West Virginia does not license peer support specialists; it certifies them.
The West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board, issues the Peer Recovery Support Specialist credential in two tracks: PRSS-SUD for substance use and PRSS-MH for mental health, added in 2025.
Both require 46 training hours, 500 hours of peer work experience, 25 supervision hours and the IC&RC exam, and since January 1, 2023 Medicaid reimbursement requires the WVCBAPP certification.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Peer Recovery Support Specialist — Substance Use Disorder (PRSS-SUD) and Mental Health (PRSS-MH, added 2025), plus the Certified Supervisor of PRSS (CSPRSS, with a clinical variant).
The two PRSS credentials can be held together as a dual certification.
The West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board — not a state agency.
A high school diploma or GED, then 46 clock hours of education from an approved provider — 10 Advocacy, 10 Mentoring/Education, 10 Recovery/Wellness Support, 16 Ethical Responsibility.
PRSS-MH adds 15 hours of mental-health-specific education.
500 hours of volunteer or paid experience specific to the domains, plus 25 hours of supervision with a minimum of six hours in each of the four domains.
The IC&RC Peer Recovery Support Specialist Examination, computer-based; it can be taken once every 90 days, with no more than 4 attempts in a 24-month period.
Required.
The manuals credit time spent in personal treatment or recovery as meeting the requirement; the PRSS-MH announcement describes direct lived experience with a mental health condition and long-term recovery.
No minimum recovery time appears in the manuals.
Not stated in the sources read.
Applications require a certification of truth that is signed, dated, and notarized.
Covered: since January 1, 2023, PRSS must hold the WVCBAPP Peer Recovery certification to be reimbursed by Medicaid, and need an NPI with taxonomy 17500000X.
Chapter 504 and the federal vehicle were not read.
Every two years, expiring September 30: 20 contact hours of WVCBAPP-approved training including six hours of IC&RC ethics; fee $100; postmark by August 30 or the credential is inactive and may not be used until recertification is obtained.
The substance-use track: a two-year WVCBAPP certification that the manual says is not a clinical credential, and the one Medicaid has required for reimbursed peer recovery support services since January 1, 2023.
The mental-health track added in 2025, with the same core hours plus 15 hours of mental-health-specific education; it is a separate credential, and holding both links their statuses.
The supervisor credential the board offers, including a clinical variant (CSPRSS-CL); its manual was not read, so its requirements are not stated in the sources read.
WVCBAPP issues two peer credentials of equal rank: the Substance Use Disorder Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS-SUD) and the Mental Health Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS-MH), which the board announced on November 16, 2024 that it had approved, with applications expected by the end of March 2025.
Neither is a clinical credential — both manuals describe a supportive role alongside treatment.
You can hold both, but dual certification takes two separate applications and fees, and the statuses are linked: if one credential is suspended, revoked, inactive or otherwise lost, both reflect it.
There is no separate Medicaid-rule credential here: the WVCBAPP certification is both the board's IC&RC-track credential and the one the BMS notice makes reimbursable.
A Certified Supervisor of PRSS (CSPRSS), including a clinical variant, also exists; its manual was not read.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
“The Substance Use Disorder Peer Recovery Support Specialist (PRSS-SUD) is not a clinical credential.”
The manuals draw the lived-experience line through the work-hour rule: time you spent in your own treatment or recovery does not count toward the 500 work hours, because the board treats it as meeting the lived-experience requirement instead.
The 12-Step and self-help exclusion in the quote belongs to that same work-hour count (the mental-health manual words it as therapy and self-help work) — the manuals do not make mutual-aid work a condition of the lived-experience requirement.
The PRSS-MH announcement describes its candidate as a person with direct lived experience with a mental health condition who is in long-term recovery.
Neither manual sets a minimum recovery period.
Each applicant signs a Statement of Personal Recovery affirming a stable state of recovery, re-signed at recertification, alongside a notarized certification of truth.
“Time spent in personal treatment or recovery is not volunteer or paid work experience but rather meets the requirement of lived experience. 12-Step and other self-help work is not to be counted.”
Both credentials start from a high school diploma or GED and 46 clock hours of education from a WVCBAPP-approved provider, split across the four domains.
PRSS-MH adds 15 hours of mental-health-specific education: 6 of Adult Mental Health First Aid (unexpired certificate) or Taking Action, 2 of suicide prevention, and 7 additional mental-health hours.
