🧭 Addiction counselor credentials

Substance Abuse Counselor Requirements in Wisconsin: Credentials, Hours and Exams

Founder, BehavioralHires
Last verified September 2026

Wisconsin certifies substance abuse counselors rather than licensing them.

DSPS issues three counselor certifications under Wis. Stat. § 440.88 — Substance Abuse Counselor-in-Training, Substance Abuse Counselor, and Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor — plus a three-level clinical supervisor track.

Wis. Admin.

Code SPS 160 to 168, rewritten effective June 1, 2026, sets each tier's education hours, supervised-experience totals, exams, and supervision ratios.

Apart from the licensed professionals exempted under § 440.88(3m), only a SAC or CSAC may use the restricted counselor titles, and DSPS is the sole lawful certifier, even though Wisconsin's IC&RC member board is a separate, private organization.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute and board rule, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the state board before you apply, register for an exam or count supervised hours. In Wisconsin, that is the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).

At a glance

Credential tiers

Substance Abuse Counselor-in-Training (SAC-IT) → Substance Abuse Counselor (SAC) → Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC), plus a separate Clinical Supervisor-in-Training → Intermediate Clinical Supervisor → Independent Clinical Supervisor track.

All are certifications, not licenses.

Type and issuing body

A state certification issued by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) under Wis. Stat. § 440.88.

By § 440.88(8), "No entity other than the department may certify substance abuse counselors, clinical supervisors, or prevention specialists."

Degree floor

Not stated for SAC-IT or SAC.

The CSAC requires an associate's degree or higher in a behavioral science field from an accredited college or university (SPS 161.03(5)), separate from and in addition to its education-hours requirement.

Supervised hours

SAC: 3,000 hours, 1,500 of them within the preceding 5 years, including a minimum of 1,500 hours of counseling of which at least 500 are one-on-one.

CSAC: 5,000 hours, 2,500 within the preceding 5 years, including a minimum of 2,500 hours of counseling of which at least 800 are one-on-one; hours already counted toward the SAC may count again.

Exams

The jurisprudence exam is required for the SAC-IT, SAC, and CSAC applications and for reciprocity (waived if already passed at a lower tier); it is not listed for either clinical-supervisor application.

As written, SPS 161.02(5) and 161.03(6) both require NAADAC's NCAC I exam for the SAC and the CSAC.

Intermediate and independent clinical supervisors take the National Association of Alcoholism Counselors and Trainers' NCSE exam instead (SPS 161.05(6)).

Scope and diagnosis

SPS 163.02 limits a SAC-IT to services the clinical supervisor has authorized and documented.

SPS 162.01(1) keeps the SAC and CSAC under continuing required clinical supervision rather than independent practice.

A certified individual must carry at least $1,000,000 per-occurrence / $3,000,000 aggregate liability insurance unless employed by a government agency (SPS 167.01).

No rule expressly grants or withholds diagnostic authority for any tier, though SPS 164.01(2)(s) makes failing to diagnose or assess as a basis for treatment unprofessional conduct.

Other licensees

Wis. Stat. § 440.88(3m) exempts a physician, clinical social worker, independent social worker, advanced practice social worker, licensed psychologist, marriage and family therapist, or professional counselor who provides SUD counseling, treatment, or prevention services, or practices as a substance abuse clinical supervisor, within the scope of their own credential.

SPS 160.015(2) carries the same list plus its own additional carve-out at (2)(e) for a mental health provider who, within the scope of their own credential, is preparing a patient for SUD treatment by referral, treating the patient's SUD until that referral is completed, and continuing treatment of the patient's non-SUD issues.

IC&RC reciprocity

Wisconsin's IC&RC member board is the private Wisconsin Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (WICRC), separate from DSPS.

Whether a WICRC or other IC&RC credential satisfies DSPS's own certification: Not stated in the sources read.

Section 440.88(7) requires DSPS to certify a holder of a similar, unexpired certification from another state with requirements "not lower" than Wisconsin's; SPS 161.08 extends that path to a current credential in good standing from another state or U.S. territory and adds the jurisprudence exam.

Renewal & CE

A biennial credential (renewal date set under § 440.08(2)(a)).

SPS 168.01 requires 30 continuing education hours per 2-year period, at least 4 in professional ethics and boundaries; a clinical supervisor adds 4 hours on supervision.

Renewal of an in-training credential (SAC-IT, clinical supervisor-in-training, or prevention specialist-in-training) may be made only twice (§ 440.88(4)).

The Wisconsin credential ladder

  1. Substance Abuse Counselor-in-Training(SAC-IT)Pre-licensure

    The entry certification: 100 hours of substance use disorder education, the jurisprudence exam, and a supervised placement, but SPS 163.02 says the credential itself "does not denote or assure competency," so a SAC-IT may only provide services the clinical supervisor has authorized and documented.

