Tennessee certifies peer recovery specialists; it does not license them.
The certifier is the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), whose Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services runs the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) credential through the CADRE portal.
Entry runs a Part One application, a one week 40-hour training, then a Part Two application within one year of graduation.
TDMHSAS conducts no criminal background check.
TennCare covers peer recovery services when the employer is a TennCare provider offering general supervision.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS), with the CPRS-J (justice involvement) and CPRS-V (U.S. Armed Forces service) endorsements begun in 2025, plus two parallel TDMHSAS credentials: Certified Family Support Specialist (CFSS) and Certified Young Adult Peer Support Specialist (CYAPSS, ages 18-30).
The Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services, a state agency.
Applications and training run through the CADRE portal (CAreer Development for Peer REcovery specialists), built by the University of Memphis.
No TDMHSAS administrative rule for CPRS appears in LII's Title 0940 index, so the program pages are the operative source.
A one week 40-hour training, enrolled after the Part One application is approved.
CPRS-J adds SAFE Project's 32-hour Integrated-Forensic PRS training, taken virtually over one week.
Not located for initial certification.
Renewal requires at least 50 hours of direct peer-to-peer support services during each two-year certification period; the CYAPSS checklist includes 75 hours of peer support, and CFSS lists a minimum work and/or volunteer experience requirement whose amount is not stated in the sources read.
No CPRS exam was found on the pages read.
CFSS requires applicants to pass the written competency course exam.
Required.
CPRS is for a person who has lived experience of a mental illness, substance use disorder or co-occurring disorder and has made the journey from illness to wellness.
CFSS is the parent or relative caregiver route; CYAPSS is for young adults 18-30 with at least a year of lived experience or healing journey.
None conducted by the certifier: TDMHSAS does not conduct criminal background checks when issuing peer recovery specialist certifications, and states that it neither forms nor offers any opinion regarding any information contained therein.
Covered.
Managed Care Organizations serving TennCare enrollees are required to cover psychiatric rehabilitation services as medically necessary, which may include peer recovery services based on the individual's needs and treatment plan (TennCare Policy BEN 11-002, Rev. 4, July 15, 2025).
Each two-year certification period: at least 50 hours of direct peer-to-peer support services and 20 hours of continuing education, including 2 hours in ethics.
CPRS-J and CPRS-V each require 5 of the 20 hours to be topic-specific.
The base credential: a person with lived experience of a mental illness, substance use disorder or co-occurring disorder who completes the 40-hour training and both application parts through CADRE.
It is a certification, not a licence.
An advanced endorsement established in 2025 for a current CPRS who self-identifies lived experience of justice involvement and completes an additional 32-hour CPRS-J training.
Five of the renewal CE hours must be justice-related.
An advanced endorsement for a current CPRS with lived experience of U.S. Armed Forces service, run as a partnership between TDMHSAS and the Tennessee Department of Veterans Services.
Five of the renewal CE hours must be veteran-related.
The family-route credential for a biological, adoptive or foster parent, or a relative caregiver with legal custody, of a child or youth with a mental, emotional, behavioural or co-occurring disorder.
Requires passing a written competency course exam.
A young-adult credential, ages 18-30, for people with lived experience with, or a healing and wellness journey from, mental illness and/or substance abuse for at least a year.
The CYAPSS page's checklist includes 75 hours of peer support; renewal is annual.
The Tennessee credential is the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, issued by TDMHSAS.
In 2025 TDMHSAS added two optional advanced endorsements: CPRS-J, for lived experience of justice involvement, and CPRS-V, for U.S. Armed Forces service.
Alongside the CPRS sit two parallel credentials with their own portals: the Certified Family Support Specialist, a family-route credential, and the Certified Young Adult Peer Support Specialist for ages 18-30, described as a new program.
Everything runs through the CADRE portal built by the University of Memphis.
Read a job posting accordingly: CPRS, CFSS and CYAPSS certify different lived-experience bases, so confirm which one an employer requires.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βBeginning in 2025, TDMHSAS established optional advanced endorsements on the peer recovery specialist certification in specialized areas.β
The CPRS home page defines the credential around personal recovery.
The CADRE portal also describes a CPRS as someone who has self-identified as being in recovery from mental illness, substance abuse, or co-occurring disorders of both mental illness and substance use disorder.
The parallel credentials carry their own bases: CFSS is for a biological, adoptive or foster parent or a relative caregiver with legal custody of a child or youth with a mental, emotional, behavioural or co-occurring disorder, and CYAPSS is for young adults 18-30 with at least a year of lived experience or healing journey.
