West Virginia's first substance abuse counselor law, Enrolled SB 897 (2026), took effect June 12, 2026, creating a state Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor and Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor under the Bureau for Behavioral Health, which need not fully administer the program until July 1, 2027.
Until then, the practical credentials are the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction and Prevention Professionals' private ADC, AADC and Clinical Supervisor certifications; anyone certified by WVCBAPP as a substance abuse counselor by July 1, 2027, in good standing at application, is deemed licensed or certified under the new law.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Today: WVCBAPP's private Alcohol and Drug Counselor (ADC), Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC) and Clinical Supervisor (CS).
New (not yet fully administered): a state Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor and Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor under W.
Va.
Code §16-67.
WVCBAPP's ADC/AADC/CS are private IC&RC-member certifications.
Enrolled SB 897 (2026) created a state licence and certification administered by the Bureau for Behavioral Health, effective June 12, 2026, but the Bureau need not be able to administer it until July 1, 2027.
New law, certified: none stated beyond the training hours.
New law, licensed: a master's degree with 18 graduate counseling-related semester hours (a WVCBAPP Clinical Supervisor as of 2027-07-01 may substitute).
WVCBAPP: ADC states none; AADC requires a master's.
New law, certified: 300 hours of practical training plus 3 years of supervised work or internship (a master's substitutes for 1 year).
WVCBAPP ADC: 6 years of qualifying experience (a degree counts for 3), 3 of which SUD-specific, plus 100-300 hours of ADC supervision or less depending on education documented.
AADC: 6 years including 1 post-master's, plus 100 hours of AADC supervision.
Both ADC and AADC also require living or working 51% of the time in West Virginia; the Clinical Supervisor certification requires the same 51% and 4,000 hours of supervisory experience.
New law: "a department-prescribed examination" — no name given, since no rules exist yet.
WVCBAPP: the IC&RC ADC or AADC examination for its respective tier.
The new law's practice definition for a licensed counselor includes "screening, assessment and diagnosis"; a certified counselor's practice is defined more narrowly, without diagnosis language.
Private practice is restricted to a licensed counselor, or a certified counselor supervised by one (§16-67-3).
§16-67-18 exempts anyone in West Virginia licensed in medicine and surgery, psychology, marital and family therapy, clinical social work, professional counseling, advanced practice or registered nursing, or any similar Chapter 30 healthcare profession. §16-67-19 exempts a supervised student intern or trainee, designated as such, in an accredited course of study; §16-67-20 exempts state-employed rehabilitation counselors acting as alcohol and drug counselors as of July 1, 2027; and §16-67-21 exempts paid counselors at a licensed behavioral health center and uncompensated self-help groups.
WVCBAPP is West Virginia's IC&RC member board (ADC, AADC, CS, CCJP, plus PS and PRSS); reciprocity runs through it.
The new law's §16-67-15 separately lets the commissioner license or certify, without exam, an applicant already credentialed elsewhere to a substantially similar or higher standard.
WVCBAPP ADC/AADC: re-certify every 2 years with 40 hours of CE, including 6 hours SUD-specific ethics, 6 hours ASAM 4 and 6 hours SUD-specific training.
Under the new law, CE requirements are left to rules the department has not yet written (§16-67-23(9)).
WVCBAPP's entry-level certification today: a private, IC&RC-member credential, not a state licence.
It requires 300 hours of training (70 SUD-specific) and 6 years of qualifying experience, 3 of which must be SUD-specific.
WVCBAPP's master's-level private certification: 300 hours of training (180 SUD-specific) and 6 years of direct experience including 1 year post-master's.
WVCBAPP's private supervisor certification: a current ADC, AADC or CCJP credential, 5 years (10,000 hours) of counseling experience, 2 years (4,000 hours) of clinical supervisory experience including 200 contact hours of face-to-face supervision, 30 hours of didactic supervision training across five domains, 51% West Virginia residency or work, and the IC&RC CS exam.
Also the credential that, held as of July 1, 2027, can substitute for the new law's master's-degree requirement for licensure.
