Wisconsin certifies peer specialists; it does not license them.
The Department of Health Services' Division of Care and Treatment Services oversees the Certified Peer Specialist (available since 2010) and Certified Parent Peer Specialist (since 2019): a training course, an online exam through UW-Milwaukee, and a two-year certificate requiring 20 hours of professional development.
Medicaid peer billing runs on separate standards β the peer recovery coach rules in Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72 β and a new peer recovery support benefit pays agencies for peer services from dates of service on and after April 1, 2026.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified Peer Specialist (available since 2010) and Certified Parent Peer Specialist (available since 2019).
Separately, Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72 defines the peer recovery coach role Medicaid pays for; certification holders are eligible to work as peer recovery coaches.
Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Care and Treatment Services β a state agency.
UW-Milwaukee's School of Continuing Education administers the online certification exams.
Not stated for the certifications: a training course is required, with no hour total on the DHS pages.
The DHS 72 peer recovery coach standard is 40 hours: 10 each in advocacy, mentoring and education, recovery and wellness support, and ethical responsibility.
Not stated in the sources read for the certifications.
DHS 72 peer recovery coaches: 24 hours of supervised volunteer or paid work experience before providing services.
An exam after the training course for both certifications, administered online by UW-Milwaukee's School of Continuing Education; a fee applies.
DHS 72 sets no exam for peer recovery coaches.
DHS 72: personal lived experience with mental health challenges, substance use challenges, or both, which may include experience as a parent or as an adult family member.
The certifications are defined by experience in the mental health and substance use services system (CPS) and by experience raising a child with behavioral health challenges (CPPS).
DHS 72 subch.
III (certified overdose treatment programs): a state background check under s.
50.065, Stats., and ch. DHS 12, plus a check from any other state lived in during the prior three years; 72.08 exempts DHS 34/35/36/63/75/124 programs from that subchapter's certification requirements, and subch.
II sets no background check.
The certifier's own background rule for the certifications was not located.
Covered: a peer recovery support services benefit for dates of service on and after April 1, 2026, up to 520 hours per member per calendar year (ForwardHealth Update 2026-05).
CCS and crisis intervention programs already reimbursed certified peer specialists.
Certifications: valid two years, with 20 hours of professional development in that period.
DHS 72 peer recovery coaches: 8 hours of annual training.
The statewide certification for people with experience in the mental health and substance use services system, available since 2010; awarded after a training course and an exam, and valid two years.
The parallel certification for people with experience raising a child with behavioral health challenges, available since 2019, with the same training-plus-exam path and two-year validity.
Not a certification DHS issues to an individual: it is the Medicaid billable role defined in Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72, whose standards are 40 hours of training, 24 hours of supervised experience, and supervision by a competent mental health professional.
Certified peer specialists and certified parent peer specialists are eligible to work as peer recovery coaches.
A peer recovery coach who meets all the coach qualifications, has one year experience providing peer recovery coaching, and has training in providing peer supervision; this person can co-supervise coaches alongside a competent mental health professional.
The Certified Peer Specialist credential, available since 2010, is for people with experience in the mental health and substance use services system who support adults struggling to find a path to recovery.
The Certified Parent Peer Specialist, available since 2019, is for people with experience raising a child with behavioral health challenges.
Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72, effective October 1, 2025, regulates peer recovery support services and defines the peer recovery coach role Medicaid reimburses, and DHS states the rule leaves the certification process and scope of practice for both certifications unchanged.
Read job postings with this split in mind: a posting for a certified peer specialist is asking for the DHS certification, while a posting for a peer recovery coach is asking who meets the DHS 72 standards.
For how the mental health peer and recovery coach tracks differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
βWis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 72 does not change the training and credentialing process for certified peer specialists and certified parent peer specialists. The scope of practice for these roles also has not changed.β
DHS 72 requires peer recovery coaches to possess personal lived experience with mental health challenges, substance use challenges, or both, and says that may include experience as a parent or as an adult family member of someone who has experienced those challenges.
The DHS certification pages define the certified peer specialist by experience in the mental health and substance use services system and the certified parent peer specialist by experience raising a child with behavioral health challenges.
ForwardHealth describes peer recovery coaches as individuals with lived experience who have been trained to provide the services, are in stable recovery, and are supervised by trained professionals.
That split matters when you apply: the parent-or-adult-family-member wording belongs to the Medicaid rule; on the certification side, family experience is recognized through the parent-specific credential, and the DHS pages do not mention adult family members for the CPS.
βPossess personal lived experience with mental health challenges, substance use challenges, or both. This may include experience as a parent or as an adult family member of an individual who has experienced mental health or substance use challenges.β
The DHS pages state no training-hour total for either certification; certification follows a training course and an exam.
