Washington certifies substance use disorder counselors rather than licensing them: the Department of Health issues the Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee (SUDPT) and Substance Use Disorder Professional (SUDP) credentials under RCW 18.205.
Getting to SUDP takes an associate degree or equivalent coursework, then 1,000 to 2,500 supervised hours depending on your degree, and passing the NAADAC or IC&RC exam.
Washington has no IC&RC counselor-level member board, so counselors relocating here use three state-specific routes instead.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee (SUDPT) leading to Substance Use Disorder Professional (SUDP), plus an Approved Supervisor designation and a co-occurring disorder specialist enhancement for other mental health licensees.
A state certification, not a licence: the Washington State Department of Health certifies both the SUDPT and SUDP under RCW 18.205.090.
Washington's IC&RC-affiliated board covers prevention specialists only, not counselors.
SUDP (traditional path): an associate's degree in human services, addiction studies, SUD counseling or a related field, 90 quarter/60 semester college credits, or an approved and registered apprenticeship.
SUDPT: enrolled in or has completed that education.
WAC 246-811-076-listed licensees can instead use 15 quarter/10 semester credits (-077) or a listed national certification (-078); NAADAC/IC&RC-certified addiction counselors can use WAC 246-811-070(2) instead.
2,500 hours with an associate degree or qualifying coursework, or for apprentices regardless of degree; 2,000 with a bachelor's degree in human services or a related field; 1,500 with a master's or doctoral degree in human services or a related field; 1,000 for specific already-licensed professionals (nurse practitioners, therapists, social workers, psychologists, physicians, PAs, pharmacists) using the alternative-training pathway.
The NAADAC National Certification Examination for Addiction Counselors, or the IC&RC Certified Addiction Counselor Level II or higher examination β either satisfies Washington's own exam requirement.
An SUDPT may provide assessments, counseling and case management as approved by their supervisor; core competencies include assessment and diagnosis of substance use disorders.
Whether an SUDP may practice independently: Not stated in the sources read.
RCW 18.205.050 does not restrict practice by three groups: (1) anyone already licensed, certified or registered under Washington law acting within that scope; (2) individuals employed by the federal government performing federally prescribed duties; and (3) students in an approved education program acting under an instructor's general supervision.
Washington has no IC&RC counselor-level member board.
Relocating counselors instead use three state-specific routes: a one-year deemed-experience rule (WAC 246-811-045(5)), a two-year substantial-equivalency rule (WAC 246-811-310), or the statutory reciprocity/probationary-certificate program (RCW 18.205.140).
SUDP renews annually on the practitioner's birthday; SUDPT renews annually to match its issuance date.
20 hours of CE every two years, including 4 hours of ethics/law, 3 hours of suicide-assessment training every six years, and 2 hours of health-equity training every four years.
A state certification for people enrolled in or who have completed approved education and are actively working toward the supervised-experience requirement.
Requires a four-hour law, ethics and boundaries training; practicing before this credential is issued counts as unlicensed practice.
The state certification required to use the protected title and provide certified substance use disorder counseling services.
Requires an education path, 1,000 to 2,500 supervised hours depending on degree level, and a passing exam score.
An SUDP with at least one year and 2,000 hours of certified experience (not counting trainee time) and 28 hours of clinical supervisor training, who can then oversee an SUDPT's supervised hours and sign off on their competency.
Not a standalone credential β an add-on to an existing license or registration held by a psychologist, independent clinical social worker, marriage and family therapist, mental health counselor or agency affiliated counselor, letting them provide SUD counseling within limits.
Washington certifies rather than licenses this role: the Department of Health issues the Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee (SUDPT) and Substance Use Disorder Professional (SUDP) credentials, plus a co-occurring disorder specialist enhancement for other mental health licensees, all under RCW 18.205.
RCW 18.205.030 protects the titles themselves β using them, or describing your services with them, without holding the credential is unlawful, whether or not the state calls it a licence.
For a graduate, that means the trainee step is not a formality: WAC 246-811-035(3) treats practicing substance use disorder counseling before your SUDPT credential is issued as unlicensed practice under RCW 18.130.020, which can trigger discipline before you have logged a single supervised hour.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βNo person may represent oneself as a certified substance use disorder professional, certified substance use disorder professional trainee, or co-occurring disorder specialistβ
For an associate deciding how to qualify, WAC 246-811-030 gives three separate paths to the SUDP education requirement: an associate's degree or higher in human services, addiction studies, SUD counseling or a related field; 90 quarter (60 semester) college credits from an approved school; or completion of an approved, registered apprenticeship.
If your degree isn't itself in addiction studies or SUD counseling, the coursework has to cover a specific list of topics β from pharmacology of alcohol and other drugs to relapse prevention and SUD confidentiality β totaling at least 45 quarter or 30 semester credits, or 450 hours of related instruction inside an apprenticeship.
