specialist' is a Medicaid staff role at enrolled CMHCs and SUD agencies, defined in the billing manuals; the DSS consumer page also points to Face It TOGETHER's private certified peer coach program.

Certifier

None.

The requirements are Medicaid only: South Dakota Medicaid's billing manuals for CMHC and SUD Agency Services, both marked UPDATED May 25.

No state board or agency certifies peers.

Training

Documented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training, plus a minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent.

The training hours are not stated.

Supervised or work hours

Not stated in the sources read.

Exam

None.

The manuals name no test, passing score or assessing body.

Lived experience

A signed self-attestation: lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis (CMHC manual) or from a substance use disorder (SUD manual).

Background check

Not stated in the sources read.

Medicaid

Covered: individual peer supports (CPT Code H0038) and group peer supports (CPT Code H0025), billed by an enrolled CMHC or SUD agency.

The federal funding vehicle is not stated in the manuals.

Renewal & CE

Documented completion of 10 continuing education units (CEUs) per calendar year aligned with SAMHSA's core competencies for peer support, with at least 2 units focused on ethics.

The South Dakota credential ladder

  1. Peer Support Specialist at an enrolled CMHC (Medicaid staff role)Other

    An employment role defined in the CMHC billing manual, not an issued credential: a high school diploma or equivalent, a signed self-attestation of lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis, SAMHSA core curriculum training, and employment by an enrolled community mental health center.

  2. Peer Support Specialist at an enrolled SUD agency (Medicaid staff role)Other

    The same employment role in the SUD Agency Services manual, with the attestation worded as ongoing recovery from a substance use disorder and employment by an enrolled substance use disorder treatment agency; it is a Medicaid billing requirement, not a certificate.

  3. Experienced peer supervisor (a supervision role, not a certificate)Supervisor

    A peer with at least two years of direct experience providing peer services may supervise, after completing state-approved Supervising Peer Support training; the manuals treat this as a condition of billing supervision, and no separate credential is issued.

No state credential: the role is defined by Medicaid billing manuals

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Definitions page (updated May 25); PRCoE 2023

South Dakota issues no peer certification, and no state body certifies peers β€” PRCoE's January 2023 national chart lists the state as N/A.

What exists is an employment role.

The CMHC manual defines Peer Support Specialist as an individual who attests to lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis, has completed a Division approved peer support core curriculum training, and is employed by an enrolled community mental health center; the SUD manual defines the same role around a substance use disorder, at an enrolled SUD agency.

Because the definition lives in billing manuals, the requirements bind the Medicaid-billable service rather than a certificate: an enrolled agency bills for peer supports delivered by someone who meets them, and outside that employment there is no credential to hold.

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œ"Peer Support Specialist," an individual that attests to lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis, has obtained a Division approved peer support core curriculum training and is employed by an enrolled community mental health center to help people become and stay engaged in the recovery process and reduce the likelihood of relapse.”

Lived experience: a signed self-attestation, worded by the setting

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Peer Support Services page (updated May 25); SUD Agency Services manual, Peer Support Services page

There is no application or board to attest to: the manuals state what the signed self-attestation must say, and they word it by setting.

At a CMHC you attest to lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis; at an SUD agency, from a substance use disorder.

Apart from the setting-specific wording and the supervisor lists, the two manuals set the same diploma, training and continuing-education requirements and state the same purpose of helping people become and stay engaged in the recovery process and reducing the likelihood of relapse.

Because the attestation is one of the standing conditions of the Medicaid-billable service, it stays with the role: it is what the agency relies on when it bills Medicaid for the peer supports you deliver.

β€œA signed self-attestation of lived experience and ongoing recovery from a mental health diagnosis”

Training: SAMHSA's core curriculum, no hour figure, a diploma floor

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Peer Support Services page (updated May 25); SUD Agency Services manual, Peer Support Services page

Two entry requirements sit alongside the attestation: a minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent, and documented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training.

The manuals list what that training focuses on β€” advocating for people in recovery, sharing resources and building skills, building community and relationships, leading recovery groups, mentoring and setting goals, and supporting the delivery of recovery focused services within the agency.

Neither manual states an hour total, and no training-hour figure exists in the sources read, so the written record ends at the curriculum's name and focus areas; ask a hiring agency which training it accepts and how long it runs before you enroll in anything.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œDocumented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training”

Supervised or work hours: none stated

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC and SUD Agency Services manuals, Peer Support Services pages (updated May 25)

The manuals state no supervised, work or volunteer hour total for a peer support specialist, and no experience period of any kind.

