🧭 Peer certification

Peer Support Specialist Certification in Vermont: Training, Hours and Medicaid Rules

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Vermont certifies two peer roles through the Office of Professional Regulation, a state agency, under 26 V.S.A. chapter 60: the Certified Peer Support Provider for mental health work and the Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS) for substance use.

Both began July 1, 2025, and certification protects the title only; practice without certification stays lawful.

The PRSS rests on the IC&RC Certified Recovery Coach credential: an approved academy, 500+ hours within the last seven years and an exam.

VDH schedules recovery coaching as a Medicaid benefit from July 1, 2027 β€” no earlier than that date.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Vermont, that is the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency.

At a glance

Credential titles

Two OPR certifications began July 1, 2025: the Certified Peer Support Provider (mental health) and the Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS, substance use).

The PRSS's underlying credential is the IC&RC Certified Recovery Coach (CRC).

Both are certifications, not a licence.

Certifier

The Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency, issues both certifications.

The underlying credential comes from a credentialing body approved by the Department of Mental Health (peer support) or the Department of Health (PRSS) β€” for the PRSS, Prevention Works!VT through the Vermont Recovery Coach Certification Board.

Training

The OPR rules require training approved by the Department of Mental Health or the Department of Health, plus a signed Code of Ethics.

The CRC requires the Vermont Recovery Coach Academy or another approved program; hours are not stated on the page.

Training hours for the peer support provider certification are not stated in the sources read.

Supervised or work hours

CRC: 500+ hours as a volunteer or paid recovery coach within the last seven years, 25 of them directly supervised by a Recovery Coach Supervisor, plus already working or volunteering at an organization or facility that provides recovery resources to people in Vermont.

No work-hour figure for the peer support provider certification appears in the sources read.

Exam

The CRC requires a passing grade on the exam (Prevention Works!VT).

No exam for the peer support provider certification is stated in the sources read.

Lived experience

Written into the statute's definitions: peer support is provided in a mutual relationship between individuals with a lived experience of trauma, mental health, or substance use challenges (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3191(7)); recovery support services are provided by someone with lived experience of recovery from a substance use disorder or a close relationship with someone in recovery (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3191(10)).

No recovery-time figure appears on the CRC page.

Background check

26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195 requires that an applicant has passed registry checks and criminal history checks that may be required in rule; OPR Rule 2-4 lets the Office inquire into criminal background histories, and Rules 5-1(d) and 6-1(d) require disclosure.

No offense list or look-back period is named in the sources read.

Medicaid

Not yet a benefit: VDH schedules Recovery Coaching for Wave 1 of the RSS Medicaid Benefit no earlier than July 1, 2027, provided by Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialists employed by VDH-certified Recovery Services Organizations.

The federal vehicle is not stated; mental-health peer Medicaid coverage was not located.

Renewal & CE

Both OPR certifications renew every two years with a current credential from the credentialing body (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3196; OPR Rules 5-3, 6-3).

The CRC renews with 20 CEUs β€” six in ethics, six in motivational interviewing, eight from any approved program β€” plus 20 hours of mentorship with a Recovery Coach Supervisor, and requires the coach to work or volunteer for a recovery-related resource in Vermont.

The Vermont credential ladder

  1. Underlying credential from an approved credentialing bodyOther

    Not a state-issued rung, but the statutory prerequisite: 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195(a)(2) requires a credential from the credentialing body β€” a body approved by the Department of Mental Health for peer support providers, or by the Department of Health for peer recovery support specialists.

    The DMH-side body's requirements were not read.

  2. Certified Peer Support ProviderIndependent

    The OPR's mental health certification, issued since July 1, 2025 on top of the DMH-side credential.

    Title protection only: practicing peer support without it remains lawful under 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3192(a).

  3. Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist(PRSS)Independent

    The OPR's substance use certification, layered on the Certified Recovery Coach β€” which VDH says is Vermont's name for the IC&RC's Peer Recovery certification β€” issued through Prevention Works!VT and the Vermont Recovery Coach Certification Board.

Two OPR certifications since July 2025, and practice without one stays lawful

πŸ“œ 26 V.S.A. Β§Β§ 3191, 3192, 3195(a); OPR Administrative Rules (eff. July 1, 2025)

Vermont issues two peer certifications, both created by 26 V.S.A. chapter 60 and effective July 1, 2025: the Certified Peer Support Provider for mental health peer support and the Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist for recovery support services.