The CPRS home page's readiness questions ask whether you have at least 2 years of recovery time from a substance use disorder and/or mental illness, a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent, and comfort sharing your recovery story - the page poses these as questions, and the full eligibility rules were not in the sources read.
βA Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) is a person who has lived experience of a mental illness, substance use disorder or co-occurring disorder, who has made the journey from illness to wellness, and who now wishes to help others.β
The CPRS sequence has two application parts around one training.
You apply through CADRE (Part One); once that application is approved you can be enrolled in the one week 40-hour training; after training you have one year from the date of graduation to complete the CPRS Application Part 2 process and become certified.
The CPRS-J endorsement adds its own training: the CPRS-J page states that the CPRS self-identifies as having lived experience of justice involvement and has completed an additional 32-hour CPRS-J training, which SAFE Project's Integrated-Forensic PRS materials deliver virtually over one week.
Beyond these figures, no other training-hour total appears in the sources read, and the CPRS Handbook (June 2023) URL returned 404, so its requirements could not be checked.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βAfter the Part One application is approved, applicants can be enrolled in the one week 40-hour training.β
For the CPRS itself, no supervised or work-hour total for initial certification was located in the sources read - the path to certification as stated on the pages read is Part One, the 40-hour training, and Part Two within one year of graduation.
Hours do appear elsewhere in the system.
Renewal requires at least 50 hours of direct peer-to-peer support services during each two-year certification period, which is where the work expectation is stated.
And the CYAPSS certification checklist on its program page includes 75 hours of peer support, a supervisor sign-off, three Letters of Character or Professional Reference, and an Employment or Volunteer Summary - items the page asks candidates to arrive with, so treat them as the young-adult program's own requirements rather than a CPRS rule.
The CFSS program page likewise lists a minimum work and/or volunteer experience requirement among its eligibility items, and a minimum education and training requirement, without stating the amounts in the sources read.
βYou completed the training and obtained your 75 hours of peer supportβ
No examination for the CPRS credential appears on any of the pages read - not on the TDMHSAS program page, not on cprs.tn.gov, not on the CADRE portal.
The CPRS Handbook, the one document that might state an exam requirement, returned a 404 and was not read, so treat the exam question as open rather than answered.
The CFSS credential is different: its program page lists passing the written competency course exam among its requirements.
No exam for CYAPSS was located either.
If you are applying for the CPRS, confirm current requirements with TDMHSAS or through CADRE before you plan around the absence of a test.
βPass the written competency course examβ
Tennessee is explicit in the negative: the department does not conduct criminal background checks when issuing peer recovery specialist certifications.
The footnote continues that the department neither forms nor offers any opinion regarding any information contained therein, and that any person or entity with interest in that information should conduct a criminal background check themselves to determine if a particular CPRS is an appropriate person for the services sought.
The endorsement pages repeat the no-background-check point in their eligibility lists.
For an applicant this means TDMHSAS does not run a criminal background check at certification - but an employer, or a TennCare provider arranging billing, can still require its own check as a condition of hiring.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βPlease note that the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services does not conduct criminal background checks when issuing peer recovery specialist certifications.β
TennCare's peer recovery policy works through its Managed Care Organizations.
MCOs are required to cover psychiatric rehabilitation services as medically necessary, and those services may include peer recovery services based on the individual's needs and treatment plan - the coverage duty footnoted to the MCO Statewide Contract, Attachment I.
Coverage of CPRS services must also be included in the provider's contract with the MCO, and TennCare-reimbursed peer recovery services must be authorized as part of an enrollee's plan of care.
Examples of CPRS providers include licensed alcohol and drug abuse treatment centers, inpatient hospital settings, community mental health agencies, and veterans' hospitals.
Peer Support Centers are not recognized TennCare providers, though they can be a delivery location for a qualifying CPRS.
Peer support is also available to parents or legal guardians of TennCare-eligible children when the service is directed exclusively toward the benefit of the child; the policy cites the CMS FAQ of June 5, 2024 for who may provide it.
Its reference list includes SMDL #07-011, but the policy does not name the federal authority the coverage rests on.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βManaged Care Organizations (MCOs) providing services to TennCare enrollees are required to cover psychiatric rehabilitation services as medically necessary. Psychiatric rehabilitation services may include peer recovery services as required based on the individual's needs and treatment plan.β
Reimbursement is conditional on the employment relationship.
In order for CPRS services to be reimbursed by TennCare, specialists must be employed by a TennCare provider that offers general supervision for CPRS services and ensures that they meet all applicable TennCare provider requirements.
