Washington certifies peer support specialists; it does not license them.
Since July 1, 2025, the Department of Health has issued the Certified Peer Support Specialist credential and its trainee rung, replacing HCA's certified peer counselor.
The main path runs through the approximately 80-hour HCA course, an oral and a written exam, and at least 1,000 supervised hours as a trainee; a registered apprenticeship is an alternative.
Certification is voluntary except for peer crisis responder work, the title is protected, and peer support is an Apple Health (Medicaid) service.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Support Specialist and Certified Peer Support Specialist Trainee, both issued by the Department of Health since July 1, 2025.
They replace the Health Care Authority's certified peer counselor credential.
The Washington State Department of Health, a state agency.
The Health Care Authority develops the course and administers the exams; DOH's credential page was still marked 'More information is coming soon' as of September 2026.
The Health Care Authority course of instruction, approximately 80 hours in duration by the statute's own wording (RCW 71.24.920(1)(a)); an expedited course covers only the new material for people trained under the pre-2025 peer counselor curriculum.
At least 1,000 supervised hours as a certified peer support specialist trainee, in the volunteer or paid practice of peer support services (RCW 18.420.050(1)(e)).
An oral exam and a written exam, both upon completion of the education course.
RCW 18.420.050(1)(c) names the Health Care Authority for the oral exam; RCW 71.24.920(1)(a) gives it to the course trainer.
The written exam is administered by HCA (RCW 18.420.050(1)(d), 18.420.070).
An attestation that you self-identify as a person with one or more years of recovery from a mental health condition, substance use disorder, or both, or as the parent or legal guardian of a youth who is receiving or has received behavioral health services (RCW 18.420.050(1)(a)).
Not stated in the sources read.
Covered: the Health Care Authority states that peer support is an Apple Health (Medicaid) service and that peer counseling is an approved Medicaid service in Washington.
The federal vehicle was not stated in the sources read.
Every two years, with 30 hours of department-approved continuing education; every six years, at least three hours of suicide prevention training and at least six hours of coursework in professional ethics and law (RCW 18.420.050(4)).
The working certificate under RCW 18.420.060: issued to applicants who have met the attestation, course and exam requirements of RCW 18.420.050(1)(a)-(d) and are working toward the supervised hours (subsection (1)(a)), or to applicants enrolled in an apprenticeship program registered and approved under ch. 49.04 RCW (subsection (1)(b)).
The definition in 18.420.010(3) instead describes a trainee as still working toward the written exam, and DOH's rules were not read.
It is valid for one year and may only be renewed four times, and a trainee practices only under an approved supervisor.
The full credential under RCW 18.420.050, valid for two years.
Certification is voluntary except as RCW 71.24.920 provides for peer crisis responders, and the title is protected: a person may not use the title certified peer support specialist without holding it.
A defined status under RCW 18.420.010(1), not a separate certificate: until July 1, 2028 a behavioral health provider with at least two years of experience in a behavioral health practice that employs peers as part of treatment teams, or a certified peer support specialist with at least 1,500 hours including 500 of joint supervision plus HCA training.
Washington's credential is the Certified Peer Support Specialist, issued by the Department of Health since July 1, 2025, with a Certified Peer Support Specialist Trainee certificate below it.
They replace the certified peer counselor credential the Health Care Authority used to certify.
Becoming certified is voluntary except as RCW 71.24.920 provides: you can practice peer support services without the credential, and the statute forbids using the title certified peer support specialist without holding it, but an entity that uses certified peer support specialists as peer crisis responders may only use those who completed HCA's 40-hour crisis response training course.
The statute defines the practice as interventions delivered by a person in recovery, or a youth's parent or legal guardian, to a person with a similar lived experience.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βthe decision of a person practicing peer support services to become certified under this chapter is voluntary. A person may not use the title certified peer support specialist unless the person holds a credential under this chapter.β
Certification starts with an attestation, not a diagnosis or a treatment history: you self-identify under a route you choose.
The recovery route is one or more years of recovery from a mental health condition, a substance use disorder, or both.
The family route has no recovery-duration clock: it is for the parent or legal guardian of a youth who is receiving or has received behavioral health services.
The statute's definition of the practice of peer support services mirrors the same two identities, so the attestation is the doorway to the credential rather than a formality attached to it.
βSubmission of an attestation to the department that the applicant self-identifies as: (i) A person with one or more years of recovery from a mental health condition, substance use disorder, or both; or (ii) The parent or legal guardian of a youth who is receiving or has received behavioral health servicesβ
The course of instruction is developed and offered by the Health Care Authority, and the statute sets its length as approximately 80 hours.