The 40-hour figure belongs to the DHS 72 peer recovery coach standard: before providing services, a coach completes 40 hours of peer recovery coach training, 10 hours each in advocacy, mentoring and education, recovery and wellness support, and ethical responsibility.
Training access is in transition: the DHS page listed no upcoming certified peer specialist or certified parent peer specialist training courses, said the Wisconsin Peer Specialist Employment Initiative closes September 30, 2026, and points to the Wisconsin Hub for Peer Professionals, which opens October 1, 2026 and is to offer training courses for people seeking either certification.
Check the DHS page for current training availability before you plan a start date.
For the whole path from training to certification, see how to become a certified peer support specialist.
βCertification is awarded after successful completion of a training course on the knowledge and skills necessary for effective peer support and passage of an exam.β
DHS 72 requires a peer recovery coach to complete 24 hours of supervised volunteer or paid work experience, in the training areas or a combination of them, before providing services.
The rule says this experience may be part of new employee orientation or prior work or volunteer experience, so the first job can supply it rather than blocking one.
For the two certifications, the DHS pages state no supervised or work-hour requirement; the 24-hour figure is the Medicaid rule's standard, not a certification requirement, and the two should not be conflated in a resume or a job application.
βTwenty-four hours of supervised, relevant volunteer work or paid work experience.β
For the certifications, the exam is the step after training: UW-Milwaukee's School of Continuing Education administers the online certification exams for peer specialists and parent peer specialists, and there is a fee to register.
DHS 72 sets no exam for the peer recovery coach role; the Medicaid standards rest on documented training, supervised experience and supervision rather than a test.
If you are pursuing the certification, budget for the exam fee and watch the exam calendar UW-Milwaukee posts, since training seats and exam dates are the practical bottlenecks to entering this field in Wisconsin.
βUW-Milwaukee's School of Continuing Education administers the online certification exams for peer specialists and parent peer specialists. There is a fee to register for the exams.β
The background-check provisions sit in subchapter III of DHS 72, which governs certified substance use overdose treatment programs: each applicant must pass a state background check under s.
50.065, Stats., and ch. DHS 12, plus an out-of-state check when the applicant lived in another state at any time in the three years before the check date, and programs must comply with caregiver misconduct reporting and investigation requirements in ch. DHS 13.
DHS 72.08 exempts from subchapter III's certification requirements the behavioral health programs certified under chs.
DHS 34, 35, 36, 63, 75 or 124, and subchapter II β the peer recovery coach standards that Medicaid reimbursement ties to β sets no background check of its own.
The certifier's background rule for the two certifications was not located in the sources read, and the rule text read names no list of disqualifying offenses or waiver process, so ask the employer what a specific record means before assuming a bar.
For how criminal-history rules and waivers work across certifiers, see can you become a peer specialist with a criminal record?
ForwardHealth Update 2026-05 (February 2026) creates coverage of peer recovery support services for dates of service on and after April 1, 2026, capped at 520 hours per member per calendar year.
Medicaid-enrolled provider agencies bill and are reimbursed; peer recovery coaches are not individually enrolled or directly reimbursed, and the supervising competent mental health professional is the rendering provider on claims.
Comprehensive community services and crisis intervention programs already reimbursed certified peer specialists, and from April 1, 2026 peer recovery coaches can render the same services.
Residential SUD providers may no longer count peer hours in the minimum weekly treatment hours and must bill PRS separately, and the benefit also covers a 30-day pre-treatment window and a 60-day post-treatment window.
The federal authority (state plan or waiver) is not stated in the Update.
For how Medicaid peer billing works, see can peer support be billed to Medicaid?
βForwardHealth will cover non-clinical complements to behavioral health treatment services called peer recovery support (PRS) services for dates of service (DOS) on and after April 1, 2026. Members may receive up to 520 hours of PRS services per calendar year.β
A billing peer recovery coach works under a competent mental health professional, defined in DHS 72.03(4) to include, among others, a psychiatrist or addiction-medicine physician, a licensed psychologist, marriage and family therapist or professional counselor, a clinical, independent or advanced practice social worker, and a clinical substance abuse counselor certified under s.
440.88, Stats.
ForwardHealth's Update describes two supervision types.
Sole supervision by that professional means one hour of supervision for every 30 hours of face-to-face services, which matches the rule's own minimum at DHS 72.06(2).
Under co-supervision, a peer recovery coach supervisor provides one hour per 30 service hours and the competent mental health professional one hour per 60 (DHS 72.06(5)).
