Oregon does not license substance use disorder counselors.
Instead, the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO) certifies counselors at four tiers β CADC-R, CADC I, CADC II and CADC III β each with its own degree floor, hours total and exam.
Program rules make certification effectively mandatory for anyone performing addiction treatment services at a certified program, requiring registration within 30 days of hire and full certification within 2 years unless the person holds a qualifying health-provider license or registration plus 60 SUD education hours.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
CADC-R (registrant/candidate) β CADC I β CADC II β CADC III.
Private certification issued by the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO) β not a state occupational license.
CADC I does not require an Associates Degree.
CADC II requires a Bachelor's degree, or an AA degree/90 college credits plus academic coursework and specialized training and experience in the Addiction Counseling Competencies equivalent to a bachelor's.
CADC III requires a Master's degree in Substance Use Disorders/Addiction or a related counseling subject from a regionally accredited institution.
CADC I: 1,000 hours.
CADC II: 4,000 hours.
CADC III: 6,000 hours.
CADC I: IC&RC ADC National Certification Exam.
CADC II: NAADAC NCAC II exam plus a written jurisprudence ethics exam.
CADC III: NAADAC MAC exam plus the same jurisprudence exam.
Not stated in the sources read.
Holders of a license or registration from the Oregon Medical Board, Board of Psychologist Examiners, Board of Licensed Social Workers, Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists, or Oregon State Board of Nursing, with at least 60 contact hours of academic or continuing professional education in substance use disorders treatment, are excused from the 2-year full-certification deadline.
MHACBO is listed on the IC&RC directory only for CPS and CRM II β there is no IC&RC reciprocity for the CADC.
Every 2 years; 40 total CE hours including 6 ethics hours, 2 suicide-prevention hours and at least 20 SUD-specific hours.
Registrant/candidate status on the MHACBO Registry, valid up to 2 years, while a person completes the education, supervised hours and exam for full certification.
MHACBO's entry-level full certification β no degree required β after 150 education hours, 1,000 supervised experience hours and the IC&RC ADC exam.
A bachelor's-level MHACBO certification (or the AA-degree/90-credit equivalency route plus specialized training) after 300 education hours, 4,000 supervised experience hours, the NAADAC NCAC II exam and a written jurisprudence ethics exam.
A master's-level MHACBO certification β the degree must be in Substance Use Disorders/Addiction or a related counseling subject from a regionally accredited institution β after 300 education hours, 6,000 supervised experience hours, the NAADAC MAC exam and the same written jurisprudence ethics exam.
There is no state license here β MHACBO, a private board, issues four sequential certifications: CADC-R (candidate/registrant), then CADC I, II and III as education and experience add up.
Registration is due within 30 days of beginning employment performing addiction treatment services at an OHA-certified SUD treatment program, and a registrant can hold candidate status for up to 2 years while finishing full certification β unless the person already holds a license or registration from a qualifying Oregon health-provider board (Oregon Medical Board, Board of Psychologist Examiners, Board of Licensed Social Workers, Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists, or Oregon State Board of Nursing) plus at least 60 contact hours of SUD education, in which case the 2-year full-certification deadline does not apply.
That 2-year clock otherwise cannot be extended by MHACBO itself β only Oregon Health Authority can grant a variance β so someone counting hours toward CADC I should track it as a hard deadline, not a target.
The same letters mean different tiers in different states; see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
βPer OAR 309, individuals must register with MHACBO within 30 days of beginning employment at a certified SUD treatment programβ
CADC I sets no degree floor at all β 150 education hours, of which six named core courses (basic counseling skills, group counseling, pharmacology, infectious disease risk, ethics and ASAM clinical evaluation) are only part of the total.
CADC II raises the floor to a bachelor's degree β or an AA degree/90 college credits combined with coursework and specialized training and experience in the Addiction Counseling Competencies equivalent to a bachelor's β plus 300 education hours that add Counseling Diverse Populations and a Coexisting/Multiple/Dual Diagnosis course to CADC I's list.