The new state law's entry credential (W.
Va.
Code §16-67-5): 300 hours of supervised practical training, three years of supervised work or internship (a master's substitutes for one year), 360 hours of education (240 SUD-specific) and a department-prescribed exam.
Before July 1, 2027, §16-67-6 lets an applicant substitute current WVCBAPP certification for these requirements; the Bureau need not be able to fully administer the program until that date, and no rules exist yet.
The new law's only true state licence (§16-67-4): a master's degree with 18 graduate counseling-related semester hours, plus all of the certification eligibility requirements above (§16-67-4(2) incorporates §16-67-5 in full). §16-67-6's pre-2027 substitution route is written for certification applicants; whether it also reaches the §16-67-5 portion of licensure is not addressed in the statute.
A WVCBAPP-certified counselor with a master's degree instead reaches licensure through grandfathering (§16-67-12); one without a master's is grandfathered into certification only (§16-67-13).
West Virginia now has two layers.
Today, WVCBAPP — a private, IC&RC member board — certifies counselors as ADC, AADC and Clinical Supervisor (plus specialty credentials such as CCJP).
Enrolled SB 897 (2026) then created W.
Va.
Code §16-67, which requires a person to be licensed or certified under the article to practise alcohol and drug counseling (§16-67-2) and protects a list of titles including "licensed alcohol and drug counselor" and "certified alcohol and drug counselor" (§16-67-16).
The Bureau for Behavioral Health need not be able to fully administer the program until July 1, 2027, and no rules had been published as of the sources read, though §16-67-6 already lets an applicant substitute current WVCBAPP certification for the new law's certification requirements before that date.
In practice, WVCBAPP's private certifications remain the credential counselors hold and rely on until the state program is running.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
“No person shall engage in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling unless licensed as a licensed alcohol and drug counselor … or certified as an alcohol and drug counselor”
The new law layers its education requirements rather than swapping one for another.
To be eligible for state certification, an applicant needs 360 hours of commissioner-approved education, at least 240 of which relate to alcohol and drug counseling knowledge and skills (§16-67-5(3)).
To be eligible for the state licence, an applicant needs everything the certification requires — §16-67-4(2) incorporates all of §16-67-5, including the 360 hours — plus a master's degree from an accredited institution in social work, marriage and family therapy, counseling, psychology or a related field, including at least 18 graduate semester hours in counseling-related subjects, except that a WVCBAPP-certified clinical supervisor as of July 1, 2027 may substitute that certification for the master's (§16-67-4(1)).
Today, WVCBAPP's ADC sheet asks for 300 hours of training, 70 SUD-specific; its AADC sheet asks for a master's degree plus 300 clock hours of training, 180 SUD-specific.
Because the Bureau's rules are not written yet, the 360-hour figure has no accompanying curriculum standard published.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
“360 hours of commissioner-approved education, at least 240 hours of which relates to … alcohol and drug counseling”
To be eligible for certification under the new law, an applicant needs 300 hours of supervised practical training the commissioner deems acceptable, plus three years of supervised paid work experience or unpaid internship working directly with alcohol and drug clients — except that a master's degree may substitute for one of those three years (§16-67-5(1)-(2)).
The statute gives no separate experience requirement for the licence beyond the certification eligibility requirements plus the master's degree (§16-67-4(2)).
Today's WVCBAPP figures run differently: the ADC asks for 6 years of qualifying experience, with an accredited degree counting for 3 of the 6, and 3 of the 6 years must be SUD-specific; the AADC asks for 6 years of direct experience, including 1 year post-master's.
Until the Bureau's rules exist, applicants relying on the new law's figures have no published guidance on what training or work counts as "acceptable."
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
“(1) Completed 300 hours of supervised practical training … (2) Completed three years of supervised paid work experience or unpaid internship … except that a master's degree may be substituted for one year”
The only exam requirement the new law states is that an applicant successfully complete "a department-prescribed examination" (§16-67-5(4)) — no exam name, vendor, passing score or attempt limit is given, because the Bureau has not published rules.