For a current PRSS-SUD holder adding PRSS-MH, the manual's application list reads: "15 hours of mental health specific education made up of: 2 hours of Suicide Prevention Education; 5 additional hours of mental health specific training; Application Fee; Copy of current, unexpired 6+-hour Mental Health First Aid or 'Taking Action' certificate."
The items total 7 hours plus the certificate, not 15 — confirm the balance with WVCBAPP.
The reverse path (a PRSS-MH holder adding PRSS-SUD) lists just the valid credential, the application and the fee.
Three college credits count as 45 clock hours, NARCAN training can be counted (SUD manual), and no more than 12 CEUs may be acquired in a 24-hour period without board approval.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
“46 clock hours of education from an approved provider and specific to the domains, of which ten (10) are specific to Advocacy; ten (10) are specific to Mentoring/Education; ten (10) are specific to Recovery/Wellness Support; and sixteen (16) are specific to Ethical Responsibility.”
The experience gate is 500 hours of volunteer or paid peer work specific to the domains — what the manual computes as three months of a 2,000-hour full-time work year — documented with start and end dates, a peer-specific job description, and a letter signed by both you and your supervisor verifying the hours.
Volunteer and part-time hours count if provided under direct supervision, and time in a supervised substance use or mental health internship or practicum may be applied.
On top of the work hours sit 25 hours of supervision in the domains, at least six in each of the four, provided by qualified supervisory staff per the job description.
Because the hours accrue on the job, the employer you choose is what makes you eligible — look for one that can put you into supervised peer work.
“500 hours of volunteer or paid experience specific to the domains (500 hours of a 2,000-hour full-time work year is approximately three months of full-time work experience).”
Certification requires passing the IC&RC Peer Recovery Support Specialist Examination, a computer-based test administered through the ISO/SMT testing company once WVCBAPP approves the application.
The retake rules are concrete: one attempt per 90 days, at most 4 in a 24-month period, and after 3 failed attempts the board requires additional training and supervision — including retaking the 46-hour PRSS curriculum — before another attempt.
Bring a government-issued photo ID whose name matches the registration exactly, or the testing fee is forfeited.
The manuals list the fees: $75 certification, $100 test, $100 recertification, $75 late fee.
“The exam can only be taken once every 90 days and no more than 4 attempts in a 24-month period are permitted.”
The WVCBAPP manuals read for this page state no criminal-history bar, no look-back periods, no background-check requirement and no waiver process, so there is no rule to quote either way — ask WVCBAPP directly about your record before you count yourself out.
What the manuals do require is honesty paperwork: a signed and dated Code of Ethical Conduct, a signed Statement of Personal Recovery, and a certification of truth that is signed, dated and notarized.
An employer's hiring screen is a separate gate the certification does not replace.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
Medicaid covers peer recovery support services in West Virginia, and the Bureau of Medical Services tied reimbursement to the private board: BMS stopped offering its own PRSS certification on September 30, 2022, allowed either credential through December 31, 2022, and from January 1, 2023 requires the WVCBAPP Peer Recovery certification for reimbursement.
Peers also need a National Provider Identifier with taxonomy code 17500000X.
The announcement points to Chapter 504 Substance Use Disorder Services, §504.15.1, but the chapter itself was not read, so the federal funding vehicle and any billing-supervision rule are not established here — confirm billing details with the employing agency and BMS.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
“On January 1st, 2023, all PRSS must have the WVCBAPP Peer Recovery certification to be reimbursed by Medicaid.”
Two supervision rules sit on the credential itself.
Before applying, you need 25 hours of domain-specific supervision with at least six hours in each of the four domains, provided by qualified supervisory staff per the job description.
At recertification, a working peer attests to ongoing supervision — the mental-health manual words it as at least one hour per week and only while providing services as a PRSS, and the substance-use manual says the attestation covers the periods you are actually providing PRSS-SUD services and that a peer working or volunteering in another field does not have to relinquish certification.
What Medicaid requires of the supervisor at billing time is not stated in the sources read, because Chapter 504 was not read.
“Attest to ongoing supervision if providing services as a PRSS, provided at least one hour per week, by an organization's documented and qualified supervisory staff.”