There is no hour ladder to climb before hire, because there is no certificate to earn: the entry gate is the employment itself β€” attestation, training, and hire by an enrolled CMHC or SUD agency.

The only experience figure anywhere in the peer requirements sits on the supervision side, where a peer needs at least two years of direct experience providing peer services to become a supervisor.

Supervision of your work is required for billing, but the manuals attach no hour count to receiving it.

No exam

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC and SUD Agency Services manuals, Peer Support Services pages (updated May 25)

There is no exam.

The manuals require the diploma, the signed attestation, employment by an enrolled agency, the core curriculum training and the annual CEUs, and they name no test, no passing score and no assessing body.

What an employer can ask you for is documentation rather than an exam result β€” the signed attestation and the record of your training completion are the papers the requirements name.

Background check: nothing in the Medicaid manuals

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC and SUD Agency Services manuals, Peer Support Services pages (updated May 25)

The Medicaid manuals state no background-check requirement for a peer support specialist.

The sources read say nothing either way about whether an enrolled agency runs its own employment screening, so this page cannot tell you what a hiring agency will ask for β€” only that no rule appears in the billing manuals, and the DSS peer-support page read for this page is silent too.

Ask a prospective employer what it screens for before you apply, and treat that answer as the employer's own requirement rather than a state rule.

For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?

Medicaid covers peer supports, billed by the agency you work for

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Peer Support Services page (updated May 25); SUD Agency Services manual, Peer Support Services page

Medicaid is the system that defines the role, and it pays for the service: individual peer supports (CPT Code H0038) and group peer supports (CPT Code H0025) are covered when billed by an enrolled CMHC or SUD agency and delivered by a peer support specialist who meets the requirements above.

You are not the billing provider β€” the CMHC manual requires that services be billed by the enrolled CMHC, and both manuals direct agencies to work with the Division of Behavioral Health to understand the requirements before billing.

The manuals do not name the federal funding vehicle behind the benefit, and the sources read do not establish one, so this page does not guess it.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œSouth Dakota Medicaid covers individual peer supports (CPT Code H0038) and group peer supports (CPT Code H0025) billed by a CMHC”

Who can supervise: named professionals, or an experienced peer β€” all trained

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Peer Support Services page (updated May 25); SUD Agency Services manual, Peer Support Services page

Supervision is a named condition of the covered service, and the two manuals list their supervisors separately.

At a CMHC it is a psychologist, a licensed professional counselor - mental health, a licensed professional counselor working toward a mental health designation, a clinical nurse specialist, a certified social worker-PIP or a certified social worker - PIP candidate, or a licensed marriage and family therapist with a signed provider agreement with the department to provide mental health services β€” or a peer with at least two years of direct experience providing peer services.

At an SUD agency it is a certified addiction counselor, a licensed addiction counselor, or that same experienced peer.

The training rule is common to both lists: mental health professionals, addiction counselors and experienced peers may supervise only upon completion of state-approved Supervising Peer Support training.

When you evaluate a job offer, the practical question is whether the agency employs someone who has completed it.

β€œMental health professionals and experienced peers may supervise upon completion of state-approved Supervising Peer Support training.”

Moving to South Dakota: nothing to transfer, requirements to meet

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC and SUD Agency Services manuals, Peer Support Services pages (updated May 25)

Reciprocity is not applicable: there is no state certificate for an out-of-state credential to convert into, and no endorsement, compact or transfer route appears in the sources read.

A peer certified elsewhere meets South Dakota the same way a first-time peer does β€” the high school diploma or equivalent, the signed self-attestation worded for the setting, documented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training, and hire by an enrolled CMHC or SUD agency.

Whether an employer credits your out-of-state training toward the training requirement is the employer's decision; bring your completion documentation and ask before assuming any of it carries over.

Continuing education: 10 CEUs every calendar year, 2 on ethics

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC billing manual, Peer Support Services page (updated May 25); SUD Agency Services manual, Peer Support Services page

The manuals require documented completion of 10 continuing education units per calendar year that align with the core competencies for peer support as outlined by SAMHSA, with at least 2 units focused on ethics.

Because the role is defined in billing manuals rather than by a certificate, there is no renewal application to file and no expiry date β€” the CE requirement is one of the standing conditions of the Medicaid-billable service, listed alongside the training and supervision requirements.