  2. Substance Abuse Counselor(SAC)Other

    The first full counselor certification: 360 hours of education, the NAADAC NCAC I exam, and 3,000 hours of supervised work experience (1,500 within the preceding 5 years, 500 one-on-one).

    No degree is stated for this tier.

    SPS 162.01(1)(b) keeps a SAC under continuing required clinical supervision (2 hours for every 40 hours of counseling provided), and no rule expressly grants or withholds diagnostic authority.

  3. Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor(CSAC)Other

    The top counselor certification: an associate's degree or higher in a behavioral science field, the same NCAC I exam as the SAC, and 5,000 hours of supervised experience (2,500 within the preceding 5 years, 800 one-on-one), which may include hours already counted toward a SAC.

    SPS 162.01(1) drops the ratio to its lightest on the ladder — 1 hour of clinical supervision for every 40 hours of CSAC counseling — but that is continuing required supervision, not independent practice, and no rule expressly grants or withholds diagnostic authority.

  4. Clinical Supervisor (in-training, intermediate, independent)Supervisor

    A separate three-level track.

    The in-training level requires holding an active CSAC for at least 2 years (or a qualifying master's-level license) plus a supervised placement; advancing to intermediate or independent still requires an active CSAC or qualifying master's-level license, plus at least 1 year of experience as a supervisor-in-training within the last 5 years, 30 hours of supervision education (or an AAMFT supervisor certification), and the National Association of Alcoholism Counselors and Trainers' NCSE exam.

A state certification, not a licence, with three counselor tiers

📜 Wis. Stat. § 440.88(1), (3)(a); Wis. Admin. Code SPS 160.015(1)

Wisconsin has no substance abuse counselor licence — DSPS certifies.

Section 440.88(1) defines "substance abuse counselor" as covering the in-training, full, and clinical tiers, and "clinical supervisor" as covering its own in-training, intermediate, and independent tiers; § 440.88(3)(a) directs DSPS to set standards for all eight categories, including prevention specialists.

SPS 160.015(1) restricts use of the titles "addiction counselor," "substance abuse counselor," "alcohol and drug counselor," "substance use disorder counselor," and "chemical dependency counselor" to a person certified as a Substance Abuse Counselor or Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor under § 440.88, "except as consistent with" the § 440.88(3m)/SPS 160.015(2) exemption for licensed physicians, clinical social workers, psychologists, marriage and family therapists, and professional counselors acting within their own scope — and as written, the title-use rule does not reach the entry-level SAC-IT credential either way.

For a graduate mapping out which tier to target first, the practical distinction is between the SAC and CSAC: both take the same exam, but only the CSAC tier requires a degree.

The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

100 hours at SAC-IT, 360 hours at SAC and CSAC

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 161.01(4), 161.02(4), 161.03(4)-(5)

The SAC-IT application requires 100 hours of SUD-specific education split across assessment, counseling, case management, patient education, professional responsibility, and electives.

The SAC application steps that up to 360 hours in the same content areas plus 6 hours of boundaries and ethics.

The CSAC application accepts the same 360-hour package or, as an alternative, holding an active SAC credential — but either way the CSAC application separately requires an associate's degree or higher in a behavioral science field, which is not required at the SAC-IT or SAC tier.

For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?

“100 hours of substance use disorder specialized education”

3,000 hours for the SAC, 5,000 for the CSAC — with a 5-year and a one-on-one floor inside each total

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 161.02(6), 161.03(7)

The SAC application requires 3,000 hours of supervised work experience performing the practice dimensions, with two sub-requirements inside that total: 1,500 of the 3,000 hours must fall within the 5 years immediately preceding the application, and at least 500 of the required 1,500 counseling hours must be one-on-one.

Moving up to the CSAC raises the floor to 5,000 hours, with 2,500 required within the preceding 5 years and at least 800 of the required 2,500 counseling hours one-on-one.

SPS 161.03(7) lets those CSAC hours include any work experience already counted toward the SAC credential, so a SAC does not have to start the clock over.

For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.

“3,000 hours of work experience performing the practice dimensions supervised by a clinical supervisor and while holding a valid in-training license”

One exam for both counselor tiers, as the rule is written

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 161.01(3), 161.02(3), (5), 161.03(3), (6), 161.05(6), 161.08(5)

The SAC-IT, SAC, and CSAC applications each require the jurisprudence exam, as does the reciprocity application under SPS 161.08(5); an applicant who already passed it at a lower tier does not retake it moving up.

Neither clinical-supervisor application lists a jurisprudence exam.

On the content exam, SPS 161.02(5) and 161.03(6) each require NAADAC's NCAC I exam — the same exam, named the same way, at both the SAC and the CSAC tier.