An associate degree or higher in addiction studies or SUD counseling itself is deemed to satisfy that topic list.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βAn associate's degree or higher in human services, addiction studies, substance use disorder counseling, or related field from an approved schoolβ
For an associate weighing how long the supervised-hours stretch will take, WAC 246-811-046 sets four separate totals: 2,500 hours with an associate degree or qualifying coursework, 2,000 with a bachelor's degree in human services or a related field, 1,500 with a master's or doctoral degree in human services or a related field, and 1,000 hours for applicants credentialed according to WAC 246-811-076 β nurse practitioners, therapists, social workers, psychologists, physicians, physician assistants, and pharmacists β using the alternative-training pathway.
Those licensees can meet education with just 15 quarter or 10 semester college credits (WAC 246-811-077), and a listed national certification substitutes for both education and the 1,000-hour experience requirement, though the exam is still required (WAC 246-811-078).
Apprentices need at least 2,500 hours regardless of degree, or more if their apprenticeship program requires it (WAC 246-811-050(2)(b)).
Those hours aren't unstructured: WAC 246-811-047 requires 200 hours of clinical evaluation, 600 hours of face-to-face counseling, and 50 hours of professional ethics, with 850 of the total hours specifically divided across those categories.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βTwo thousand five hundred hours of substance use disorder counseling, for individuals who have an associate degree or qualifying course workβ
WAC 246-811-060 lets an SUDP applicant pass either the NAADAC National Certification Examination for Addiction Counselors or the IC&RC Certified Addiction Counselor Level II or higher exam β the department accepts whatever passing score the testing company itself sets.
This is Washington accepting two different exam options for its own certification, not a reciprocity arrangement between the NAADAC and IC&RC systems themselves.
Separately, WAC 246-811-070 lets someone already certified through NAADAC or IC&RC as an alcohol and drug counselor (ADC) or advanced alcohol and drug counselor (AADC) use that national certification to satisfy Washington's education and experience requirements, provided NAADAC or IC&RC verifies it directly to the department.
The exam requirement in -060 still applies on top of that.
βAn applicant shall take and pass the Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC) National Certification Examination for Addiction Counselors or International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) Certified Addiction Counselor Level II or higher examination.β
For an SUDP deciding whether to take on a trainee, WAC 246-811-049 sets the bar to become an Approved Supervisor: at least one year and 2,000 hours of experience as a certified SUDP, a certification free of ongoing discipline or restrictions, and at least 28 hours of industry-recognized clinical supervisor training completed before or within the supervisor's first year of supervising.
A supervisor can't be a trainee's blood or legal relative, cohabitant, significant other, or former primary counselor.
WAC 246-811-048 also sets a meeting cadence: at least weekly supervision, two individual meetings a month, and one in-person meeting a month, built around a written development plan the supervisor and trainee update at least quarterly.
The first 50 hours of any face-to-face client contact must happen under direct observation by the approved supervisor or by a substance use disorder professional the supervisor designates, and the supervisor may require up to 10 additional hours of direct observation if they determine the trainee needs more.
βAn approved supervisor must have at least one year, 2,000 hours, of experience as a certified substance use disorder professional, not including time as a trainee.β
For a trainee wondering what they're actually allowed to do, RCW 18.205.095(4) is specific: an SUDPT provides substance use disorder assessments, counseling and case management, and can deliver clinical services to patients consistent with their education, training and experience as approved by their supervisor.
The core competencies both tiers are trained and tested on, defined in RCW 18.205.020(5), explicitly include assessment and diagnosis of substance use disorders.
What the statutes and rules read for this page do not spell out is whether a certified SUDP may practice independently or in private practice, separate from an approved supervisor's oversight.
Not stated in the sources read.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
βA certified substance use disorder professional trainee provides substance use disorder assessments, counseling, and case management and can provide clinical services to patients consistent with his or her education, training, and experience as approved by his or her supervisor.β
For a clinician relocating to Washington, IC&RC reciprocity isn't the path: its IC&RC-affiliated board covers prevention specialists only.
Washington offers three routes of its own.
WAC 246-811-045(5) deems an applicant with an active out-of-state credential held at least a year, with no discipline or disqualifying criminal history, to have met the supervised-experience requirement.
WAC 246-811-310 lets an applicant meet the education, exam and experience requirements outright if they held a substantially equivalent out-of-state credential at least two years immediately preceding their application with no gap over 90 days, no discipline, no license denial, and no pending investigation or charges.