CADC III raises the floor again to a master's degree in Substance Use Disorders/Addiction or a related counseling subject from a regionally accredited institution, also with 300 education hours that add one more topic (Theories of Addiction Treatment) beyond CADC II's list.
For a graduate deciding which tier to pursue, the degree and its field β not the topic list, which adds rather than repeats β is what actually gates CADC II versus CADC III.
For which entry tiers take no degree at all, see can you be an addiction counselor without a degree?
βThe CADC I does not require an Associates Degree.β
The hours climb directly with the tier: CADC I requires 1,000 supervised experience hours, CADC II requires 4,000, and CADC III requires 6,000 β a bachelor's-level candidate logs four times the entry-tier total.
All three tiers count hours against the same addiction counselor competencies MHACBO defines, so CADC II and III hours build on the same skill areas rather than a separate list.
A supervisor must hold an advanced credential β CADC II, CADC III, MAC, NCAC II, CDS II, CDS III, C-CATODSW, CDP or another state's equivalent advanced addiction-counselor certification β and separately meet Oregon's OAR 415/ISSR clinical-supervisor standards, and that same accepted-credential list applies whether the candidate is working toward CADC I, II or III.
For the whole path from coursework to credential, see how to become a substance abuse counselor.
βMust meet OAR 415/ISSR standards for Clinical Supervisor Qualifications in Addiction Treatment and must possess advanced addiction counselor certification.β
CADC I uses the IC&RC ADC exam, while CADC II and CADC III both use NAADAC exams instead β NCAC II for CADC II, MAC for CADC III β plus a written jurisprudence ethics exam at each of those two tiers.
In practice, passing the NCAC II or MAC exam first grants CADC I certification, and only passing the jurisprudence exam afterward converts that into the full CADC II or CADC III certification, so a bachelor's- or master's-level candidate briefly holds the entry title along the way.
Anyone relocating to Oregon with an existing IC&RC or NAADAC credential should note the exam body changes between CADC I and the two higher tiers, since that affects what an out-of-state exam result can be applied toward.
βOnce candidates have passed the NCAC II Written Examination, the counselor will be granted CADC I certification along with instruction on how to sign up for the written Jurisprudence Ethics Exam. Upon successfully the Exam, the counselor will be granted full CADC II certification.β
MHACBO uses the same accepted-credential list at every tier: whether the hours are toward CADC I, II or III, the supervisor must hold CADC II, CADC III, MAC, NCAC II, CDS II, CDS III, C-CATODSW, CDP, or another state's equivalent advanced addiction-counselor certification, and must separately meet Oregon's OAR 415/ISSR clinical-supervisor standard.
That second condition means the credential alone is not enough β an associate should ask a prospective supervisor to confirm they meet the OAR 415/ISSR standard directly, not assume it from an advanced-sounding title.
Because the list does not scale up with the candidate's own target tier, a CADC III candidate does not need a supervisor who is specifically a CADC III; any name on that same list, plus OAR 415/ISSR compliance, qualifies.
What a CADC I, II or III certification lets a counselor diagnose, bill independently, or supervise on its own is not stated in the sources read for this page β that scope is set by Oregon Health Authority program rules that MHACBO's certification pages cite but do not reproduce.
In practice, an OHA-certified treatment program's own compliance staff, not MHACBO's website, is where a counselor should confirm exactly what a given tier authorizes them to do clinically.
Anyone weighing whether their certification lets them diagnose a substance use disorder or bill a payer on their own should raise that question directly with OHA or their employer rather than inferring it from the tier name.
For what an addiction credential does and does not let you diagnose or bill, see can a certified addiction counselor diagnose or bill insurance?
MHACBO's own listing on the IC&RC member-board directory covers only the Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) and Certified Recovery Mentor II (CRM II) credentials β not the CADC β so an out-of-state IC&RC ADC or AADC certification does not reciprocate directly into an Oregon CADC.