It builds on HCA's peer counselor curriculum as it existed on July 23, 2023, adds instruction in recovery coaching and suicide prevention, and must be taught by certified peer support specialists.
HCA must offer it in multiple configurations, including an accelerated consecutive-day format and an extended format for students with other commitments.
This course sits inside the chapter's default route: RCW 18.420.050(1) opens 'except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section', and subsection (3) issues the full certificate on completing an apprenticeship program registered and approved under chapter 49.04 RCW β a route the statute does not tie to subsection (1)'s course, exam and hours list; what the apprenticeship itself requires was not in the sources read.
HCA also runs an expedited course covering only the material beyond the old peer counselor training.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βThe course must be approximately 80 hours in duration and based upon the curriculum offered by the authority in its peer counselor training as of July 23, 2023, as well as additional instruction in the principles of recovery coaching and suicide prevention.β
The experience requirement is 1,000 supervised hours as a certified peer support specialist trainee, and the statute counts both volunteer and paid practice toward it.
The trainee certificate carrying those hours is valid for one year and may only be renewed four times, so count your hours against that clock before you take a trainee job.
A trainee may practice only under an approved supervisor, and the chapter is explicit that supervision can come through the employer, through a third-party approved supervisor arranged outside it, through distance supervision, or a combination of these.
βSuccessful completion of an experience requirement of at least 1,000 supervised hours as a certified peer support specialist trainee engaged in the volunteer or paid practice of peer support services, in accordance with the standards in RCW 18.420.060β
RCW 18.420.050(1)(c)-(d) requires an oral examination and a written examination upon completion of the education course and names the Health Care Authority as the administrator of both.
The course statute puts the oral exam in different hands: RCW 71.24.920(1)(a) requires the student, upon completing the course, to pass an oral examination administered by the course trainer.
For the written exam, RCW 18.420.070 puts its dates, places and grading with HCA and limits the exam to the minimum skill and knowledge needed to practice competently.
The retake rule is explicit: after a failed first written examination you may take up to three subsequent exams, prepaying an HCA-set fee for each, and after four failures HCA may invalidate the original application and require remedial education.
HCA may also approve a written exam prepared by a private organization that credentials peer counselors.
βAny applicant failing to make the required grade in the first written examination may take up to three subsequent written examinations as the applicant desires upon prepaying a fee determined by the health care authority for each subsequent written examination.β
RCW 18.420, read in full for this page, contains no background-check requirement, no disqualifying-offense list and no look-back period for peer certification applicants.
What the chapter does say is that the uniform disciplinary act, chapter 18.130 RCW, governs uncertified practice, the issuance and denial of certificates, and the discipline of certified peer support specialists and trainees β and chapter 18.130 was not part of the sources read.
DOH's implementing WAC rules were also not read.
That leaves the practical criminal-history question unanswered by the statutory text, so ask the Department of Health how a record affects an application before you apply.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
βThe uniform disciplinary act, chapter 18.130 RCW, governs uncertified practice of peer support services, the issuance and denial of certificates, and the discipline of certified peer support specialists and certified peer support specialist trainees under this chapter.β
Peer support is an Apple Health (Medicaid) service, and HCA's consumer page says plainly that peer counseling is an approved Medicaid service in Washington.
That page still describes the workforce as certified peer counselors, the pre-2025 wording.
What the sources read do not state is the vehicle: the federal authority behind the benefit and the billing rule were not located, so confirm billing mechanics with HCA rather than assuming them.
When the legislature created the credential, its finding was that peers were limited to serving only Medicaid recipients and working only in community behavioral health agencies β the gap the new chapter is meant to close.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βIn Washington, peer counseling is an approved Medicaid service.β
For a trainee, only an approved supervisor counts, and the definition has two routes.
Route one is written to expire: until July 1, 2028, a behavioral health provider as defined in RCW 71.24.025 with at least two years of experience working in a behavioral health practice that employs peer support specialists or certified peer counselors as part of treatment teams.
Route two is the peer-led one, quoted below, which survives the sunset.
Supervision can run through the employer or a third-party arrangement, and distance supervision is allowed.
For billed services, HCA's page describes certified peer counselors working under the supervision of a behavioral health professional as part of a health care team.
DOH must report to the legislature by December 1, 2027 on whether the supervisor supply can meet trainees' needs once the provider route expires.