Today, WVCBAPP requires the IC&RC International ADC Examination for the ADC and the IC&RC International AADC Examination for the AADC.
Whether the department will adopt an IC&RC exam or create its own once it writes its exam rule under §16-67-23(2) is not stated in the sources read.
“Successfully completed a department-prescribed examination.”
The new law defines "Supervision" as regular on-site observation by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or other licensed behavioral health professional whose scope covers screening, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of substance use and co-occurring disorders, including review of records, reports, treatment plans or recommendations — answering who may supervise.
Separately, §16-67-3 ties supervision to private practice: a certified counselor may practise privately only while supervised by a licensed counselor.
What is not yet settled is the nature of the supervised experience itself: §16-67-23(14) leaves that to a department rule not yet written, on top of the 300 hours of practical training and three years of work experience already fixed by §16-67-5.
Today, WVCBAPP requires 100-300 hours of ADC supervision across its counseling domains, depending on education, and 100 hours of AADC supervision; its Clinical Supervisor (CS) certification itself requires a current ADC, AADC or CCJP credential, 5 years (10,000 hours) of counseling experience, 2 years (4,000 hours) of supervisory experience, 30 hours of didactic training, 51% West Virginia residency or work, and the IC&RC CS exam.
“Certified … and practicing under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.”
The new law's definition of "practice of alcohol and drug counseling" answers the diagnosis question for a licensed counselor directly: it is the clinical evaluation of substance use and co-occurring disorders, including "screening, assessment and diagnosis, treatment planning, counseling, therapy, trauma-informed care and psychoeducation."
A certified counselor's half of the same definition is narrower — "the professional application ... of methods that assist an individual, family, or group to develop an understanding of alcohol and drug dependency problems" — with no diagnosis language.
Private practice is restricted further: only a licensed counselor may practise privately outright, or a certified counselor may do so while practicing under the supervision of a licensed counselor (§16-67-3).
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
“The clinical evaluation by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor of substance use disorders and co-occurring disorders, including screening, assessment and diagnosis…”
The new law lets the commissioner license or certify, without examination, any applicant who at the time of application is already licensed or certified by a governmental agency or private organization in another state, territory or jurisdiction whose standards the commissioner judges "substantially similar to, or higher than" West Virginia's (§16-67-15).
Today, WVCBAPP is West Virginia's IC&RC member board, and it accepts IC&RC-reciprocal transfers (ADC, AADC, CS, CCJP, plus PS and PRSS) from counselors certified in other member-board states.
Because the Bureau's rules are not written, what documentation or process §16-67-15 will actually require is not stated in the sources read; an IC&RC transfer today runs through WVCBAPP, not a state agency.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
“whose standards … are substantially similar to, or higher than”
The new law puts continuing education requirements for licensees and certificate holders on the list of things the department must set by rule (§16-67-23(9)), and no such rule had been published as of the sources read.
Today, WVCBAPP requires ADC and AADC holders to re-certify every two years with 40 hours of continuing education, including 6 hours of SUD-specific ethics, 6 hours of ASAM 4 training and 6 hours of SUD-specific training.
Once the department's CE rule exists, it may or may not track WVCBAPP's figures; until then, counselors relying on the grandfathering provisions should keep their WVCBAPP credential current.
“Continuing education requirements for those licensed or certified under this article;”
Enrolled SB 897 passed March 14, 2026, was approved by the governor April 1, 2026, and took effect 90 days later, June 12, 2026, creating W.
Va.
Code §16-67, West Virginia's first alcohol and drug counselor law.
The Bureau for Behavioral Health must be fully able to administer the program by no later than July 1, 2027 (§16-67-24).
Four sections bridge the gap: §16-67-6 lets a pre-2027 certification applicant substitute current WVCBAPP certification for §16-67-5's requirements; a WVCBAPP-certified counselor with a master's, certified as a substance abuse counselor by July 1, 2027 and in good standing at application, is deemed licensed (§16-67-12); one without a master's, under the same conditions, is deemed certified only (§16-67-13); and someone not WVCBAPP-certified by that date can still become certified — never licensed — with five years full-time or eight years part-time paid work experience, under supervision, as an alcohol and drug counselor, plus a passing exam by July 1, 2027 (§16-67-14).