MHACBO maintains its own reciprocity page for counselors moving into Oregon, but its terms were not substantively reviewed for this page, so anyone relocating should contact MHACBO directly to confirm what documentation an out-of-state credential requires.
Nationally, IC&RC and NAADAC credentials do not reciprocate with each other at all, per the IC&RC Reciprocity FAQ; whether an out-of-state NAADAC NCAC II or MAC has any separate path into an Oregon CADC is not addressed in the sources read for this page.
For what IC&RC reciprocity transfers, and why NAADAC credentials do not, see IC&RC vs NAADAC.
Certification renews every 2 years on 40 total continuing-education hours, split into at least 20 SUD-specific hours and up to 20 general behavioral-health hours, with 6 of the 40 hours dedicated to ethics and 2 to suicide prevention.
Because the general-behavioral-health hours are capped at 20, a counselor cannot renew on general coursework alone β at least half of the 40-hour total has to be substance-use-specific.
A renewal fee of $195 to $205 applies on top of the CE requirement.
β40 total hours of continuing education are required. This includes 20 SUD-specific hours and up to 20 general behavioral health hours.β
The one documented change in this window is the CADC-R registration fee, set at $100 for all new applicants beginning February 1, 2026 (the sources read do not state what the fee was before that date).
The sources read did not identify any other change to Oregon's CADC-R/I/II/III education, hour or exam requirements in this period.
β$100 beginning 02/01/2026β
This page summarizes the Oregon statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above, as read for this state-by-state substance abuse counselor requirements series, current as of September 2026.
It does not list application forms, fees beyond those cited above, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the instructions the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO) publishes.
Nor does it cover peer specialist certification in Oregon.
Hour totals, exams and supervision rules change by statute and by board rule; for why the same letters mean different tiers from state to state, see CADC vs LADC vs LCDC vs CAC.
Confirm every requirement with the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO) before you count hours, register for an exam or apply β and before you take one of the substance abuse counselor jobs in Oregon that asks for it.
No β Oregon has no state license for substance use disorder counselors.
The operative credential is a private certification from the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO), issued at four tiers: CADC-R, CADC I, CADC II and CADC III.
Oregon Health Authority program rules make certification effectively required for anyone performing addiction treatment services at an OHA-certified SUD treatment program: registration is due within 30 days of hire, and full certification is due within 2 years unless the person already holds a qualifying health-provider license or registration plus 60 hours of SUD education.
It depends on the tier.
CADC I requires 1,000 supervised experience hours, CADC II requires 4,000, and CADC III requires 6,000.
Hours at every tier are logged against the same addiction counselor competencies MHACBO defines, and your supervisor must hold an advanced credential such as CADC II, CADC III, MAC or NCAC II while also meeting Oregon's OAR 415/ISSR clinical-supervisor standards.
Not directly for the CADC.
MHACBO is listed on the IC&RC member-board directory only for the Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) and CRM II credentials, not for the CADC, so an out-of-state IC&RC ADC certification does not automatically reciprocate into an Oregon CADC.
MHACBO maintains its own reciprocity page for counselors moving into Oregon, but its content was not reviewed in detail for this article β contact MHACBO directly to confirm what an out-of-state credential requires.
Only at the higher tiers.
CADC I does not require an Associates Degree β just 150 education hours and 1,000 supervised hours plus the IC&RC ADC exam.
CADC II requires a Bachelor's degree, or an AA degree/90 college credits combined with coursework and specialized training and experience in the Addiction Counseling Competencies equivalent to a bachelor's, plus 300 education hours.
CADC III requires a Master's degree in Substance Use Disorders/Addiction or a related counseling subject from a regionally accredited institution, plus 300 education hours.
Sources
Sourced from the statute, rules, board pages and other documents cited above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal or clinical advice β confirm current rules with the Mental Health and Addiction Certification Board of Oregon (MHACBO).