Because WVCBAPP is an IC&RC member board, reciprocity runs in both directions — but only between IC&RC member boards, and only for credentials the boards deem eligible: the manuals warn that not all certifications and licenses are eligible, that boards have the authority to set reciprocity requirements for entry, and that you test your credential by reviewing the IC&RC Member Board profile for your jurisdiction in the IC&RC directory.
Inbound, the reciprocity page — written for addiction professionals — says a professional certified by an IC&RC member board who relocates to West Virginia transfers to the equivalent WVCBAPP credential with no additional requirements; confirm your specific credential qualifies before relying on it.
Outbound, the process works only if the destination is an IC&RC member board, and the new jurisdiction may impose requirements.
The $150 fee is submitted with the application, and the manuals recommend reciprocating at least three months before a credential's expiration.
PRCoE's 2023 national analysis says West Virginia also recognizes NAADAC's NCPRSS credential; that could not be confirmed on WVCBAPP's pages — ask the board.
“Reciprocity lets you transfer your WV certification to another IC&RC Member Board state without having to retest.”
Certifications expire on September 30 of the year printed on the certificate and renew every two years with 20 contact hours of WVCBAPP-approved training including six hours of IC&RC ethics, the $100 fee, a re-signed Statement of Personal Recovery, and the supervision attestation above.
The recertification application must be postmarked by August 30, and missing that postmark is not just a late fee: under the manuals' involuntary-inactive rule the credential is 'inactive' and may not be used until recertification is obtained, the holder may not identify as a PRSS, and the employer must be notified of the inactive status — for dual holders, the linked status means one credential going inactive marks both.
After expiration there is a 90-day grace period for late processing at the late/rush fee, but hours cannot be accumulated during it, and past the grace period a former holder must complete the initial application again, including retesting.
PRSS-MH renewal adds one item: keep a current, unexpired Mental Health First Aid certificate.
Dual holders file both applications and pay both fees.
“Acquire and submit 20 contact hours of WVCBAPP-approved training/education including six (6) hours in IC&RC ethics received within the two-year recertification cycle.”
Three changes define the current system.
Medicaid peer reimbursement moved from the state to the private board: BMS ended its own PRSS certification on September 30, 2022, and from January 1, 2023 only the WVCBAPP certification is reimbursable.
The board added the mental-health track — the PRSS-MH process was announced as approved on November 16, 2024, with applications expected by the end of March 2025.
Both PRSS manuals carry a January 24, 2025 revision date, and nothing later than those documents was read.
“We anticipate that by the conclusion of March of 2025 we will be ready to accept applications.”
This page summarizes the West Virginia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in West Virginia.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in West Virginia that asks for it.
No. West Virginia certifies peer recovery specialists through the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board — there is no state licence for peers.
The credential matters commercially because since January 1, 2023, Medicaid reimburses peer recovery support services only from PRSS holding the WVCBAPP certification.
It is a certification, not a licence.
The totals are fixed even though the calendar is yours: 46 training hours, 500 hours of volunteer or paid peer work experience (what the manual computes as three months of full-time work), 25 supervision hours spread across the four domains, and a pass on the IC&RC exam.
Plan for the $75 certification and $100 test fees.
PRSS-MH applicants add 15 more training hours, including Mental Health First Aid or Taking Action.
Yes — the manuals call this dual certification.
You apply for each credential separately and pay both fees.
For a current PRSS-SUD holder adding PRSS-MH, the manual's list is headed '15 hours of mental health specific education' but itemizes 2 hours of suicide prevention, 5 additional mental-health hours and the unexpired Mental Health First Aid or Taking Action certificate — short of the heading, so confirm the balance with WVCBAPP.
The two credentials share a status: if one is suspended, revoked or lapses, both reflect it.
The WVCBAPP manuals read for this page state no criminal-history bar, look-back period or waiver process, so there is no rule to quote either way — ask the board about your record before you apply.
What every application requires is a certification of truth that is signed, dated and notarized, alongside a Code of Ethical Conduct and a Statement of Personal Recovery.
An employer's hiring screen is a separate process.
The state's Bureau of Medical Services stopped offering its own PRSS certification on September 30, 2022, and let either credential count for Medicaid reimbursement through December 31, 2022.
From January 1, 2023, every PRSS must hold the WVCBAPP Peer Recovery certification to be reimbursed by Medicaid, and must hold an NPI with taxonomy code 17500000X.
The billing rule the announcement cites sits in BMS Chapter 504, §504.15.1.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction & Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP), a private IC&RC member board.