The supervisor role itself is defined at DHS 72.03(14): all the coach qualifications, one year experience providing peer recovery coaching, and training in providing peer supervision.
For a job seeker, the supervision setup decides whether an agency can bill for your hours, so ask who fills the competent mental health professional role before accepting an offer.
βSole supervision by a competent mental health professional, which includes one hour of supervision (individual or group) for every 30 hours of face-to-face PRS services they provideβ
The sources read name no reciprocity or endorsement route into the two DHS certifications for a peer certified in another state.
The practical door is the Medicaid role: reimbursement turns on the DHS 72 subchapter II education, training, experience and supervision standards, not on holding a certification.
Agencies that can newly provide PRS services without being certified under DHS 72 must attest that each peer recovery coach meets those standards, and community health centers, rural health clinics and Tribal FQHCs certified under ch. DHS 35 or ss.
DHS 75.49/75.50 complete the attestation too.
So a peer with an out-of-state credential who meets those standards and is hired by a Medicaid-enrolled agency can work the billable role.
For the certifications themselves, ask the Division of Care and Treatment Services how out-of-state training and certification are treated before you pay for a Wisconsin course.
βWisconsin Medicaid does not require individual practitioners to hold a specific certification to receive reimbursement.β
Both certifications are valid for two years, and 20 hours of professional development completed in that period qualify the holder for recertification.
The DHS 72 peer recovery coach standard runs on a different clock: 8 hours of annual training pertinent to the services the coach provides, verified in writing in the employee file.
A certified peer specialist working as a peer recovery coach sits under both cycles at once, so track the two-year professional development total and the annual 8 hours separately.
βThe certification is valid for two years. Twenty hours of professional development must be completed during this time period to qualify for recertification.β
DHS 72 was created by CR 24-081 and took effect October 1, 2025 (Register September 2025 No. 837).
ForwardHealth Update 2026-05, issued February 27, 2026 and incorporated into the Online Handbook on April 1, 2026, announced the peer recovery support services benefit.
The Wisconsin Peer Specialist Employment Initiative closes September 30, 2026, and the Wisconsin Hub for Peer Professionals opens October 1, 2026, taking over training-course delivery for both certifications.
The saved DHS peer-specialists page is dated September 2, 2026, so this page's reading is current to that date; re-check the page before relying on training-course availability.
This page summarizes the Wisconsin statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state peer specialist certification series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Care and Treatment Services publishes.
Nor does it cover substance abuse counselor requirements in Wisconsin.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for how the peer specialist and recovery coach credentials differ, see peer support specialist vs. recovery coach.
Confirm every requirement with the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Care and Treatment Services before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the peer support specialist jobs in Wisconsin that asks for it.
No. Wisconsin certifies peer specialists through DHS's Division of Care and Treatment Services β the Certified Peer Specialist (since 2010) and Certified Parent Peer Specialist (since 2019).
Certification means a training course and an exam, not a licence.
The Medicaid peer recovery coach role is a rule standard under Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72, and Medicaid states it does not require a specific certification for reimbursement.
Complete a training course on peer support knowledge and skills, then pass the online exam UW-Milwaukee's School of Continuing Education administers; a registration fee applies.
Training access is changing: the DHS page showed no upcoming courses, the Wisconsin Peer Specialist Employment Initiative closes September 30, 2026, and the Wisconsin Hub for Peer Professionals opens October 1, 2026 with training for both certifications.
Check the DHS peer-specialists page for current dates.
Yes, by agencies.
For dates of service on and after April 1, 2026, ForwardHealth covers peer recovery support services billed by Medicaid-enrolled provider agencies, up to 520 hours per member per calendar year.
The peer is not individually enrolled or reimbursed; the supervising competent mental health professional is the rendering provider on claims.
Wisconsin Medicaid does not require the individual practitioner to hold a specific certification.
The certified peer specialist and certified parent peer specialist are certifications DHS has issued since 2010 and 2019.
A peer recovery coach is a role defined in Wis. Admin.
Code ch. DHS 72 with its own standards: 40 hours of training, 24 hours of supervised work experience, 8 hours of annual training, and supervision by a competent mental health professional.
Certified peer specialists and certified parent peer specialists are eligible to work as peer recovery coaches.
The sources read state no education floor: the DHS pages describe certification as a training course plus an exam and give no diploma or degree requirement, and the DHS 72 peer recovery coach standards set training, supervised experience and supervision, not schooling.
Requirements an employer adds can still apply, and the exam carries a fee.
Confirm current entry steps with the Division of Care and Treatment Services before you enroll.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Care and Treatment Services.