The introduced bill used a December 31, 2026 deadline; the enacted text uses July 1, 2027.
“fully able to administer the program … by no later than July 1, 2027”
Two things are easy to get wrong here.
First, older guides that say West Virginia has no counselor licensure are out of date: SB 897 created W.
Va.
Code §16-67, in effect since June 12, 2026, even though the Bureau need not fully administer it until July 1, 2027.
Second, §16-67-2's practice requirement carries several exemptions: §16-67-18 exempts anyone licensed in West Virginia to practice medicine and surgery, psychology, marital and family therapy, clinical social work, professional counseling, advanced practice or registered nursing, or a similar Chapter 30 healthcare profession; §16-67-19 exempts a supervised student intern or trainee, designated as such, in an accredited course of study; §16-67-20 exempts state-agency rehabilitation counselors, as of July 1, 2027, acting as alcohol and drug counselors; and §16-67-21 exempts paid counselors at a licensed behavioral health center and uncompensated self-help groups. §16-67-16's title-protection list is also broader than the two credential names, covering titles like "chemical dependency counselor" and "substance abuse/substance use disorder counselor" too.
“paid alcohol and drug counselors who are working at a licensed behavioral health center”
This page summarizes the West Virginia statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction and Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP) — a private board, not a state agency publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in West Virginia.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction and Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP) — a private board, not a state agency before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in West Virginia that asks for it.
As of June 12, 2026, yes on paper: W.
Va.
Code §16-67-2 requires a licensed or certified alcohol and drug counselor credential to practise, unless an exemption applies.
The Bureau for Behavioral Health need not fully administer the program until July 1, 2027, but §16-67-6 already lets an applicant substitute current WVCBAPP certification for the new law's certification requirements before that date, and anyone certified by WVCBAPP as a substance abuse counselor by July 1, 2027, in good standing at application, is deemed licensed or certified under §§16-67-12 and 16-67-13.
Practising counselors today hold the private WVCBAPP ADC or AADC certification.
No. WVCBAPP is a private, IC&RC member board that certifies counselors as ADC, AADC and Clinical Supervisor; it is not part of West Virginia state government.
The Bureau for Behavioral Health, inside the state's Department of Human Services, is the agency the 2026 law puts in charge of the new state licence and certification once it is running.
It should carry you into the new system.
Under §§16-67-12 and 16-67-13, anyone certified by WVCBAPP as a substance abuse counselor by July 1, 2027 is deemed a licensed alcohol and drug counselor with a master's, or certified without one — provided the WVCBAPP credential is in good standing at the time of application.
Someone not yet WVCBAPP-certified by that date can instead become certified only, never licensed, with five years full-time (or eight years part-time) supervised paid work experience as an alcohol and drug counselor and a passing exam score under §16-67-14.
Only while supervised. §16-67-3 restricts private practice to a licensed alcohol and drug counselor, or a certified alcohol and drug counselor practicing under the supervision of a licensed alcohol and drug counselor.
Outside private practice, a certified counselor's scope under the law's definitions is narrower than a licensed counselor's — the practice definition tied to certification does not include the diagnosis language used for the licence.
Yes, along with three further exemptions. §16-67-18 exempts anyone in West Virginia licensed to practice medicine and surgery, psychology, marital and family therapy, clinical social work, professional counseling, advanced practice registered nursing or registered nursing, or a similar Chapter 30 healthcare profession. §16-67-19 exempts a supervised student intern or trainee, designated as such, in an accredited course of study; §16-67-20 exempts state-employed rehabilitation counselors as of July 1, 2027; and §16-67-21 exempts paid counselors at a licensed behavioral health center and uncompensated self-help groups.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the West Virginia Certification Board for Addiction and Prevention Professionals (WVCBAPP) — a private board, not a state agency.