🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Vermont: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Vermont's Office of Professional Regulation runs three tiers: the Apprentice Addiction Professional and Alcohol and Drug Counselor certifications, both locked to work at an ADAP Certified Provider, and the Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADC) licence, the only credential letting you counsel clients elsewhere.

ADC needs a bachelor's degree, 270 hours of coursework and 4,000 supervised hours; LADC needs a human-services master's plus 2,000 post-degree supervised hours excluding your degree's own internship.

OPR isn't an IC&RC member board, but an IC&RC certification elsewhere still counts toward LADC eligibility.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Vermont, that is the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR).

At a glance

Credential tiers

Apprentice Addiction Professional (AAP, certification) and Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC, certification), both setting-locked to ADAP Certified Providers, below the Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADC) licence.

Type and issuing body

All three credentials are administered by the Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) under 26 V.S.A. chapter 62.

AAP and ADC are certifications; only the LADC is a state licence.

Degree floor

AAP: graduated from or matriculated in at least an associate's degree program.

ADC: a baccalaureate degree.

LADC: a master's or doctorate in a human-services field, from a program requiring at least 600 hours of supervised internship and 60 graduate credit hours (48–59 may qualify with supplemental coursework).

Supervised hours

ADC certification: 4,000 hours of supervised work experience.

LADC licensure: 2,000 hours of post-degree supervised clinical practice that must occur after graduation and may not include graduate practica or internships.

Exams

AAP: an exam specified by the Director.

ADC: the IC&RC Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC) Examination or an equivalent.

LADC: the IC&RC Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC) Examination or an equivalent.

Scope and diagnosis

A licensee or certificant may practice psychotherapy within the scope of their credential (§ 3234), but AAP and ADC certifications do not extend beyond the ADAP Certified Provider setting.

Whether an LADC may diagnose: Not stated in the sources read.

Other licensees

Someone licensed, certified or registered under another Vermont law (e.g., LCSW, LMFT, LPC) is exempt from this chapter while acting within the scope of that profession, provided they don't hold themselves out as licensed under this chapter (§ 3233(2)).

IC&RC reciprocity

OPR is not listed as an IC&RC member board for this credential, so there is no board-to-board reciprocity into Vermont.

An IC&RC certification from another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction still counts toward LADC eligibility (§ 3236(a)(2)(B)).

Renewal & CE

Licenses and certifications renew every two years with at least 40 hours of continuing education, including at least one CE unit in systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice, or in related topic areas, since a 2023 amendment (§ 3238(a)).

The Vermont credential ladder

  1. Apprentice Addiction Professional(AAP)Pre-licensure

    A certification, not a licence: qualifies the holder to serve as a supervised apprentice at an ADAP Certified Provider only, and does not entitle the bearer to act as a provider in any other setting (rule 4-1).

  2. Alcohol and Drug Counselor(ADC)Pre-licensure

    A certification for someone with a bachelor's degree, 270 hours of substance use disorder education and 4,000 supervised hours, also limited to providing alcohol and drug counseling at an ADAP Certified Provider only (rule 5-1).

  3. Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor(LADC)Independent

    Vermont's only SUD counselor licence, and the sole tier without a setting restriction: it entitles the bearer to provide alcohol and drug counseling to clients (rule 6-1; 26 V.S.A. § 3236).

Two certifications locked to one setting, and a licence that isn't

📜 26 V.S.A. §§ 3232(a)(1), 3233(4), 3236, 3236a; rules 4-1, 5-1, 6-1

Vermont's practice-protection rule bans practicing alcohol and drug abuse counseling without a valid license, except as § 3233 provides.

Section 3233(4) exempts a certificant only when "working in a preferred provider program under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug abuse counselor" — that is, an AAP or ADC certificant is covered only while working at an ADAP Certified (preferred) Provider under an LADC's supervision, not merely by being employed at such a site.

The rules restate this directly: AAP certification qualifies the holder to serve as an apprentice "at an ADAP Certified Provider only," and ADC certification does not entitle the bearer to provide counseling "in any other setting."

Only the LADC, issued under § 3236 as a licence rather than a certification, carries no such setting limit.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

“practice or attempt to practice alcohol and drug abuse counseling without a valid license issued in accordance with this chapter, except as otherwise provided in section 3233”

Associate's for AAP, bachelor's for ADC, a human-services master's for LADC

📜 26 V.S.A. § 3236(a)(1); OPR rules 4-2(b)–(d), 5-2(b)–(c), 6-2(a)

AAP certification starts at graduation from or matriculation in a course of study leading to at least an associate's degree, plus 40 hours of substance use disorder education within the preceding five years (six of which must cover professional ethics, HIPAA and 42 CFR Part 2), and also requires being employed or approved for hire as an AAP at an ADAP Certified Provider (rule 4-2(d)).