That is the rule as currently written; the research behind this page flags it as worth confirming directly with DSPS rather than assuming it is a drafting error.

Clinical supervisors moving to the intermediate or independent level take a different exam instead: the National Association of Alcoholism Counselors and Trainers' NCSE, under SPS 161.05(6).

“Evidence of successful passage of the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors' NCAC I exam.”

Supervision ratios step down as the counselor moves up the ladder

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 160.02(7), 162.01(1)

SPS 162.01(1) sets the minimum supervision a clinical supervisor must provide, scaled to the counselor's tier: 2 hours of clinical supervision for every 40 hours worked by a SAC-IT, 2 hours per 40 hours of counseling by a SAC, and only 1 hour per 40 hours of counseling by a CSAC, plus one meeting each calendar month with the supervisee — a meeting that may fulfill part of those hourly requirements rather than adding to them.

For a CSAC choosing a first supervisor, the practical takeaway is that the CSAC tier itself carries the lightest oversight requirement in the ladder, and SPS 160.02(7) defines "clinical supervisor" broadly enough to include a licensed physician, clinical social worker, psychologist, marriage and family therapist, or professional counselor — but only if that licensee also practices or is trained in substance use disorder clinical supervision, provides substance use disorder services within the scope of their own credential, and holds an unencumbered, active credential in good standing.

“Two hours of clinical supervision for every 40 hours of work performed by a substance abuse counselor-in-training.”

What the SAC-IT may not do, and how far the rules go on diagnosis

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 160.04(1), 162.01(1), 163.02, 164.01(2)(s)

SPS 163.02 is the only tier-specific scope rule located, and it applies only to the entry tier: a SAC-IT certificate "does not denote or assure competency," so a SAC-IT may provide services only as authorized and documented by the clinical supervisor.

The SAC and CSAC tiers have no comparable scope-limiting rule, but they are not unsupervised — SPS 162.01(1) keeps both under continuing required clinical supervision.

No rule expressly grants or withholds diagnostic authority for either tier, though SPS 164.01(2)(s) makes failing to conduct "an assessment, evaluation, or diagnosis as a basis for treatment provided" unprofessional conduct for any § 440.88 credential holder, and SPS 160.04(1) references "diagnosis and treatment" for telehealth practice.

A relocating clinician should read that absence of an express grant or denial as this page's limit, not as an answer either way, and confirm current scope directly with DSPS.

For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?

“The granting of a substance abuse counselor-in-training certificate does not denote or assure competency to provide substance use disorder counseling. A substance abuse counselor-in-training may provide services if authorized and documented by the clinical supervisor.”

DSPS is the sole certifier — WICRC's IC&RC credential is a separate, private one

📜 Wis. Stat. § 440.88(7), (8); Wis. Admin. Code SPS 161.08

Wisconsin's IC&RC member board, the Wisconsin Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (WICRC), is a private organization that issues its own ADC, AADC, Clinical Supervisor, CCJP, PS, and PR credentials, separately from the state certifications DSPS issues.

Section 440.88(8) makes DSPS the only entity that may certify a substance abuse counselor, clinical supervisor, or prevention specialist in Wisconsin, and the sources read do not state that a WICRC or other IC&RC credential by itself satisfies that state certification.

What DSPS does recognize is its own reciprocal-certification path: § 440.88(7) requires DSPS to issue certification to a holder of a similar, unexpired certification from another state whose requirements are "not lower" than Wisconsin's; SPS 161.08 extends that path to a current credential in good standing from another state or U.S. territory and adds that the applicant must still pass the jurisprudence exam.

For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.

“No entity other than the department may certify substance abuse counselors, clinical supervisors, or prevention specialists.”

Biennial renewal, 30 CE hours, and a two-renewal cap on every in-training credential

📜 Wis. Stat. § 440.88(4); Wis. Admin. Code SPS 168.01(1)-(2)

Every certification renews on a two-year cycle, with the renewal date set under § 440.08(2)(a).

SPS 168.01 requires 30 continuing education credit hours in approved programs during each 2-year credential period, at least 4 of them in professional ethics and boundaries; a clinical supervisor completes an additional 4 hours on supervision of counselors, which may double as part of the 30-hour total if the holder is renewing a CSAC certification.

Section 440.88(4) caps how long an applicant can stay at an in-training tier: renewal of a SAC-IT, clinical supervisor-in-training, or prevention specialist-in-training credential may be made only twice.

“Renewal of certification as a substance abuse counselor-in-training, a clinical supervisor-in-training, or a prevention specialist-in-training may be made only twice.”