The statute does not require certification to practice; it is title protection, so you can work as a peer without certifying, but the certified title, letters, words and insignia are reserved to people who hold it.

Certification still matters practically: VDH's scheduled Medicaid benefit requires a PRSS, and the certification is what makes the state's own gatekeeping apply to you.

Applicants for either certification must be at least 18 (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195(a)(1)).

For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

β€œNothing in this subchapter shall be construed to prohibit the practice of peer support by a noncertified provider.”

Lived experience is written into the statute's definitions

πŸ“œ 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3191(7), (10)

The statute writes lived experience into both definitions, and the two differ.

For the mental health side, peer support is provided in a mutual relationship between individuals with a lived experience of trauma, mental health, or substance use challenges (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3191(7)).

For the PRSS, recovery support services come from an individual with lived experience of either recovery from a substance use disorder or having a close relationship with an individual in recovery β€” the statute's own words admit a close-relationship route on the substance use side, and no equivalent clause appears in the peer support definition.

The Prevention Works!VT CRC page states no recovery-time figure, so the sources read set no minimum recovery duration for either credential.

β€œprovided in a mutual relationship by an individual with lived experience of either recovery from a substance use disorder or having a close relationship with an individual in recovery from a substance use disorder”

Training: approved by a state department, delivered through a credentialing body

πŸ“œ OPR Administrative Rules 5-2, 6-2 (eff. July 1, 2025); Prevention Works!VT, Certified Recovery Coach requirements page

The OPR does not teach the training; its rules require the credentialing body to ensure, before issuing the underlying credential, that the applicant has signed the applicable Code of Ethics and satisfactorily completed the training approved by the Department of Mental Health (peer support providers) or the Department of Health (PRSS).

For the PRSS that training is the Vermont Recovery Coach Academy or another program β€” the Prevention Works!VT page says only that other programs may be approved, naming no approver; it states no hour count, and the CRC requirements add a high school diploma or GED.

What the DMH-side credentialing body requires for the peer support provider certification was not read, and that certification's training hours are not stated in the sources read, so this page carries no training-hour figure for either side.

The OPR's own eligibility rules (Rules 5-1, 6-1) add the credentialing-body credential, a fee and the criminal-history disclosure β€” no test of their own.

For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.

β€œHave satisfactorily completed the training approved by the Department of Mental Health”

The CRC's 500 hours: volunteer or paid, within the last seven years

πŸ“œ Prevention Works!VT, Certified Recovery Coach requirements page

The hour gate sits on the CRC side.

Prevention Works!VT requires 500+ hours as a volunteer or paid recovery coach within the last seven years, of which 25 must have been directly supervised by a Recovery Coach Supervisor.

The page's first requirement comes before any of it: applicants must already be employed by or volunteering at an organization or facility that provides recovery resources to people in Vermont, so line up the placement before you start counting.

These are the CRC's figures β€” the credential the state requires for PRSS certification β€” and they come from Prevention Works!VT's page, not from the OPR's rules.

The sources read state no work-hour figure for the peer support provider certification.

β€œHave worked 500+ hours as a volunteer or paid recovery coach within the last seven years 25 of those 500 hours must have been directly supervised by a Recovery Coach Supervisor”

One exam on the recovery side; none stated for the mental-health side

πŸ“œ Prevention Works!VT, Certified Recovery Coach requirements page; OPR Administrative Rules 5-1, 6-1

The CRC ends in an exam: Prevention Works!VT lists a passing grade on the exam as the fifth requirement, without naming the exam's body, length or format.

Because VDH names the CRC as the PRSS's credentialing requirement, that exam is a required step on the way to OPR certification on the substance use side.

On the mental health side, the sources read name no exam for the peer support provider certification, and the OPR's own eligibility rules (Rules 5-1, 6-1) list no test β€” the state certification rides on the credentialing body's credential.

β€œReceive a passing grade on the exam”

Disclosure and registry checks, with provisional certification while pending

πŸ“œ 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195(a)(3); OPR Administrative Rules 2-4, 5-1(d), 6-1(d), 4-3

The statute makes background checks an eligibility item: an applicant must show they have passed registry checks and criminal history checks that may be required in rule (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195(a)(3)).