ADC certification needs a baccalaureate degree and 270 hours of substance use disorder education, split between four required topics totaling 54 hours and 216 hours drawn from a broader elective list.

LADC licensure needs a master's or doctorate in a human-services field — counseling, social work, psychology, an allied mental health field, or another Vermont-regulated health care profession — with coursework covering theories of human development, diagnostic and counseling techniques, professional ethics and a supervised clinical practicum, from a program that itself required at least 600 hours of supervised internship and at least 60 graduate credit hours, though 48–59 credit-hour degrees may qualify if supplemented with coursework the Director prescribes.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“have received a master's degree or doctorate in a human services field from an accredited educational institution, including a degree in counseling, social work, psychology, or an allied mental health field”

4,000 hours for the ADC, 2,000 post-degree hours for the LADC

📜 OPR rules 2-4, 5-2(d), 5-4(a)–(b); 26 V.S.A. § 3236(a)(4), (b); rule 6-2(b)–(c)

ADC certification requires 4,000 hours of supervised work experience, at least half of it direct clinical counseling rather than indirect work, under a supervisor who is an LADC with a year of full-time experience, an independent clinical social worker, psychologist, marriage and family therapist or clinical mental health counselor licensed in Vermont or an acceptable foreign jurisdiction with addiction training and a year of addiction-counseling experience, or an addiction-medicine-certified physician.

LADC licensure requires a separate 2,000 hours of post-degree supervised clinical practice under those same Part 5 standards (rule 6-2(c)), which must occur after graduation and exclude graduate practica or internships.

Anyone earning those hours outside the preferred-provider network must register on OPR's roster of nonlicensed and noncertified psychotherapists (§ 3236(b)); AAP and ADC certificants at an ADAP Certified Provider are deemed registered automatically (rule 2-4).

LADC eligibility also requires a qualifying degree and the exam; rule 6-2(b) is a separate requirement met by an IC&RC certification, the ADC certification, or every ADC requirement except its hours, and § 3236(a)(2)(B) additionally accepts a Director-approved U.S. or Canadian national certification organization.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“2,000 hours of post-degree supervised clinical practice under the standards set out for such practice in Part 5, which practice must occur after graduation and may not include graduate practica or internships”

A Director-set exam for AAP, IC&RC exams for ADC and LADC

📜 OPR rules 4-2(e), 5-2(f), 6-2(d)

AAP certification requires passing the AAP examination as the Director specifies; the exam's own name is not stated in the sources read.

ADC certification requires the IC&RC Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC) Examination or another exam of "greater or substantially equivalent relevance and rigor" the Director accepts.

LADC licensure requires the IC&RC Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC) Examination, or an equivalent on the same standard.

“pass the IC&RC Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC) Examination or another examination of greater or substantially equivalent relevance and rigor acceptable to the Director”

One documented hour of face-to-face supervision per 40 hours worked

📜 OPR rules 5-4(c)–(d), 6-2(c)

Rule 6-2(c) makes this same Part 5 supervision standard govern the LADC's 2,000 post-degree hours, not just the ADC's 4,000: one hour of face-to-face supervision must be documented for every 40 hours of supervised practice, so that 50 aggregate supervision hours occur within each 2,000 practice hours — supervision may occur by videoconference, but must otherwise be conducted in person in a formal setting.

Group supervision of up to six unlicensed individuals is allowed, but at least half of all supervision hours must be individual.

The supervisor must document at least 10 hours of supervision in each of four categories (screening and engagement; treatment planning and referral; counseling; professional and ethical responsibilities), and no more than 40 hours of supervision may be earned in any single week.

Rule 5-4(b) also requires at least half of the required hours to be earned within five years of satisfying the other license or certification requirements.

“One hour of face-to-face supervision must be documented for each 40 hours of supervised practice, such that 50 aggregate hours of supervision occur within each 2,000 total hours.”

Psychotherapy within the credential, but two tiers stay inside one building

📜 26 V.S.A. § 3234; OPR rules 4-1, 5-1

Section 3234 lets a person practice psychotherapy "when acting within the scope of a license or certification granted under this chapter," so scope tracks whichever credential you hold rather than a separate psychotherapy authorization.

The catch is that two of the three credentials carry a setting limit: AAP certification confines the holder to supervised apprentice work at an ADAP Certified Provider, and ADC certification's own rule states plainly that it "does not entitle the bearer to provide alcohol and drug counseling in any other setting."

Only the LADC can counsel clients outside an ADAP-certified site.

Whether an LADC may make a substance use disorder diagnosis is not addressed in the statute or rules read.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“The certification does not entitle the bearer to provide alcohol and drug counseling in any other setting.”

No IC&RC member board here, but an IC&RC certification still counts toward the LADC

📜 26 V.S.A. §§ 3236(a)(2)(B), 3236b; OPR rule 6-3(a)–(c)

Vermont does not appear on the IC&RC member-board directory for counselor-level credentials, so there is no board-to-board IC&RC reciprocity into the state.