βA certified peer support specialist who has completed: (i) At least 1,500 hours of work as a fully certified peer support specialist engaged in the practice of peer support services, with at least 500 hours attained through the joint supervision of peers in conjunction with another approved supervisor; and (ii) The training developed by the health care authority under RCW 71.24.920β
There is no private board in this credential's chain: the Department of Health issues the certificate directly, so moving to Washington runs through DOH's equivalency power.
The secretary determines which states have credentialing requirements equivalent to Washington's and can issue certificates to applicants credentialed in those states without examination.
That is a state-by-state determination DOH makes; the sources read do not list which states qualify, so ask before you relocate.
Two exemptions sit alongside it: holders of another Washington credential can practice their own occupation without the peer credential, though they may not use the certified peer support specialist title, and people employed by the federal government practicing under federal duties are outside the chapter.
βDetermine which states have credentialing requirements equivalent to those of this state, and issue certificates to applicants credentialed in those states without examinationβ
A certificate is valid for two years.
Renewal takes 30 hours of continuing education approved by the department, and inside that requirement sits a six-year cycle, quoted below.
Letting the certificate lapse invalidates it and the privileges it grants, and a lapse longer than three years means demonstrating competence to the department through continuing competency or other standards it sets.
Fees for certification, examination and renewal are set by the secretary of health.
βAs part of the continuing education requirement, every six years the applicant must submit proof of successful completion of at least three hours of suicide prevention training and at least six hours of coursework in professional ethics and law, which may include topics under RCW 18.130.180β
Two session laws built this system: 2023 c 469 created the profession and 2025 c 360 amended it.
Certification opened on July 1, 2025, with title protection from the same date.
Under RCW 18.420.050(2), applicants qualifying on pre-July 2025 peer experience had until July 1, 2026 to complete any standards where they were found deficient; the sources read do not say what applies to such applicants after that date.
Still ahead, the behavioral-health-provider route to approved supervisor ends July 1, 2028, and DOH must report to the legislature on the supervisor supply by December 1, 2027.
DOH's credential page still says more information is coming soon, and its WAC rules were not part of the sources read.
This page summarizes the Washington statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Washington State Department of Health (state agency) publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Washington.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Washington State Department of Health (state agency) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Washington that asks for it.
No. Peer support specialists are certified, not licensed.
Since July 1, 2025, the Department of Health has issued the Certified Peer Support Specialist credential under chapter 18.420 RCW, and under RCW 18.420.030 the decision to become certified is voluntary except as RCW 71.24.920 provides β the exception that matters is peer crisis responder work, for which an entity may use only certified peers who completed the crisis training.
What the law otherwise protects is the title: a person may not use the title certified peer support specialist unless they hold the credential.
Issuance, denial and discipline run through the uniform disciplinary act, chapter 18.130 RCW.
The default route in RCW 18.420.050(1): a course of instruction approximately 80 hours in duration, an oral exam and a written exam, then at least 1,000 supervised hours as a certified peer support specialist trainee.
RCW 18.420.060(1)(a) requires those course and exam requirements before the trainee certificate, though the definition in 18.420.010(3) describes a trainee as still working toward the written exam; DOH's rules were not read.
The trainee certificate is valid for one year and may only be renewed four times.
A registered apprenticeship under ch. 49.04 RCW is an alternative route to the full certificate (RCW 18.420.050(3)).
RCW 18.420, the statute governing the credential, sets no specific background-check or disqualifying-offense rule in the text read for this page.
The uniform disciplinary act, chapter 18.130 RCW, governs issuance and denial of certificates and discipline, and DOH's administrative rules were not part of the sources read.
Ask the Department of Health how a record affects an application before you apply.
Only an approved supervisor as RCW 18.420.010(1) defines it.
Until July 1, 2028, that can be a behavioral health provider with at least two years of experience working in a behavioral health practice that employs peer support specialists or certified peer counselors as part of treatment teams.
It can also be a certified peer support specialist with at least 1,500 hours of fully certified work, 500 of them under joint supervision, plus the HCA's supervisor training.
Distance supervision is allowed.
The Health Care Authority's certified peer counselor credential is being replaced by the Department of Health's Certified Peer Support Specialist credential, which began July 1, 2025.
RCW 71.24.920 directs HCA to run an expedited course covering only the portions of the new curriculum beyond the peer counselor training as it existed on July 23, 2023.
People who worked as peers before July 1, 2025 could qualify through equivalency standards, with any deficiencies due by July 1, 2026 β a date that has now passed.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Washington State Department of Health (state agency).