The flip side is stated just as plainly: TennCare does not recognize Peer Recovery Specialists who work as independent providers or who are associated with agencies that are not TennCare providers.
So the certification is necessary but not sufficient for TennCare-billed work; the job has to be with an enrolled provider.
The policy states the general supervision standard without detailing its clinical requirements - those sit in materials not read for this page.
βTennCare does not recognize Peer Recovery Specialists who work as independent providers or who are associated with agencies that are not TennCare providers.β
The CPRS home page names a route for certified peers arriving from elsewhere: a State to State Applications section states that peers currently certified elsewhere can become certified in Tennessee through the state to state process.
What the pages read do not give are the terms - which out-of-state credentials qualify, whether training or hours are waived, and what documentation the process requires.
The research for this page likewise records reciprocity details as not located.
If you hold a peer certification from another state, contact TDMHSAS through the CADRE portal before enrolling in the 40-hour training, so you know whether the state to state process shortens your path or simply routes you into it.
βPeers currently certified in other states can become certified in Tennessee through the state to state process.β
Certification runs on two-year periods with two renewal requirements: at least 50 hours of direct peer-to-peer support services and 20 hours of continuing education trainings.
The CPRS-J page states the CE rule with its ethics component - 20 hours every two-year certification period, including 2 hours in ethics - and adds the endorsement splits: 5 of the 20 hours must be specific to justice-related topics for CPRS-J, and the CPRS-V page states 5 must be specific to veteran-related topics for CPRS-V.
The parallel credentials renew on their own clocks: the CYAPSS page says its certification needs to be renewed on an annual basis, and the CFSS page lists completing minimum continuing education credits annually, with the amount not stated in the sources read.
βTo renew your certification you must provide at least 50 hours of direct peer-to-peer support services during each two-year certification period and complete 20 hours of continuing education trainings.β
The visible changes sit in 2025.
TDMHSAS established the optional advanced endorsements that year - CPRS-J and CPRS-V - and describes CYAPSS as a new program.
On the Medicaid side, TennCare reissued BEN 11-002 as Revision 4, dated July 15, 2025; the policy's revision history runs from an original dated May 18, 2011.
One caution: the CPRS Handbook (June 2023) URL returned 404 when this page was researched, so the handbook's current requirements could not be verified and anything it states is outside the sources read.
This page summarizes the Tennessee statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Tennessee.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Tennessee that asks for it.
No. Tennessee certifies peer recovery specialists; it does not license them.
The certifier is the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), whose Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services issues the Certified Peer Recovery Specialist credential and its CPRS-J and CPRS-V endorsements, with applications and training running through the CADRE portal.
The same department also certifies the Certified Family Support Specialist and the Certified Young Adult Peer Support Specialist.
There is no state peer support licence.
Through CADRE in three steps: complete the Part One application and wait for approval, attend the one week 40-hour training you are enrolled in, then finish the CPRS Application Part 2 process within one year of your graduation date.
The cprs.tn.gov readiness questions ask whether you have at least 2 years of recovery time from a substance use disorder and/or mental illness, a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent, and comfort sharing your recovery story.
No supervised work hours for initial certification were located in the sources read.
No. TDMHSAS states that it does not conduct criminal background checks when issuing peer recovery specialist certifications, and that it neither forms nor offers any opinion regarding such information, leaving it to any interested person or entity to check and decide for themselves.
The CPRS-J and CPRS-V endorsement pages repeat the no-background-check point in their eligibility lists.
That means TDMHSAS runs no check at certification - it does not stop an employer or a TennCare provider from requiring its own check as a hiring condition.
Yes, with conditions.
TennCare Policy BEN 11-002 (Rev. 4) requires Managed Care Organizations to cover psychiatric rehabilitation services as medically necessary, which may include peer recovery services based on the individual's needs and treatment plan.
The specialist must be employed by a TennCare provider that offers general supervision for CPRS services, the service must be in the provider's MCO contract, and it must be authorized as part of the enrollee's plan of care.
TennCare does not recognize independent providers or agencies that are not TennCare providers.
There is a named route, but its terms are not public in the sources read.
The cprs.tn.gov home page's State to State Applications section states that peers currently certified in another state can become certified in Tennessee through the state to state process.
Which credentials qualify, whether the 40-hour training can be waived, and what documents the process needs were not located, and the research for this page records reciprocity details as not located.
Ask TDMHSAS through the CADRE portal before you enroll in training.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS), Office of Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services.