The rules answer with inquiry and disclosure: the Office may inquire into criminal background histories at initial application and renewal, and the eligibility rules (5-1(d), 6-1(d)) require applicants to have disclosed criminal history in response to Office inquiries.

The sources read name no disqualifying offense list and no look-back period, so this page states none.

Rule 4-3 adds one relief valve: provisional certification for an applicant who meets the other requirements while verification from another jurisdiction or a required criminal background check is still pending.

For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?

β€œThe Office may inquire into the criminal background histories of applicants for initial licensure and for license renewal of any Office-issued credential, including a license, certification, registration, or specialty designation.”

Recovery coaching: VDH schedules Medicaid billing from July 1, 2027

πŸ“œ VDH, Recovery Support Services Questions and Answers page (Q&A body dated May 19, 2026)

Vermont's peer Medicaid benefit is scheduled, not current.

VDH's RSS Q&A says Recovery Coaching will be reimbursable for Wave 1 of the RSS Medicaid Benefit starting July 1, 2027, and that any services provided before this date will not be Medicaid reimbursable; the same Q&A hedges that Recovery Support Services will be eligible under Medicaid no earlier than July 1, 2027, with funding discussions still forthcoming.

The Q&A ties the benefit to a specific workforce shape: recovery support services need to be provided by a Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist employed by a Vermont Department of Health Certified Recovery Services Organization, so the employer matters as much as the credential.

The Q&A names no federal funding vehicle, and the sources read do not locate Medicaid coverage for mental-health peer support.

VDH also says it will transition a portion of each Recovery Center's grant funding to Medicaid program funding beginning July 1, 2027, and expects to keep providing Base grant funding to RSOs for people who are not Medicaid-eligible or are uninsured.

For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?

β€œRecovery Coaching will be reimbursable for Wave 1 of the RSS Medicaid Benefit starting July 1, 2027. Any services provided before this date will not be Medicaid reimbursable.”

Moving to Vermont: the IC&RC credential is already the state's requirement

πŸ“œ VDH, Recovery Support Services Questions and Answers; 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195; OPR Administrative Rules 4-3

Vermont's substance use credential is the IC&RC credential under a local name: VDH states that in Vermont the IC&RC's Peer Recovery Certification is known as the Certified Recovery Coach, and that the CRC through Prevention Works!VT is the credentialing requirement for PRSS certification.

If you already hold an IC&RC peer credential from another state, that is the relationship to ask Prevention Works!VT about before you redo any hours β€” the sources read do not describe PWVT's transfer process, so confirm it directly.

The OPR layer adds no mover route of its own: eligibility still turns on a credential from the DMH- or VDH-approved credentialing body (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3195), and Rule 4-3 only lets the Office issue provisional certification to certain otherwise-eligible applicants while verification of certification from another jurisdiction or a required criminal background check is still pending.

No reciprocity statement for the mental-health route appears in the sources read.

β€œIn Vermont, the IC&RC's Peer Recovery Certification is known as Certified Recovery Coach.”

Every two years at the OPR, with the credentialing body's current credential

πŸ“œ 26 V.S.A. Β§ 3196; OPR Administrative Rules 5-3, 6-3, 4-1; Prevention Works!VT recertification

Both OPR certifications renew every two years with an application, a fee and any continuing education the rules require (26 V.S.A. Β§ 3196), and the rules add the load-bearing condition: a certified provider or specialist must provide a current credential from the credentialing body at renewal, so a lapsed CRC leaves the PRSS unable to renew.

The CRC's own recertification, every two years, requires the coach to work or volunteer for a recovery-related resource in Vermont, and takes 20 CEUs β€” six in ethics, six in motivational interviewing and eight from any approved training program β€” plus 20 hours of mentorship with a Recovery Coach Supervisor who signs the renewal application.

OPR renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date, and the Office's website search tool may be considered a primary source verification of certification status (Rule 4-1).

β€œsix must be in ethics, six must be in motivational interviewing, and eight can be from any approved training program”

Changes 2023–2026

πŸ“œ 26 V.S.A. ch. 60 (Added 2023, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.)); OPR application and renewal instructions (February 2026)

The framework is entirely new: 26 V.S.A. chapter 60 was added by 2023, No. 170 (Adj.