The manuals name no registry that tracks the units, so keep your own documentation of what you complete and when.

β€œDocumented completion of 10 continuing education units (CEUs) that align with the core competencies for peer support as outlined by SAMHSA per calendar year with at least 2 units focused on ethics.”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ South Dakota Medicaid CMHC and SUD Agency Services manuals, Peer Support Services pages (updated May 25)

Both billing manuals carry an UPDATED May 25 marking β€” May 2025 β€” and the peer-specific changes in that update were not identified in the documents read.

Nothing in the sources read dates the peer requirements themselves: the definition, the training requirement, the supervision lists and the CE rule all appear without an effective date of their own.

The May 2025 manuals are the documents this page rests on, so treat them as current as of their last update and confirm details with the agency before relying on them.

The consumer side: Face It TOGETHER's peer coaches are a private program

πŸ“œ South Dakota DSS, Behavioral Health Peer Support page (retrieved 2026-09-24)

The state's consumer page on peer support, run by the Department of Social Services' Division of Behavioral Health, describes one-on-one peer support and points readers to Face It TOGETHER, a private organization providing peer coaching for people living with substance use disorder and their loved ones.

Its coaches are certified peer coaches β€” people with lived experience of addiction, combined with training and supervision.

The page does not say who certifies them; whatever that certification is, it is not a state certification and not the Medicaid peer support specialist role this page describes.

The same page tells readers they may also be able to access peer support through their treatment agency.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the South Dakota statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the None.

No state board or agency certifies peer support specialists; the requirements are Medicaid only, administered through South Dakota Medicaid (Department of Social Services), whose billing manuals for CMHC and SUD Agency Services define the role publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in South Dakota.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the None.

No state board or agency certifies peer support specialists; the requirements are Medicaid only, administered through South Dakota Medicaid (Department of Social Services), whose billing manuals for CMHC and SUD Agency Services define the role before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in South Dakota that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a peer support specialist certification in South Dakota?

No. South Dakota has no state peer certification and no certifier. 'Peer Support Specialist' is a Medicaid staff role, defined in South Dakota Medicaid's billing manuals for community mental health centers and SUD agencies: a high school diploma or equivalent, a signed self-attestation of lived experience and ongoing recovery, SAMHSA's core curriculum training, and employment by an enrolled agency.

There is no certificate to earn and nothing to renew.

How do you become a peer support specialist in South Dakota?

Meet the manual requirements, then get hired.

You need a minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent, a signed self-attestation of lived experience and ongoing recovery (worded for a mental health diagnosis at a CMHC, a substance use disorder at an SUD agency), and documented completion of SAMHSA's peer support core curriculum training.

Then you need a job with an enrolled CMHC or SUD agency, because Medicaid covers peer supports only when the enrolled organization bills them under listed supervision.

Does South Dakota require an exam or a minimum number of hours for peer support specialists?

No exam and no hour total.

The manuals name no test and no passing score, set no training-hour figure, and state no supervised or work experience requirement.

The only experience figure in the requirements is on the supervision side: a peer needs at least two years of direct experience providing peer services to become a supervisor, and then only after completing state-approved Supervising Peer Support training.

Who can supervise a peer support specialist in South Dakota?

It depends on the setting.

At a CMHC: a psychologist, a licensed professional counselor - mental health, a licensed professional counselor working toward a mental health designation, a clinical nurse specialist, a certified social worker-PIP or PIP candidate, or a licensed marriage and family therapist with a signed provider agreement β€” or a peer with at least two years of direct peer experience.

At an SUD agency: a certified or licensed addiction counselor, or that same experienced peer.

All of them must complete state-approved Supervising Peer Support training first.

Do peer support specialists in South Dakota need continuing education?

Yes.

The manuals require documented completion of 10 continuing education units (CEUs) per calendar year that align with SAMHSA's core competencies for peer support, with at least 2 units focused on ethics.

Because there is no certificate, this is not a renewal you file β€” it is a standing condition of the Medicaid-billable role, and the manuals name no registry that tracks it.

Keep your own records of the units and topics you complete.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in South Dakota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More South Dakota & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the None.

No state board or agency certifies peer support specialists; the requirements are Medicaid only, administered through South Dakota Medicaid (Department of Social Services), whose billing manuals for CMHC and SUD Agency Services define the role.