A June 2026 rewrite: new supervision-ratio chapter, portable hours, and an exemption list that now matches the statute

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 160.015(2), 161.02, 161.03, 161.09, 162.01, 164.02, 167.01 (CR 25-093, CR 25-095), Register May 2026 No. 845

DSPS repealed and recreated chapter SPS 162 and amended other chapters including SPS 160, 161, 164, and 167 under two rulemakings, CR 25-093 and CR 25-095, both effective June 1, 2026 — the two orders' provisions are interleaved rather than split by chapter (CR 25-093 touches SPS 160.015 and 161.03; CR 25-095 touches SPS 160.02, 161.02, 162, 164.01, 166, and 168, and creates SPS 160.04).

Two changes matter most for someone mid-process: SPS 161.02(6) was repealed and recreated, and SPS 161.03(7) was amended, to add the current 5-year and one-on-one hour floors inside the SAC and CSAC totals; new subsections at 161.02(6m)/(8) and 161.03(7m)/(9) also let an applicant carry supervised hours from another state, or from a licensed-professional credential under § 440.88(3m), into either total.

SPS 160.015(2)'s exemption list picked up advanced practice social workers and independent social workers, catching the rule text up to categories the statute at § 440.88(3m) already covered.

A new SPS 161.09 added reciprocal credentials for service members and their spouses, and SPS 167.01's insurance rule was amended in the same package.

A $1M/$3M liability-insurance floor to practice

📜 Wis. Admin. Code SPS 167.01

SPS 167.01 sets a practice precondition separate from the certification itself: a person certified under § 440.88 may not practice substance use disorder counseling without active professional liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 for all occurrences in a year.

The rule carves out an exception for a certified person practicing as an employee of a federal, state, or local government agency, where the practice is part of their government duties and stays within that agency's jurisdiction.

For anyone planning private or contract work in Wisconsin, this insurance floor is a cost to budget alongside the certification fees themselves.

“professional liability insurance in the amount of at least $1,000,000 for each occurrence and $3,000,000 for all occurrences in one year”

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes the Wisconsin statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.

It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) publishes.

Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Wisconsin.

Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.

Confirm every requirement with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply — and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Wisconsin that asks for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Wisconsin license or certify substance abuse counselors?

Wisconsin certifies rather than licenses.

DSPS issues the SAC-IT, SAC, and CSAC certifications under Wis. Stat. § 440.88, and SPS 160.015(1) restricts counselor titles to people certified as a SAC or CSAC — not the entry-level SAC-IT — apart from licensed physicians, clinical social workers, psychologists, marriage and family therapists, and professional counselors exempted under § 440.88(3m) within their own scope.

Section 440.88(8) makes DSPS the sole entity that may certify these credentials.

How many supervised hours does the Wisconsin CSAC require?

5,000 hours of work experience performing the practice dimensions under a clinical supervisor.

Inside that total, 2,500 hours must fall within the 5 years immediately preceding the application, and at least 2,500 hours must be substance use disorder counseling, of which 800 hours must be one-on-one.

SPS 161.03(7) allows hours already counted toward a Substance Abuse Counselor credential to count again toward the CSAC total, so time already logged at that tier is not lost.

Can an IC&RC credential from another state transfer into Wisconsin?

Not automatically.

Wisconsin's IC&RC member board is the private Wisconsin Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (WICRC), which is separate from DSPS, and the sources read do not state that a WICRC or other IC&RC credential by itself satisfies DSPS's state certification.

DSPS runs its own reciprocity path instead: § 440.88(7) requires it to certify a holder of a similar, unexpired certification from another state with requirements "not lower" than Wisconsin's; SPS 161.08 extends this to a current credential in good standing from another state or U.S. territory and still requires passing the jurisprudence exam.

Can a Wisconsin substance abuse counselor diagnose a substance use disorder?

No rule expressly grants or withholds diagnostic authority for either the Substance Abuse Counselor or Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor tier.

Wis. Stat. § 440.88 and Wis. Admin.

Code SPS 160-168 set education, exam, supervised-hours, and supervision requirements for each tier, and SPS 162.01(1) keeps both tiers under continuing required clinical supervision rather than independent practice.

SPS 164.01(2)(s) makes failing to conduct "an assessment, evaluation, or diagnosis as a basis for treatment provided" unprofessional conduct for any § 440.88 credential holder, but that provision does not itself state whether a SAC or CSAC may independently diagnose a substance use disorder.

Do Wisconsin substance abuse counselors need malpractice insurance?

Yes, unless they work for a government agency.

SPS 167.01 requires anyone certified under § 440.88 to carry active professional liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 for all occurrences in a year before practicing substance use disorder counseling.

The rule exempts a certified person practicing as a federal, state, or local government employee, as long as the practice is part of their government duties and stays within that agency's jurisdiction.

Find Substance Abuse Counselor Jobs in Wisconsin
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Wisconsin & Substance Abuse Counselor Resources

Sources

Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal or clinical advice — confirm current rules with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).