Sess.), effective July 1, 2025, and the OPR's administrative rules took effect the same day.

The Office's application and renewal instructions are dated February 2026.

On the funding side, VDH's RSS Q&A β€” whose body carries a May 19, 2026 date while its page footer reads September 9, 2026 β€” schedules the Medicaid benefit for no earlier than July 1, 2027.

Everything on this page is read from those current documents.

β€œAdded 2023, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.), Β§ 4, eff. July 1, 2025”

Two departments, one approval system, and a fee the state covers in places

πŸ“œ OPR Administrative Rules 7-1; VDH, Recovery Support Services Questions and Answers; DMH Peer Support page

The credentialing layer runs through the departments, not the OPR: no entity may conduct a peer credentialing program unless the Department of Mental Health has approved it for peer support provider credentialing or the Department of Health has approved it for peer recovery support specialist credentialing (Rule 7-1).

The DMH page points to Pathways Vermont for peer support training, and Prevention Works!VT, through the Vermont Recovery Coach Certification Board, is the VDH-side body for the CRC.

Scope has a statutory boundary: both definitions exclude the provision of psychotherapy as defined in 26 V.S.A. Β§ 4082.

And on the substance use side, the state will cover the OPR PRSS certification fee for people employed by or volunteering at one of Vermont's 12 Recovery Centers through established grants.

β€œ"Peer support" does not include the provision of psychotherapy as defined in section 4082 of this title.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the Vermont statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency publishes.

Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Vermont.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.

Confirm every requirement with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β€” and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Vermont that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who certifies peer support specialists in Vermont?

The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency, issues both certifications: the Certified Peer Support Provider for mental health work and the Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS) for substance use.

Neither is a licence; certification protects the title, and the statute says practice by a noncertified provider stays lawful.

The underlying credential comes from a credentialing body approved by the Department of Mental Health or the Department of Health.

Start at the OPR's peer support page on sos.vermont.gov.

How many hours do you need for the Vermont PRSS?

The PRSS's underlying Certified Recovery Coach credential requires 500+ hours as a volunteer or paid recovery coach within the last seven years, 25 of them directly supervised by a Recovery Coach Supervisor, plus the Vermont Recovery Coach Academy or an approved alternative, a high school diploma or GED, and a passing grade on the exam.

Applicants must already work or volunteer at an organization or facility that provides recovery resources to people in Vermont.

Training hours are not stated on the Prevention Works!VT page.

Can you become a peer support specialist in Vermont with a criminal record?

The sources read name no disqualifying offense list or look-back period.

The statute requires that an applicant has passed registry checks and criminal history checks that may be required in rule, and the OPR rules require disclosure of criminal history in response to Office inquiries at application and renewal.

Rule 4-3 allows provisional certification while a required check is pending.

Ask the OPR how a specific record affects an application.

Does Vermont Medicaid pay for peer support?

Not yet.

The Vermont Department of Health schedules Recovery Coaching as a Medicaid benefit no earlier than July 1, 2027, under Wave 1 of the RSS Medicaid Benefit; it says services provided before that date will not be reimbursable and funding discussions are forthcoming.

The benefit runs through a Certified Peer Recovery Support Specialist employed by a VDH-certified Recovery Services Organization.

Medicaid coverage for mental-health peer support was not located in the sources read.

Check the VDH RSS Q&A for updates.

Can I use an out-of-state peer certification in Vermont?

On the substance use side, Vermont's requirement is itself the IC&RC credential: VDH says the IC&RC's Peer Recovery Certification is known in Vermont as the Certified Recovery Coach, the credential Prevention Works!VT issues.

If you hold an IC&RC peer credential from another state, ask Prevention Works!VT how it transfers before redoing hours; the sources read do not describe the transfer process.

The OPR itself adds no mover route: you still need the Vermont-approved credentialing body's credential, and Rule 4-3 only allows provisional certification while an out-of-jurisdiction verification or a required background check is pending.

Find Peer Support Specialist Jobs in Vermont
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Vermont & Peer Support Specialist Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β€” confirm current rules with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), a state agency.