RCW 18.205.140 also runs a reciprocity program: an applicant holding, or who held within the past 12 months, a credential in good standing with an equivalent-or-greater scope of practice, from a state on the department's published list, with no discipline or disqualifying criminal history, receives what WAC 246-811-300 calls a "probationary license," valid one year and renewable once, with added education or experience possible before a full certificate.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
βAn applicant who has been credentialed as a substance use or addiction counselor in another state with substantially equivalent licensing standards, as determined by the departmentβ
An SUDP certificate must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday, while an SUDPT certificate renews every year to match its original issuance date β both under WAC 246-811-990.
Continuing education runs on a different clock: WAC 246-811-240 requires 20 hours of CE every two years, of which at least four hours must be in professional ethics and law, at least three hours every six years in suicide assessment training, and at least two hours every four years in health equity training.
Up to four of the 20 hours may come from professional development activities like practicum supervision or a public presentation rather than instructor-led coursework.
The rule states this CE requirement does not expand or limit an SUDP's or SUDPT's existing scope of practice.
βA substance use disorder professional (SUDP) certificate must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthdayβ
Washington rewrote chapter 246-811 WAC in full under WSR 25-07-024, filed March 10, 2025 and effective May 30, 2025.
On the statutory side, 2019 c 444 created the co-occurring disorder specialist enhancement under RCW 18.205.105 β RCW 18.205.170(1) itself refers to "the co-occurring disorder specialist enhancement created by chapter 444, Laws of 2019" β letting psychologists, independent clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists, mental health counselors and agency affiliated counselors add SUD counseling to their existing license or registration within limits; 2023 c 425 later amended that section.
2024 c 371 removed the cap that had limited how many times a trainee could renew their SUDPT certificate β RCW 18.205.095(5) now refers back to "the four-renewal limit in place prior to June 6, 2024" only to say people who lost trainee status under it can return to active status.
The health-equity CE requirement (WSR 23-23-034) took effect January 1, 2024, and the probationary-license rule was first adopted by WSR 20-12-074, effective July 2, 2020, and later amended by WSR 24-03-139, effective February 23, 2024.
βthe four-renewal limit in place prior to June 6, 2024β
This page summarizes the Washington statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Washington State Department of Health publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Washington.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Washington State Department of Health before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Washington that asks for it.
It's a certification, not a licence.
The Department of Health issues the Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee and Substance Use Disorder Professional credentials under RCW 18.205, and RCW 18.205.090 authorizes the secretary to issue a certificate to qualifying applicants.
Washington's own rule text isn't fully consistent about this β WAC 246-811-300 labels the reciprocity credential for out-of-state applicants a "probationary license" even though the underlying credential is a certification.
Treat SUDP certification as the accurate description of what you'd hold day to day.
It depends on your education: 2,500 hours with an associate degree or qualifying coursework, 2,000 hours with a bachelor's degree in human services or a related field, 1,500 hours with a master's or doctoral degree, and 1,000 hours if you're already credentialed under Washington's alternative-training pathway for licensed practitioners in other professions.
WAC 246-811-047 further requires 200 hours of clinical evaluation, 600 hours of face-to-face counseling, and 50 hours discussing professional ethics inside that total, with the first 50 hours of client contact under an approved supervisor's direct observation.
No. RCW 18.205.095(3) states a trainee may practice only under the supervision of a certified substance use disorder professional, with the first 50 hours of face-to-face client contact under direct observation.
RCW 18.205.095(4) adds that a trainee's services must be consistent with their education, training and experience as approved by their supervisor.
WAC 246-811-048(2)(a) lets that direct observation come from the approved supervisor or an SUDP the supervisor designates, with up to 10 additional hours if needed.
Practicing before your SUDPT credential is issued counts as unlicensed practice under RCW 18.130.020.
Not through a Washington counselor board β its IC&RC-affiliated board covers prevention specialists, not addiction counselors.
Washington offers three routes instead: a one-year deemed-experience rule for an active out-of-state credential with no discipline (WAC 246-811-045(5)); a two-year substantial-equivalency rule for a credential held immediately preceding application, with no gap over 90 days, no discipline, no license denial, and no pending investigation (WAC 246-811-310); and a reciprocity program issuing a one-year, renewable-once probationary license to applicants with a recent, good-standing, equivalent-or-greater-scope credential from the department's published list, with no discipline or disqualifying criminal history (RCW 18.205.140; WAC 246-811-300).
An SUDP certificate renews every year on the practitioner's birthday, and an SUDPT certificate renews every year to match its issuance date, both under WAC 246-811-990.
Continuing education runs on its own two-year cycle: 20 hours total, including at least four hours of professional ethics and law, three hours of suicide assessment training every six years, and two hours of health equity training every four years, per WAC 246-811-240.
Up to four of the 20 hours can come from professional development activities like practicum supervision rather than coursework.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Washington State Department of Health.