Even so, § 3236(a)(2)(B) lets an applicant meet part of LADC eligibility by holding an IC&RC certification from another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction.

Rule 6-3 offers three narrower paths: (a) an out-of-state LADC whose license is substantially equivalent may apply for full licensure on that basis; (b) an out-of-state LADC whose license is only "acceptably similar," paired with five years of full-time addiction-counseling practice there, is deemed to have satisfied only rule 6-2(c)'s 2,000-hour requirement, not the whole license; and (c) an independent clinical social worker, psychologist, marriage and family therapist or clinical mental health counselor licensed in Vermont or an acceptable foreign jurisdiction who meets rule 5-4(a)(2)'s supervisor criteria — SUD training under rule 5-3 plus a year of full-time addiction-counseling experience or its part-time equivalent, not the ADC's full education and hours — may become an LADC by passing the AADC exam.

General endorsement also runs through § 3236b's substantially-equivalent standard, at the Director's discretion.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“The Director may issue a license or certification to an individual under this chapter if the individual holds a license or certification from a U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction that the Director finds has requirements for licensure or certification that are substantially equivalent to those required under this chapter.”

Two-year renewal, 40 hours of CE, and a 2023 anti-oppression requirement

📜 26 V.S.A. § 3238(a); OPR rules 7-1, 7-5

Licenses and certifications run on fixed two-year periods.

Renewal requires at least 40 hours of continuing education, of which 6 hours must cover professional and ethical responsibilities (including the NAADAC Code of Ethics, HIPAA and 42 CFR Part 2) and 12 hours must address substance use disorder as the primary or a co-occurring condition.

A 2021 amendment, effective July 1, 2023, added a requirement that the 40 hours include at least one continuing education unit in systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice, or in related topic areas.

If a licensee holds more than one Vermont mental health license, CE completed for one profession counts toward the others as well.

“Continuing education requirements shall include requiring one or more continuing education units in the area of systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice, or in related topic areas, consistent with the report recommendations from the Health Equity Advisory Commission”

The 2023 CE amendment, and rules still dated 2017

📜 2021 Act No. 117 (Adj. Sess.) § 3, eff. 2023-07-01; OPR rules eff. 2017-10-01

The one statutory change inside the 2023–2026 window is the § 3238 amendment adding the systematic-oppression/anti-oppressive-practice CE requirement and letting CE cross-credit across a licensee's other Vermont mental health licenses, effective July 1, 2023.

The administrative rules governing AAP, ADC and LADC eligibility, hours and renewal are still the ones effective October 1, 2017; no later rule was found on OPR's resources page as of the retrieval date.

Whether OPR has since adopted replacement rules, and the current name of the AAP examination, are not stated in the sources read.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Vermont statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Vermont.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Vermont that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you need a license to be a substance abuse counselor in Vermont?

To practice alcohol and drug abuse counseling generally, yes: § 3232(a)(1) bars practicing without a valid license unless an exemption applies.

The Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADC) is the only credential without a setting restriction.

The Apprentice Addiction Professional and Alcohol and Drug Counselor are certifications, not licenses, and both are limited to work at an ADAP Certified Provider.

Someone already licensed under another Vermont law, like an LCSW or LMFT, is exempt while practicing within that profession's scope, provided they don't hold themselves out to the public as licensed under this chapter (§ 3233(2)).

Can you become an alcohol and drug counselor in Vermont without a master's degree?

You can hold the AAP certification (an associate's degree track) or the ADC certification (a bachelor's degree), but both restrict you to working at an ADAP Certified Provider.

The LADC — the only credential that lets you counsel clients outside that setting — requires a master's or doctorate in a human-services field, from a program with at least 600 hours of supervised internship and 60 graduate credit hours (48–59 may qualify with supplemental coursework OPR prescribes).

Do a master's program's internship hours count toward the LADC's 2,000 hours?

No. Rule 6-2(c) requires 2,000 hours of post-degree supervised clinical practice that "must occur after graduation and may not include graduate practica or internships."

The 600 hours of supervised internship your degree program required are a separate, earlier requirement and don't carry over into the LADC's post-degree hour count.

Confirm your specific hours with OPR before you count them.

Does an IC&RC certification from another state transfer into Vermont?

Vermont's OPR isn't listed as an IC&RC member board for this credential, so there's no board-to-board IC&RC reciprocity into the state.

Even so, § 3236(a)(2)(B) lets you meet part of LADC eligibility with an IC&RC certification from another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction, or a Director-approved national certification organization, and an out-of-state LADC may apply for full licensure under rule 6-3(a) if their license is substantially equivalent.

If it's only "acceptably similar," five years of full-time practice there satisfies just rule 6-2(c)'s 2,000-hour requirement, not the whole license.

Confirm the specific route with OPR.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Vermont
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Vermont & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR).