🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Tennessee: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Tennessee licenses substance abuse counselors at two levels: Level I (LADAC I) starts at a high school diploma with 6,000 supervised hours, and Level II (LADAC II) needs a bachelor's or master's degree with 4,000 or 2,000 hours.

Level I may not be self-employed in private practice; Level II may, and can go on to become a Qualified Clinical Supervisor.

The Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, under the Department of Health, issues both licences under a rule current through its January 2021 revision.

The Tennessee Certification Board's IC&RC certifications are separate and optional.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Tennessee, that is the Tennessee Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (Department of Health).

At a glance

Credential tiers

Level I and Level II Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC I / LADAC II), plus a Qualified Clinical Supervisor (QCS) certificate for supervisors.

TCB's IC&RC CADC/CAADC certifications sit beside the licence as a separate, optional credential.

Type and issuing body

Both LADAC I and LADAC II are state licences under Tenn.

Comp.

R. & Regs. ch. 1200-30-01, issued by the Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors within the Tennessee Department of Health.

The Tennessee Certification Board (TCB) is a separate private IC&RC member board.

Degree floor

LADAC I: a high school diploma or equivalency.

LADAC II: a bachelor's degree in a behavioral-health-related field (or a higher degree outside that field), or a master's or higher degree in a behavioral-health-related field.

Supervised hours

LADAC I: 6,000 hours over a minimum of three years (up to one of those years may be recognized counselor-internship or trainee-program time), 100 of them face-to-face supervision.

LADAC II: two years of full-time experience or 4,000 hours (bachelor's route), or one year of full-time experience or 2,000 hours (master's route) β€” stated by rule as alternatives, not a fixed hours-over-years formula.

Exams

Both levels take the Board's open-book jurisprudence exam (90% to pass); LADAC I also takes the NCAC Level I written exam, LADAC II the NCAC Level II exam, either substitutable with the MAC exam.

Scope and diagnosis

LADAC I may not be self-employed in private practice; LADAC II may.

Neither level may perform psychological testing to measure or diagnose mental illness.

Whether an LADAC may diagnose a substance use disorder: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

Not stated in the sources read β€” the exemption language would be in T.C.A. Β§ 68-24-6xx, which was not retrieved.

IC&RC reciprocity

TCB, not the Board, is Tennessee's IC&RC member board.

TCB says its own IC&RC certification is not required to practice, and currently limits new applications to the matching state licence β€” a current LADAC for CADC, or a current LADAC II with a master's degree for CAADC β€” or an IC&RC-eligible reciprocity transfer from another member board.

Current-licensee applicants must pass the corresponding IC&RC exam; reciprocity applicants are told to contact their existing member board instead.

Renewal & CE

A two-year renewal cycle with 30 contact hours of CE every two calendar years (18 face-to-face, 6 ethics); QCS holders add 10 more hours (6 on supervision ethics); a suicide-prevention training every four years since January 1, 2020.

The Tennessee credential ladder

  1. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor, Level I(LADAC I)Other

    A full state licence starting at a high school diploma or equivalency, but one that may not be self-employed in private practice (Tenn.

    Comp.

    R. & Regs.

    1200-30-01-.02(1)).

  2. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor, Level II(LADAC II)Independent

    The state licence with no private-practice restriction, requiring at least a bachelor's degree, and the level that may apply to become a Qualified Clinical Supervisor (1200-30-01-.02(2)).

  3. Qualified Clinical Supervisor(QCS)Supervisor

    A status defined by rule as meeting either of two routes: an LADAC II licensee for at least five years whose licence is currently active, unencumbered and unconditioned, with two years' experience supervising counselors, 36 hours of supervision received on that supervisory work, and 30 hours of clinical-supervision training (1200-30-01-.10(2)); or a supervisor who meets those same requirements but is not licensed in Tennessee, once the Board approves a request filed with the application (-.10(3)).

Two license levels, split by setting β€” and a private board beside them

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.02(1)-(2), -.03(1), (3)

Tennessee licenses this profession at two levels rather than pairing a registration with a single licence.

Level I (LADAC I) is a full state licence starting at a high school diploma; it may practise in a treatment or recovery-support setting but not as a self-employed private practitioner.

Level II (LADAC II) requires at least a bachelor's degree and may practise privately and apply to become a Qualified Clinical Supervisor.

Rule .03(3) exempts anyone in a labeled training status β€” 'alcohol and drug abuse counseling intern' or a similar designation under a qualified supervisor β€” from needing a licence for that status, so a trainee title is not itself a credential rung.

The Tennessee Certification Board (TCB) is a wholly separate private IC&RC member board; its CADC/CAADC certifications are optional and sit beside the licence, not below or above it.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

β€œOnly persons who are licensed by the Board may represent themselves or practice as Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors or hold themselves out to the public as being licensed by means of using a title on signs, mailboxes, address plates, letterheads, announcements, telephone listings, business cards, or other instruments of professional identification.”

A GED floor for Level I, a bachelor's or master's for Level II β€” and 270 hours for both

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.04(1)(a)3, 5; (b)3; (c)2

Level I needs a high school diploma or equivalency plus 270 total hours of alcohol and drug abuse counseling education and training across the rule's eight domains, six of those hours on professional ethics.

Level II raises the degree floor to a bachelor's degree in a behavioral-health-related field (or a higher degree outside that field), or a master's or higher degree in a behavioral-health-related field β€” but rule .04(1)(c)'s Education subsection requires the same 270 classroom hours of Level II applicants too, not only Level I.

So the two levels share the classroom-hour floor and diverge on the underlying degree and the supervised-hours total.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

β€œThe applicant must have completed two hundred seventy (270) total hours of alcohol and drug abuse counseling education and training within the eight domains, as listed in T.C.A. Β§ 68-24-606. Six (6) hours of the 270 total hours of education shall pertain to alcohol and drug abuse counseling professional ethics.”

6,000 hours over three years for Level I; a two-year/4,000-hour or one-year/2,000-hour alternative for Level II

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.04(1)(a)4, (b)3, (d)1, 2, 3; -.05(1)(a)8

Level I needs 6,000 hours of experience across all eight counseling domains, over a minimum of three years; up to one of those three years may be substituted with time in a recognized counselor internship or counselor trainee program.

Level I hours may be paid or volunteer, but volunteer hours only count when earned in a facility or agency whose director authorized the volunteer program, appointed the person to it in writing, and supervised the work under written guidelines such as a job description.

Level II's hours are stated as alternatives rather than an hours-over-years formula: two years of full-time experience or 4,000 hours with a bachelor's-level degree, or one year of full-time experience or 2,000 hours with a master's-level degree.

These hours are logged under a Qualified Clinical Supervisor before the licensure application is filed, not counted under a separate prior registration step.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

β€œThe Level I applicant must have completed six thousand (6000) hours of experience during which the applicant has performed all of the eight (8) domains, as listed in T.C.A. Β§ 68-24-606, over a time period of a minimum of three (3) years, which may be paid or "volunteer" (unpaid), or a combination thereof, while providing alcohol and drug abuse counseling services under the direct supervision of a Qualified Clinical Supervisor who meets the requirements of the rules of the Board.”

A NAADAC written exam by level, plus a 90%-to-pass jurisprudence test

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.04(1)(a)7, 8; (b)5, 6; -.08

Both levels take the Board's open-book jurisprudence examination, covering the Tennessee statutes and rules governing the profession plus the NAADAC Code of Ethics; correctly answering 90% of its questions is required to pass.

Separately, Level I applicants take the NCAC Level I written exam and Level II applicants take the NCAC Level II exam β€” both developed by NAADAC and administered by its designated testing agency, with the Master Addiction Counselor (MAC) exam accepted as a substitute at either level.

An applicant who fails to complete the required exams within twelve months of approval has the application deemed abandoned and must reapply under whatever requirements are then current.

β€œCorrectly answering ninety percent (90%) of the examination questions shall constitute successful completion of the jurisprudence exam.”

100 face-to-face hours, and who can sign off as a Qualified Clinical Supervisor

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.10(1), (2), (3); -.01(17)

Within Level I's 6,000-hour total, 100 hours must be face-to-face supervision, with no more than 50 of those 100 hours and no fewer than 12 of them counted in any single calendar year the supervised hours span.

A Qualified Clinical Supervisor is defined by rule .01(17) as meeting either of two routes: under .10(2), a Level II licensee for at least five years whose licence must currently be active, unencumbered and unconditioned (and who must stop supervising if it becomes encumbered or conditioned), who has two years of experience supervising counselors, has received 36 contact hours of supervision on their own supervisory work from a qualified supervisor, and has completed 30 hours of training in alcohol and drug abuse clinical supervision, six of those hours on supervision ethics; or under .10(3), a supervisor who meets those same requirements but is not licensed in Tennessee, once the Board approves a request documenting the supervisor's qualifications filed with the licensure application.

β€œOne hundred (100) hours of the six thousand (6000) hour requirement shall be face-to-face supervision.”

Private practice at Level II only, a gambling-disorder carve-out, and no diagnosis of mental illness

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.02(1)-(2), (4)-(6)

The rule splits practice setting by level: Level I may counsel in a treatment or recovery-support program but not as a self-employed private practitioner, while Level II may practise privately and apply to become a Qualified Clinical Supervisor.

Both levels may also evaluate and treat compulsive gambling disorder once the licensee has completed 60 hours of specialized Board-approved education on the disorder and their supervised experience included contact with at least 10 patients affected by it, under a supervisor who had obtained the same 60 classroom hours.

Neither level may perform psychological testing intended to measure or diagnose mental illness, and neither may administer, dispense or prescribe drugs or otherwise practise medicine.

Whether an LADAC may diagnose a substance use disorder itself is not addressed in the rule text read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

β€œNothing in this chapter shall be construed as permitting any person licensed as a Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor to perform psychological testing intended to measure and/or diagnose mental illness.”

Reciprocity: a comparable out-of-state licence, and why TCB's IC&RC path is separate

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.04(2), -.05(1)(b)

The Board may issue a Tennessee licence, at whichever level the applicant seeks, to anyone who holds a current licence in good standing or its equivalent from another state, once it determines that state's standards are comparable to or exceed Tennessee's.

The applicant must be 21, submit character references, and have the out-of-state board send a statement confirming the licence is current and how it was issued; Tennessee's jurisprudence exam is still required, but the written NCAC/MAC exam is not repeated.

TCB, separately, is Tennessee's private IC&RC member board, and it states plainly that its certification is not required to practice β€” an IC&RC CADC/CAADC transferred from another member board does not produce the state LADAC licence, and TCB currently limits new applications to the matching state licence: a current LADAC for CADC, or a current LADAC II plus a master's degree for CAADC, or an IC&RC-eligible reciprocity transfer for either.

Current-licensee applicants must still pass the corresponding IC&RC exam to be certified; TCB directs reciprocity applicants to contact their existing member board instead.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

β€œThe Board may issue a license to any individual who holds a current license in good standing or its equivalent from another state, upon the determination that the standards for licensure in the other state are comparable to or exceed the current requirements for licensure in Tennessee.”

A two-year cycle, 30 hours of CE, and extra hours for supervisors

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-30-01-.09, -.12

Both levels renew on a two-year cycle and must complete 30 contact hours of alcohol and drug abuse continuing education every two calendar years, 18 of those hours face-to-face and at least six on ethics.

A Qualified Clinical Supervisor adds 10 more contact hours specific to clinical supervision every two years, six of them on supervision ethics, on top of the standard 30.

Since January 1, 2020, every LADAC I, LADAC II and QCS must also complete a Board-approved suicide-prevention training at least once every four years, with a two-year grace period for a new licensee who completed a qualifying training within two years before applying.

β€œLevel I Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors and Level II Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors must complete thirty (30) contact hours of alcohol and drug abuse continuing education every two (2) calendar years.”

A citation quirk, and what wasn't read

πŸ“œ Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. ch. 1200-30-01

Some older guides cite this credential's rules as chapter 0440-01; the current chapter is 1200-30-01, current through the January 2021 revision read for this page.

The underlying statute, T.C.A. Β§ 68-24-6xx, was not retrieved for this page, so anything about practice-versus-title protection beyond rule .03's own wording, or an other-licensees exemption, should be confirmed directly with the Board.

No rule revision after January 2021 was checked.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Tennessee statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Tennessee Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (Department of Health) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Tennessee.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Tennessee Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (Department of Health) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Tennessee that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Tennessee?

Tennessee licenses this profession as a Level I or Level II Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC), administered by the Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors at the Department of Health.

Rule 1200-30-01-.03(1) says only Board licensees may represent themselves or practice as Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors, or hold themselves out as licensed; the underlying statute wasn't read for this page, so confirm scope-of-practice specifics with the Board.

A TCB IC&RC certification is a separate, optional add-on, not a substitute.

What's the difference between LADAC I and LADAC II in Tennessee?

Level I starts at a high school diploma or equivalency plus 6,000 supervised hours over at least three years; it may not be self-employed in private practice.

Level II needs a bachelor's degree in a behavioral-health-related field (or higher) or a master's degree, with 4,000 hours (bachelor's) or 2,000 hours (master's), and may practise privately and apply to become a Qualified Clinical Supervisor.

Can a Tennessee LADAC diagnose mental illness?

No. Rule 1200-30-01-.02(5) says nothing in the chapter permits an LADAC to perform psychological testing intended to measure or diagnose mental illness.

Whether an LADAC may diagnose a substance use disorder itself isn't addressed in the rule text read for this page β€” ask the Board directly before relying on this for a scope-of-practice decision.

Do you need TCB's IC&RC certification to practice as an LADAC in Tennessee?

No. TCB, the state's private IC&RC member board, states that its own certification is not required to practice β€” the state licence from the Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors is what lets you practise.

TCB currently limits new applications to the matching state licence β€” a current LADAC for CADC, or a current LADAC II plus a master's degree for CAADC β€” or an IC&RC-eligible reciprocity transfer from another member board.

Current-licensee applicants must pass the corresponding IC&RC exam; reciprocity applicants are directed to contact their existing board instead.

Can you transfer an out-of-state SUD counselor license to Tennessee?

Yes, by reciprocity: the Board may license someone who holds a current licence or its equivalent from another state, at the corresponding level, once it determines that state's standards are comparable to or exceed Tennessee's.

You'll need character references and an official statement from your current board confirming your licence is active and current, plus a pass on Tennessee's jurisprudence exam; the written NCAC/MAC exam isn't repeated.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Tennessee
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Tennessee & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Tennessee Board of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (Department of Health).